Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

APM FAE 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Has anyone done Interglaze and Multiple Holdings?

Dmac - any other case studies you recommend? I haven't a hope of racking up coverage of case studies in the way you will have come exam day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭foraca28

does anyone find the international marketing mix just so boring to go through? it is such waffle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Mark1916

foraca28 wrote: »
    does anyone find the international marketing mix just so boring to go through? it is such waffle!

It's all complete waffle if you ask me. It basically goes identify model apply model to case get marks

Mark1916 wrote: »
    It's all complete waffle if you ask me. It basically goes identify model apply model to case get marks

yeah your right. I tabbed the life out of that book. Hope it works because I have some amount to still to cover for CORE and I am glad there aint loads of cases for this. I am finding it hard enough to get through these let alone get any more!

Yea in the same boat and to be fair there are only so many cases you can do in a day before getting the urge to go to the nearest off licence buy a 6 pack of beer and go have one hell of a bonfire with all these cases and books.

I know the feeling:D im hoping for a miracle at this stage:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Dmac_Aca12

Are people doing all day/night 7 days a week now ?? I went out tonight whoops ... I think ya need a break every now and then or u d completely burn out !!

myshirt wrote: »
    Has anyone done Interglaze and Multiple Holdings?

Dmac - any other case studies you recommend? I haven't a hope of racking up coverage of case studies in the way you will have come exam day.

I have nt really got to to many of the main cases yet done the MABF but found they were fairly irrelevant to APM .

Think I m gonna start into the cases tomorrow big time then at night re read a chapter n home something sticks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭MoMo1987

Plushtherma Plc -

Capital Allowances are treated as an outflow in this question and deducted from revenue.

Is this correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭hooch-85

Dmac_Aca12 wrote: »
    No one seems to have sample papers - does anyone on here know anyone who did them last year/ year before ! Be very handy to have

I had them all last year but my hard drive got wiped, ill ask one of the lads I did it with last year if they still have them. The CAP2 pass rates seem to be up a lot so maybe they will do the same for yerselves, good luck!

MoMo1987 wrote: »
    Plushtherma Plc -

Capital Allowances are treated as an outflow in this question and deducted from revenue.

Is this correct?

As far as I know yes, because capital allowances essentially reduce your tax liability i think you have to include it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭MoMo1987

As far as I know yes, because capital allowances essentially reduce your tax liability i think you have to include it!

Yeah you are correct, obviously the brain wasn't awake at 8am this morning.

Trying to start early and finish early o fit in some of the footie! Terrible timing for the premier league to be coming back now!!!

Ha ha defo my thoughts exactly! Good to have it back but! Cant wait for Saturdays spent with a few beers watching the games!

Is anyone at the completely freaking out stage yet .. Where they feel there is a mountain to climb and no chance of reaching the top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭kb6536

Is anyone at the completely freaking out stage yet .. Where they feel there is a mountain to climb and no chance of reaching the top

Somewhat, just did last years mock paper and managed to get the NPV in sim 1 right, feeling like I'm on everest lol but generally yeah, there's so much to try and get in.

Suppose at this stage it's about keeping calm and doing what you can

do not freak out, you got loads of time to get through it:) i wish i only had elective but dont worry you be fine

I think if you step back and take a look at the majority of these cases they are not too bad. Apart from some of the complex calcs e.g hedging

i am kind of worried about this one but no not as much as core which is endless!

How are you approaching the last 2 weeks? Are you going to do all cases or some technical revision?

kb6536 wrote: »
    How are you approaching the last 2 weeks? Are you going to do all cases or some technical revision?

i spent the past 2days doing technical. I feel I have lost time by doing it but I needed to. I will definitly be doing cases this week, have loads to get through, I will try finish by early next week I think. My plan keep changing. How about you? You much cases done etc?

Yeah I've most cases for core done but don't really feel like I'm going to get much further just doing them? Think I might spend this week on PM and technical revision and then the last week just on cases

oh fair play all the case book, workshops, exam & sample papers? I envy you, I still a good few to get through including the elective. How do you find doing them all the time? I was doing them constanstly but they kind of sucked the life out of me and I forgetting technical then.

Still have some past papers and sample papers left, the workshop cases were too familiar so I made bullet points for a lot of cases and went through the solutions for things I'd have missed. Yeah I think doing cases all the time can get you too sucked in, maybe a break wil do me good fingers crossed lol!

To give the elective its dues I definitely think the cases have helped massively, I think it's so much easier to link between the case and the green manual compared to core!

Still have some past papers and sample papers left, the workshop cases were too familiar so I made bullet points for a lot of cases and went through the solutions for things I'd have missed. Yeah I think doing cases all the time can get you too sucked in, maybe a break wil do me good fingers crossed lol!

To give the elective its dues I definitely think the cases have helped massively, I think it's so much easier to link between the case and the green manual compared to core!

Yeah you do get sucked in and then you when go away from them you are like oh my god i should be doing cases, I was focusing on FR & Mgt. My knowledge on mgt acc is very bad, if things like process costing etc could up, i might as well:D and it is CAP1 Material

With the cases are ye doing them at this stage or still looking a the answers a bit and making notes from them ?

For the past papers I'm usually trying to do a proper answer, the self study ones I find really difficult though so usually bullet points and checking the solutions for those.

Goodness I hope process costing doesn't come up! Even abc costing, it was fine last year, but in a case study I can't get my head around the information being all over the place!

And are u studying full days morning to night ??

No definitely not lol, I have the worst concentration! I start at probably around half 10 or 11, taking regular breaks (probably too regular!) and usually finish around 10. I think there are people doing really crazy hours though

For the past papers I'm usually trying to do a proper answer, the self study ones I find really difficult though so usually bullet points and checking the solutions for those.

Goodness I hope process costing doesn't come up! Even abc costing, it was fine last year, but in a case study I can't get my head around the information being all over the place!

I haven't really touched the self study cases concentrated on the past papers, mocks and case study ones. Might attempt a few this week. Core is time consuming very time consuming! Need to brush up on some technical stuff including audit I've neglected it

How did you get on with the cap2 papers?