If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Child removed from Roma gypsies-This time in DUBLIN *Mod Warning Post #1*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

dj jarvis wrote: »
    no Nodin - you see the cops went away , investigated , found no case to answer , and returned the child, as ANY police force would do.
    but you KNOW this. what you clearly dont know is what ACTUALLY happened

...the question is why did they take the child in the first place....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,028 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

How do you know that this child was taken because she had the wrong hair colour please? Interested as I haven't read that.

Would the gardai have even been there otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,028 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Gatling wrote: »
    Let's open a thread and get all upset about it and make wild guess's and assumptions and out of the air faux fact's ,

We might find out eventually

let's just libel someone online. You're getting plenty of practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,338 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

How do you know that this child was taken because she had the wrong hair colour please? Interested as I haven't read that.

Well not all the family's kids were taken only the blonde haired kid I believe

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Our Minister for Justice has been abused high up and low down online, but one thing I will say about the man is that he has brought faith back to me about An Garda Síochána is this article here.

I await the outcome of this investigation.

There's no question as to whether the Gaurds should act or not, but the act should be done with more care for the child's emotional well-being based on both possible outcomes.

There is a better way, and I would wager that the conducting of future investigations will learn from the reports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Gatling wrote: »
    Let's open a thread and get all upset about it and make wild guess's and assumptions and out of the air faux fact's ,

We might find out eventually
    hang hang on ..

So information has come to light that a racist neighbour made a FB rant... Then a journalist saw a story then contacted the Gardai ? The journalist was not a neighbour right . So how the Hell would he/she know what was happening to the child. And did the Gardaí not ask the journalist how they came up with the information the child was in danger. If FB was used as this surely alarm bells would have went off as you know everything on FB is real ahem. As normal questions should be do you live near the child have you witnessed any ill-treatment describe the child and so on.

No apparently the Gardaí rock up on a tipoff from a journalist that has no relation to the case bar reading something on FB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

hang hang on ..

So information has come to light that a racist neighbour made a FB rant... Then a journalist saw a story then contacted the guards ? The journalist was not a neighbour right . So how the Hell would he/she know what was happening to the child. And did the Gardaí not ask the journalist how they came up with the information the child was in danger. If FB was used as this surely alarm bells would have went off as you know everything on FB is real ahem. As normal questions should be do you live near the child have you witnessed any ill-treatment describe the child and so on.

No apparently the Gardaí rock up on a tipoff from a journalist that has no relation to the case bar reading something on FB

this info has been know since the very start of this thread , how did you miss this ? it was mentioned many times
    as i said , if questions need to be asked of anyone , it should be the reporter and the jurno , not the cops , they had to act
    but the jorno did not have to splash it nationwide until AFTER the cops done their checks first - then it would never have made the medias attention

Nodin wrote: »

well obviously
    but cant understand the kick the cops attitude when the full facts are not known either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Jaysus the first I've heard of this

this info has been know since the very start of this thread , how did you miss this ? it was mentioned many times
    as i said , if questions need to be asked of anyone , it should be the reporter and the jurno , not the cops , they had to act
    but the jorno did not have to splash it nationwide until AFTER the cops done their checks first - then it would never have made the medias attention

I was being sarcastic pointing out how stupid it was to not verify information that may have come from FB and not a credible source. you know Gardaí should investigate allegations not FB. But don't let that stop you insinuating someone has not read the thread to try making there post look silly and your argument more valid.

i asked how did you not know this , i was not trying to insinuate anything , in your own head buddy

but raises a valid point , you have been banging away at your point for 3 days and you did not know this basic point , its a fair question to ask

and the garda did not investigate because of FB , they investigated becasue a member of the public , a journalist made a complaint , not FB

but if you had read the thread you might have understood this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

i asked how did you not know this , i was not trying to insinuate anything , in your own head buddy

but raises a valid point , you have been banging away at your point for 3 days and you did not know this basic point , its a fair question to ask

and the garda did not investigate because of FB , they investigated becasue a member of the public , a journalist made a complaint , not FB

And the "journalist" based his complaint on what? A racist face book rant.

Of course they did were do you think the journalist got the information ??? Not from a witness to any of this so 2nd and 3rd hand information now is grounds to take children off parents now ?

RustyNut wrote: »
    And the "journalist" based his complaint on what? A racist face book rant.

it does not matter what he based it on , once its made , the cops are legally bound to investigate , to ascertain is it a valid claim or not , this takes investigation , and they done this

Of course they did were do you think the journalist got the information ??? Not from a witness to any of this so 2nd and 3rd hand information now is grounds to take children off parents now ?

you said the garda investigated from a FB post , but they didn't , they investigated from a member of the public making a complaint , they are duty bound to check it out

what part of that are you not getting - they have to - its the law
    what happened after that can be open to interpretation , but not the initial response to the complaint .

if a jurno makes a allegation of kidnapping , they have to respond
    it matters not where he gets his info from , if the cops think he wasted their time , he will be taken to court for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Nodin wrote: »

That is indeed the question, and I hope the report establishes exactly what happened.

I have a feeling that some people who hate Roma/social workers/law/HSE/Facebook/journalists [insert pet hate] are waiting to see how this will confirm their prejudices, but the truth is - undetermined....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

it does not matter what he based it on , once its made , the cops are legally bound to investigate , to ascertain is it a valid claim or not , this takes investigation , and they done this

Yea is would be shocking if they didn't establish the FACTS before taking someone's kids into care.

Oh wait......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭valknut

Lol at this thread, full of hypothetical PC reactionary nonsense.

The Guards and HSE should be praised and commended for there quick responsive action. It was truly a case of dammed if you do dammed if you don't. If the authorities had waited and the child was abducted, the same people would be calling the guards useless and the HSE overpaid paper shuffles while still sticking up for Romas.

Roma culture is a dishonest thieving scamming and organized begging of course a minority with a reputation as described is going to raise suspicion.

Banned

valknut wrote: »

The Guards and HSE should be praised and commended for there quick responsive action. It was truly a case of dammed if you do dammed if you don't. If the authorities had waited and the child was abducted, the same people would be calling the guards useless and the HSE overpaid paper shuffles while still sticking up for Romas.

Roma culture is a dishonest thieving scamming and organized begging of course a minority with a reputation as described is going to raise suspicion.

You mean 2 highly trained groups taking children away for DNA tests ? without investigating properly. Who's jobs involve dealing with children all the time and get basic stuff wrong. and then you question why people are outraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

First of all, the authorities waited 7 years before checking up on this child, second if you believe that, why were the parents not arrested on suspicion of abduction and brought in for questioning? - why were the other children allowed stay we the parents- if the guards/social worker didn't believe the documents for the blonde hair child - did they assume the documents for the other children where right or did they bother to check?

Mod

Valknut banned for trolling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Nothing hypothetical about it. They took children when there was never a need to. It was plain racism at work and admittedly I think your word 'reactionary' is rather appropriate for the situation, they basically labelled a group in society as suspected child snatchers if their children aren't the spitting image of their parents.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    First of all, the authorities waited 7 years before checking up on this child, second if you believe that, why were the parents not arrested on suspicion of abduction and brought in for questioning? - why were the other children allowed stay we the parents- if the guards/social worker didn't believe the documents for the blonde hair child - did they assume the documents for the other children where right or did they bother to check?

This has been brought up numerous times but it does not fit the agenda of the Gardaí/HSE did the right thing so it's dismissed and not answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

This has been brought up numerous times but it does not fit the agenda of the Gardaí/HSE did the right thing so it's dismissed and not answered.

Are you serious - you take a child off the parents because you have suspicion that they are not the parents, but you allow other children to stay - do these children not have the right to be treated the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Corkfeen wrote: »
    It was plain racism at work.

A bit early to say, don't you think? On the face of it, it doesn't look good, but we are unlikely to learn exactly what went on behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,094 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Grayson wrote: »
    Would the gardai have even been there otherwise?

That might well have been the reason why the matter was reported in the first place but from all the other things I have read about it (be they true or false) the garda had trouble proving that the child was theirs. Documentary evidence was faulty and the passport had a different name and very old picture etc. and their was no confirmation from the hospital of her birth due to her mother giving her maiden name. She was also using a different first name as some papers have reported.

Obviously the garda and HSE had difficulty confirming her identity and took the decision to remove her until it was confirmed by DNA.

I think the above is mainly what is being reported whether its true or not I don't know and I am not judging anyone until I have all the facts following the inquiries which are going to take place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,094 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Well not all the family's kids were taken only the blonde haired kid I believe

I know but they were not the subject of the report as far as I know and maybe their identities were confirmed.

You cannot take 1 child and leave the others if there is an Immediate danger they would all be in danger that's just ludicrous to think there not .

RustyNut wrote: »
    Yea is would be shocking if they didn't establish the FACTS before taking someone's kids into care.

Oh wait......

what facts would they be ?
    the facts of what happened on the night that you dont know ?
    those facts ? the ones you are basing your argument on ?

yea ...... right

You mean 2 highly trained groups taking children away for DNA tests ? without investigating properly. Who's jobs involve dealing with children all the time and get basic stuff wrong. and then you question why people are outraged.

and you know this how ? please share with the class, how you know for sure they did not do everything that was needed before they made the decision to remove the children ?

you just keep ignoring the fact that the vast majority of commentators better placed than you or me have said that the cops done the right thing based on the info provided

but dont let that get in the way of your outrage - unfounded outrage until the FACTS are out.