Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DayZ Zombie Mod for Arma 2 (v2)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

Meatwad wrote: »
    Is there anything that can be done with tools like this beyond banning him from the actual server?
    Would reporting him on the actual official dayz forum get any results? Just asking as I know little or nothing about how to deal with hackers in a situation like this , when its on a private server.I presume if nothing is done, he'll keep acting a cnut till he gets bored and goes away.

If you do a DNS lookup on his IP there should be an address there for reporting abuse, not that it'd get great results but if he got a few reports he may be reprimanded by his ISP.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,414 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Do people still play standard DayZ much anymore, or is it all variants of the original? Just wondering how well standalone will do, if it's missing a lot of features people have come to expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

Kiith wrote: »
    Do people still play standard DayZ much anymore, or is it all variants of the original? Just wondering how well standalone will do, if it's missing a lot of features people have come to expect.

I started on the normal DayZ mod. Played it for about 2-4 hours total, and moved to different mods.
    Most are just small additions - More buildings, new guns, different cars, skins, etc. Very few actually add anything amazing.
    As it's a mod, I personally expect standard DayZ to be, well, not as good as other variations of it.
    I do however, expect the standalone to be the best, at least until modded versions arise. If I'm going to pay for DayZ, the base game has to be v/ good. I'm fine with the standard version being a little bit behind compard to other mods.

On another note - Got some good action tonight. Made my way towards NEAF, on my way, a Nissan when flying past me.
    Few minutes later, went into a stadium, only to find someone looting tents. Managed to get the kill, and loot his body. Got some decent stuff and went ahead with the plan of going to NEAF.
    Assumed the Nissan was doing the same, I decided to approach from Olsha hill. About 500-600m out I see the Nissan parked in the trees.
    Make my way to a good positions to wait for him/them.
    Just as I crouch, I see a guy go up to the car. Kill him, only to notice he's in a clan, and two others are online.
    I assumed one other person was with him, so I wait for about 10 minutes to see if he tries to get the car and leave. Nothing happening so I begin to flank around only to hear the car start and drive off while I was a few 100 m away. Body still had all the loot, which was pretty average stuff, so I decided to just hide it and move away a bit before I logged out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭simon360

Mister Man wrote: »
    I started on the normal DayZ mod. Played it for about 2-4 hours total, and moved to different mods.
    Most are just small additions - More buildings, new guns, different cars, skins, etc. Very few actually add anything amazing.
    As it's a mod, I personally expect standard DayZ to be, well, not as good as other variations of it.
    I do however, expect the standalone to be the best, at least until modded versions arise. If I'm going to pay for DayZ, the base game has to be v/ good. I'm fine with the standard version being a little bit behind compard to other mods.

On another note - Got some good action tonight. Made my way towards NEAF, on my way, a Nissan when flying past me.
    Few minutes later, went into a stadium, only to find someone looting tents. Managed to get the kill, and loot his body. Got some decent stuff and went ahead with the plan of going to NEAF.
    Assumed the Nissan was doing the same, I decided to approach from Olsha hill. About 500-600m out I see the Nissan parked in the trees.
    Make my way to a good positions to wait for him/them.
    Just as I crouch, I see a guy go up to the car. Kill him, only to notice he's in a clan, and two others are online.
    I assumed one other person was with him, so I wait for about 10 minutes to see if he tries to get the car and leave. Nothing happening so I begin to flank around only to hear the car start and drive off while I was a few 100 m away. Body still had all the loot, which was pretty average stuff, so I decided to just hide it and move away a bit before I logged out.

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu my Nissan :( I presume it was black?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

simon360 wrote: »
    Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu my Nissan :( I presume it was black?

No, no. It was the Lime Green one. They managed to get away with it anyway. I should have took a wheel off the car or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03Mpxtl4Rdg&feature=share

Some footage from Gamescom, finally starting to take shape. This one looked a lot better than what we saw at E3.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Shooting some arseholes at Stary Sobor. Enjoy!

If you enjoyed this, I would really appreciate some love on Reddit. Cheers!
    http://redd.it/1ktuna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Fr.Dougal Returns! So after a week of being on the piss I make my presence felt again on the server..but it seems pretty dead. What's the craic there lads?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

ktulu123 wrote: »
    If you enjoyed this, I would really appreciate some love on Reddit. Cheers!
    http://redd.it/1ktuna
    From the video, there doesn't seem to be that many zeds around the place; is this the mod that you're using, or what? I ask as I... tend to attract the undead :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Laviski

its the mod "DayZ Overwatch" but the zombie hurt more if they hit. and generally the number of zeds depends on the amount of ppl in the area.

ElChe32 wrote: »
    Fr.Dougal Returns! So after a week of being on the piss I make my presence felt again on the server..but it seems pretty dead. What's the craic there lads?!

Hop on TS, most of us have hit the 'fed up with DayZ' wall lately but we'll be trying out the new DayZero map over the weekend :cool:

I donated to DayZero about 1 month back and ended up still being able to get access to the new map when it came out the other day, have to say it's very good, all the new added interiors and the infection signs all add to the zombie apocalyptic atmosphere.

Good stuff, will download it tonight so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

Which one, Podagorsk? Can it be downloaded free now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Rogann

New video on the map Podagorsk. I believe you need the DaYZero launcher to play it which can be downloaded from http://www.zombies.nu

I think DayZero Podagorsk 1.0 should be coming within 2 days, on the DayZero launcher I have Podagorsk servers that are offline still showing since the Beta ended BUT their server name is DayZero Podagorsk (1.0) etc. That wasn't there before, Hopefully I'm on to something here :D

Podagorsk 1.0 is out tonight at 8PM :D
    EDIT: Out now, early release!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Idioteque

Howdy,

For anyone of yis that are interested, there's a squad event with the Overwatch devs tonight at 8pm..all welcome! :)

http://midnightgaming.tv/forum/m/15832886/viewthread/8527154-overwatch-squad-event-this-sat-aug-31th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

Playing over watch last night picked my self up and off spray in NWAF headed along the cost to the NEAF came under fire 50 cal getting damage landed Off-spray blew up, then ai came and they were coming under fire to.

Manged to sneak up in the confusion to the top of the fire house on the out side ( risky )
    There I see a player in a 50 cal hummvee so I take him out with one shot to the head with my dmr, then i see an agro zombie on my right peripheral then he gets shot his mate comes at me right hand side beside some barracks, double tapped him.

checked the bodies full kitted GPS Range Finders Night visions Some crazy gun, On booth bodies.. so I take what I need and leave...

Post in the side Mista cake and the other chap: I tuck what I needed from your bodies and left so most of there stuff is still there. They ask me to collect them I said no Im logging.

There reply was our clan will be after you on this server from now on.. Kinda looking forward to it if there that fvcking dumb i should have a few more kills racked up :D

Ps: this was some what lucky :D

My first winning encounter on dayz where I didnt loose wish i had recorded it.

I can't even say anything to justify how I managed to let this happen... Enjoy!

Reddit: http://redd.it/1m1vov

I can't even say anything to justify how I managed to let this happen... Enjoy!

Reddit: http://redd.it/1m1vov

And you used to tell me I couldn't fly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,337 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thats ktulu off the flying list anyway hahaha!

MadYaker wrote: »
    Thats ktulu off the flying list anyway hahaha!

It is in its ****!!! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tij da feen

It is in its ****!!! haha

Have to agree with Yaker there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Gehad_JoyRider

I once drove into a lamp post in origins and died
    :(

My first spawn on the new DayZero map Podagorsk, I meet this guy that wants to take me somewhere.... Enjoy!

Reddit: http://redd.it/1m3i9z

Cheers!

Surprised how much work has gone into DayZero, not only things you can see like guns, enterable buildings etc. but how well they optimised it, 100 fps on Podagorsk last night and had 70 on Chernarus a while ago when I was playing.

It's a pity its boring as **** though :P