Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

delaval wrote: »
    Away for the night.
    Got a call at 5,30 this pm to be told I'm having a Co Co inspection on an out farm tomorrow at 3.

So pints tonight and home to face the music after meeting tomorrow. I was hoping to stay for the afternoon conference session.

They could give a bit more notice!!!
    you're lucky you got a call, i arrived back to yard from fencing to find them having a good old nosey around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭nhg

What are ye like with the bookwork! I downloaded Tas Basics, it's free & with a very small few name changes to suit farming ( feed, fert, livestock purchases, livestock sales etc) , it's easy to work. (Then again I've worked in an office all my working life so far).

It not free to download in Ireland but a quick 2 minute call to the uk number & they emailed me a log in number. Typical Ireland - money for everything!

I update my books every time I get a docket or make a payment & file it into a ring binder with alphabetical dividers. Easy to find a docket when I need it. I can keep an eye on the P&L so I know if I need to make a purchase or not before year end.

Accounts are historical (too late to make changes from a tax point of view), Profit & Loss is current & what matters most!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

whelan1 wrote: »
    you're lucky you got a call, i arrived back to yard from fencing to find them having a good old nosey around

would they have been classified as trespassing? disease control etc etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

What exactly are they looking for. We've never had an inspection from the co co.

we have a river going through our farm, they checked that, checked run off from silage pit/ collecting yard, checked slurry/ dirty water storage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

would they have been classified as trespassing? disease control etc etc?

Afaik they dont need permission.

deisel/ fuel tanks should be bunded.... they said they will be back before christmas:rolleyes:

no hassle its either this thurs or it will be another 5 weeks before i get a chance to go again but im trying to decide if there is any point holding on any longer anymore. Im hoping at least 800 anyways, might be mad but ill see when the time comes.
    was talking to a lad at mart yesterday he said prices where sown at least 100/head on last week... might be no harm for you to sell if it is dropping.. there was another lad with aa like what you have around 400kg most of them made around 800 euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

has anyone else started recording the information for The Beef Data programme yet, just done mine on ICBF this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

was talking to a lad at mart yesterday he said prices where sown at least 100/head on last week... might be no harm for you to sell if it is dropping.. there was another lad with aa like what you have around 400kg most of them made around 800 euro
    cheers for that missus, its food for thought as ive to make my mind up today.

:eek:ur a brave man:D

hugo29 wrote: »
    :eek:ur a brave man:D
    well hidden ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I am now sporting one hell of a black eye:(

but what does he look like :D what happened??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    I am now sporting one hell of a black eye:(

Why ? Did the accountant hit you ?

but what does he look like :D what happened??

He's still in hospital:D

Got into a fight with a neighbour who was playing very loud music very early. Where's your chivalry gone lads! Yer not supposed to hit girls!

He's still in hospital:D

Got into a fight with a neighbour who was playing very loud music very early. Where's your chivalry gone lads! Yer not supposed to hit girls!
    Dirty B*****d

Any fella that gives a girl a black eye should be reported to the guards

dharn wrote: »
    Any fella that gives a girl a black eye should be reported to the guards

It's alright, I don't mind a black eye.
    Plus I broke his nose:D:D

Are you serious,..:eek:

dharn wrote: »
    Are you serious,..:eek:

Farly sure I heard a crunch when I threw one back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Farly sure I heard a crunch when I threw one back!

what sort of a spot are you living in where a neighbor give you one. FFS make a statement, I fail to see how any complaint about loud music could end in a scrape. I presume you didnt throw the first slap

Definitely not! I think he had drink on him too.

no excuse, make a complaint,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

If he hit first then screw him, straight to the cops to make a statement kovu. cos if he's the type to punch a woman in a row then he's probably also the type that will go crying to the cops himself.

but if a woman wants to break a lad's nose first then I reckon all bets are off, if a woman wants to give like a man she can take it too.

(this attitude may have been influenced by being rather small and weedy as a child, and having three older and bigger sisters :) )

I think this needs a new thread. The kovu murr v katie taylor

Oh I've already lodged a complaint with the landlord but I don't want to get gardai involved. I've no way of proving he hit me first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Agree, go make a written statement.

Agree with the below as well.
    JohnBoy wrote: »
    but if a woman wants to break a lad's nose first then I reckon all bets are off, if a woman wants to give like a man she can take it too.

hugo29 wrote: »
    no excuse, make a complaint,
    this i know and def make a complaint, it doesnt matter if you can prove who did what but it will highlight the fact it happened. In case something happens in the future the gardai will need evidence to go back on and if there is a statement then there is a history of trouble between you two plus the person that comes forward is the one that is usually in the right (most of the time). the guards will pay him a visit after a statement is made and that will either let him know that you mean business and calm him down. you have no idea what this mans history is like or do you. If you make a statement tho the guards can charge him with assualt without your consent just so ya know.

Oh I've already lodged a complaint with the landlord but I don't want to get gardai involved. I've no way of proving he hit me first.
    i would just report it to guards, doesnt mean you are pressing charges or anything, in case any this else happens you will have it on record... did he turn the music down in the end?