SPOILERS: We're Alive Discussion

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Just listened. Pointless. Girl with dodgy eyes takes off bandages, and still has dodgy eyes. CJ, Saul, and Victor have a cover story for going back to the other base. Riley is fecking columbo looking for a reason why. That's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

They really seem to be working hard at making it an even duller season that season three. :(

Michael just rolling over and accepting that a civilian should be in charge of the military guys, no major questioning as to the logic why Saul, Vic and a very pregnant Lizzie would be trying to man an entire tower block. Given how hard it was for the original crew to look after a full sized tower block, it just seems unbelievable that everyone would be so accepting of the idea and also of their group being split up so quickly after finding each other again.

CJ pretty much saying who can and who cannot leave the colony and when they can do so. Funny how Michael had no problems not following orders at the army base and now he is just bending over for a one legged civilian that he just met.

Riley suddenly being in detective mode about why the others are leaving, and the fact she and Burt in the last episode had decided they were leaving themselves seems to be forgotten about.

Like I said after the last episode, I just wish the original crew plus the soldiers would just all leave for the tower block and leave the Colony to fend for itself.

I want to know about the cracks in the ground, about the stuff found in the hospital in season two, about the aquatic creatures, about the mallers, a nd so on, and not the rubbish they have been serving up in season three and so far this season.

Another new episode day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

Jaysus Kess, the enthusiasm is jumping through the screen at me!

muff03 wrote: »
    Jaysus Kess, the enthusiasm is jumping through the screen at me!

Just as well I had not listened to the new episode at that point then.:pac:

Am coming very close to stopping listening altogether.

Yet another awful episode. Deadly dull, and even messes up by making out something we (and the original group) have already known since season one was brand new information.

Now we are to swallow that the fact the creatures are intelligent and that they can communicate amongst themselves (and plan things like an ambush etc) is new information. Three full seasons of that fact being rammed down our throats, three full seasons of characters (including the two talking about it in this episode) talking about how smart the creatures can be, and now we have Kelly and Tanya debating the new discovery that the creatures may be able to set an ambush and communicate amongst themselves based on only the past four months. And to top it off we have Kelly (one of the original group from season one) trying to say she does not really believe it despite her pretty much seeing it from day one.

The rest of the episode was just as bad. Lots of pointless talk about nothing, and the usual "massive" cliffhanger at the end.

Thought it was pretty considerate of the creatures to just totally vanish for the past three or four episodes and ignore the fact that the gate was down and the colony was still wide open to attack.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Kess73 wrote: »

Just as well I had not listened to the new episode at that point then.:pac:

Am coming very close to stopping listening altogether.

Yet another awful episode. Deadly dull, and even messes up by making out something we (and the original group) have already known since season one was brand new information.

Now we are to swallow that the fact the creatures are intelligent and that they can communicate amongst themselves (and plan things like an ambush etc) is new information. Three full seasons of that fact being rammed down our throats, three full seasons of characters (including the two talking about it in this episode) talking about how smart the creatures can be, and now we have Kelly and Tanya debating the new discovery that the creatures may be able to set an ambush and communicate amongst themselves based on only the past four months. And to top it off we have Kelly (one of the original group from season one) trying to say she does not really believe it despite her pretty much seeing it from day one.

The rest of the episode was just as bad. Lots of pointless talk about nothing, and the usual "massive" cliffhanger at the end.

Thought it was pretty considerate of the creatures to just totally vanish for the past three or four episodes and ignore the fact that the gate was down and the colony was still wide open to attack.

Hold on hold hold HOLD ON! We almost found out what happened to Michael's arm.

Newsflash. Zombies bite people in the neck. May have some form of intelligence. Pin stripe entered a PIN! They pushed cars to create ambushes. They kept captives for sport. And lawyer check is sprouting about circumstantial evidence.

NEW

EPISODE

DAY

Really hoping for a strong finish to the chapter. Some serious redemption needed! I just don't understand how the story has become so boring?

HOW DID WE GET HERE?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭DakotaYoda

Not posted here for a bit but have been keeping up on We're Alive - I had to see if others had the same opinion of the new season that I do and YUP - It's BORING AS ****!!

The "relationship"/soap opera trite that both couples, Saul/Blondie and Michael/Pegs, have going on is unbelievably awful. Pure drivel, to quote Steve Martin. I feel bad for the voice talent as that writing is gawd awful. When is something going to happen?

I did enjoy the point that MarkR made above regarding Michael's arm - we ALMOST got some real info. I'd still like to hear the whole story about the arm.

About the only question I have currently is what did Burt leave for? I was zoning in and out from bordem today so I may have missed it. I think he indicated he was going after Scratch but I'm not sure.

Another very dull new episode.

And then, in the closing 30 seconds of so of the episode, they jump forward four months with Michael saying that he came face to face with Randy again.

Six full episodes have gone by now and probably close to six months in terms of the timeline of the show.

Also Lizzie's pregnancy. How many months is she gone? Because she was pregnant in season three with weeks and months passing by. She is still pregnant in season four and weeks had already passed even before the four month jump at the end of yesterday's episode. Plus if Saul is the father, then she would have had to have been pregnant when she left the original tower ( during the time Burt was in charge) so she has been preganant since well before the tower fell which was season two, so far more than nine months have gone by.

First the arm. Now Randy. I may have to go for a lie down. *swoon*

Things seem to be slipping away from CJ. Now she's had to lie to keep things going. Wonder will she be having second thoughts about Saul and Victor now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭touts

So the writers looked at the sxript for the next 4 months and even they decided "**** that nothing happens". Lets just tell the listeners nothing happened and jump forward 4 months.

Baby's birth obviously wasn't worth a mention, either that or she's part elephant. (long gestation period)

Anyone else thinking the we're alive team are just throwing us a bone with the off hand comments about the arm in the last episode, and Randy in this one to make us think the pace is coming back?

Just listening to the latest now, Jesus that Saul and Lizzy bit was painful. And the Michael and Pegs bit, that was painful too. Also, the ending.... yeah.

NEW

NEW

NEW

NEW

NEW

NEW

So we are now have had a four month jump between episodes and still nothing is going on.

Bit pointless to have had Burt/Riley going out after Scratch, and then just jumping four months down the line.

And Randy the creature ( am still sticking to Randy being Michael's brother or something like that) carrying little vials/jars of some chemical that starts with the letters FO. The first thing that came into my head was Formaldehyde (formalin or formol).

And again a big surprise when the idea of the creatures setting a trap/ambush. Gee Michael must not have been around for the first three seasons.

And also odd that a creatures first instinct was to run away, when we have had pretty much every creature in the past three seasons (save for Ink) charge at regular humans on sight. Unless they are now going to try and pass off Randy as another intelligent creature like Ink.

Seven episodes into the season, and still very little going on and not in a good slow burning kind of way.

Burt mentioned the labs in one of his first lines on the show, so they'll probably go back to that for the "lvl 3 keycard". Maybe. I liked the episode, at least there was some shouting and stuff.

Are we really 7 episodes already!? Jaysus.

Googled checmical names starting with fo. Came up with formonitrile. Hydrogen Cyanide. Can be used as a chemical weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

muff03 wrote: »
    Burt mentioned the labs in one of his first lines on the show, so they'll probably go back to that for the "lvl 3 keycard". Maybe. I liked the episode, at least there was some shouting and stuff.

Are we really 7 episodes already!? Jaysus.

indeed he did when he was on the roof with saul and angel and a biter climbed the wall.. as an aside i absolutely love the burt character....priceless comments...

i think the dude in the suit is using a chemical from radon (?) labs to influence the biters growth at the cracks site in inglewood. i am guessing he is growing a special lot of biters to attack the colony as randy could scale the fence in one jump...and thats the real reason they have not seen any near the colony...

also i think michael sacrificed randy at the water pumping facility to save himself...i guess he is afraid cj will recognise him.

On this day, the 28th October 2013, I do decree that there shall be a new episode.

Episode 8............meh!

That was pretty dull. Datu made a new gun. People made plans. Some people have icky blood.

i thought it was pretty good to be honest...

im more and more suspicious that michael is also infected. i know he got a boost to get over the fence chasing randy but he did seem to clear it fast and is increasingly not acting like a sgt in the military...leaving a man behind, loosing tactics.falling into simple traps etc. yep i know thats the last episode but these 2 are inter related IMHO. i think CJ has made the same fatal mistake as she did in the tower. she has no military experience and she has fallen into the trap that the walls are making them invincible. she also doubled the size of the colony thereby spreading the defense even thinner...and it was weak before. they also didnt need to, there is obviously enough food from the park judging from the amount they harvested. she is getting greedy in an attempt to rebuild and is now suffering from normalcy bias. on a equal note, the time to move the .50 cals is now even longer and it was difficult to impossible before and thats assuming the trucks are not roaming LA looking for randy when the colony gets attacked..

the discussion that saul and his mum had was interesting. they are infected or at least appear to be. it could be a genetic issue with them. in every viral outbreak there are people who just dont get infected because they naturally are immune...as an interesting aside even happened with the aids virus and the black death... the issue with a slo-burn is as far as i remember (now keep in mind this is discovery channel expertise ;) ) doesnt happen. the viral load while initially low will replicate and speed up. so in the phases mentioned they maybe slow in phase 1 but phase 2 and 3 would accelerate. however keep in mind as i mentioned, my degree in virology is akin to brad pitt in world war z. i heard about it...LOL

also i dont know my antibiotics but were the names sauls mum mentioned to burt when she was 'curing' him after the gunshot-- anyone recognise them as real? there were 2 bottles....the same number randy had in the bag, could be a coincidence i guess.

there was a lot of interesting facts. the behemoths are dying out. its natural selection speeding up as the biters go thru generations. same happened with the jumpers...once their speciality was no longer needed...they died out. the real question is what happened the little ones. i was trying to keep count of how many existed and how many were killed...anyone do a tally on that by any chance...??

there was a lot of info in this episode. is there any relationship between the cell count mentioned and a chemical beginning with the letters on the bottle??

also where the frack is burt? is he off in a cheap motel with whats-her-face? ;)

or has scarface captured them and is listening in on the comms? they didnt change the codes after all. they are giving away a lot of info every time they talk assuming the channels are secure.

strange in a city empty no one has bumped into them or even heard from them.

Thought it was a very dull episode, something that has become the norm now for some time.

The Colony expansion was brought up out of the blue and has already happened. The military guys seems pretty useless and unable top make deciusions and stick to them. Saul and Tanya on again about being infected. Pretty sure that was touched before during a conversation about what Tanya used in Saul's drip bag in season two or three.

It is just re hashes of the same old teasers with nothing new of substance being added.

And some serious retcons going on as well with trying to tie in the behemoth that Kalani and Angel came across when going back to the base with the dead one they found. Given that they changed the creatures from being undead to actually being alive, then it stands to reason that the creatures could just as easily be starving to death or died from a whole host of causes rather than there now being some flaw in their genetic make up. Last season an injured creature could bleed to death, so the same could still apply now and the dead behemoth could simply have been carrying an injury ( that's if we use the information they have already put out there in the WA universe, but then again they tend to be totally ignoring stuff that has already happened and retconning like mad this season)

Would also love to know where all the "super" creatures went to, or are they going to try and say that each and every one of the new strain was wiped out when Boulder and Fort Irwin blew up. Those creatures were far faster, far stronger, and would have had six month plus to have made their way back down to the city, although there should still be some in the city given that the one that caused the outbreak in Boulder came from the city when it clung to the underside of the helicopter that landed in the forest some 100 k, from Boulder.

The Burt and Riley thing is a joke as well. They ended an episode with their leaving as some sort of cliffhanger, and then in the next epiosde or two just jumped forward over 4 months in the timeline and stopped mentioning them. At this point the writers seem to have the original crew as acquaintances rather than a group who had grown tight. They just accept being split up now and have pretty much become dull versions of how they were once written.

It just might be a new episode day.

Just listened to it there. Pretty interesting. Weird how the episode art doesn't match the episode. Or is that for the whole chapter?

a lot going on on this episode. so it appears 'ink' aka bill roberts was a doctor for the chemical company or a relation....fairly sure the names are the same (except bill vs dr william)

the little ones have grown again and i am guessing ink or suit guy has been using the chemical to grow them. also the question is how big was the chemical company. maybe they were pumping the chemical underground causing a shift or minor tremor and the cracks (kinda like the bs you hear about fracking) and a cloud from ground zero...perhaps?
    maybe thats how the chemical was dispersed. how did it appear everywhere at once however...not too sure that would be possible. after all it broke out in LA, seattle, detroit and i am guess the islands and overseas...

it did appear the special ones are unique to LA. Kalani said they were nasty on the islands as well but didnt mention special ones. also the colony never saw special ones at all in the beginning. would that point to the cracks are separate to whats going on at the chemical company and bill is responsible for just them??

a lot going on on this episode. so it appears 'ink' aka bill roberts was a doctor for the chemical company or a relation....fairly sure the names are the same (except bill vs dr william)

the little ones have grown again and i am guessing ink or suit guy has been using the chemical to grow them. also the question is how big was the chemical company. maybe they were pumping the chemical underground causing a shift or minor tremor and the cracks (kinda like the bs you hear about fracking) and a cloud from ground zero...perhaps?
    maybe thats how the chemical was dispersed. how did it appear everywhere at once however...not too sure that would be possible. after all it broke out in LA, seattle, detroit and i am guess the islands and overseas...

it did appear the special ones are unique to LA. Kalani said they were nasty on the islands as well but didnt mention special ones. also the colony never saw special ones at all in the beginning. would that point to the cracks are separate to whats going on at the chemical company and bill is responsible for just them??

Still begs the question as to where the ones that attacked Fort Irwin and Boulder originated. Because they were a different strain again and were much faster, stronger, and tougher than regular creatures, and were able to turn regular humans into their strain of creature.

Plus on the helicopter trip to Irwin, they passed over huge numbers of creatures outside of LA.

Also was there not mentions in either season one or season two of it being a worldwide outbreak, so it does make the ground zero idea a little hard to swallow if outbreaks were happening worldwide at close to the came time, plus even the Hawaii outbreak happening at more or less the same time as the LA one makes the ground zero idea difficult to buy as being able to start in Hawaii that quickly would have required Hawaii to have had an outbreak of it's own.

I am curious though why sweat is no longer being used as a means to draw in creatures. Would seem a very obvious thing to do if they wanted to bring in large numbers of creatures to planned kill zones.

Kess73 wrote: »
    Still begs the question as to where the ones that attacked Fort Irwin and Boulder originated. Because they were a different strain again and were much faster, stronger, and tougher than regular creatures, and were able to turn regular humans into their strain of creature.

Plus on the helicopter trip to Irwin, they passed over huge numbers of creatures outside of LA.

there not mentions in either season one or season two of it being a worldwide outbreak, so it does make the ground zero idea a little hard to swallow if outbreaks were happening worldwide at close to the came time, plus even the Hawaii outbreak happening at more or less the same time as the LA one makes the ground zero idea difficult to buy as being able to start in Hawaii that quickly would have required Hawaii to have had an outbreak of it's own.

I am curious though why sweat is no longer being used as a means to draw in creatures. Would seem a very obvious thing to do if they wanted to bring in large numbers of creatures to planned kill zones.

was the one in boulder from the 'little' one who latched on to the special forces chopper when they were attacked in LA...may have to listen to that again, i had assumed it was that. wasnt one unaccounted for from the crash and the chap in the chopper thought he saw something just before they spotted the crash...at least thats what i thought they meant...crap maybe i totally misunderstood that now LOL..

yes the huge numbers roaming the countryside...thats a bit of a m mystery...judging from the attack on the chopper when it crash landed in the field, they do seem to be normals...so to speak.

yep, the first thing i recall on the outbreak worldwide was the part on bill roberts where he was mentioned on the tivo liz showed michael, the last thing before the tivo ended was reports of a worldwide outbreak...or at least implied it. also whats his face from the mallers (the rapist/bomb specialist guy) didnt he mention that to Liz (or was it Kilani)...cant remember where he mentioned but it was china or japan or something, maybe its earthquake/volcano zones?? yep you are right, ground zero seems to be all over the fecking place!!

yes very good point on the sweat jars, even if there is only onesy and twoseys floating around (minus the mob in the last episode) surely it would be very little work to even shoot sweat drawn zombies...if they cant resist it, it seems a very easy way to blitz whatever is left...

it has piqued my interest again..great for listening in the traffic. i do think someone big (one of the main characters) is going to get killed. could be even the colony disappears...does seem to be all the main characters are in dunbar now...so its red shirt time for the colony!!

ps..maybe the chemical company had offices all over the world (or where the outbreaks happened)...but that does seem a bit out there...

Out of curiosity folks, what's everyone's view on the end game? I'm still thinking everyone dies and Scratch is reading the journals. Don't know how we'll get there but as a way of tying it all up it seems the most logical way of ending. Plus there were one or two scenes where we got her chatting with someone with none of the others around to hear.
    Has anything happened to change anyone's mind, or any other ideas?