Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All-Ireland SFC Semi-Final - Dublin -v- Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Only bad oman for Kerry is that any time I have been abroad over last 10 years they have always lost in championship. They rarely lose when I'm in Ireland. I will be abroad for this game. :D

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Think Kerry will put in their best performance on Sunday and will sneak a win.

Yeah I agree, Kerry can do things that no other county could do when they are written off.

More this game gets closer the more I fancy Kerry. Had same feeling for Limerick/Clare game.

Kerry are too quiet..Way too quite... and Dubs seem to be too confident.

I have said it here already that I wouldn't be surprised if Dublin didn't turn up on the day.If Kerry win, they will win the All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Amprodude wrote: »
    I have said it here already that I wouldn't be surprised if Dublin didn't turn up on the day.If Kerry win, they will win the All Ireland.
    Well thats completely unfair 15 v 0 .. yup youse will win

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Well thats completely unfair 15 v 0 .. yup youse will win

Ha ha funny.... We all know how good Dublin are and when in form would blow anyone away. They will have a big test next Sunday and if they blow Kerry away, then they are a serious team. I can't call the game but I for one won't write Kerry off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Seamu$

Only bad oman for Kerry is that any time I have been abroad over last 10 years they have always lost in championship. They rarely lose when I'm in Ireland. I will be abroad for this game. :D

Have the Kerry County Board not been in touch to make arrangements for you to fly home?!! :)

Ha ha funny.... We all know how good Dublin are and when in form would blow anyone away. They will have a big test next Sunday and if they blow Kerry away, then they are a serious team. I can't call the game but I for one won't write Kerry off.

With the risk of indulging in hyperbole ... Dublin/Kerry matches in the championship have given some of the greatest defining moments in Football. The 70's are now consigned to nostalgia .. but even back to the 2 games in Thurles in 2001 and "that" point. The 2007 & 09 S/F's for differing reasons rubberstamped the greatness of the Kerry team. The '07 SF was a match between the 2 best teams in the country and befitted a final.

2011 gave (and I'm biased) Dublin a well deserved AI from all the disappointments in the intervening 16 years and beating Kerry added it as a "proper" AI.

So 2013 I feel will be no different. In many cases over the years one of the SF's was in actual fact the game of the year - followed by a damp squib of an AI final. The result is unclear but there's every chance this game will leave an indelible mark for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Sure Mayo might as well not show up if Kerry win next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I still remember the last 15 minutes of 2011 so clearly in my mind and probably will til the day I die. Never heard noise and seen emotion like that at a sporting event ever in my life. A day I will cherish.
    seligehgit wrote: »
    Sure Mayo might as well not show up if Kerry win next week.

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

2011 gave (and I'm biased) Dublin a well deserved AI from all the disappointments in the intervening 16 years and beating Kerry added it as a "proper" AI.

just on this, Kerrys win over Cavan keeps an 18 year run going - the team that knocks out kerry normally at least gets to the final and this will be the case again this year if Dublin win.

More telling however, is that as has been the case apart from one year of the last 12, if Kerry dont win the all ireland, the team that beats them normally does.

1995 was the last time one of the teams in the All ireland final wasnt either Kerry, or the team that beat them.

2012 - Donegal (all ireland Champions)
    2011 - Dublin (all ireland champions)
    2010 - Down (Beaten finalists)
    2009 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2008 - Tyrone ((all ireland champions)
    2007 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2006 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2005 - Tyrone (all ireland champions)
    2004 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2003 - Tyrone (all ireland champions)
    2002 - Armagh (all ireland champions)
    2001 - Meath (Beaten finalists)
    2000 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    1999 - Cork - (Beaten finalists)
    1998 - Kildate - (Beaten finalists)
    1997 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    1996 - Mayo (Beaten finalists)
    1995 - Cork (beaten in semi final)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Moneymaker wrote: »
    I still remember the last 15 minutes of 2011 so clearly in my mind and probably will til the day I die. Never heard noise and seen emotion like that at a sporting event ever in my life. A day I will cherish.

Cop on.
    Sorry that was a disrespectful post to Mayo, why be so dismissive of another team whatever one's personal opinion?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Cormac Reilly appointed as ref seen on TV3, presume that was already known...

Whats he like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

just on this, Kerrys win over Cavan keeps an 18 year run going - the team that knocks out kerry normally at least gets to the final and this will be the case again this year if Dublin win.

More telling however, is that as has been the case apart from one year of the last 12, if Kerry dont win the all ireland, the team that beats them normally does.

1995 was the last time one of the teams in the All ireland final wasnt either Kerry, or the team that beat them.

2012 - Donegal (all ireland Champions)
    2011 - Dublin (all ireland champions)
    2010 - Down (Beaten finalists)
    2009 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2008 - Tyrone ((all ireland champions)
    2007 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2006 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2005 - Tyrone (all ireland champions)
    2004 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    2003 - Tyrone (all ireland champions)
    2002 - Armagh (all ireland champions)
    2001 - Meath (Beaten finalists)
    2000 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    1999 - Cork - (Beaten finalists)
    1998 - Kildate - (Beaten finalists)
    1997 - Kerry All Ireland Champions
    1996 - Mayo (Beaten finalists)
    1995 - Cork (beaten in semi final)

No it doesn't
    Of the years you quoted, the 12 teams that beat Kerry, 6 won the All Ireland and 6 did not, and 4 of those 6 winners beat Kerry in the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,804 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Watched the Cork game back. All criticism of Bernard Brogan withdrawn - I must have been hungover or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,848 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

ha i can see a lot arriving late for this with liverpool manu finishing bout 3.20!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 JulietJones

Going to be abroad on Sunday and no where near an irish pub so wondering if anyone knows if it is possible to watch the game on line live.. I know I can listen to radio one but would love to be able to watch it. Any help greatly appreciated.. perhaps I should be posting on technical website but am luddite!! Thanks

It's official not a ticket left .. ladez and germs we have a sell out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

It's official not a ticket left .. ladez and germs we have a sell out

Good, always a great spectacle to see these two old titans go head to head. Up the Kingdom and may the best team win and may it be Kerry! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

No it doesn't
    Of the years you quoted, the 12 teams that beat Kerry, 6 won the All Ireland and 6 did not, and 4 of those 6 winners beat Kerry in the final

10 of the last 11 have either been kerry or the team that beat them...that is pretty conclusive. 5 of the 6 teams you talk about came from 96 to 2001 so the point stands correct.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Good, always a great spectacle to see these two old titans go head to head. Up the Kingdom and may the best team win and may it be Kerry! :D

LOL.. I think Kerry have to take a bit of credit for the sell out - youse lads are an inquisitive lot.. I'm sure yer up to see what all the fuss is about with this Dublin team ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

10 of the last 11 have either been kerry or the team that beat them...that is pretty conclusive. 5 of the 6 teams you talk about came from 96 to 2001 so the point stands correct.

That's because the Kerry team from '03 to '11 was exceptionally good, and got to every final in that period bar '10. They're clearly a team on the decline now however, so beating them doesn't hold the same relevance it used to hold. The point you made is obviously correct though. But since Horan and McGuiness have come in, Mayo and Donegal look to be the teams to beat. I think now there are 5 teams that could realistically beat Kerry, I'm not saying they're better than Kerry, but during the course of the naughties it only looked like Kerry could be defeated by Tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

But you quoted from 1995, I was just analysing the data you submitted.

And on your point of 10 of the last 11 being Kerry or the team that beat them, 4 of those beatings were in finals, so there ain't a whole lot more playing do do once you win the final.
    In your data only Donegal and Tyrone (2003) have beaten Kerry before the final and went on to win it, 6 others failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin
    2. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
    3. Mark Griffin St Michaels/Foilmore
    4. Shane Enright Tarbert
    5. Tomás Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht
    6. Peter Crowley Laune Rangers
    7. Fionn Fitzgerald Dr Crokes
    8. Anthony Maher Duagh
    9. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes
    10. Paul Galvin Finuge
    11. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes (Capt)
    12. Donnchadh Walsh Cromane
    13. Darran O’Sullivan Glenbeigh/Glencar
    14. Declan O’Sullivan Dromid Pearses
    15. James O’Donoghue Killarney Legion
    Subs:
    16. Brian Kelly Killarney Legion
    17. Kieran Donaghy Austin Stacks
    18. David Moran Kerins O’Rahillys
    19. Eoin Brosnan Dr Crokes
    20. Kieran O’Leary Dr Crokes
    21. Jack Sherwood Firies
    22. Bryan Sheehan St Marys
    23. Patrick Curtin Moyvane
    24. Aidan O’Mahony Rathmore
    25. Michael Geaney Dingle
    26. Paul Geaney Dingle

Kerry team named as I expected. Will go man to man at the back, not sure of the matchups until the Dublin team is named.

Excitement starting to build now.

Pacy front three, so hopefully things will start the same way as the Cork game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

So Brosnan doesn't get the start, Fitzgerald is in. I quite like Fitzgerald, good player imo. O'Mahony and Brosnan were great servants to Kerry, but neither are anywhere near as good as they used to be.

It's a good team, although the bench mightn't be as strong as Dublin's.

Marc - Brogan
    Griffin - Rock
    Enright - Mannion
    Tomás - Connolly
    Fitzgerald - Kilkenny
    Crowley - Flynn

I imagine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

keane2097 wrote: »
    Marc - Brogan
    Griffin - Rock
    Enright - Mannion
    Tomás - Connolly
    Fitzgerald - Kilkenny
    Crowley - Flynn

I imagine?
    Swap Enright and Fitzgerald i'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Seems very very early in the week to be naming your team. Any particular reason for this?

Same as all year I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Same as all year I think.

aah ok fair enough. They must have some routine in the Kerry set-up and are sticking to it. I guess it has worked for them so far.....but seems very early in week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

Marc - Brogan
    Griffin - Rock
    Enright - Mannion
    Tomás - Connolly
    Fitzgerald - Kilkenny
    Crowley - Flynn

I imagine?

Jesus when you line them up like that you have to really fear for Kerry...