Season 4, Episode 2 - Infected [Spoilers]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

zerks wrote: »
    Just look at what was done at Woodbury with vehicles being used as barricades,surely somebody would've thought "that's a good idea" & just line up vehicles nose to tail outside the fence.The zombies aren't too clever and it'd keep at least 99% of them away from the fence.
    I love the show but the ignoring of the bleeding obvious by those in the prison is unreal.They made a great system of stakes,double gates etc. at the entrance but neglected to fortify the rest of the fence.

Anyhow the "on next weeks Walking Dead" left me with some questions like why Herschel and the rest were in the woods and will our latest male black character get killed off after he gets a few lines in the show?

That's a lot of fence to stake and being that they had been 30 days without incident they obviously didn't see it as a pressing concern and had become complacent . Unfortunately now that the herd has been thinned by the massacre in cellblock D they have the motivation but maybe not the manpower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

viztopia wrote: »
    who do you think is feeding the walkers the rats? also who burnt the two bodies at the end? could it be the governer?

I would imagine it's the little girl. She seemed to have a fascination with that particular walker.

Have to say I really enjoyed this week. Had no idea how it was going to play out. If the bit at the end is anything to go by, next week is going to be a cracker too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Staplor

Are they using a load of green screen backgrounds this season or is the lighting really strange? Especially internal shots, seems almost Sharknado quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Staplor wrote: »
    Are they using a load of green screen backgrounds this season or is the lighting really strange? Especially internal shots, seems almost Sharknado quality

Didn't notice it tbh. Episode 1 had particularly poor CGI but didn't notice anything poor this episode (other than the first pig slaughter)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I think the person who fed the walkers the rats is that new guy who seems to be an alcoholic and a bit over-keen to pay his way, as when he offered to tag along to the supermarket last week. He also seemed to want to know more about this virus and how it affects the remaining survivors. Its surely him who is feeding the walkers and who burnt the bodies, maybe hes a mole and wants to know more/study the people in the prison. Its too obvious to be the kid.

On that note Carol is a right insensitive bitch this season. Firstly being ok with a kid killing her father and then only a day later grabbing same kid to shout in her face that she was weak for not following through! Jesus, we know the kids have to toughen up in this new world but her jump from caring mother figure to cruel bitch was a bit much for me.

Strong episode overall, Rick is slowly coming apart again theres only so much one man can take. The new virus strain is an interesting addition. My only fear is that they are gonna spend all season in the prison which I would find a tad boring but then I dont know how they can write a change in location into this season as they have what they need (mostly) at the prison.

That's what I was thinking too, what are the chances someone has stayed loyal to the govenor and wanted to infiltrate the group.
    Didnt they say at the start he was found only a week ago and he was very keen to lend a hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

the fence was actually a good safe way to kill the walkers, aslong as they kept it under control and didn't have somebody making it worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

What annoyed me was how casual everybody was about security. In the first episode they made a point of showing us how organised and regimented the group was in protecting the perimeter etc. Yet in this episode it's the opposite.

Think about it. If somebody dies suddenly in the middle of the night then everybody is in danger. Yet not one person even closes a door in the cell block, nobody stands guard, and despite having guards in the towers round the clock, nobody bothers to thin the horde of walkers pressed against the fence until it's way too late.

All the problems in this episode would have been resolved if one person in the whole show had a brain. The only reason it bothers me is that like I said in episode 1 they make it clear that the group is on top of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

Really enjoyed this episode. Initially I was a disappointed with the season premiere, but it makes sense now as there was so much to set up for the Milhouse/Patrick storyline.

I think the eldest of the two little girls is a little unhinged, (she was quick to offer to put a knife in her Dad before he became a walker, before changing her mind) and I reckon she's the one giving the 'pet' walkers midnight rat snacks. But I wonder if that's a bit too obvious? (As an aside, the younger girl's facial expressions and one liners were great!) I also think there might be a mole in the prison whose goal it is is to take down the prison from the inside. Perhaps working with the Governor, but maybe not?

I don't think the two charred bodies were suicides, simply because of the bloody streaks on the floor where they've been dragged out of the cells. Did the succumb to the virus or were they killed as a precaution? The former makes a little more sense, but why the others weren't notified either way was a bit odd. Or maybe they were killed and made to look like they got ill first?

Is anyone else wincing at the hygiene issue since the virus theory came about? I keep thinking of Daryl licking his fingers before shaking hands, kissing, pig blood on Rick's face etc. They're going to need to have some sort of hygiene safeguard plan otherwise the prison will be completely contaminated.

Ditto security, think it's time for everyone to start locking their cell doors at night as a precaution. Solo sleeping too.

The poor pigs though. I know they were discussing how flu and viruses often start with animals, but that was tough to watch. Couldn't they just fire up a generator and turn the external fence into an electric fence? A zombie zapper, if you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I don't think it's the little girl feeding the walkers. Whoever it was, shone a light directly into the walkers face and when they put the rat through the fence the walker was able to bite it without bending down. She's not tall enough for that. Plus she would have to be able to find the rats which would mean a lot of time on her own and she is always with her sister. It's more likely an adult that can come and go as they please without arousing suspicion. Could be the loner dude from last week deliberately trying to sabatoge the prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

Really like that episode, good balance of minimal dialogue, character development and action. I thought the direction was seriously up a notch from previous episodes. Specifically the piglet plan, the truck mounted camera, Andrew Lincolns excellent acting, the spray of blood on his face, the loss of sound halfway through, all very good.

I did think the Carol toughening the two girls was way too rushed. They should have given that plot at least a couple of episodes to grow. Suddenly telling a young girl she is weak for not stabbing her father in the brain, ffs.

Have to say, I’m hopeful about the rest of the season. Saying that, if the governor returns as a pantomime villain it will ruin it all.

Also for the posters recommending a moat... The effort involved in that would be massive, and it would be completely filled with a sea of zombies within a couple of weeks. The dispatching of individual zombies was very effective, until someone started feeding them in one specific location and they started grouping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

One thing that annoyed me actually now I think of it, when the young guy, Patrick is it? starts wondering around and feasts on his first victim, its clearly a change from night to morning by the time he chews through the guy, as soon as he hears a new noise hes up and looking for a new victim, then the guy hes eating just gets up, I mean if you re-animate after you die shouldnt the guy have turned very quickly after getting killed and not at the exact time Patrick wondered off into cell block D the next morning after possibily a few hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I did think the Carol toughening the two girls was way too rushed. They should have given that plot at least a couple of episodes to grow. Suddenly telling a young girl she is weak for not stabbing her father in the brain, ffs.
    I think it's delayed grief from what happened to Sophia. Carol is one of the few characters who has kept it together, despite being a victim of domestic violence and losing her daughter. Carol herself started off quite weak but has ended up pretty tough. She's projecting what happened to herself and Sophia onto the little girl and is due an emotional breakdown. Either she will realise on her own that she needs to cop on or Daryl will see what's happening and tell her to reign it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I think it's delayed grief from what happened to Sophia. Carol is one of the few characters who has kept it together, despite being a victim of domestic violence and losing her daughter. Carol herself started off quite weak but has ended up pretty tough. She's projecting what happened to herself and Sophia onto the little girl and is due an emotional breakdown. Either she will realise on her own that she needs to cop on or Daryl will see what's happening and tell her to reign it in.

Ah ok, that makes sense. Its a rushed action from the character not the writers. That make a much better story all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,289 ✭✭✭✭Penn

GavRedKing wrote: »
    One thing that annoyed me actually now I think of it, when the young guy, Patrick is it? starts wondering around and feasts on his first victim, its clearly a change from night to morning by the time he chews through the guy, as soon as he hears a new noise hes up and looking for a new victim, then the guy hes eating just gets up, I mean if you re-animate after you die shouldnt the guy have turned very quickly after getting killed and not at the exact time Patrick wondered off into cell block D the next morning after possibily a few hours?

I think they already said that the time varies for reanimation. Usually quick but can sometimes take a few hours. Besides, half an hour is really all you need for it to go from dark to bright, and they did show Rick was up at 6 so it would have been around dawn.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,700 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I think it's Rick feeding the Walkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Did Rick get sprayed in the face by the piggies blood at the end?

Whoever was in the tower on watch did a **** job if they didnt hear someone come out and see their torch. It wasn't one of the kids feeding them, not high enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Whoever was in the tower on watch did a **** job if they didnt hear someone come out and see their torch. It wasn't one of the kids feeding them, not high enough

I wondered that too. What could Maggie and Glen be doing up there to distract them from nightwatch? *ahem*

They wouldn't be difficult to spot, especially with a torch as a beacon.

I think the older girl might be too obvious a choice, but it's hard to know. Everyone is a suspect, there's plenty of trauma to go round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

It does feel a touch silly that they're having problems with defending a bleedin prison.

There's an infinite number of things they could be doing to protect themselves better. It's not like most of them have all that much to do the whole time.

Pits, traps, reinforcing the fence. Whatever. It just seems like they said, "ah sure that's safe enough lads".

Was it made clear that the pigs needed to be killed?
    Because I would've thought that driving slowly away from them while dangling a pig in front of them would've done the same trick as feeding them to the walkers.

It was a good episode but there really is an awful lot of silly stuff that's very hard to suspend your disbelief for.

Leaving all the cells open is the worst.

The only thing I can think of is that all the people from the old group do lock their doors and it's only the Woodburyites who're maybe a bit more naive about what needs to be done and the old group largely left them to their own devices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

With few supply runs to hardware stores and building supply warehouses they could have gathered enough bricks and mortar and other supplies to build a perimeter wall. Unlike the fence which could have and has started collapse with the weight of zeds against it. A wall with foundations would have stood up to an awful mass of zeds. They could have built observation towers and walkways to keep the perimeter clear. they had more than enough man power to hand everyone a shovel and have it knocked out in a week or so. I suppose that an impenetrable fortress makes for boring drama though; although it would allow for a walker version of Helm's Deep. For the sake of the story the prison needs to fall I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

having a see through double line of fences isn't a bad thing meansthey can watch from a more central point with less people, but where are all these zombies coming from?

I'll guess we'll see in the next ep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,961 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Gbear wrote: »
    It does feel a touch silly that they're having problems with defending a bleedin prison.

There's an infinite number of things they could be doing to protect themselves better. It's not like most of them have all that much to do the whole time.

Pits, traps, reinforcing the fence. Whatever. It just seems like they said, "ah sure that's safe enough lads".

Because I would've thought that driving slowly away from them while dangling a pig in front of them would've done the same trick as feeding them to the walkers.

It was a good episode but there really is an awful lot of silly stuff that's very hard to suspend your disbelief for.

The only thing I can think of is that all the people from the old group do lock their doors and it's only the Woodburyites who're maybe a bit more naive about what needs to be done and the old group largely left them to their own devices.

In fairness, it is a show about a zombie apocalypse..

They get a pass from me as it's was an entirely explainable and intentional plot point from the writers that is now in the process of being paid off as the fruits of their complacency come home to roost. Besides while it would have been cool to see what fortifications they had mustered up over the summer wouldn't it be better to show and not tell so to speak and see them spurred to action rather then it all being a fait accompli .

Agree completely about the Woodburyites, work shy no marks the lot of em ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Why not keep the animals inside anyway?

The smell/sounds would have attracted zombies

With few supply runs to hardware stores and building supply warehouses they could have gathered enough bricks and mortar and other supplies to build a perimeter wall. Unlike the fence which could have and has started collapse with the weight of zeds against it. A wall with foundations would have stood up to an awful mass of zeds. They could have built observation towers and walkways to keep the perimeter clear. they had more than enough man power to hand everyone a shovel and have it knocked out in a week or so. I suppose that an impenetrable fortress makes for boring drama though; although it would allow for a walker version of Helm's Deep. For the sake of the story the prison needs to fall I suppose.

It would take them years to source enough materials, transport them to the prison in vehicles small enough to navigate the choked up highways let alone the the time it would take for the manpower available to build a brick wall around the circumference of the prison, assuming we're talking about building it where the external fences are that is. Now if we're talking about building one where the internal fences are then maybe that's a bit more practical as a more robust last line of defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,289 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Gathered enough bricks and mortar? For a two meter wall, including foundations, around an entire prison? Even discounting the amount of fuel they'd need to go back and forth for blocks (if they can find somewhere nearby that has enough, the amount of water they'd need to use for the mortar and cement, probably need piers in the wall every few meters, probable lack of manhours and expertise among the group... it'd never work. It's much smarter to routinely kill the walkers as they get to the fence.

Their problem as PhiloCypher said is that they were becoming too lax about it, and the infection and killings in the cells during the day distracted them enough that the buildup of walkers at the fence became too great. Carl firing the gun to save Michonne may also have brought extra walkers towards the prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

In fairness, it is a show about a zombie apocalypse..

I hate this ****.

Any story, regardless how fantastical has to follow some sort of internal logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Great episode. Makes up for dull opening episode. All sorts of possibilities opened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I hate this ****.

Any story, regardless how fantastical has to follow some sort of internal logic.

They were able to put sharpened stakes at the gates,why not all the way around? I mean people thought of that in the dark ages when defending villages & forts.
    In the last series when Rick met up with his old friend,that guy was able to defend a town by himself & had all sorts of elaborate traps & barriers built.
    When Woodbury was abandoned,why didn't they go back there for supplies? The place was well kitted out & even had solar panels set up for power,easy enough to load up a truck (plenty of them parked up there)with gear and bring it to the prison.Instead they brought the laziest people in the world with them,so far all they've contributed is to become zombie food.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,700 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

there must be a link between the increased zombie numbers and the new virus/disease. makes no sense to have Rick comment on the white eyed zombie otherwise.

The brick wall is a good idea but I'm not sure hunting for those materials is that feasible. Digging a trench between the two fences might be a good idea - with some planks across so they can access each one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭starskey77

ware.s all the amo coming from its been 2 years not to mention the
    the food. how can they keep it together head for an island peace and harmony