Burton: Garda checkpoints on estates to weed out welfare cheats

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

bizmark wrote: »
    /o\ good god

I to want to be tracked by the all knowing benevolent government every day every time i travel and do anything

But it might save a small amount of money.Sure how much is your personal freedom worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭bizmark

Bambi wrote: »
    its threads like this that make you realise how the brits managed to overlord this country for so long

Ah its unworkable anyway its just populous rubbish backed up with vage statistics

It is terrifying how many people are ok in theory with large scale surveillance though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Valetta wrote: »
    Ah... the old "ordinary folk" line.

Next it will be "the most vunerable in society".

Yawn. Give me a break.

I think you and your Daily Mail chums have had plenty of breaks, time for change.

But it might save a small amount of money.Sure how much is your personal freedom worth?

More than this country will ever make to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

no it isn't "proper order" as its a political stunt and thats all it will be, infact i'd wager it won't happen at all.

a great statement, used by supporters of a survailence big brother society, doesn't work on me, just because i've nothing to hide doesn't mean i put up with any old thing

Do you believe that people who are on the dole should be able to work and not pay tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭shantolog

“I don’t think there’s any such thing as an acceptable level (of social welfare fraud)... we’ve made huge strides,” she said.

Well I'd disagree with her here in regards to what an acceptable level is. If you can make a legitimate living doing nixers, or are working regulary enough to be able to make a living but rather stay on the dole and do both, thats fraud in my opinion.

But What if you get offered one days work,literally, thats it, no chance of a job or any other work out of it, you should turn it down because its somehow morally wrong, and you're nothing but a fruadster if you take it?

Give me a break, thats just trying to get by in my opinion, I think fraud is turning a proper job to stay on the dole doing nixers, not getting a days work once in a blue moon while you are looking to rejoin the work force...

bumper234 wrote: »
    Do you believe that people who are on the dole should be able to work and not pay tax?

I don't believe i should be classed as suspect and interrogated leaving my house in the morning over what other people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,044 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

If the Government do this well and catch good numbers of people and make the savings it will go in their favour in the polls. People who do a hard days work want the social system reformed and fraud removed and only if this happens will this FG get my vote in 2016.
    I don't believe i should be classed as suspect and interrogated leaving my house in the morning over what other people

Why not? Many people who have a problem with it have something to hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭RedFormanFITA

The pot calling the kettle black. They should put as much effort into going after the f***ers who ruined this country and who even today are making people leave in their thousands. Entire towns and villages are emptying and there is not a word about it. The live register figures are down, we'll we all know why, there's nobody here to go on it. Total f***ing hypocrisy and the support it is getting from some members on here is unbelievable, why don't we just all join UKIP or Golden Dawn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Its the people claiming disability benefits that are perfectly fine that the garda should be after. Scum of the earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

bizmark wrote: »
    /o\ good god

I to want to be tracked by the all knowing benevolent government every day every time i travel and do anything

It would probably work better if they marketed like a supermarket club card and they send you out money off vouchers for every 10th M50 trip.

I don't believe i should be classed as suspect and interrogated leaving my house in the morning over what other people do.

How will you be "interrogated" the guard will ask you your name , address and where you are going. The social welfare guy will run your name through the system and if you are not in there as a claimant then that will be the last you hear about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

some craic.........this country of ours :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Yawns wrote: »
    Doubt it tbh. Anyone doing a nixer can simply say they are going to the shops or something. Unless you catch them with tools and in some kind of uniform, not many if any at all will get caught.

However going into an industrial estate during typical industrial working hours would be enough suspicion to have you called into office for an interview. If you are signing on everyday for 2 weeks or so your employer won't be happy to have you off work. If the employer wasn't aware you were claiming whilst working, they won't be happy either. Either way it's easier to to catch them in industrial estates rather than housing estates.

Not 100% effective either as what about retail workers or pubs etc. I suppose for retail you could have local social department workers sent out around the local area in hopes they might recognise a face from the dole queue. If they do, they could have them come in for an interview and sign on every day for a week or 2 etc.

But then you'd most likely need to pay an expense to the DSP worker for taking them out of the office and what not.

You'll have to forgive my ignorance I'm just a taxpaying wage slave but let me get this straight :

It's possible to claim wellfare (using a PPS number) and work at the same time (presumably with an employer paying taxes etc. against your PPS number?)? (employers need a PPS number no? last time I dealt with the tax office I gave them my pps number and they knew who I worked for etc. etc.)

Do the gob****es running the government not realise that nowadays what with computers and other magic schtuff there's a pretty simple solution to catch a good few of these guys out, without ever having to leave the door?

Maybe somebody with a basic understanding of databases should go have a chat with them.

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    If the Government do this well and catch good numbers of people and make the savings it will go in their favour in the pools. People who do a hard days work want the social system reformed and fraud removed and only if this happens will this FG get my vote in 2016.

Why not?

They won't catch anyone,how do you prove somebody is going to work for money.Nothing is stopping paddy the plasterer saying he's going to do up his mothers house.

Plus,the person stopped by the guards is under no obligation to speak in front of the social welfare inspector behind him.The person can request a confidential conversation where no information can be shared and where by the inspector can't listen in.

Won't work,won't happen.Thank fuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭feartuath

Are they going to stop the scrap merchants and tarmacadem contractors in their Hiace vans and ask them about their dole payments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Big Brother is watching :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Way to answer a question that wasn't asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭él statutorio

How will you be "interrogated" the guard will ask you your name , address and where you are going. The social welfare guy will run your name through the system and if you are not in there as a claimant then that will be the last you hear about it.

It's none of their bloody business where i'm going!

If they suspect me of something then they can arrest me, otherwise they can fup off.

Burton hoping to save around 710 million per year! Lol

How does she even know how much fraud is going on?

She is about to spend a large amount of cash and waste Garda time chasing down fraud that may or may not exist!

And if someone is on a nixer and stupid enough to be caught then tough, any person with a brain will be able to dodge this thanks to her heads up!

Why should i give my information and where i'm going to,to somebody out of the civil service who has no authority to ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,044 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

They won't catch anyone,how do you prove somebody is going to work for money.Nothing is stopping paddy the plasterer saying he's going to do up his mothers house.

Plus,the person stopped by the guards is under no obligation to speak in front of the social welfare inspector behind him.The person can request a confidential conversation where no information can be shared and where by the inspector can't listen in.

Come on do spill how much you are cheating the system?

If they suspect you are working and claiming they can investigate you and stop payments until you satisfy them that you are not working.

Valetta wrote: »
    Way to answer a question that wasn't asked.
    Well i thought it would be pretty obvious that nobody supports Social welfare fraud,although i don't oppose it enough to have it come at a price to my personal freedoms.

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Come on do spill how much you are cheating the system?

The pr targeted demographic folks

If they suspect you are working and claiming they can investigate you and stop payments until you satisfy them that you are not working.

How do they prove they're claiming if they can't have your information..

It's none of their bloody business where i'm going!

If they suspect me of something then they can arrest me, otherwise they can fup off.

No they can question you and if you refuse to answer then they can hold you. Do you work?

Why should i give my information and where i'm going to,to somebody out of the civil service who has no authority to ask?

The guard will ask not the welfare officer.

No they can question you and if you refuse to answer then they can hold you. Do you work?

You're under no legal obligation to say a word to the inspector.

The guard will ask not the welfare officer.

The guard will ask,you tell the inspector to fuck off.Request a confidential conversation and bob's your uncle.