The girl found on O'Connell Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

syklops wrote: »
    Its almost certain she has been used as a sex slave because she drew some thoroughly stomach churning pictures when they first found her. I'd say thats why they didn't do a full photo shoot with her. She may not have great memories of camera equipment.

I hadn't heard that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

mikom wrote: »
    Pic, for those interested.............. http://img.rasset.ie/000816c9-642.jpg

It's Peaches Geldof.

/case

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

The reason she is not talking may not be a language difficulty, it may be related to the trauma which she has suffered.

That's what I meant!
    But where did these pictures come from? They look as they were taken without her knowledge.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's what I meant!
    But where did these pictures come from? They look as they were taken without her knowledge.

The HSE have said they are concerned about releasing the photo and traumatising her, perhaps they had to take it surreptitiously?

Her guardian ad litem agreed to it being released.

That's what I meant!

CCTV I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Yakult wrote: »
    So whats the story? All I see is a teenager and supposedly a horrible story emerging?

How do they know she is a teenager?. From the photo she could be anything between 15 and 30.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    How do they know she is a teenager?. From the photo she could be anything between 15 and 30.

HSE/Gardai say she's 14 or 15. Presumably they have good reason to believe that. Either from the girl herself or from medical examination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Yakult wrote: »
    So whats the story? All I see is a teenager and supposedly a horrible story emerging?

Teenager found outside the GPO by gardai. Its estimated she is between 14 and 16. Doesnt seem to speak english and they can't identify the language she is speaking. She was given crayons and paper and she drew pictures of a girl on a bed being sexually abused and men paying other men in cash. Thats about all we know.

There is a lot of criticism of the pictures but they are not that bad and as I alluded to earlier if she has been sexually abused, doing a full photo shoot might traumatise her further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

That could backfire quite easily depending on what she is actually saying?

What's the worst that could happen in this situation? I think it's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Teenager found outside the GPO by gardai. Its estimated she is between 14 and 16. Doesnt seem to speak english and they can't identify the language she is speaking. She was given crayons and paper and she drew pictures of a girl on a bed being sexually abused and men paying other men in cash. Thats about all we know.

There is a lot of criticism of the pictures but they are not that bad and as I alluded to earlier if she has been sexually abused, doing a full photo shoot might traumatise her further.

What is the source about the pictures she drew? I haven't heard or read about that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭bigron2109

All over the one o clock news now. Didn't mention why they used that picture though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

It's Peaches Geldof.

/case

/thread

Obligatory lack of prudishness declaration - I see a lot of potential humour where others wouldn't.

While I recognise it's in the after hours forum - I don't see anything other than misery here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Corkbah

jimmii wrote: »
    It does seem strange she was taken in to care 10 days ago I guess they are just being very delicate with her due to what seems to have happened.

10 days ago … I thought she was found on O Connell street ...4 weeks ago…maybe I'm getting my HSE child cases mixed up.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    What is the source about the pictures she drew? I haven't heard or read about that before.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/child-found-outside-gpo-may-have-been-smuggled-into-country-29677046.html

I'm not a big fan of the independent, so here's the journal as well:

http://www.thejournal.ie/gpo-child-sex-trafficked-1139678-Oct2013/

Also the Star mentioned it and they also said she drew a picture of her being filmed on the bed. If this is true then my suspicions regarding the pictures was correct.

http://www.thestar.ie/star/girl-abandoned-in-dublin-may-be-victim-of-sex-traffickers-35003/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭joe316

I dont know what the criticism of the Gardai is for, they have no doubt exhausted every single line of information in relation to this poor girl's past and havent been able to put together the pieces and our asking the public if someone recognises her, although anyone recognising her probably won't come forward they probably used her and would in fact be implicating themselves.

And as for those asking get her to point to a map of where she is from, this poor thing was probably taken so young into this horrific life that she has the mental capacity of a toddler, I seriously doubt she could write her name. Also do you think that her capturers spoke nicely to her? She was probably treated worse than the dogs, she wouldnt have been able to pick up more than a few words of whatever language and they probably could have been slang words, making it doublely difficult.

The picture was probably chosen to see if jogs anyone's memory of that day and more than likely she only had a few clothes and these are items she wore regulary and this might help identify her as well.

The authorities in this case (and I hate saying that about the HSE) have actually done their job correctly for once in this case.

Bogota wrote: »
    How can the guards not establish what language she is speaking?

That is a complete joke. Ineptitude of an out of this world scale. Jesus christ.

if someone started speaking in a turkmenistan dialect or bulgarian dialect would you be able to identify it ?

while I agree that it shouldn't be hard - where do they start …bring in 15-20 different interpreters and see if they get a match …if that doesn't work….get another 10-15 interpreters.

from looking at the image she could be from anywhere (except maybe the south african/asian parts of the world.)

I'd be thinking they should do a bone marrow test to confirm her age (she is older than 14-16 in my opinion)

On the news this morning (Newstalk), it said she was held in the Netherlands for a time, before being brought to Ireland.
    Poor kid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭testicle

old hippy wrote: »
    Can please we try not to turn this into one of those threads where everyone feels superior to Americans?

But we are superior!
    mitosis wrote: »
    Did you not read the bit AT THE TOP where it says "This post is satire"?

I did. Your point?

Corkbah wrote: »
    I'd be thinking they should do a bone marrow test to confirm her age (she is older than 14-16 in my opinion)

A bone marrow test? You want to subject a traumatised girl to an excruciatingly painful medical procedure to establish her age? What does establishing her age get us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

A bone marrow test? You want to subject a traumatised girl to an excruciatingly painful medical procedure to establish her age? What does establishing her age get us?

That procedure isn't excruciatingly painful but don't let that get in your way!

They are satisfied that they have determined her age so its a moot point anyway.

MadYaker wrote: »
    That procedure isn't excruciatingly painful but don't let that get in your way!

Oh only a little bit painful. Well thats ok then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Bogota wrote: »
    How can the guards not establish what language she is speaking?

That is a complete joke. Ineptitude of an out of this world scale. Jesus christ.

What are you on about you? Another expert sitting on the ditch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭newport2

Stheno wrote: »
    The HSE have said they are concerned about releasing the photo and traumatising her, perhaps they had to take it surreptitiously?

Her guardian ad litem agreed to it being released.

I heard on the radio this morning that the Gardai needed to go to court to get the picture released. It's illegal to publish a picture of a minor who is under the state's care. The court allowed it because all other avenues were exhausted. There may have been conditions on the type of picture they were permitted to release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

They need to record her speaking and put it all over the internet. Someone will be able to identify the language eventually.
    That could backfire quite easily depending on what she is actually saying?
    What's the worst that could happen in this situation? I think it's a good idea.

I was thinking if they release a random 20 word snippet of conversation "all over the internet" and it happens to be along the lines of 'and then the police-chief raped me, before my uncle sold me to the man who runs the docks', well depending on the laws of the country involved you may have totally prejudiced a trial and thus multiple people get off scott-free?

Id say medical professionals would surely be able to determine if she's a few bricks short of a wall even if they can't understand what she's saying. Could be wrong though.

That's a bit scummy tbh. No wonder there's a stigma in this country relating to mental health issues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Maybe it's Irish she's speaking

for one it will establish if she is a minor or an adult…. which means different officers within the Gardai/HSE would have to be assigned to the case.

if she is over the age of 18 - which is possible - then she is an adult, if she is under that she is a minor and legally has to be taken care of by the state.

Oh only a little bit painful. Well thats ok then.

have you ever had one done ? I have … its not overly painful or invasive - the information achieved should be very helpful in identifying the girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Maybe they could record her speaking and send it by email to all the different language experts in the country and ask them can they help identify it? Keep the public out of it in case of any problems but target all the best experts they can.

Witchie wrote: »
    Maybe they could record her speaking and send it by email to all the different language experts in the country and ask them can they help identify it? Keep the public out of it in case of any problems but target all the best experts they can.

Good idea…..surely it could be sent to embassies in these countries? Someone must be able to help - horrible situation:(