Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish People stand on escalators in such an arsed-way manner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

No, because it's a stupid thing to do and really annoys normal people
    I stand on the right because it makes sense. But I don't think it's a big issue in this country because the vast majority of our escalators are short and located shopping centres and shops - not on an overcrowded mass transit system. Every day I see people politely ask anyone blocking the way to allow them pass on such escalators - no hassle, no drama, no hissy fits.

I think adopting the stand on the right system would be a good idea, but only if it doesn't give rise to self-important morons who think it acceptable to bash into those standing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Standing to one side - fair enough.

But I don't understand some people's annoyance at people not walking up escalators. They are moving, there's no need if you're not in a rush. It's nice to get a breather sometimes, especially if you've been out and about all day.

And, as a short-legged person, I find walking up them quite difficult as escalators steps are much deeper than your average step. Anyone with mobility issues would really struggle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

jonny666 wrote: »
    I actually though it was on an escalator in the airport and not on the plane.

In that case she was perfectly entitled to get her bags out and I would have told you to hold on a second til I was finished also. If she had went back into her seat to let you past everyone else would have walked past and left her unable to get out of her seat.

Getting off a plane can be a nightmare but I treat it like a queue. You just gotta wait.

Yeah the person in front is in front. If seated its polite to ask them if they want to go forward.

As for escalators. It annoys me too but you can't compare a floor in clerys with the underground. The longest underground escalator is 180ft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I usually walk on an escalator if it's empty. But most of the escalators I've seen around the place are only wide enough for some old dear and her shopping bags. I'm not elbowing her out of the way to shave 10 seconds off an escalator ride.
    And yeah, if there's no movement, I'm going to stand there with a hand on each rail and chill out for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭anto3473

No, but I don't judge those who do
    It really bugs the hell out of me.

It's quite simple -either walk or keep to one side.

Anyone that is ignorant enough not to allow others basic courtesy of not getting in the way... well they should be hit in the face with a shovel.

Also couples that HAVE to stand on the same step and hold hands so they can team up and obstruct the s**t out of everyone with their dopey standing around... They should be hit somewhere else with the shovel - to prevent them from breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

i used to stand on the right and let people by on the left,now i know it annoys some weirdos so much im going to stand where i want!if your in a hurry take to stairs two steps at a time,its always quicker!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

flas wrote: »
    i used to stand on the right and let people by on the left,now i know it annoys some weirdos so much im going to stand where i want!if your in a hurry take to stairs two steps at a time,its always quicker!

Surprised nobody has said the second part here actually. It's obviously not an option sometimes but generally If I'm ever in a hurry I'll take the stairs, it's far quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Maybe we should stand to the side in transport hubs.

But ya have to be having a laugh standing to the side so you can get to the second floor of Pennys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

But ya have to be having a laugh standing to the side so you can get to the second floor of Pennys.

Quick, out of my way!! Those fecking slippers are going half price. Only two pairs left. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

totally agree with last post.
    same with car drivers, where are they going? they all can't be so important/late/whatever so it's general impatience/entitlement they're suffering from me thinks.

like the fact that strangers on public transport can mention weather etc and most people will just chat away.
    same in shops/waiting rooms/in a queue, and noone thinks they're going to be murdered by a nutjob.

relax a bit op, you'll get past all those lazies eventually. breathe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,698 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

totally agree with last post.
    same with car drivers, where are they going? they all can't be so important/late/whatever so it's general impatience/entitlement they're suffering from me thinks.

like the fact that strangers on public transport can mention weather etc and most people will just chat away.
    same in shops/waiting rooms/in a queue, and noone thinks they're going to be murdered by a nutjob.

relax a bit op, you'll get past all those lazies eventually. breathe.

Now if we are talking the overtaking lane - that is another ball game.

They should be locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

LordSutch wrote: »
    Well the OP thought this thread was worth starting, and I agree with him!

Not sure its sillyness to stand on one side or the other :rolleyes:

You use the word behave as if it's some kind of insolent children you're referring to and you use the rolleyes... are you a regular practioneer of twattery old chap or is it just one of those days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

All these people who go away and become so intolerant - it is not a great advertisement for travelling.

Dublin is know the world over for it's people - being fun and friendly. Web Summit this week - lads had a great time.

Happy about Dublin after this thread - if somebody stuck an umbrella in you back in Dublin -- it would get stuck up his hole.

Yes the irony is intended.

You speak about tolerance, but you are not very tolerant about people who are in a hurry. Just stand to the right and allow people to walk on the left. It is simple, it is not hard to do, it does not inconvenience you and it shows courtesy to others. People over here are just are not aware of their surroundings, and because you may not be in a hurry doesn't mean you should block other people.

And, it wouldn't just be Dublin or Ireland that would happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭BarcodeMuncher

I thought there was a consensus that the stairs were for those in a rush and the escalator giving a breather of sorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I don't get this. I first went to London when I was about 16. I noticed immediately that everyone seemed to be standing on one side while people walked down the other. How can you be oblivious to that? And surely once you've been poked with an umbrella, you know not to block the entire escalator again? How does it take time to get used to? :confused:

I agree that Londoners are really rude in the Underground, but you kind of get that way when surrounded by people who seem to have no awareness of their surroundings whatsoever. I always hear tourists complaining about how 'stressful' it is. It's not stressful. You don't need to rush. But if you're taking your time, don't get in people's way. If you want to stop dead and consult your map, look behind you first. If you want to stand on the escalator and chat, stand to the right. If you want to rifle through your bag for your Oyster card, don't do it in front of the ticket barriers with 50 people waiting behind you. Then everyone is happy!

This post should be printed and put up in every station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

It really bugs the shit out of me :(

People standing left and right and all over the place meaning I have to stand too, lest I just barge straight through the crowd of stupid ignorant fucks.

I regularly pop back over to The Netherlands to see friends having lived there for a while, and in Schiphol Airport and Dutch Train Stations etc, people stand one side and walk the other and to do otherwise will peg you as a stupid fool and an idiot.

I was travelling back home via Schiphol airport and was travelling on the travelator / compaveyor / escalator etc people will stand one side and walk the other and if people are standing on the wrong side they will promptly move aside to let people from behind through, a bit like Moses parting the Red Sea. Cue, arrive back in Dublin and the shower of idiots are standing all over the escalators like a bunch of morons.

ESCALATORS / COMPAVEYORS / TRAVELATORS ARE FOR HELPING YOU MOVE ...NOR FOR JUST STANDING THERE LIKE A TOOL :(

Rant Over :P

Bollox, the Dutch are just as pig-ignorant regarding the "etiquette" of the escalator, queue, whatever. When the metro pulls in the fcuking clowns barge on before allowing anyone to alight. I witnessed one time two Dutch women having a conversation standing in the doorway of a supermarket...I mean standing right between the two sliding doors. Muppets. People had to go around them. I cursed them out and told them to have their stupid conversation somewhere else where they were blocking everyone. Klootzaks!

The Brits are the only ones who have the whole shebang sorted. Everyone stands to the right on the escalators in the Tube. Queues are orderly, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

MonaPizza wrote: »
    I witnessed one time two Dutch women having a conversation standing in the doorway of a supermarket...I mean standing right between the two sliding doors.
    Aaaahhh, the old Grafton Street Special. :D

Well, it's not a real Grafton Street Special unless it is preceded by several outrageously sudden and sharp 270-degree turns, backing straight into whoever happens to be even remotely within your vicinity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Ooooohhhh sorry OP, we're not all as busy as you..I can afford an extra 10 seconds of wasted time.

I wish I knew what you looked like and found myself in front you in a queue, just to stand there, do nothing and hold you up as much as possible when I got to the front. :p

You'd be cool with that though, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭DaithiMC

I'm not sure if anyone has mentioned this in the thread yet, but it has a fundamental bearing on the international levels if ignorance or not. OP have you noticed in the Underground that there are signs instructing people to 'Stand on the Right'? Its not etiquette, its direction. People, if directed, will generally fall in line, its not that we, on this island are a different species, check out how many escalators here have such direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Billy86 wrote: »
    I wish I knew what you looked like and found myself in front you in a queue, just to stand there, do nothing and hold you up as much as possible when I got to the front. :p

You'd be cool with that though, right?

Not a bother! As long as you dont pretend to not notice that you are at the end of the escalator and just stand there!

Alright, semantics... I'd do it throughout the queue instead. I'd move eventually. But I'd be damned if I didn't slow you down to a snail's pace along the way and do my best to take up two aisles in the process. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I don't get this. I first went to London when I was about 16. I noticed immediately that everyone seemed to be standing on one side while people walked down the other. How can you be oblivious to that? And surely once you've been poked with an umbrella, you know not to block the entire escalator again? How does it take time to get used to? :confused:

I agree that Londoners are really rude in the Underground, but you kind of get that way when surrounded by people who seem to have no awareness of their surroundings whatsoever. I always hear tourists complaining about how 'stressful' it is. It's not stressful. You don't need to rush. But if you're taking your time, don't get in people's way. If you want to stop dead and consult your map, look behind you first. If you want to stand on the escalator and chat, stand to the right. If you want to rifle through your bag for your Oyster card, don't do it in front of the ticket barriers with 50 people waiting behind you. Then everyone is happy!

Commuting in London is stressful for outsiders who are not used to it.

I made the mistake a couple of times. First time I just stepped on the escalator after getting the couch down from Edinburgh with a large suitcase and it was my first time in London and was immediately proded with an umbrella. I didn't have time to even take it all in.

The other time? Must've been half asleep. Human error. Maybe I was trying to figure out what line I had to get, maybe I had stuff on my mind. Definitely didn't deserve to get pulled by the sleeve and hollered at. You see it all the time with outsiders in London. You already commented on the propensity of "fat" Americans doing it. It happens. When I said it took time, I meant a short time with a couple of slip ups. Hardly a big deal.

You're expected to stand on the right in Madrid too but many people who've just arrived to the city don't. Fair play to the Madridlenos but they manage to have some manners in this situation and always politely ask the person to move to the right. Again, not a big deal and a more civilised way of rectifying the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Anyone else find these 'Why do the Irish...(Insert random non-uniquely Irish topic)?" threads are a bit self-loathing and boring?

Why do the Irish start threads bashing themselves??

I can assure you the Americans and French wouldn't do it!

French thread would be like "Why is French food so amazing?"

Or American threads like: USA! USA! We're number 1!

A bit of self confidence wouldn't hurt this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

one else find these 'Why do the Irish...(Insert random non-uniquely Irish topic)?" threads are a bit self-loathing and boring?

French thread would be like "Why is French food so amazing?"[/quote]

Never a thread asking "Why are some French people so demanding of adherence to good manners, according to French norms, on the part other people, and so rude themselves?"
    SpaceTime wrote: »
    Or American threads like: USA! USA! We're number 1!

Never a thread about spying on the rest of the world?
    SpaceTime wrote: »
    A bit of self confidence wouldn't hurt this country!

You have instanced what must be the two most self regarding nations on earth.
    Self confidence shouldn't and doesn't have to preclude self examination. In fact, the lack of the latter suggests an inferiority complex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

feargale wrote: »
    one else find these 'Why do the Irish...(Insert random non-uniquely Irish topic)?" threads are a bit self-loathing and boring?

French thread would be like "Why is French food so amazing?"

Never a thread asking "Why are some French people so demanding of adherence to good manners, according to French norms, on the part other people, and so rude themselves?"

Never a thread about spying on the rest of the world?

You have instanced what must be the two most self regarding nations on earth.
    Self confidence shouldn't and doesn't have to preclude self examination. In fact, the lack of the latter suggests an inferiority complex.

But it's constant in AH. It's literally daily over the stupidest of matters like this one. Self-analysis is good when it's constructive and you can learn from it but not when it implies that we can do nothing right and Ireland is a backwards **** hole just because we don't stand on the right on escalators as posters have made out. It happens on every single thread like this. It's boring beyond belief.

We should formalise the etiquette in Ireland. At the moment only people who've been on the London Underground seem to be aware of the "stand on the right, walk on the left" rule they have.

They even have signs advising people to do this.

We should do this.

Actually, we should do create a formal etiquette for walking on footpaths - that would make it easier to get down Grafton Street during a Saturday afternoon :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Point is its a not a safe place for people to be jogging by each other, walking by each other.

Yet the rest of the planet manages just fine. Someone should tell London to stop being so irresponsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Saying something is etiquette in some other country doesn't mean we should all do it, just because people stand aside on escalators in london doesn't mean we should, if people like the english system so much they should move on over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

No, but I don't judge those who do
    Let's be honest here. With the improved roads these days, it has made access to Dublin from the dark lands too easy. Too many bog warriors walking around our shopping centres, airport etc..getting their thrills by using an escalator.