Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

DCM 2013: Mentored Novices Thread......Take 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭quinlivan

I have had a complete off-focus week. Only got one run in on Wednesday. Have the Athlone Half tomorrow so am hoping that will re-ignite something in again. Just feel a bit off form - not with my running just everything else like work, general motivation etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

jmcc99_98 wrote: »
    Having a bit of a strange week this week. Have been taking it relatively easy and am doing Athlone tomorrow. But my general mindset is one of complete apathy. Usually on a easy week I get quite anxious about not running, this week however I couldnt care less.

The thoughts of not being able to run DCM isnt filling me with fear like it usually would, Is this just a lull one might get mid training or is it a bit of burnout or anyone else feel like this?

Athlone may have come just at the right time. The race buzz should give you that extra incentive to keep going. In just 3 weeks time the majority of the workload will be behind you and you can really start looking forward to Dublin.

A quick question with regard my easy pace. Up until my race last week I've been doing my easy pace runs at around 8.30. According to McMillian my new easy pace should be somewhere in the 7.44-8.44 range. This week I've done two easy runs toward the middle of the range @ 8.10.

While running wasn't too difficult at this pace I did notice my breathing was slightly more labored. This pace is also very close to my pmp of 8.00. Other calculators ( such as this one http://www.runbayou.com/jackd.htm) have my easy pace at 8.58, which is completely outside mcmillians range.

So I guess what I'm trying to ask, is there any benefit of running easy miles towards the middle of McMillians range or are they mainly about getting the miles in at any reasonable pace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭donnacha

Good luck to everyone running Athlone tomorrow. I'll be supporting my wife at it but after a review with the Physio last night I won't be running it myself. Next Physio trip (and hopefully the final one for now) is planned for 19th Sept - pretty concerned at this stage though as I pretty much haven't ran at all in Sept :( Everywhere I go I see people running and it drives you a bit crazy just wanting to be out there yourself. Postive thoughts: Hadn't missed a run before the end of August, and I've also managed to get one 20 mile under the belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shayno90

Reasonably happy with today's pace of 09.45/m for my 12m LSR. Fastest I have run for this distance. More of an incentive to run faster this week before the 18m LSR next week. Ideally this would be my preferred marathon pace but will have to test this over the next 3 weeks during the longer LSR runs.

Only 6 more weeks to go in any case, so hang in there everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭carlaboi

Looking for a bit of advice, ran my longest LSR last weekend of 14 miles and was fine. Ran 20 this week 5 Tues, 10 Wed and 5 Thurs. Have LSR of 16 this weekend to do however on Wednesday I wore different socks than normal and now I have a few blisters along the inside of my right foot and a blood blister on my big toe. I used compeed blasters for my Thursday run however they fell off last night. Im wondering should I cover them again and just go run the 16 or leave it a few days. Just wondering what others have done int he past? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

Athlone 1/2 2013 Massive PB by nearly 15minutes:D 1:59:20:D Previous PB 2:14:09 in Bohermeen. Excellent race, well organized, even managed to arrange nice weather! Big thanks to the 2hr pacers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Athlone 1/2 21013 Massive PB by nearly 15minutes:D 1:59:20:D Previous PB 2:14:09 in Bohermeen. Excellent race, well organized, even managed to arrange nice weather! Big thanks to the 2hr pacers!!

Way to go shortstuff! Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭ooter

i got a blood blister on the side of my big toe after the frank duffy 10 mile,fortunately my next run wasn't scheduled till the following tuesday evening so i had 3 and a half days healing time and it was grand.the skin actually only broke on it thursday just gone after a swim.
    my advice would be to leave your next run for a few days but others might suggest otherwise..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Zaram

Athlone 1/2 21013 Massive PB by nearly 15minutes:D 1:59:20:D Previous PB 2:14:09 in Bohermeen. Excellent race, well organized, even managed to arrange nice weather! Big thanks to the 2hr pacers!!

Wow well done shortstuff, brill result!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Athlone 1/2 2013 Massive PB by nearly 15minutes:D 1:59:20:D Previous PB 2:14:09 in Bohermeen. Excellent race, well organized, even managed to arrange nice weather! Big thanks to the 2hr pacers!!
    Well done. Super stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Martypk

Great running shortstuff. Well done:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 cluainbolg

19 miles yesterday in 2 hrs 40 only got 2 5 milers in during week this year I have a friend doing long runs with me and it makes it a lot easier than on your own. It won't be long now hope everyone's going well

3 weeks to go now till the tapering phase,i'm due to run the HM next weekend,14 miles the following weekend and then 20 miles.i've heard/read a lot of people saying you should try and get 2 x 20 milers in before the marathon,could i replace the 14 miler for 20 miles and would the 3 weeks taper be sufficient time to recover from 2 x 20 milers on the trot or should i just stick to the 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭donnacha

Athlone HM was something else yesterday. Definitely will give it a go next year. Sounds like a lot of people got PBs including my better half which was impressive considering she had to take a toilet pit stop mid way through the race. Though I didn't get to run it, I got to witness first hand the amazing organisation and the buzz around the place was great. My hands are a bit sore from spending an hour near the finish line clapping the runners as they came in :P Well done to everyone that did it - it was a pretty warm day in the end, sure I was only standing on the sidelines and I was hot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭geekington

Well done Shortstuff, great running!

Had to do my long run yesterday as was out for a party last night. Got up early to get it out of the way and planned on trying to hit 20mile plus.

Was on my own for this which was tough and it was a bit of a mental battle throughout but I kept the legs going and tried to ignore my watch. Wanted to try and hit about 3 hours running today which I achieved and am delighted with now.

Felt strong throughout and running on my own was good practice for the mental aspects of DCM which I have struggled with in the past.

Looking forward to Saturday and Im happy that I have hit my longest run ever so all in all a good day!!

ooter wrote: »
    3 weeks to go now till the tapering phase,i'm due to run the HM next weekend,14 miles the following weekend and then 20 miles.i've heard/read a lot of people saying you should try and get 2 x 20 milers in before the marathon,could i replace the 14 miler for 20 miles and would the 3 weeks taper be sufficient time to recover from 2 x 20 milers on the trot or should i just stick to the 1?
    If I was you I would do a two week taper if you want to get two 20m runs in because I think doing two 20's one week after another would be exhausting. You should be able for a 20 miler the week after the HM. So schedule would be:

HM
    20m
    16m
    20m
    Taper - maybe 10 or 12 miles
    DCM

Plugged new PB into McMillan calculator which suggests 4:11:08 :eek: I'm thinking 4:29:59, sound ok? Also it's giving me training paces of 10:47 LSR & 11:19 recovery 10:23 easy, I've been doing these at 12:00LSR & 13:00 recovery, 11:30 easy. Should I adjust my paces or stick to what I've been doing?

I wouldn't get too hung up on Mcmillan paces. Easy can a different pace every day depending on weather conditions, how the body is feeling etc. Same goes for recovery as long as you remember the purpose of the run. I think you could speed up the lsr to 11:15 - 11:30 though and it wouldn't be any bother to you

P.S Where is the race report? We're all waiting....

Might be worth reading this article re marathon pace/time
    http://www.hillrunner.com/jim2/id208.html
    It suggests 4:23 based on your half time so I think you might be selling yourself a bit short with 4:29 but at the same time even 4:15 might be risking a blow up

First 20 miler down. Very windy out (got a brier blown into my neck for good measure) there but could be the same on DCM day. Found the final 2-3 miles tough but my legs felt relatively good after. Now to tuck into an enormous Sunday dinner :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Vico1612

Well done everybody for the great running this week.
    Not a very good week for me ... I've had a little niggle in the right leg for the past 10 days so decided to cut down volume this week.
    Did some 200's repeat on tuesday, 8 miles on wednesday and took 3 days off until this morning, which called for 18 miles.
    Went to Phoenix Park and didn't feel the love for a long run , so decided to go for a HM rehearsal and did 16 miles at marathon pace.
    Overall a good session and am hoping that my favorite physio will fix me up tomorrow ...
    Bring on next saturday !

If I was you I would do a two week taper if you want to get two 20m runs in because I think doing two 20's one week after another would be exhausting. You should be able for a 20 miler the week after the HM. So schedule would be:

HM
    20m
    16m
    20m
    Taper - maybe 10 or 12 miles
    DCM

thanks a lot cm,i might just do that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 sca21

So for this weeks training I did 6 miles recovery (Tues), 4 miles of speed intervals (Wed), 8 miles at 9 mins pmp (Thurs) and 19 miles lsr at 10 min pace (Sat). I found the 19miler very difficult and the legs today are not great to say the least. But I battled through it out of sheer stubbornness.
    I'm not the best for stretching before and after runs and I'm paying the price today. Looking forward to a step back week next week in preparation for the half on Sat.

sca21 wrote: »
    So for this weeks training I did 6 miles recovery (Tues), 4 miles of speed intervals (Wed), 8 miles at 9 mins pmp (Thurs) and 19 miles lsr at 10 min pace (Sat). I found the 19miler very difficult and the legs today are not great to say the least. But I battled through it out of sheer stubbornness.
    I'm not the best for stretching before and after runs and I'm paying the price today. Looking forward to a step back week next week in preparation for the half on Sat.

That was a tough week. I'm not surprised you're a bit sore. It's maybe not the best idea to do a pace run the day after intervals because your muscles don't get enough time to repair the damaged fibres which makes them more susceptible to further injury. If you could get a sports massage tues or weds it would leave you in a lot better shape to tackle the half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 sca21

That was a tough week. I'm not surprised you're a bit sore. It's maybe not the best idea to do a pace run the day after intervals because your muscles don't get enough time to repair the damaged fibres which makes them more susceptible to further injury. If you could get a sports massage tues or weds it would leave you in a lot better shape to tackle the half

Thanks for the advice CM. Ya it wasn't the best idea alright. It's just difficult to fit in all the different elements to training in the week. Will definitely have to switch it around so I'm not doing two hard days in a row. I'm going for a swim tomorrow and see how I feel then. I hope I haven't done any damage!

P.S Where is the race report? We're all waiting....

Ok have never done one of these before so bear with me!

The Prep
    On the usual great advise from C_M, I tested 2miles at my quite optimistic half race pace on Tuesday to get a feel for the pace. It felt tough & I wouldn't have managed a third mile but convinced myself with my planned mini taper I might just pull it off. Got a rub down Tuesday evening, loosened out calves & IT band, ouch! & focused on stretching & foam rolling for the rest of the week... Mini taper madness brought the start of a dreaded cold so dossed myself in lemsip & vitamins -not looking forward to full blown taper madness, may cause vitamin overdose:pac:

Pre-race
    Up at 7am to have porridge, had slept surprisingly well. Weather was perfect, no wind, dry... Clear sky's so thought it best to bring my water belt in case it got hot. Arrived in athlone at 10:15, parked & registered in 10mins flat! The usual long que for the loo though so only a brief warm up to the car & back to drop off my race top. Found the sign for the 2hr pacer, quick race brief & we were walked the back section of the start line. I was about 5 rows behind the pacers. Didn't realise it would take so long to get gps signal & left it late:( Oh well I still have my pacers... And we're off

Mile 1
    By the time I crossed the start line I had somehow lost the pacers, and still no gps signal. It's ok though I thought I know what the pace feels like from my Tuesday tester session:) Eventually spotted the pacers about 100meters ahead, it was really congested so decided to just hold the gap & keep an eye on them. Garmin picked up signed about .6mile in- delighted to see I was right in pace! Lapped it when I saw the 1mile marker

Mile 2-4
    Really congested on the narrow country roads, as runners slowed down ahead of me I tried overtake without exerting too much energy & staying as close to 9min miles as I could. I was comfortable, feeling strong, & slowly creeping up on the pacers. Reached them just before the first water station... Didn't need water here as I had my trusty water belt! Grabbed a gel at mile 4, hadn't intented on using it but everyonelse was so thought why not, had previously used them so wasn't worried. Pacers were great carrying extra gels, water for us pacees.

Mile 5-9
    Miles were ticking away nicely. I couldnt get over how hot it was, actually got burnt a bit! Picked up a bottle at the second water station, poured a bit over my head & wrists to cool myself down.. Roads stayed narrow with a few turns a minor incline or two. Only part I didn't like was a section with a really bad camber, was terrified of going over my ankle, I didn't though! Still felt good at this stage & confident of holding the pace for the remaining miles. Pacers mentioned that we were ahead of pace, heading for 1:59.

Mile 10
    On the main road for a mile, first time during the race that I felt I had proper space! The pace started to feel like work somewhere around here though, still right on the pacers tails though, just had to hang on! Nice bit of banter in the group at this stage which past the time but I was silently conserving energy. Felt a little sick here-probably too much water but it past, phew!

Mile 11-12
    Back on narrow country roads, suddenly found myself drifting behind the pacers, tried not to stress as pace per watch was still ok... Ended up with a gap of 20meters & felt like I was running on my own. Just wanted to get back to them so quickened pace slightly catching them before the 13mile marker:D

The finish
    Worked hard for the final mile to keep the pace up, the pacer was great here keeping us going. Was great to see the town again, right definitely going to make it under 2hrs. Passed a couple people coming back into the town. Pacer told us to sprint once we got around the corner so that's what I tried to do, past 3 people in the final stretch to the finish line! Clock said 2:00:20 as I finished so wasn't sure if I made it or not! Took an age to get my breath back, but was worth it to see 1:59:20 chip time:D 11seconds short of a 15min PB:D

Went to Lough Ennell afterwards, standing in the lake for 20mins, felt fine all of yesterday but regretting not doing a proper cool down, legs in bits today. Also have blisters for the first time:(

Thanks to the organisers, marshells, pacers- all did a superb job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭KillianByrne

That's a really good report SS, congrats on a really good, controlled race. You're well set for the end of October, good luck!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

I guess these logs are for telling the good news and also admitting when things are not going well.

So last weekend I swapped my 18 mile for a 13 mile because I had to go away in business. Working 14 hours on presentations for a week solid. No appetite at all. Arrives in London and ate almost nothing for the 2 days I was there. Some chicken salad each evening and a bowl of fruit.

Came home late Tuesday evening and said on here id go out for a 5 mile on Wednesday. When I came home that day, for the first time in 7 months I just couldn't be bothered. I was shattered and just slept.

Thursday was my 8 mile. I was running on fumes an put down probably the worst run I ever had. Quit after 5.5 miles due to no eating and a lot of personal matters on my mind.

Friday, I seriously considered just quitting the marathon training. The 18 miler that I was due to do today seemed like a million miles. So I decided to just eat lots of good food and get my strength back up. If I could do the 18 miler, I'd keep going with the training. If not, then the Great Linerick Run in May would be my new goal.

By Saturday night, after yet another bowl of pasta I was feeling really good. One of the posts here recommended I get in a 20 miler either this or next week and I dwcided to just fecking go for it today.

20 miles. 3h 45 min.

Slept 2 hours and hitting the hay now. Back on track. I now understand the importance of the diet side of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

I see a lot of talk about McMillan calculators on here. If it's your first marathon then be conservative..... Just remember that there's a big difference between a 10 miler or HM and a 26.1 - You will only ever have one first marathon but lots of others for better times/pb's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

digger2d2 wrote: »
    I see a lot of talk about McMillan calculators on here. If it's your first marathon then be conservative..... Just remember that there's a big difference between a 10 miler or HM and a 26.1 - You will only ever have one first marathon but lots of others for better times/pb's

yeah but none of us cares about running 26.1:P