Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Went to let out the hens for my mother this morning, and the rooster we had got during the summer was there dead on the floor, has a broken neck and all the feathers plucked off his head. Wdf happened him like. He was a lovely lad, strutting around the place the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

jersey101 wrote: »
    Went to let out the hens for my mother this morning, and the rooster we had got during the summer was there dead on the floor, has a broken neck and all the feathers plucked off his head. Wdf happened him like. He was a lovely lad, strutting around the place the whole time.

maybe he had a dark past the hens found out about and murdered him. Be safe out there Jersey, especially at macra rallies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Any teeth marks on his neck?

Kovu Murr wrote: »

nope nothing just no feathers. They were locked in a shed so it could only have been the hens that did it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

hens will cannabiaze thier own so the feathers could be from the hens pecking. could be a mink but strange that a mink would go for the cock and not a hen, easier prey

nope nothing just no feathers. They were locked in a shed so it could only have been the hens that did it
    how old was it and would you say it was much larger than the hens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

one man in a room full of women, how else was it going to end,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

hens will cannabiaze thier own so the feathers could be from the hens pecking. could be a mink but strange that a mink would go for the cock and not a hen, easier prey

True, any hen that was 'clocking' or sitting on eggs? The feathers plucked out suggest that he could have been attacked by an irate hen and they could have all joined in. Although I did see one of our ducks try to mount a hen before, using the bill to hold the feathers at the back of the neck:confused:

hugo29 wrote: »
    one man in a room full of women, how else was it going to end,
    hardly the fun way anyways :D

how old was it and would you say it was much larger than the hens

i think he was only young, dont know much about him the mother got it somewhere, he was a lovely little lad

maybe he took the TV remote, or disagreed with them on X factor:rolleyes:

True, any hen that was 'clocking' or sitting on eggs? The feathers plucked out suggest that he could have been attacked by an irate hen and they could have all joined in. Although I did see one of our ducks try to mount a hen before, using the bill to hold the feathers at the back of the neck:confused:

nope no clocking hen. There was one a couple of weeks ago but we put ger under a barrel and it cured her.

maybe he took the TV remote, or disagreed with them on X factor:rolleyes:

ye they probley got fed up with him. Id say if i was in a room with 10 girls for a 6 months id be pulling me hair out too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Decided to take mid term off with the kids and head to the wifes place. Had a pint in the afternoon yesterday while reading the paper. Jeez but it tasted great especially as a lot of lads were running about at their daily activites!! Heading to Kenmare mart tomorrow to see what weanlings are like down here.

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Heading to Kenmare mart tomorrow to see what weanlings are like down here.

you wont be disappointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Do you buy there Bob?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

water pressure was low this last few days did a walk, found a leak, pipe was out of a joiner, fixed it up and water pressure is grand, pain in the butt going back to yard to turn water off them fix joiner then go back turn it on and go out and check its not leaking

i think he was only young, dont know much about him the mother got it somewhere, he was a lovely little lad
    we had one only a yr old or so but he was very large and founf him dead one morning and was toldsome of them keep growning and the heart gives out on them

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Do you buy there Bob?

No, super animals down there though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

First ai bred calf born this morning, friesian bull :'(

td5man wrote: »
    First ai bred calf born this morning, friesian bull :'(
    was it sexed semen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

was it sexed semen

No, if it was i'd be twice as mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

new power washer arriving tomorrow

quadboy wrote: »
    new power washer arriving tomorrow

DID whelan 1 give it the seal of approval first

what part kerry you in, was there the weekend, you have this tourist lark off to a tee down there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

DID whelan 1 give it the seal of approval first

what part kerry you in, was there the weekend, you have this tourist lark off to a tee down there

no didnt want to go bothering her, prob wudnt be good enough for her anyway. Near enough to fungi, i dont like them tourists, always have the cameras out when im moving cattle, i dont photograph well

the typical rush hour photo for the postcard

there was a "head the ball" down there looking for €50 for a spin on a jaunting car

have a spare Rooster here if your interested, about 6 months old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Traffic corp, customs the whole chabang here in athlone today. Two cattle lorries among 5 lorries pulled in. Never seen as many garda jeeps and bikes. No escape and no mercy. Thank God all above board.

Muckit wrote: »
    Traffic corp, customs the whole chabang here in athlone today. Two cattle lorries among 5 lorries pulled in. Never seen as many garda jeeps and bikes. No escape and no mercy. Thank God all above board.
    was that at kilmartin roundabout
    they are always hunting there