Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Didn't some fella cover that for a sony ad?

Yep Jozé Gonzales

Here is another, I used to play this all the time when I had my SD1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEEzbFxEbB8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Yep Jozé Gonzales

That's the one! I might head out for an oul drive soon myself, feck all else to do

I'm off for a drink instead. Lets see how economical I am compared to my car :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I'm off for a drink instead. Lets see how economical I am compared to my car :pac:

Report back with how efficient your walking was in steps per pint :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CianRyan wrote: »
    Still with the doctor?
    Myself and 166man had only been wondering where he's been.

Was thinking the Very same thing, seems to have vanished around the same time as the RJ ban.

I hope you're not suggesting that RJ WAS A PORSCHE WITH A BLOWN ENGINE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yes!!! Just watched a Panda cometely demoralise an A4 TDSh*te, twas a Panda 100 and then some :D made a complete eejit out of it :cool:

How small does that c*nt in the A4 feel now losing to a Panda!!! :Pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You mean RJ was ND or ND was RJ? :eek::pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

two great posters who offered valuable advice compared to the google brigade. rofl

Can someone PM me what happened ND?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    You mean RJ was ND or ND was RJ? :eek::pac::D

In all fairness I dont think RJ would have ever driven a skyline:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

OSI wrote: »
    Had a 520D try it on at the lights coming from Blanch. Embarrassed the **** out of him, then remembered there's nearly always a speed van nearby, so eased off. Pissed off at losing, the bugger blasted past at full tilt into the distance. Come round a bend a couple of minutes later, checkpoint! And a 520D on the side of the road with a Gard hanging out the side of it... Bliss.

Beautiful.

It's like the people that take it personally when I cycle past them on my commute, queue a sweaty mother fuxker coughing a lung up just to get by me 10 minutes later.
    People take this **** to heart.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Cian lad, can you fill me in on the scandal, by pm if needs be.

Now lads, I've a weird dilemna

The OH (should I just call him Mr Stheno?) got the car of his dreams (he's a luddite which should explain the choice) as part of his 50th birthday.

It's an E series Merc, an E200 Elegance 00 reg.

Now he loves it, no fecking surprise there as everytime he gets in the alfa and murders the clutch I think about leaving him.

Problem is that he and my mechanic (no loyalty when it comes to gender, I introduced them) love the evil beast (I've nicknamed it the pig in private) and I fecking hate it.

He got the pig after having a C5, as a passenger I could stretch out and have my feet on the dash (cue MM dying of horror) in the pig I can't and the foot space is crap (note, I've still to drive the pig)

Am I being extreme here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Do you have to drive it ?? We're not all gonna like certain cars even to drive but Sometimes we have to take one for the team ;-)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Autosport wrote: »
    Do you have to drive it ?? We're not all gonna like certain cars even to drive but Sometimes we have to take one for the team ;-)
    No, but as a passenger I'm comparing it and it's ****e.

I think I might have been born with the take the alternate view gene:)
    My OH always wanted this car just to have one and I'm thrilled he's gotten his car, just like my gtv, but god do I hate that car,

I guess it's personal, when I was learning to drive a few E series Mercs gave me grief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Meant to say in the other post that no you're not being extreme, some cars I don't like and a friend of mine has one and I refuse to get in it, she doesn't know why I never take a lift from her but its just I don't think it's a safe car and I just don't like it. She on the other hand adores it, variety is the spice of life after all :D

Is there anyway you can make the Merc more comfy?? Push seat back to the very end? Cushions??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Can't believe you don't find it comfortable! I always find those E classes to have loads of space and supportive seats. They're pretty forgettable to drive though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Can't believe you don't find it comfortable! I always find those E classes to have loads of space and supportive seats. They're pretty forgettable to drive though.

I'm piloting around in a clk at the minute, same platform as the E Class and it's amazingly comfortable and the engine isn't terrible. Goes sideways anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭thecomedian

I just saw this for sale. Matt Sims (Alan's) 525i. I never knew it had an engine transplant. An old 5 series with 320 bhp, M3 engine.
    I really like!

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=57409

Someone here buy this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

i didnt like the Eclass either when i was looking for a car a while back,

i thought they were very cramped and uncomfortable on the inside.

volvo s80 on the other hand was fantastic for space etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Gary ITR wrote: »
    I'm piloting around in a clk at the minute, same platform as the E Class and it's amazingly comfortable and the engine isn't terrible. Goes sideways anyway :)

They are actually a C-class platform underneath it all, but made better basically using some of the e-class tech.

EDIT - Just looking at done deal and what you can get for your money is pretty impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    No, but as a passenger I'm comparing it and it's ****e.

I think I might have been born with the take the alternate view gene:)
    My OH always wanted this car just to have one and I'm thrilled he's gotten his car, just like my gtv, but god do I hate that car,

I guess it's personal, when I was learning to drive a few E series Mercs gave me grief

After a c5 the space in nearly every car is ****e, including the new c5:eek:
    Is it giving your auld creaky knees bother? :P

That lovely smooth road that those people were doing up has now been ruined with loose chippings.

F*ck the lot of them for doin that. Is it that hard to sweep the chippings off to one side :mad:

My emissions are off the scale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I just saw this for sale. Matt Sims (Alan's) 525i. I never knew it had an engine transplant. An old 5 series with 320 bhp, M3 engine.
    I really like!

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=57409

Someone here buy this.

I was considering it strongly until I saw that it was a manual and I was swayed in the meantime by americana!

Max Power1 wrote: »
    I was considering it strongly until I saw that it was a manual and I was swayed in the meantime by americana!

You remind me of myself the morning ofthe dyno meet. The rest thought I was going to explode :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    That lovely smooth road that those people were doing up has now been ruined with loose chippings.

F*ck the lot of them for doin that. Is it that hard to sweep the chippings off to one side :mad:

Loose chippings, the scourge of my favorite roads out in the wicklow mountains these days

You remind me of myself the morning ofthe dyno meet. The rest thought I was going to explode :pac:

Which dyno meet was this, was it recent?
    (hopefully not during my "holiday" as I will be peeved if I missed it for that reason!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

They put them chipping down for grip on country roads, leaving them smooth would be a death trap.