Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours - 2013/14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

As much as I hate to admit it, it does seem like desperation at this stage. If bother players were first choice, why not have them wrapped up? Both players are good squad players and will be useful over the course of the season but Utd won't be much stronger. The only reason I'd like to see both coming is to freshen up the squad and see new players turn out for the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

as has been said i would say the bid was probably a bit cheeky to let the two lads know he wants them and try to unsettle them. going by our dealings this summer i would say we should increase our bid on the 2nd of september at 11:55

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

elius wrote: »
    Fellaini is not really the type of player i was hoping we would sign when you see the interest in Thiago and the concrete offer made for Cesc how in the name of Sir Alex does Fellaini relate to these players. We where average at best on Saturday, Chelsea where outstanding crisp passing football.

Woah, a bit of context please.

Cheslea beat a newly promoted Hull 2-0 at home. Just 2 goals. They played well for 45 minutes. They were pretty average in the second half and couldn't kill the game.

United went to a superb Swansea City side and beat them 4-1 while conceding alot of possession to a technically excellent team. They kept 7 clean sheets in 8 preseason games (Vorm didn't play the eighth). I'm certain the top clubs will be at serious risk of dropping points there later in the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Technophobe

I think we will need close to 40 mil to get both sadly.

it will be very sad if we spend that on them....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

I know from my time playing Football Manager that we will not be allowed bid for Fellaini and Baines again.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

it will be very sad if we spend that on them....

I'd spend £20-23m alone for Fellaini. We do not need Baines (I still think he'd be an excellent signing, but we have clear deficiencies elsewhere that have *still* not been addressed).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Is it a case that the new owners are reluctant to back the new manager?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭master-t

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Just catching this news now did Everton choose to make this public or was it leaked from elsewhere?

going by Martinez comments before and Everton giving out about the bid value it appears Everton would sell and accept the players would want the move but want serious money.

Everton released a statement saying we bid and it was rejected, Apparently before Saturday's match, but they didn't release the news to keep the team focused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Jesus we won't be able to sign Osman even now.

I can only laugh now
    Who's to say Osman wasn't one of the 2? Everton didn't say who the two players were :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

Fellaini was excellent for Everton against Norwich. He broke up play, dominated in the air and posed an attacking threat. He'll make a great addition to the squad if we can get him. I think we'll get Fellaini but doubt we'll nab both considering how little time Everton will have to replace them correctly. I can't imagine either Baines or Evra being happy to sit on the bench or play second fiddle to the other in a World Cup year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭Corvo

master-t wrote: »
    Everton released a statement saying we bid and it was rejected, Apparently before Saturday's match, but they didn't release the news to keep the team focused.

Quiet a strong statement too. They are obviously -

1) Insulted by the offer

2) Insulted that Moyes is trying to pick their two best players

3) Insulted that the bids were made in such a way to turn their heads, instead of actually seeing what their club wants from them

Woodward can **** right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,211 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If we were so badly stuck that we were playing wingers or centre backs at left back, then perhaps I could understand paying over €15m for a 28 year old full back.

But we aren't. In fact, we happen to have perhaps the best full back in the league there, certainly one of the top three.

So any bid at all for Baines is a complete waste of money. He is 28. People need to stop thinking about their fantasy football teams and realise that for United it isn't a good use of resources. Take that money and buy Luke Shaw, money far better spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Corvo wrote: »
    I hope we sign David Gill

If only, he wasn't perfect either but give me Gill anyday. Fúck this Woodward guy.

He says we can spend £70 million on a player if we need to, then he disappears from the Australian tour on "urgent transfer business", that was a month ago.
    Then there was Fabregas fiasco with us offering stupid bids. Now Baines and Fellaini. I don't want Baines and I've got no problem with us bullying smaller clubs over their players but the £28 million bid for both is just dumb. Just plain dumb.

Seriously, get rid of this guy.

J. Marston wrote: »
    If only, he wasn't perfect either but give me Gill anyday. Fúck this Woodward guy.

He says we can spend £70 million on a player if we need to, then he disappears from the Australian tour on "urgent transfer business", that was a month ago.
    Then there was Fabregas fiasco with us offering stupid bids. Now Baines and Fellaini. I don't want Baines and I've got no problem with us bullying smaller clubs over their players but the £28 million bid for both is just dumb. Just plain dumb.

Seriously, get rid of this guy.

We should have known by the head on him anyway, the dirty sleeveen.

Ed%20Woodward-1337222.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Technophobe

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I'd spend £20-23m alone for Fellaini. We do not need Baines (I still think he'd be an excellent signing, but we have clear deficiencies elsewhere that have *still* not been addressed).

BUT would you spend 40m on them both, as things currently stand? I wouldn't... And I have reservations as to what extra we will (overall) get out of paying 23m for Fellaini....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Trilla wrote: »
    lads, is it not just a case that these were opening bids?

Why such a big deal about the amount when others seem to value the two players are 5-7m more than what was offered?

An opening bid of less than what Everton ended up paying for Fellaini though. That is quite insulting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

I've a slight feeling that we may get Fellani but on the last day of the transfer window or close to it.

Does anyone maybe just think that the club don't want to over spend maybe?

Woodward, and to a lesser extend Moyes (he just gives the players names to his Chairman, the chairman makes the bids) probably doesn't want his first major signings to be over priced - which I actually understand.

I am not sure what his tactics are, but if we just think about it, it would appear they are trying to unsettle the players by making opening, lower than expected offers. To be honest, I don't care if Everton are 'insulted'. I was 'insulted' when Chelsea and Jose made a £20m offer for Rooney. So what? It's football. Its competition and fair play to clubs looking for bargains.

There does not need to be a big scramble about us offering a low opening bid. I wold be more p1ssed off we made a ridiculous over priced opening offer.

I want to see the players head turn. I want Fellaini to come out and say he wants to join United. Why not? It helps our club.

I think this opening offer is about trying to turn their heads. Simple as. We will see if they come out and say anything. If not, we return with a bigger offer (Hopefully for Fellaini only though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

so what do ye think is going to happen in the next two weeks?

Feck all Homer. I've lost a fair bit of faith in our board, who have dallied along all summer making stupid offers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Fellaini will be bought for about 23million.
    That will be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Johner wrote: »
    An opening bid of less than what Everton ended up paying for Fellaini though. That is quite insulting.

Is that true? And how long has he left on his contract?

Its a big boys world. I swear hypertweeterbole is making everyone ghey as Easter over transfers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Fellaini will be bought for about 23million.
    That will be it.

Agree with that. Just Fellaini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Trilla wrote: »
    Is that true? And how long has he left on his contract?

Its a big boys world. I swear hypertweeterbole is making everyone ghey as Easter over transfers

It was an initial £15m. He has 3 years left on his contract.

Saw this on Twitter,
    Fellaini cost Everton £15m-rising to £17.5m with addons when the Merseyside club bought the Belgium international from Standard Liege in 08

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Chelsea came in with a bid that was less than what we paid for a 17 year old Rooney. He's now a 27 year old world class player with 2 years left ion his contract yet they thought an opening bid of £22m wasn't insulting?

These low ball bids from clubs aren't that uncommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,267 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Saw this on Twitter,

Fúck Twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Fellaini is more or less nailed on at this stage, it's just a matter of time and money.
    Many of us spent last season lauding him and how good he would be for us. The interest in Fabregas has coloured people's view on him simply because he's not in the same class as Fabregas.
    He will be a great signing. No hanging around now, just get it done.

We will get Fellaini.

Can't get my head around the Baines bid.

And perhaps a signing from Left Field in the last few days of the transfer window.

That's it - and with what's available, that's fine with me.

Cesc doesn't wana go. Modric MAY be available IF they get Bale, but we are talking about 40m for him.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Fellini for close to 30 deadline day or close to it. That's it.