Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

Monday 26th August

6.13 miles in 45.52 avg pace 7.29

No running yesterday meant that the legs felt great today.
    Saturdays disappointment is well behind me now, i'm looking forward to giving them hills a good smack in the half marathon. A solid 3 weeks of training ahead of me now to get some decent milage in and hopefully another 20 miler or 2.

Tuesday 27th August

Lunchtime 5.05 miles in 42.39 avg pace 8.26
    Evening 7.08 miles in 58.52 avg pace 8.18 - wasnt feeling the love for the interval session at the club tonight so decided an hour of easy running would be better.

Wednesday 28th August

6.07 miles in 50.21 avg pace 8.18

Just a few more easy miles again today.

Thursday 29th August

9.84 miles in 71.39 avg pace 7.17

plan called for an 8 mile tempo so I took a time between my HM and PMP as the pace so the aim was around 7.10 pace.
    So with a mile warm up I set out at the tempo pace, felt good and strong till mile 7 but struggled through the 8th mile to get it done. So job done, feel fooked now though. Happy to have gotten through it as I wasn't looking forward to this one.

Saturday 31st August

5.02 miles in 43.22 avg pace 8.39

A few recovery pace miles today. This felt way tougher than it should have and I was close to calling it a day after 2 miles as the legs just couldn't get going at all.

Sunday 01st September

20.01 miles in 2.42.25 avg pace 8.07

2nd 20 miler in the bag, ran this one with the same 2 lads as last time. We took in a few miles of the marathon route too. The 2 lads took off at 15 miles to get some PMP miles in so I finished out the 20 on my own. I was glad to see them head off as I was feeling stiff and tired at that stage so I needed to drop the pace a bit. Overall I felt good throughout the run and I'm delighted to have another 20 miler done.

Monday 02nd September

5.16miles in 45.32 avg pace 8.49

An easy recovery run, I needed that recovery today as I'm aching after yesterdays 20 miles. Need to spend a bit of quality time with the foam roller tonight.

Tuesday 03rd September

Lunchtime 4.48 miles in 39.22 avg pace 8.47

An easy few miles to try and loosen out the stiffness in the legs.

Evening 8.13 miles in 55.44 avg pace 6.51

Club session was 6x1miles
    Completed these in 6.15, 6.12, 6.31, 6.29, 6.20 & 6.11

The coach told me to slow down after the second rep so that's why miles 3&4 were a bit slower but I felt good so I pushed the pace a bit again for the last 2.
    Going in to this session I had no idea what kind of pace I would be capable of as I was feeling quite tired so I just did what felt comfortable so I'm very happy with the pace overall.

Wednesday 04th September

5.88miles in 48.20 avg pace 8.13

A nice easy run out in the sun today, very enjoyable.

Tried a new pair of runners too, i've been wearing Nike Pegasus since I started running 2 years ago so I wanted to try something lighter and flatter. Went for Saucony Kinvara, they felt nice and comfortable and had no issues with them at all. I am aware that they are considerably flatter than the pegasus so I think I will only do 1 easy run a week for a while to ease myself into them.

Thursday 05th September

10.04 miles in 75.20

Club session tonight was an 8 mile run supposed to be run at PMP.
    After a 2 mile warm, I set off with a group running 7.25s and I felt very comfortable here so I went on ahead on my own and ran the next 2 miles at around 7.15s. This run was an out and back so at the turn around I was still feeling strong and fresh so pushed the pace to 7's for the next 2 miles, at mile 6 I pushed it again to a 6.50 mile and did the 8th mile in 6.42. Average pace overall for the 8 miles was 7.06.
    Probably not the right kind of paces to be running when the aim of the run was to run at MP but with the half in the park looming I wanted to do some miles at a quicker pace. I was happy with the workout but was even more happy with how I felt afterwards as I wasnt fcuked.

Friday 06th September

8.28 miles in 71.42 avg pace 8.40

A handy recovery pace run into work, it was freezing at 6.30 this morning. As much as I enjoy the sun I much prefer the winter and the cold so this mornings run was very enjoyable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

how many more 20 milers are you planning, you've got 2 in the bag already that's great going.

statss wrote: »
    how many more 20 milers are you planning, you've got 2 in the bag already that's great going.

Gonna do one this weekend but planning on slowing this one right down so it lasts 3 hours, the last 2 were a good bit quicker than 3 hours.
    I won't be able to hit 20 the following 2 weekends. So I'll do another one the week before the 3/4 in Athlone, then hopefully I'll get a pass from the missus for Athlone. So all going well I'll get 3 more in before the big day.
    What about yourself?

Hoping to get my second in tomorrow, then I'll do 20 as part of the Dublin Half and 20 as part Athlone 3/4 hopefully. My plan calls for a 17 in about 3 weeks time, I might try and make that 20 as well for the craic. It's getting ever closer to 28th Oct.

Sunday 08th September

20.04 miles in 2.51.59 avg pace 8.34

3rd 20miler done and dusted. I was planning on slowing this one down a good bit from last weeks long run as I feel last week was just a bit too quick and I wanted this one to be about getting time on my feet.
    I did the first 7 miles on my own and was delighted to hook up with the lads at this point as doing the 20 solo would gave been a tough slog.
    I felt really comfortable throughout the run today, I tired a bit in the last 2 miles but I held the pace no problem. A wise OLD man told me to start adding the .2 miles onto the end of my long runs but I forgot about it until I was in the car on the way home.

Pretty happy with this mornings effort as it was a tough week training wise and to have 3 twenty mile runs done at this stage fills me with confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Almac06

I'm sure he is not that old :)!!!

Great running and to be so comfortable is a great sign and good for the confidence, you can take a lot out of todays run both physically and mentally and take it into DCM!!!

Only a couple of longs run left now!!

Monday 09th September

5.14miles in 43.55 ave pace 8.33

A nice and handy recovery pace run today. Legs feel great, no stiffness or aches after yesterday.

Tuesday 10th September

Lunchtime 4.90 miles in 40.37 avg pace 8.13

Club session 4 x 2400, 6.05 miles in 38.55 avg pace 6.26

I didn't really have a planned pace for this one so before the session one of the faster ladies at the club told me she was planning on running at around 6.40 pace so we decided to run together. at the moment I'm kind of in no man's land at the club as I'm not quick enough to be with the faster lads and I wouldn't get any benefit from running with the group behind me, so I was happy to be running with her. It was a good session, the second rep killed me for some reason but the 3rd and 4th were good, I felt quite strong.
    I'm feeling very fit these days and I feel like all the training is beginning to kick in.

with the warm up/cool down around the session I did over 13 miles for the day.

Not sure if I'll get to do my 9 mile PMP tempo on Thursday so I might have to do them as part of my long run on Sunday which should be interesting. I'm only planning on doing 14/15 miles so it should be manageable.

what PMP are you gonna go for ?

Gonna aim for 7.20-25's

Thursday 12 September

7.06 miles in 50.34 avg pace 7.10

real life is getting in the way of running this week as I couldnt get out at all yesterday and I cant make this evenings club run. So i wanted to push the pace a little today to make up for missing the tempo tonight, nothing much to report really, the pace felt quick but comfortable without too much effort.

Friday 13th September 2013

8.38 miles in 73.28 avg pace 8.46

A very handy run into work today. These are definitely getting easier as the weeks go by as I used to hate these runs as the early morning starts with no food just doesnt suit me at all..

Sunday 15th September

the plan for today was to get some marathon pace miles in. So after nearly a 4 mile warm up I met up with 2 lads from the club for 10 miles.
    I was feeling a bit ****ty after eating and drinking a bit too much yesterday at my sons christening so I knew that holding the pace for 10 miles was going to be tough.
    The run went ok but I was so glad when it was done. I did 10.32 miles in 78.12 avg pace 7.35. The average pace is a bit slower than I wanted but that breeze was a killer today, so taking that and yesterdays over indulgences into account I'm happy with the workout. So over 14 miles for the day.

Monday 16th September

5.28 miles in 44.07 avg pace 8.22

A very handy few miles today. Still felt slightly sluggish after Saturday, its amazing how long it takes the body to recover from over eating and having a few beers. I dont really drink an awful lot anyway so I suppose feeling like this is to be expected.

Tuesday 17th September

6.16 miles in 48.37 avg pace 7.54

A nice easy run today out in the rain, body finally felt back to normal and despite getting soaked this was a very enjoyable run. Not going to do the club session tonight or Thursday as i'd like to be as fresh as possible going into the half marathon on Saturday.

Wednesday 18 September

6.19 miles in 46.05 avg pace 7.27

Wanted to get a few MP miles in today as I wont get to do any later in the week. Run went well and i felt like I was raring to go but held back to keep the miles around 7.20-7.30 pace.

Thursday 19th September

8.34 miles in 70.44 avg pace 8.29

A very wet but enjoyable easy run into work this morning. That's it now till the half on Saturday.

Saturday 21st September

Dublin half marathon 13.12 miles in 1.33.56 avg pace 7.09

Going into this one I felt I had an outside chance of getting the 1.30 or at least better my PB of 1.31.30. But it turned out that it was one of those days and neither happened.
    I started with the 1.30 pacers, I was a bit late into the pen so had no time to check for Blockics pink runners to go and introduce myself to him.

The start was fine and I felt good sticking with the pacers, I was running with a lad from the club who was running this as a training run as part of his DCM prep so we trotted along nicely and I was feeling relatively comfortable up till about mile 4-5. The demons then entered my head and I was battling with them from this point, my clubmate was doing his best to reassure me that we are doing fine and telling me to keep the head. I eventually lost the battle around mile 8 and watched the pacers drift off down chesterfield avenue. At this point I told my clubmate to push on to help another mate try to achieve his PB target, so he went off to catch up with the other lad.

I was feeling pretty rough at this stage so the short downhill at the end of the park out of the gate was very welcome and I managed to get a bit of a second wind out on Conyngham Road and started to push it again. Heading back into the park I caught up with my clubmate and the other lad so this spurred me on a little, then I headed up military road. Not a pretty sight, it knocked the stuffing out of me again, it was at this point that I struggled in the 10 miler and the same happened again, the pace fell off dramatically. Then I saw that poor lad collapsed, to be honest I find it hard to even think about it. I will say that there is a lot of good people out there who selflessly gave up their own races to help the lad, they did all they could in the circumstances and fair play to them all it cant have been easy.

From that point on I was saying to myself just get to the end of the race and it will be a good day so I managed to pull it together a bit and got myself to the finish line in relatively good shape.

The time wasn’t great but I wasn’t one bit annoyed with myself, I was genuinely happy just to have finished the race as I was mentally fighting with myself from the fifth mile onwards.
    One thing I’ll take from Saturday is that life is too short to be stressing about running, life is for living and running is only a small part of our lives and as Statts said over on his log running is a hobby and hobbies are supposed to be enjoyable. Worrying about shaving seconds off our miles and stressing about not beating a PB seems ridiculous after Saturdays events.

Monday 23rd September

6.11 miles in 51.09 avg pace 8.22

Just a nice easy pace run out in the sunshine today..

was looking out for your result, 3 of my mates were also going for 1:30 and only 1 of them managed it, so I hoping you would buck the trend. Not to worry. Horrible day, best to forget it.

I think I've settled on going for 3.20 like yourself, if you want to hook up for a few MP miles before DCM give us a shout.

was looking out for your result, 3 of my mates were also going for 1:30 and only 1 of them managed it, so I hoping you would buck the trend. Not to worry. Horrible day, best to forget it.

I think I've settled on going for 3.20 like yourself, if you want to hook up for a few MP miles before DCM give us a shout.

certainly was a day to forget.

Welcome aboard the 3.20 bus, maybe we could gather a few heads and start a 3.15 group because if there was a pacer for 3.15 I'd probably go with that. Something to think about man.

yeah that would be ideal actually.

I may be able to recruit one of my long run buddies who was looking at 3.10 but struggled on Saturday like us all so he may be revising his goal time down a bit.