Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beef price tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Anyone get quoted for r grade cows latley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 rivaldo2000

simx wrote: »
    Anyone get quoted for r grade cows latley?

360c\kg charleville

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

TBH I do not think he is, it a long weekend, there is an inch and a half of rain forecast over the next 48 hours. The factory's will only be killing for four days next week. So naturally they will drop quotes to try to drop prices. The Christmass kill starts in 7-10 days time so they want to if nothing else stop prices rising.

Bob may well be more interested in a easier mart trade like myself.

I don't know about the cattle price texts, but I know the quotes that I get on lamb price are achievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭mf240

rancher wrote: »
    I don't know about the cattle price texts, but I know the quotes that I get on lamb price are achievable

I have always found the journal beef prices to be fairly achievable.

I have on more than one occasion gotten the top price quoted in the farming press. And this was for one double lorry of cattle.

But I got several agents to look at them and held tough.

There is no doubt in my mind that bob is getting a lot more for his own cattle than he lets on. And no blame to him. That's how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

mf240 wrote: »
    I have always found the journal beef prices to be fairly achievable.

I have on more than one occasion gotten the top price quoted in the farming press. And this was for one double lorry of cattle.

But I got several agents to look at them and held tough.

There is no doubt in my mind that bob is getting a lot more for his own cattle than he lets on. And no blame to him. That's how it works.

Look on the factory returns page in IFJ and see how many of the southern factories paid 3.95 and 4.05 for cattle for the last week. Most of them did, seems the factories up the country paid too much for this weeks cattle and next weeks cattle are back 5c. Who else has gotten a quote for next week?

I wish I was getting allot more, but I dont think you would ever believe the price I get, as its F all. fact is im a price taker and have little bargaining power irrespective of the amount of animals I am selling weekly as money is more important to me than waiting for an extra 5c a kilo, price I take for cattle most weeks is what most of you boys are quoting on here. The price I have taken for cattle for the last 3 weeks to a month have being nothing short of a joke and most cattle are losing lots of money. I seriously pissed off with animals at the moment. Any reason allot of the finishers are on the missing list at the moment, Was just going through them there at dinner and the amount of names we came up with was nuts.

with the rain thats falling a rise of 5c a week wouldn't be worth waiting for, for fit cattle. If you put cattle indoors they will stagnate for a few weeks, leave them outside and they well melt and damage the land.

locky76 wrote: »
    Hey Bob,
    I've a few bullocks and heifers nearing a finish, I could just about hold out until 25th December- cash flow, housing, feed etc...
    I had planned on selling the first week of December
    When do you think the price will peak?
    And for a bit of crystal ball gazing, what will it peak at?

I havnt a clue Locky, I know when we talked about this 6 months ago when heifers were making 4.65, I was of the opinion that they would come back to 4.00 for the autumn which they have :mad:.

you never make money when a market is at the peak or the trough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 rivaldo2000

how do you subscribe to get the the price texts to your phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

I havnt a clue Locky, I know when we talked about this 6 months ago when heifers were making 4.65, I was of the opinion that they would come back to 4.00 for the autumn which they have :mad:.

you never make money when a market is at the peak or the trough
    Ah Bob,
    We're in the trough now, I reckon it will peak in the first week of December at €4.30/kg base price for heifers...
    In fairness the €4.65/kg in the summer was off the radar, it wasn't so long ago that breaking the €4/kg was a major milestone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭saranac1

4.05 to 4.10 for finished bulls 700kg
    kepak
    Very hard to get the 4.10 anywhere

Prices hopefully will go up next week

Noone killing cattle at the moment as prices still to low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

locky76 wrote: »
    Ah Bob,
    We're in the trough now, I reckon it will peak in the first week of December at €4.30/kg base price for heifers...
    In fairness the €4.65/kg in the summer was off the radar, it wasn't so long ago that breaking the €4/kg was a major milestone...
    saranac1 wrote: »
    4.05 to 4.10 for finished bulls 700kg
    kepak
    Very hard to get the 4.10 anywhere

Prices hopefully will go up next week

Noone killing cattle at the moment as prices still to low

Holding cattle this time of year can backfire, there could be a lot of grass cattle out there. Some farmers have a habbit of finishing the grass before they sell. Some of these can be stocked at a low level and with the grass growth cattle could be backed up hard to judge.

Have over age Freisians (when are they any other way) strugglung to get any more than 4/Kg locally will cost only 6-7/head to get into factory. If I travel it will cost 20/head and on top they will have to travel the night before.

At 350/kgs DW this is equivlent to 4c/kg on transport. A finisher in Scotland in the comic at some stage put potential weight loss at nearly 2% in this senario. So another 7c/kg. That is a total of 11c/kg. In my opinion I would need 3.95/kg flat or a base of 4.15/kg to make anything from travelling a distance.

If i was doing my own transport it would be different as moving a distance the morning of the kill is not as severe on the cattle but there is still carcasse loss.

Will see how I get on however with weather I am wary of not doing a deal before week end as I am running tight on grass and these fellas can munch through grass fairly fast. Do not want to have the end of next week.

Holding cattle this time of year can backfire, there could be a lot of grass cattle out there. Some farmers have a habbit of finishing the grass before they sell. Some of these can be stocked at a low level and with the grass growth cattle could be backed up hard to judge.

Have over age Freisians (when are they any other way) strugglung to get any more than 4/Kg locally will cost only 6-7/head to get into factory. If I travel it will cost 20/head and on top they will have to travel the night before.

At 350/kgs DW this is equivlent to 4c/kg on transport. A finisher in Scotland in the comic at some stage put potential weight loss at nearly 2% in this senario. So another 7c/kg. That is a total of 11c/kg. In my opinion I would need 3.95/kg flat or a base of 4.15/kg to make anything from travelling a distance.

If i was doing my own transport it would be different as moving a distance the morning of the kill is not as severe on the cattle but there is still carcasse loss.

Will see how I get on however with weather I am wary of not doing a deal before week end as I am running tight on grass and these fellas can munch through grass fairly fast. Do not want to have the end of next week.

you just cant hold cattle this time of the year even if you guaranteed a 5c rise. I have never being sorry for selling cattle even at a poor price, I have being seriously sorry for not selling. Cattle killed fresh off grass today could be worth 5c themselves as keeping them for another week. It never pays to hold animals over when they are finished

regarding travelling with cattle you need at least 15c before calling me out, 10c and I would stay local, factories know this.

Regarding currently I havnt seen as many cattle in the over night lairage for slaughter in a long time, every pen full like normal autumn rush, all bought at a price I mentioned above. Price isnt the end of the world (even though Im very unhappy with it) as cattle are coming off cheap production. Todays price is much better than a potential price for steers of 4.30 next February

Running out of grass and waiting for price rise will cost you big time, cattle can melt away in days at this time of the year, no point putting them inside either if fit for slaughter as you will be adding €20 cost each week to them with a higher change of mortality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

Last cows went to factory cost 4c a kilo in transport and at 2% loss overnight would have cost roughly 6c a kilo.A guy i know when i taik to him always gets more than me in factory until i started checking what journal says is achievable before i talk to him and his prices match theres so he is reading same paper before me.Never seen kill sheet.If you hold cattle to gain 5c in a week if their fit you are losing money as fit cattle will eat more money than that in a week

manjou wrote: »
    Last cows went to factory cost 4c a kilo in transport and at 2% loss overnight would have cost roughly 6c a kilo.A guy i know when i taik to him always gets more than me in factory until i started checking what journal says is achievable before i talk to him and his prices match theres so he is reading same paper before me.Never seen kill sheet.If you hold cattle to gain 5c in a week if their fit you are losing money as fit cattle will eat more money than that in a week

there is a whole load of people that sell dearer than you and buy everything cheaper than you, these people must be making a fortune :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hi Puds

I wonder do some boys who fill regular orders for the factory get away with this overage lark. It's a bit of a joke really when you think about it. It's not just freisians that can easily go overage before they have the right level of finish without pumping with meal. And to say that a day either way can put them in or out...

I sold heifers in the mart that I know for a fact I wouldn't get the colour of the money if I sent them straight to the factory myself, and that's taking into account having to blood test, mart fees etc . The fact that most of them were within the 70days of the 30mths didn't seem to make a blind bit of difference to them. Although not over the 30mths when I sold, they would have been at slaughter I would think. Panicing I was over nothing.

Muckit wrote: »
    Hi Puds

I wonder do some boys who fill regular orders for the factory get away with this overage lark. It's a bit of a joke really when you think about it. It's not just freisians that can easily go overage before they have the right level of finish without pumping with meal. And to say that a day either way can put them in or out...

I sold heifers in the mart that I know for a fact I wouldn't get the colour of the money if I sent them straight to the factory myself, and that's taking into account having to blood test, mart fees etc . The fact that most of them were within the 70days of the 30mths didn't seem to make a blind bit of difference to them. Although not over the 30mths when I sold, they would have been at slaughter I would think. Panicing I was over nothing.

And what did I tell you:rolleyes:, I could nearly have a stab at who the buyers of those animals were. Good big animals that take weight I wouldnt give two F's about loosing 12c in them. The only reason there is a 30 months age limit is to keep down the weight of the carcases,

If anything I consider this Quality assurance the greatest frace ever. It just reduced the cattle price by 10c and added on the QA to make it harder to quality. Now the factories can predict withing a couple of thousand animals out how many animals will be killed the first week of November next year.
    I can buy an animal that was bred, born and raised in a QA herd, then comes into my herd which is QA for say the last 50 days of his life before slaugther as he is going over 30months and I dont get paid for him being QA. I would lay tmy jewels on it that he goes into a QA box and the factory have the meat at a serious discount

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭tim04750

Anyone else think its about time the factories access to the cmms was limited to input only, and not research.

And what did I tell you:rolleyes:, I could nearly have a stab at who the buyers of those animals were. Good big animals that take weight I wouldnt give two F's about loosing 12c in them. The only reason there is a 30 months age limit is to keep down the weight of the carcases,

If anything I consider this Quality assurance the greatest frace ever. It just reduced the cattle price by 10c and added on the QA to make it harder to quality. Now the factories can predict withing a couple of thousand animals out how many animals will be killed the first week of November next year.
    I can buy an animal that was bred, born and raised in a QA herd, then comes into my herd which is QA for say the last 50 days of his life before slaugther as he is going over 30months and I dont get paid for him being QA. I would lay tmy jewels on it that he goes into a QA box and the factory have the meat at a serious discount

Isn't it shocking Bob. I wouldn't begrudge lads like yourself being allowed a little leaway by factories. In fact I thought it would be essential to keep the system oiled and running smoothly. I just can't see then how heavy cattle seem to be selling over and above prices an ordinary Joe might fetch in the factory himself. And I'm not talking €50. Perhaps these are being bought directly by the factory, with the buyers being paid so much a head to buy them for them?

I could nearly have a stab at who the buyers of those animals were.

I'd say you probably rub shoulders with one or other of them in Ennis alright:rolleyes:

Muckit wrote: »
    Isn't it shocking Bob. I wouldn't begrudge lads like yourself being allowed a little leaway by factories. In fact I thought it would be essential to keep the system oiled and running smoothly. I just can't see then how heavy cattle seem to be selling over and above prices an ordinary Joe might fetch in the factory himself. And I'm not talking €50. Perhaps these are being bought directly by the factory, with the buyers being paid so much a head to buy them for them?

You just wouldnt know, sure how the hell would you go about financing feeding a couple of thousand cattle for the winter. What weight and price? big charalois werent they? Not much point shoving €250 euro of feed down a bad fresians neck when if you put it down your lads throats you will get a much better response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

there is a whole load of people that sell dearer than you and buy everything cheaper than you, these people must be making a fortune :rolleyes:
    There's lads like that in the bookie's shop as well. Always seem to know why a horse is a dead cert to win the race.... after the race :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

tim04750 wrote: »
    Anyone else think its about time the factories access to the cmms was limited to input only, and not research.

Far too many people have access to that system. So many in fact that the integrity of our traceability system is open to question. A closed system should be closed with input only for the absolute minimum number of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

3.40 o&p cows abp today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

The Examiner reported steers at 4.00 to 4.05, ( that's without the Quality assured 12c isn't it ? ) for this weeks quotes,
    any speculation on what next weeks will be like, a possible rise of 5 maybe 10c ?

tatoo wrote: »
    The Examiner reported steers at 4.00 to 4.05, ( that's without the Quality assured 12c isn't it ? ) for this weeks quotes,
    any speculation on what next weeks will be like, a possible rise of 5 maybe 10c ?

yip ex the 12c

5c of a increase would be nice to even us poor feckers down south up with the rest of the country. Big enough kill for this week, things must be about to get tight - and how many times have we said that before :rolleyes:

You just wouldnt know, sure how the hell would you go about financing feeding a couple of thousand cattle for the winter. What weight and price? big charalois werent they? Not much point shoving €250 euro of feed down a bad fresians neck when if you put it down your lads throats you will get a much better response

It would always depend at what price both cattle came in at even a profit can be made from finishing Jerseys.

each to their own beliefs:), but you would want to be paid a fair bit of money to take Jerseys for finishing

I am talking about finishing not about rearing, I only consider myself a trader, I think I know my costs, I allow a margin and try to predict a finished price if buying as opposed to replacing finished cattle from that I can calculate how much I can afford to pay for any animal.

I am different from big finishers that have contracts or semi-contracts in place that are tied to certain type and spec of cattle. As I am a trader I have to try to predict the market and try to target time when factory's will take cattle take that I finish rather than being tied to selling a specific amount ever week producing and replacing to factory demand.

There is often as much money in inefficienty as there is in efficenty

I am talking about finishing not about rearing, I only consider myself a trader, I think I know my costs, I allow a margin and try to predict a finished price if buying as opposed to replacing finished cattle from that I can calculate how much I can afford to pay for any animal.

I am different from big finishers that have contracts or semi-contracts in place that are tied to certain type and spec of cattle. As I am a trader I have to try to predict the market and try to target time when factory's will take cattle take that I finish rather than being tied to selling a specific amount ever week producing and replacing to factory demand.

Whatever your on l want a blast of it

like myself, I buy whatever I think can leave a few quid for me not anyone else , I dont have a single Jersey:D maybe thats where my failing is.

If you got a few at 350-400kgs Jersey bulls would you take them and at what price.