If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Funeral processions and traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,032 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

How about if we have double the distance, half the speed and double the mourners? Is it still okay? Is there ever a point in your mind where they're inconveniencing too many people for too long?

How about if 3000 people decide they want to walk the coffin the length of the M50 to match the commute the deceased made every day out of respect? Is that okay?

For big funerals, the guards get involved - sure all we have to do is look at some well know people's funerals' - roads are closed.

If a hearse is going from Dublin to Donegal then they will go normal motorway speed when on the motorway.

You keep focusing on the actions which are a response to the funeral procession and ignoring eh procession itself. But hey, you want a fecking source to show that cutting someone off when they are overtaking is illegal :pac:

No I'm simply asking you to show me where it states that when driving you must leave enough room between you and the car in front so that someone can overtake you safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Yea but changing the gears is acceptable - what you didn't wasn't.

Wow.
    In a few posts you've gone from 'illegal' to 'unsafe' to 'unacceptable'.
    Careful now those goalposts don't fall on you when you're next moving them.

Wow.
    In a few posts you've gone from 'illegal' to 'unsafe' to 'unacceptable'.
    Careful now those goalposts don't fall on you when you're next moving them.

have you started that thread yet?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,811 ✭✭✭OldRio

In you opinion.

If you're happy to sit around behind funeral processions and be perfectly content, that's great for you. Don't expect everyone else to act the same way.

I'm glad to say I live in an area where respect is shown for the deceased.

No I'm simply asking you to show me where it states that when driving you must leave enough room between you and the car in front so that someone can overtake you safely.

Why don't you back up your own points you've been asked to explain before asking for clarification from others? Kinda undermines your argument the fact you constantly have to dodge answering some simple questions.

What points need backing up?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Whatever about making expletive hand gestures (which I obviously disagree with), surely you can agree there has to be some limits here? Is it fine having a 200 car procession going along at 20km/h for 50km? If not, why not? Do they not deserve 'respect'?

There is no reason for a funeral procession to travel at 20 in a 100 zone. But is 60 acceptable? 100 is too fast, my distressed auntie may would have her Fiat wrapped around a tree if we did that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

How about if we have double the distance, half the speed and double the mourners? Is it still okay? Is there ever a point in your mind where they're inconveniencing too many people for too long?

How about if 3000 people decide they want to walk the coffin the length of the M50 to match the commute the deceased made every day out of respect? Is that okay?

What point are you trying to make? :confused:

The first scenario you outlined isn't acceptable, but it would never, ever, ever happen. So why you came back with an even more fantastical, ridiculous scenario is beyond me. Please enlighten me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

OldRio wrote: »
    I'm glad to say I live in an area where respect is shown for the deceased.

I'm glad to live in an area where respect is shown both to the deceased and also people who are unaffected. Long funeral processions on busy roads don't happen in my area, thanks to people having a bit of cop on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What point are you trying to make? :confused:

The first scenario you outlined isn't acceptable, but it would never, ever, ever happen. So why you came back with an even more fantastical, ridiculous scenario is beyond me. Please enlighten me.

I know they wouldn't happen. I'm just trying to figure out whether you ever believe there's a point at which people in a funeral procession are inconveniencing others to an unacceptable level or if their actions are always justified by their situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Absolute bollox - where is the inconvienence for them?
    What points need backing up?:confused:

You can start with this one - how are people inconvenienced by being overtaken by a faster moving vehicle?
    This would be your point about my actions being 'illegal' if you remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Walking behind a funeral procession has been stopped in recent years in the town where I live. Since it has been stopped I noticed that the tradition of shops and businesses turning off their lights and closing their doors while a funeral is passing has also stopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

I'm glad to live in an area where respect is shown both to the deceased and also people who are unaffected. Long funeral processions on busy roads don't happen in my area, thanks to people having a bit of cop on.

Everyone shows respect even if you do not know the deceased. Traffic stops and people make the sign of the cross and bow their heads. Time to reflect.
    'There for the grace of God goes I'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭lertsnim

My point is that if you travel at 60mph and somebody else travels at 40mph, you will get 5 miles up the road 90 seconds quicker. The probability is a procession of that size is not travelling too far so, if you were going to be late for your meeting, it was because you we're running late in the first place.

I've seen hearses travelling from the hospital along the main road and when they can they pull over to the left (if their journey is a long one). If the graveyard is not far up the road, it really isn't taking much time off your own journey.

I've been stuck behind a slow moving hearse and its stream of cars for 25 miles so it is wrong to assume that all funeral processions are going only a few miles.

One of the reasons the Irish are so respectful of their dead is because during the Great Famine (1845-1850) people weren't given proper funerals, they were buried in unmarked mass graves, piled on carts. This is supposed to have had an affect on how the Irish are so respectful. A case of "never again". I don't think it's progress to see our funeral traditions die out.

You can start with this one - how are people inconvenienced by being overtaken by a faster moving vehicle?
    This would be your point about my actions being 'illegal' if you remember

The law states you should not overtake if it is of inconvenience to others. - I gave you the link.

1. For a funeral, people travelling in cars stay close to the hearse so not to lose it, in traffic or at lights. Have you ever gone to a funeral - the hearse can drive up to the grave, most others have to find parking, therefore if you fall way behind a hearse you can pretty much miss the burial. By over taking you are causing an inconvenience to the procession - hence the beeping/sign language.

2. People travelling in a funeral stay close together, therefore there would not be sufficient room for a person to overtake safely and cut back in, therefore by overtaking you are more than likely doing so in a dangerous manner, rules of the road - overtake only if it is safe to do so

Others have expressed their views about respect for funeral's etc so there is no need for me to repeat those views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I know they wouldn't happen. I'm just trying to figure out whether you ever believe there's a point at which people in a funeral procession are inconveniencing others to an unacceptable level or if their actions are always justified by their situation?

Funeral processions as they generally happen now are acceptable, IMO. Outside of that, there is definitely a point where they become over the top, yes. Why you seem to think that I think otherwise, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

On my way home yesterday at rush hour there was a traffic waring about a large funeral on a major routeway. I have respect for funerals but not for a$$holes who organise for the procession to happen at rush hour. Consideration and respect works both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,525 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

The law states you should not overtake if it is of inconvenience to others. - I gave you the link.

1. For a funeral, people travelling in cars stay close to the hearse so not to lose it, in traffic or at lights. Have you ever gone to a funeral - the hearse can drive up to the grave, most others have to find parking, therefore if you fall way behind a hearse you can pretty much miss the burial. By over taking you are causing an inconvenience to the procession - hence the beeping/sign language.

2. People travelling in a funeral stay close together, therefore there would not be sufficient room for a person to overtake safely and cut back in, therefore by overtaking you are more than likely doing so in a dangerous manner, rules of the road - overtake only if it is safe to do so

Others have expressed their views about respect for funeral's etc so there is no need for me to repeat those views.

1) no, that is not an inconvenience.
    2) you must leave sufficient room between cars.

1) no, that is not an inconvenience.
    2) you must leave sufficient room between cars.

What is an inconvenience to you - may not be to others - it's a matter of opinion. If you don't think that's an inconvenience - please give an example that you think is?

sufficient room to stop yes, please show me where it says sufficient room to allow a car to overtake - I've asked 3/4 times now?

One of the reasons the Irish are so respectful of their dead is because during the Great Famine (1845-1850) people weren't given proper funerals, they were buried in unmarked mass graves, piled on carts. This is supposed to have had an affect on how the Irish are so respectful of the dead. A case of "never again". I don't think it's progress to see our funeral traditions die out.
    If we have such respect for our dead why were we burying babies in the corners of fields at night time for a century after that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

OldRio wrote: »
    Everyone shows respect even if you do not know the deceased. Traffic stops and people make the sign of the cross and bow their heads. Time to reflect.
    'There for the grace of God goes I'

Why should I make the sign of the cross? :confused: I'm not into peado based religion.

Why should I show respect to some random funeral? For all I know it could be some murderer or kiddie fiddler in the box.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Why should I make the sign of the cross? :confused: I'm not into peado based religion.

Why should I show respect to some random funeral? For all I know it could be some murderer or kiddie fiddler in the box.

'Peado based religion'
    'Kiddie fiddle'

Says a lot about yerself when we are discussing the lack of respect at funerals

What is an inconvenience to you - may not be to others - it's a matter of opinion. If you don't think that's an inconvenience - please give an example that you think is?

sufficient room to stop yes, please show me where it says sufficient room to allow a car to overtake - I've asked 3/4 times now?

Its a matter of law, not opinion. Overtaking a funeral is not illegal

Tailgating is an offense covered under Sec18 (Road Traffic General Bye-Laws, 1964). Speeding up when someone overtakes is also covered, as is cutting someone off.

Its a matter of law, not opinion. Overtaking a funeral is not illegal

Tailgating is an offense covered under Sec 51(a) Road Traffic Act 1961 driving with reasonable consideration. Speeding up when someone overtakes is also covered, as is cutting someone off.

You need to learn definition of tail gating - it's to do with stopping distance - which I said previously.

You overtake when it is safe to do so- if there is no room between the two cars in front then it is not safe to overtake -

You obv aren't going to accept this- you still haven't shown a source whereby it says you must leave a distance between you and the car in front which leaves enough space for someone to over take- until you provide this I won't respond to you again.

Speeding up when overtaking has not been mentioned by me- so why mention it?

Basically your argument is that if you decide to overtake me on a road it is my responsibility to slow down and let you pass.

You need to learn definition of tail gating - it's to do with stopping distance - which I said previously.

You overtake when it is safe to do so- if there is no room between the two cars in front then it is not safe to overtake -

You obv aren't going to accept this- you still haven't shown a source whereby it says you must leave a distance between you and the car in front which leaves enough space for someone to over take- until you provide this I won't respond to you again.

Speeding up when overtaking has not been mentioned by me- so why mention it?

Basically your argument is that if you decide to overtake me on a road it is my responsibility to slow down and let you pass.

I misquoted the statute and edited it 5 minutes before your post.

The cars in question sped up to stop yer man from passing, they then harassed him for doing so.

Apart from that, there should always be room to allow a car in if you are keeping a safe distance between you, its implicit in that statute that you dont fecking close up to stop people overtaking you.

I misquoted the statute and edited it 5 minutes before your post.

The cars in question sped up to stop yer man from passing, they then harassed him for doing so.

Apart from that, there should always be room to allow a car in if you are keeping a safe distance between you, its implicit in that statute that you dont fecking close up to stop people overtaking you.

If you are keeping a safe difference, it means you can stop without hitting the car in front, no where does it say that I car has to fit in. If Car A and B are going at a constant speed, and Car C decides to cut in between them, and Car A breaks hard, Car C will hit straight into it as he won't be a suitable distance away.

you are trying to bend the basic rule of stopping distance for your argument of over taking.

Please quote where the cars in questions sped up? from the below I see no mention of it?

I came upon a funeral procession a few years ago, on the N52 I think it was between Tullamore and Birr. There were about 20 cars in a line doing around 40mph. I was trying to get to a meeting in Roscrea or somewhere at the time and I started to overtake the cars. A number of them started to beep at me and flash their lights. I ignored them and contintinued to overtake when I could.
    You don't have the right to take over a national secondary road for a funeral and demand that everyone else drives at 40mph.
    I don't see anything wrong in what I did, though some of the people I overtook seemed to consider me an enormous prick judging by their gestures and expressions. I gave the more ignorant of them the fingers/wanker sign back, which was obviously childish but also immensely satisfying.
    Thanks for the suggestion Pops, but I think I'll continue with my current 'overtaking slow traffic' method, which has served me well up until now.
    It's not so much the driving in convoy at 40mph - it's the misplaced sense of righteous anger at being overtaken that I find most amusing. Almost as if they consider they should have exclusive use of a national road to ferry a family member to a graveyard and everyone else can just suck it up.
    Sorry, it doesn't work like that - I'm overtaking whether you like it or not.
    Gosh - we'll have to try again.
    What's disrespectful about overtaking someone doing 40mph on a public road?
    Or, if you prefer, what's 'respectful' about driving for 40mph behind a line of cars whose occupants you don't know.

Personally, I've far too much 'respect' for my Clients to be late for a meeting with them when I can safely overtake a slow moving bunch of vehicles and arrive in time instead.

And as for your 'two minutes' point - what thread are you reading as this obvioulsy wasn't going to be the case.