If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Autumn is really in the air. Couldn't help notice, the amount of leaves falling from the trees this morning, when I was moving the fence:confused:
    Crab apples on the ground as well:o

bbam wrote: »
    Before SFP he lived of farming. And many others were able to do likewise. But let's not get started on how the introduction of various payments brought the industry down to where it is today.

And back in the day, leisure time, was a day at the seaside, every second year:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

And back in the day, leisure time, was a day at the seaside, every second year:)
    and you didnt dare say "i'm bored"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

whelan1 wrote: »

I hear my own young lad, when things aren't going his way, he'll say "pause game". I have to remind him that life doesn't pause for anyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

We never hear the "bored" term. It's completly banned in the house. Really grates on me to hear kids going on about beig bored. And every house full of books and games and probably every electronic gadget made.
    I have a few nieces who were talking about being bored the second week of the holidays. !!!
    Of course I now realise I've turned into a cranky auld fella !! But in fairness I haddnt far to go !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

I have a sprong and wheel barrow out side the hen house with a placard on top the word BORED is painted on it. Anytime there is a sentance with the word bored in it they are sent to use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Sami23 wrote: »
    How many kg's of rape per acre do use sow as I'll be doing a few acres shortly and its a few years since I sowed it and can't remember how much I used ? :confused:
    Also, what fertiliser are you going with ?

4kgs to the acre. Im sowing with the fert spreader and then rolling it in.
    Going to put 3 bags of 10 10 20 to the acre, hoping to put the incalf heifers and this years calfs on it for the winter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

dzer2 wrote: »
    I have a sprong and wheel barrow out side the hen house with a placard on top the word BORED is painted on it. Anytime there is a sentance with the word bored in it they are sent to use it.

love it, going to get a child sized spade and that sign for the veg garden, couple days digging it over should sort them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

i am fooked here ,just after dehorning 11 of the first calves born,i am old,and not fit ,more wine tonight to sort out the aches.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

leg wax wrote: »
    i am fooked here ,just after dehorning 11 of the first calves born,i am old,and not fit ,more wine tonight to sort out the aches.:o

have 3 to do this evening..not looking forward to it

bbam wrote: »
    We never hear the "bored" term. It's completly banned in the house. Really grates on me to hear kids going on about beig bored. And every house full of books and games and probably every electronic gadget made.
    I have a few nieces who were talking about being bored the second week of the holidays. !!!
    Of course I now realise I've turned into a cranky auld fella !! But in fairness I haddnt far to go ![/QUOTE}
    my 2 lads are grand , the girl would drive ya mad. Where are we going today etc, not helped by the fact her cousin is always being brought here there and everywhere:rolleyes: shes gone for the cows now who are in a 30 acre field to tire her out:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Heading to france tomorrow for 2 weeks.... I'm loking forward to being bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I never really do "boring" beach holidays, but god I'll love one right now!

leg wax wrote: »

Dab of Dr Larsson's dehorning paste, at two days old. As often as not, you can get it done, with the calf asleep on a bed of straw, after a feed of milk. No need to catch it, never mind put in a dehorning crate.
    If I live to be a hundred and ten, I will never get the logic, which says stressed farmer, plus red hot iron, plus dehorning crate, battling with a strong calf with buds of horns, is in some way a more humane way, than dehorning paste at a few days old.
    If I were a calf, and was offered a choice I know which one i would choose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Dab of Dr Larsson's dehorning paste, at two days old. As often as not, you can get it done, with the calf asleep on a bed of straw, after a feed of milk. No need to catch it, never mind put in a dehorning crate.
    If I live to be a hundred and ten, I will never get the logic, which says stressed farmer, plus red hot iron, plus dehorning crate, battling with a strong calf with buds of horns, is in some way a more humane way, than dehorning paste at a few days old.
    De horning paste, never heard of it please elaborate and where can it be got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Thats dangerous stuff i think, father used it back in the 70's when it came out said it burnt half the skull off the calf and if you got it on yourself ye would have a hole in your arm for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Homemade wedges. Pizza. Beer. Come to papa :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Muckit wrote: »
    Homemade wedges. Pizza. Beer. Sorted :-)

vs dosing cattle and mucking out sheds for the evening, cant beat youth:D

anyone going to slane?

Young lad was spreading slurry with me and it was mentioned on the radio and he couldn't understand all the talk about sweets:confused::confused:

vs dosing cattle and mucking out sheds for the evening, cant beat youth.
    went to dose a cow yesterday, she refused to go within 2 foot of the crush gate, tried opening the gate and stopping her as she went through, didnt work twice... tried her again today took 30 mins to get her head out, bribed her with meal, locked gate , haltered her and dosed her ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

went to dose a cow yesterday, she refused to go within 2 foot of the crush gate, tried opening the gate and stopping her as she went through, didnt work twice... tried her again today took 30 mins to get her head out, bribed her with meal, locked gate , haltered her and dosed her ffs

Pour ons where invented for such bitches, hook drencher also a help

Why would you be dosing 1 cow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Used it a few years ago...still needed the red hot iron after though!!

delaval wrote: »
    Why would you be dosing 1 cow?
    i do them with zanil when springing...i had done 3 before her no bother

Pour ons where invented for such bitches, hook drencher also a help
    no fooking pour on or injectable for fluke in dairy cows

Pull the feeders in the parlour 110mls Zanil on top and no dry copw will refuse;);)

Might need to leave the cow there for a while as the odd one turns her nose at it, but she'll eat it eventually!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Might need to leave the cow there for a while as the odd one turns her nose at it, but she'll eat it eventually!
    If she turns up her nose she has no Fluke;);)

Nay just a pampered HO ha! Scour all bubbly, couldn't be anything else?