British to make people work for their dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

JP85 wrote: »
    The government here wouldnt have the balls to introduce something like this

They already did.

Its called Tus

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

This will have a disastrous effect on new alternative music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

has anyone heard of Tus ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ThePieintheSky

You should not be allowed to go on the dole at 18 and stay there the rest of your life without making any effort IMO.

+ those individuals are likely also involved in crime at various stages. I can't imagine people are happy paying for that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

They already did.

Its called Tus
    Unemployed people who are eligible for the scheme will be identified and contacted by their social welfare local office and offered the opportunity to participate in the scheme

This can be refused with a decent excuse.: I'm allergic to old people

and obviously its not working because its the first I've ever heard of it.

The councils should be looking to create work that wouldn't normally ever be actioned.

Picking litter off local beaches, cleaning graffiti off walls, spending time with older elderly people (and not robbing them), washing busses etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

We do already - its called Tus
    Exactly - its called Tus
    They already did.

Its called Tus

TUS schemes are only fudging the unemployment figures. While a person is on a TUS scheme, they are taken off the live register so are not classed as unemployed. Then, when the 12 months is up, they are dumped back on the live register and someone else is taken off it to replace them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

So how exactly are the same people supposed to look for jobs if they are busy out doing another persons job for nothing?
    Ridiculous proposal.

they're not looking for jobs in the first place, that's the whole point.

How do you know?? Of course you must be right cos there is just a plethora of jobs out there for the taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

If you unemployed for a certain period of time say 3 months. Give 3 months lee way to find a decide on job, find it, etc. Its the longer term "i am entitled crew" and "get money for doing nothing, yay"
    Danger is how much work would be expected, could turn into a slave labour thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

No; the link says they'll be doing community work.

Presumably the stuff that isn't profitable for private enterprise, the link mentions making meals for the elderly, and picking up litter.
    So, just taking jobs away from Meals on Wheels workers and council employees then?

Unfortunately all schemes like this do are endanger other people's jobs (why pay a council worker to empty the bins when you can just have someone on the dole do it for, essentially, free?) and leave the unemployed open to exploitative positions that they can't turn down for fear of losing their dole, like that crowd that were bussed in for the Jubilee, I think it was, and had to bed down under bridges in the rain with no proper facilities.

Galway K9 wrote: »
    If you unemployed for a certain period of time say 3 months. Give 3 months lee way to find a decide on job, find it, etc. Its the longer term "i am entitled crew" and "get money for doing nothing, yay"
    Danger is how much work would be expected, could turn into a slave labour thing.

Its not that simple, I was unemployed for 6 months, spent all day trawling sites sending off my CV etc. Thankfully I got a job in the end but it was a stoke of luck more than anything else.
    Looking for a job is a full time thankless job.

As an aside, if someone is a career benefit taker I agree something should be done but I still don't agree with free labour. It has a knock on effect on an already struggling job market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Its funny that your location is down as Uranus, cos thats where you do appear to be talking from alright.

Im sure there are people long term unemployed who have no desire to work. That was the case during the boom and it is the case now. But would that be the vast majority? Of course not. We havnt gone from 6% unemployment to 14% over the last few years simply because people have decided to lie around on the dole for the craic.

Would it be possible to have this debate in a mature manner listing the pros and cons of the proposal without resorted to "DEM LADS ON DA DOLE R GETTIN ME TAX MONEY N DEY DONT WANT TO WORK LIKE"?

No, thought not. :rolleyes:

Mince Pie wrote: »
    How do you know?? Of course you must be right cos there is just a plethora of jobs out there for the taking.
    They only have to prove they're looking for work, I used to know a lad who knew his local spar manager. He used to go to him every few weeks and get a letter off him saying sorry the role you've applied for has been filled.

its too easy to stay on benefits in the country, not only will community service benefit the government (cheap labour for jobs they wouldn't normally do) it will be mentally good for those who actually can't get a job to get out and do two and a half days work a week. Leaving them two and a half days to job search.

I agree that joblessness is an issue in this country, and there are those who cannot get jobs as well those who will not get jobs. The system as it stands is too easy for people to abuse. Which in my opinion isn't fair on those of us who do work full time and pay our taxes.

Just Sayin Like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

They use community service for punishment for petty crime in UK as well,
    So i cant see why the unemployed cant do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

We have similar schemes and the Tories would love to reintroduce workhouses if they could get away with it.

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    They use community service for punishment for betty crime in UK as well,
    So i cant see why the unemployed cant do it.

Oh so being unemployed now is akin to being a petty criminal. Jesus wept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sok2005

Betty crime! Tee hee hee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I think we have a lot of closeted right wing Tories lurking on boards.

sok2005 wrote: »
    Betty crime! Tee hee hee!

thks

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I think we have a lot of closeted right wing Tories lurking on boards.

Are you only noticing this now????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

won't happen in the uk or here. imagine FAS / intreo / SWelfare landed with the task of enforcement ....a hilarious thought

I was just making a point, i can see the conversation on your first day,
    "why are you doing this, stole 3 cars in last 6 months, "you?, stole from tescos"
    "and you? made redundant after 20yrs with same company ,I'm now 50yrs old ,finding it hard to get work."
    The sad fact is people in Ireland who work and pay taxes would be happy with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Agricola wrote: »
    Its funny that your location is down as Uranus, cos thats where you do appear to be talking from alright.

Im sure there are people long term unemployed who have no desire to work. That was the case during the boom and it is the case now. But would that be the vast majority? Of course not. We havnt gone from 6% unemployment to 14% over the last few years simply because people have decided to lie around on the dole for the craic.

Would it be possible to have this debate in a mature manner listing the pros and cons of the proposal without resorted to "DEM LADS ON DA DOLE R GETTIN ME TAX MONEY N DEY DONT WANT TO WORK LIKE"?

No, thought not. :rolleyes:

Those 6% to 14% figures do show that not everyone who has gone on the live register in the last 5 years is a lazy layabout looking for a free ride, but I do think there is a serious issue with motivation for people who are long term unemployed. There are people who have given up looking, or have reduced the number of CV's they send out to a pitiful amount a month, because they are sick of constant rejection and "know" nothing will come of it.

Then there are the trade people, there are a lot of them still lurking about waiting for things to go back to the way they were so they can start laying bricks again or some other building related thing. Those people need to reskill, because those jobs aren't coming back, and they will need a serious kick up the arse to go do it.

Then there are the people who would like to work but won't because a job paying minimum wage for 20/30 hours a week will often leave them worse off or only marginally better than the dole.

Then there are the 6% of people who were on the dole during the boom. Some of those would have been people between jobs but if even half of those were the lazy layabouts people are talking about then that makes up a quarter of our current unemployment spending budget, and that number is likely higher.

I have no idea what percentage the above people make up but even if it's just the last one then it's worth tackling. I know there is a lack of jobs at the moment but there are a lot more out there than people let on, they are just hard to get. People need to reskill, people need to move outside their comfort zone, people need to make their own jobs and become self employed. Some people still won't be able to find work no matter what, but if given significant motivation people would get creative instead of sitting and waiting for things to get better on their own.

For the people saying that this will displace council works and meals on wheels, it won't, I don't know once town in Ireland that couldn't do with more people out cleaning up and make the place more tidy. And aren't meals on wheels a volunteer organisation? I'm sure they wouldn't be too put out by the extra help.

That being said, I have no idea how this could be implemented properly. When someone has their dole docked because they refused to do the work all they will need to do is show a community welfare officer that they can't afford to eat that week or that they are going to go homeless and they will help them out. And I don't disagree with them, I don't think they should let anyone go homeless. I have no idea how they would get around that issue tho. So that means that this system will only effect those who want to work, making it a little pointless. So unless the government are going to be hard asses about it I don't see it being a proper solution to the issue of motivating the long term unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

i think we call all all answer that when we say they would in there eye do go after the easy prey.

thap deplends really on the yeah with the youknow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Yes. So they're basically giving them jobs and calling it "volunteer work" to get their dole in return. Then they should obey the law of minimum wage.

The dole in England is about 65 pounds a week and minimum wage is 6.31, so they should work (sorry, "volunteer") no more than 10 hours a week. Any more than that is exploitation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I have absolutely no doubt that a lot of this "volunteer work" will probably magically morph into state-subsidized slave labour for private businesses in many cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Compu Global Hyper Meganet

It's easy to look at this and point out the parasites leeching off taxpayer money. However, it's worth noting that in the current environment there are plenty of people who have been laid off and have taken it very hard. Psychologically, a lot of people (particularly those who have been working all of their lives) identify with their jobs and their self esteem plummets when they are made redundant. Instances of extreme depression can result.

Remember the guy (I think it was in Cork) who killed himself and his daughter after being let go a few years ago? An extreme example, but it just goes to show the negative impact that this can have. Now, if a scheme was to be introduced which would allow these people to work for their benefits, that would be great. They could hold their heads high in society and the stigma that many associate with the dole would dissipate over time.

Unfortunately, policing such a scheme would prove incredibly difficult and the costs of enforcement would lead to a false economy for the government so I can't see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

At least this would be a better scheme than Jobbridge. It would create jobs in companies that would just exploit Jobbridge and make the area a nicer place to live. It works in Spain why not here. Also its worth pointing out that the scheme in the UK is aim at people who have been on the dole for 3 or more years.