Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish People stand on escalators in such an arsed-way manner?

• 02-11-2013 9:16pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 Moe Syzlack

It really bugs the shit out of me :(

People standing left and right and all over the place meaning I have to stand too, lest I just barge straight through the crowd of stupid ignorant fucks.

I regularly pop back over to The Netherlands to see friends having lived there for a while, and in Schiphol Airport and Dutch Train Stations etc, people stand one side and walk the other and to do otherwise will peg you as a stupid fool and an idiot.

I was travelling back home via Schiphol airport and was travelling on the travelator / compaveyor / escalator etc people will stand one side and walk the other and if people are standing on the wrong side they will promptly move aside to let people from behind through, a bit like Moses parting the Red Sea. Cue, arrive back in Dublin and the shower of idiots are standing all over the escalators like a bunch of morons.

ESCALATORS / COMPAVEYORS / TRAVELATORS ARE FOR HELPING YOU MOVE ...NOR FOR JUST STANDING THERE LIKE A TOOL :(

Rant Over :P

Do you stand on escalators ? 340 votes

Yes, but I acknowledge it's wrong
    0%
    Yes, there's nothing wrong with it
    5%
    CalidenIrish MusicianXivilaiRayMGodlikeRedKenno90Monsieur FoliePlumpynuttyer man!reetaAnneElizabethaaabbbbmossy95MrVoraciousJuanito13diograis131spanner 17 votes
    No, because it's a stupid thing to do and really annoys normal people
    56%
    JDxtraZhane[Deleted User]DoesNotComputeBluefoamDonkeyStyle \o/Tar.AldarionxabiPushtrakdub_skav3rdDegreepoisonatedgrimm2005phaserszero19GhostInTheRuinsMadamCatari Jaguarytpe2r5bxkn0c1shockwave 193 votes
    No, but I don't judge those who do
    38%
    TomneGevDrag00n79tuxyFighting IrishmlochardCopysmithy1981robinphmathiemelekalikimakadavetheravedoriansmithNewaglishLilMrsDahamstaIceHawktolosencTiggerShenshenwilted 130 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

I believe in the airport anyway people do stick to that rule, but **** everywhere else they seem to think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

I don't stand on escalators........

I sit on them cause standing makes me tired :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I got trapped in a lift once.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Yeah it bugs me too. And in my town if someone sees you walking on an escalator they look at you like you've lost your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

If you stood on the wrong side of the escalator in the London Underground the people moving would push you out of the way. Proper order too. It annoys the hell out of me seeing people blocking the way on escalators and travelators

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Poll question is a bit messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

This country is too laid back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

Its Ireland, apart from looking out for ourselves when have we done anything properly in this country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

und in Berlin you can just slide down on your impatient arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Should be a white line down the middle of the stairway and an overtaking lane introduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Same way people will drive in the right-hand lane of a motorway even when the inner one/s are empty - no idea how they are meant to be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Moe, your poll is completely messed up. The escalator etiquette states that you can stand on escalators but (at least in England) you stand to the left, allowing people who want to walk up them to pass you on the right. Your poll doesn't reflect this at all.

Believe me there are some escalators in the world that you wouldn't want to walk all the way up unless you are quite physically fit!. Also, some of the escalators in Macy's in New York are too narrow to allow anyone to pass. They were constructed from wood over 100 years ago and I guess the majority of Americans were thinner back then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

"Arsed-ways"

Best phrase ever :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I think it stems from a reality that we are typically not from an urban environment.

These rules tend to develop out of a necessity - if you look at Dublin - It is a city - but, very rare is anything crowed to the same level of the examples you will mention. Like London - Germany.

There is also a cultural aspect.

You could make the same comparisons and frustrations with other cultures from an Irish perspective. We get things done quicker in restaurants and pubs here, we don't sleep in the middle of the day. In London people do not engage in chat with fellow travellers. In Ireland , you can chat to anybody and not be an odd ball. I sort of like the unorganised social interactions and lack of rules of the Irish - it is annoying sometimes - but it also provides a freedom of expression and concepts.

In fairness , all these lads in a rush around everywhere , thinking they are in a rush to a big important meeting. It isn't really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Just take the fookin stairs ya lazy shíte

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 Moe Syzlack

Katya wrote: »
    There is no escalator ethic in Ireland that I'm aware of. Yes other countries have it and I'd abide by their rules but I've never come across anywhere in Ireland that had the same volume of users as London or Paris. Op what's your hurry....

What business is it of yours or any of the other stupid fucking fools standing on the escalators where I have to be or the hurry I am in (or not in)?

The point is, when a normal person needs to get by, the other stupid fucking fools standing on the escalators should move aside to accommodate our superiors (ie, those who do not block up escalators).

To the user who said I can use the stairs, there aren't any regular stairs in the building I frequent, only lifts and escalators. You have to wait ages to use the lift and priority is given to disabled, buggies and shopping trollies in that order, so, as a normal person, I respect the etiquette and do things for the greater good of everyone else.

What is a regular stairs?

EchoIndia wrote: »
    Same way people will drive in the right-hand lane of a motorway even when the inner one/s are empty - no idea how they are meant to be used.

No, it's not the same. There are rules of the road, there aren't any rules of the escalator.

If something is so important that getting there in time is worth resenting people for which side of an escalator they stand on, surely the person in a rush should have enough cop on to accept the fact that there is such a thing as pedestrian traffic, be it on paths, escalators or indoors. They should allow themselves time for such.

If something annoys you, fair enough, but this "how they are meant to be used" crap is completely made up.

What business is it of yours or any of the other stupid fucking fools standing on the escalators where I have to be or the hurry I am in (or not in)?

The point is, when a normal person needs to get by, the other stupid fucking fools standing on the escalators should move aside to accommodate our superiors (ie, those who do not block up escalators).

But there is not etiquette - so you are not respecting the Irish etiquette. It is like you going to spain and saying to all your Spanish work colleagues - hey ****er - get out of bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Everybody the king of the escalators is coming move over and let him pass :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Moe, your poll is completely messed up. The escalator etiquette states that you can stand on escalators but (at least in England) you stand to the left, allowing people who want to walk up them to pass you on the right.

In England, you stand on the right.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Everybody the king of the escalators is coming move over and let him pass :D

He has or has not got a big meeting to get to.

The word etiquette is English - so I blame the English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Cycling Dumbasses

wazky wrote: »
    Should be a white line down the middle of the stairway and an overtaking lane introduced.
    Hard shoulder too and walk through McDonald's.

The word etiquette is English - so I blame the English.

French?? No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Come on people, try and keep it civil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Escalators only really exist here in shopping centres, and the odd short one at airports, hence the attitude around their use.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 197th User Id

I don't think they're stupid (on this particular issue, normal stupidity aside).
    There is nothing to say stand left or right. So how are they to know.

Also escalators ARE for standing on, thats the concept - a stairs you can just stand on and it brings you to the top.

You should channel your fury towards starting a campaign to establish a rule among this madness.

We should stand to one side.....whichever side the feckin Brits take we'll have the other one ;)

I don't want to imitate London, I suggest standing with our backs to the direction of travel, pointing with our left arm towards the entrance of the escalator with one leg on a lower step.

thecatspjs wrote: »
    French?? No?

Yes (lol)

See we can't even understand the word - we are Irish - The Irish word is "ah would ya **** off with yourself"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

"Escalator etiquette" doesn't exist in every city, nor every country, and accordingly, we shouldn't pass this off as an 'Irish problem".

Classic example of someone taking a cheap Ryanair flight out of Ireland, coming home, and preaching to the rest of us on "how it's done, over there".

Who cares. We're here, this is our way. If we want to change it, fine, people will literally vote with their feet.

In fact it proves how smart the Irish are - why would you walk on something that is moving. Nobody is that important.

At least we know we are not - it was not put in to get you to your meeting quicker - it was put in to overcome gravity.

danniemcq wrote: »
    Come on people, try and keep it civil

Ejaculates wildly from top of escalator.

Good day to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

We don't have a metro so we don't have very much use for escalators in public transport. So there is no system of rules for using busy escalators.

Pushing past someone on a shipping centre escalator is generally seen as a bit rude and dangerous over here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Because we have a culture of ingrained 'anti-authoritarianism' that only pathetically manifests itself in really nominal ways that ultimately only inconvenience other citizens and harm societal services while slapping ourselves on the back about the 'uprightness' of places like Norway, Netherlands and Germany that are light years ahead of us in the priorities of their societies.

And the hilarious thing is that we blame our governments all the time but they merely pander to/reflect the mindset of most of the electorate.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Good day to you.

Eh? :confused:

I suggest standing with our backs to the direction of travel, pointing with our left arm towards the entrance of the escalator with one leg on a lower step.

We should hold a handkerchief aloft in the hand appropriate to the direction in which we intend to turn once we have satisfactorily escalated and wish to leave the escalator.

If we want to change it, fine, people will literally vote with their feet.

them little pencils can be difficult to get between the toes. specially with the ballot in your other foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Well that escalated quickly.

Good day to you.

Right back at you, big boy. :)

anncoates wrote: »
    Because we have a culture of ingrained 'anti-authoritarianism' that only pathetically manifests itself in really nominal ways that ultimately only inconvenience other citizens and harm societal services while slapping ourselves on the back about the 'uprightness' of places like Norway, Netherlands and Germany that are light years ahead of us in the priorities of their societies.

And the hilarious thing is that we blame our governments all the time but they merely pander to/reflect the mindset of most of the electorate.

How do you explain World War 2 then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i push

cml387 wrote: »
    Well that escalated quickly.

Not getting on that escalator now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The op is either gone to bed now or stuck behind people on an escalator :(

Eh? :confused:

I think I got a few of them.

Kept it civil too.

My coat and top hat please. Good day to you.

If the Poles had put up a 'no entry' sign at the bottom of the escalator, the Germans would not have attempted to pass; rather they would have queued in an orderly manner until the sign was removed.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The op is either gone to bed now or stuck behind people on an escalator :(

I think the escalator of their site access has come to a sudden halt, as it were.

Sigourney wrote: »
    If the Poles had put up a 'no entry' sign at the bottom of the escalator, the Germans would not have attempted to pass; rather they would have queued in an orderly manner until the sign was removed.

So a discerning or even apathetic public has value in certain instances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Katya wrote: »
    Your not normal your an angry weird person.

Ps the etiquette you refer to doesn't exist in Ireland which you've pointed out. Instead of moaning & insulting people maybe attempt to introduce it you f&&king idiot

So a discerning or even apathetic public has value in certain instances.

So - I like Irish culture - it gives an unexpected self determined society.

Look at the Seanad Referendum for example - The grass is not always greener.

Look at our journalist, Artist, Musicians, Charity Organisations, our entrepreneurs. Self starters and freedom of expression.

This is like Dave McSavage now - our comedians.

Was that the one that started when that lad from Franz Ferdinand got bumped off?