Funeral processions and traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Road Traffic Laws 1997.

Don't dodge the question, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

We can't seem to bury our dead fast enough here in Ireland, can we? Apart from where there is a post-mortem/autopsy/crime involved, the majority of funerals in Ireland have the person planted within 72 hours of them passing away. OK you might have to wait a day for Auntie Sally to come home from the States but majority wise I'm speaking about.

Any funeral I heard about or was at in the UK was at least 5 or 6 days after the death of the person. I think in the States, it's usually 8 to 10 days. But Ireland, if they're not underground in 3 days, it's a disaster.

I'd never begrudge anyone a proper funeral cortege where the hearse drives slowly. It's a mark of respect, it's the final journey and a final time to reflect for the family and it's practical as if a hearse takes off at 60 mph and the rest of the cortege tries to keep up, it'll end up like the grand prix.

Yes if you're not involved and are in a hurry it's a pain but (a) it's not something that happens everyday and (b) when it is your turn and you're behind the coffin of a loved one, you might be glad for the sedate pace instead of rushing to get rid of them forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I wonder if your "clients" would still be your "clients" if they knew how you behaved in these situations....

Yes, they've always appreciated my punctuality.

Plazaman wrote: »
    I'd never begrudge anyone a proper funeral cortege where the hearse drives slowly. It's a mark of respect, it's the final journey and a final time to reflect for the family and it's practical as if a hearse takes off at 60 mph and the rest of the cortege tries to keep up, it'll end up like the grand prix.

Yes if you're not involved and are in a hurry it's a pain but (a) it's not something that happens everyday and (b) when it is your turn and you're behind the coffin of a loved one, you might be glad for the sedate pace instead of rushing to get rid of them forever.

Again, that's all grand, just don't block other traffic from passing you and don't do it at rush hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,203 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Don't dodge the question, thanks.

I think you dodge the initial question, your saying that it is illegal to drive behind each other at 40mph on a road (link pls?), and that if it is illegal then it is ok, for Frank Black to act illegal and over take (even though I have given you a quote from the Road Traffic Laws above, showing that what he is doing is not legal if it cause inconvenience to anyone else - which it would in a funeral procession.

So then you are now saying it is ok for frank to break the law if the funeral crowd are breaking the law?

There is more of a chance of a crash occurring from Frank's behaviour than from anyone else.

But no doubt you'll tell me what Frank was doing was legal - despite the Road Traffic Laws?

I don't begrudge people a 40mph drive if they're in a funeral procession.
    I do begrudge being expected to not overtake them if safe to do so.

I think you dodge the initial question, your saying that it is illegal to drive behind each other at 40mph on a road (link pls?), and that if it is illegal then it is ok, for Frank Black to act illegal and over take (even though I have given you a quote from the Road Traffic Laws above, showing that what he is doing is not legal if it cause inconvenience to anyone else - which it would in a funeral procession.

So then you are now saying it is ok for frank to break the law if the funeral crowd are breaking the law?

There is more of a chance of a crash occurring from Frank's behaviour than from anyone else.

But no doubt you'll tell me what Frank was doing was legal - despite the Road Traffic Laws?

Absolute bollox - where is the inconvienence for them?

Yes, they've always appreciated my punctuality.

So they would still think of you the same way if they knew you gave wanker signs to people of a funeral procession while illegally overtaking them?

must be no code of ethics in your profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

That's how I want mine. people can follow the hearse in go karts.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If there is one time to cut some people some slack it is when they are burying a loved one.

I cannot imagine the horror of sitting in the chief mourners car getting over taken by someone making a wanker sign.

Whatever about making expletive hand gestures (which I obviously disagree with), surely you can agree there has to be some limits here? Is it fine having a 200 car procession going along at 20km/h for 50km? If not, why not? Do they not deserve 'respect'?

So they would still think of you the same way if they knew you gave wanker signs to people of a funeral procession while illegally overtaking them?

must be no code of ethics in your profession.

I didn't illegally overtake anyone and responded in kind to people who first gave me the wanker sign, so yes, I'm pretty sure they'd be fine with it.
    Lots of ethical standards in my profession btw.

Overtaking is legal, cutting off someone that is overtaking is illegal. You are acting like teh funeral procession is not doing anything wrong, they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

We can't seem to bury our dead fast enough here in Ireland, can we?
    and (b) when it is your turn and you're behind the coffin of a loved one, you might be glad for the sedate pace instead of rushing to get rid of them forever.

Exactly. The whole funeral process in this country is so frenetic, the funeral procession is often a time to reflect and catch your breath before the next stage of madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭OldRio

You are on a wind up. Yes?

I didn't illegally overtake anyone and responded in kind to people who first gave me the wanker sign, so yes, I'm pretty sure they'd be fine with it.
    Lots of ethical standards in my profession btw.

So how do you safely overtake while giving wanker signs - 2 hands on wheel? -

How you know they are giving you the signs - do you not have your eyes on the road?

You can try to defend your actions all day long - truth is you know what you did was not right. No body is this thread is going to say your actions where right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭moochers

We had a funeral procession for my brother which took about twenty minutes from the church to the cemetery. We passed through an old area of Galway called Bohermore and we were very surprised when cars and even the buses not only stopped but stopped their engines as we passed. The majority of people also stopped, blessed themselves and even two young lads took off their hats.

As previous posts pointed out, it was a lovely mark of respect, and it gave us great comfort that people were so kind to acknowledge my brother.

It reminded me of a modern version of Waugh's poem, 'stop all the clocks', because that is exactly how people feel when someone they love dies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Exactly. The whole funeral process in this country is so frenetic, the funeral procession is often a time to reflect and catch your breath before the next stage of madness.

Where is the post saying funeral processions should drive at 100 kmph?
    So how do you safely overtake while giving wanker signs - 2 hands on wheel? -

You can't, nor can the funeral procession. Both are at fault there. They shouldn't be cutting him off though, or beeping/flashing/gesturing at him in the first place.

Overtaking is legal, cutting off someone that is overtaking is illegal. You are acting like teh funeral procession is not doing anything wrong, they are.

Please show me a source to this?

you overtake if it is safe to do so - did you not read this in the handbook?
    If there is not enough room between the 2 cars in front then it is not safe to overtake and therefore you don't, as doing so is dangerous and can cause an accident. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭OldRio

That's very sad.

Is it fine having a 200 car procession going along at 20km/h for 50km?

That would rarely, if ever, happen. If there's a distance between the church and graveyard, or funeral home and church, speed is almost always picked up once out of built up areas. And you'd never have 200 cars following a procession where all of those 200 cars are part of the chief mourners. Once you get further back from the hearse, the procession does tend to break up a bit. Just don't weave in and out of the first, say, 10-20 cars.

You might encounter what you outlined above, like, once in your lifetime. Boo hoo.

So how do you safely overtake while giving wanker signs - 2 hands on wheel? - .

Probably the same way you change gears in a manual car
    How you know they are giving you the signs - do you not have your eyes on the road?.
    I tend to use the rear-view mirror when driving - don't you? Or are you completely unaware of what is happening behind you?
    You can try to defend your actions all day long - truth is you know what you did was not right. No body is this thread is going to say your actions where right.

Why does my post have 'thanks' so? - more than any of yours actually, not that it's a competition or that I would care either way, but seeing as it obviously matters to you, I'm afriad to tell you that you seem to hold a more minority view.

Please show me a source to this?

Don't be obtuse.

OldRio wrote: »
    That's very sad.

In you opinion.

If you're happy to sit around behind funeral processions and be perfectly content, that's great for you. Don't expect everyone else to act the same way.

Where is the post saying funeral processions should drive at 100 kmph?

And where did I say someone said that? :)

Quit the hyperbole.

That would rarely, if ever, happen. If there's a distance between the church and graveyard, or funeral home and church, speed is almost always picked up once out of built up areas. And you'd never have 200 cars following a procession where all of those 200 cars are part of the chief mourners. Once you get further back from the hearse, the procession does tend to break up a bit. Just don't weave in and out of the first, say, 10-20 cars.

You might encounter what you outlined above, like, once in your lifetime. Boo hoo.

How about if we have double the distance, half the speed and double the mourners? Is it still okay? Is there ever a point in your mind where they're inconveniencing too many people for too long?

How about if 3000 people decide they want to walk the coffin the length of the M50 to match the commute the deceased made every day out of respect? Is that okay?

And where did I say someone said that? :)

Quit the hyperbole.

Sorry, it looked like you were. Retracted.

No one is saying that funeral processions should speed up though (not yet anyway :D). The issue is with them stopping others from proceeding by blocking the road.

Probably the same way you change gears in a manual car

I tend to use the rear-view mirror when driving - don't you? Or are you completely unaware of what is happening behind you?

Why does my post have 'thanks' so? - more than any of yours actually, not that it's a competition or that I would care either way, but seeing as it obviously matters to you, I'm afriad to tell you that you seem to hold a more minority view.

Yea but changing the gears is acceptable - what you didn't wasn't.

Ok do up a thread, and let's sew how many people agree that giving the wanker sign while overtaking a funeral procession is acceptable - in fact I bet the thread would turn abusive and be closed my the mods.

Yea but changing the gears is acceptable - what you didn't wasn't.

Ok do up a thread, and let's sew how many people agree that giving the wanker sign while overtaking a funeral procession is acceptable - in fact I bet the thread would turn abusive and be closed my the mods.

You keep focusing on the actions which are a response to the funeral procession and ignoring eh procession itself. But hey, you want a fecking source to show that cutting someone off when they are overtaking is illegal :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson