If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

whelan1 wrote: »
    see that " Farmers a year on the land" is on tv3 at 6pm featuring Tom Browne Irelands largest dairy farmer. Is this repeat? Should be interesting anyway

Would be good to see where he is at now since the last program was made .
    Was he talking of starting a new bigger farm last time ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

just do it wrote: »
    What cultivation method do you use?

We spray 5 litres Roundup per acre. 5 days later mow and bale followed immediately by 2x50 kg bags of G Lime and seeder.

Seeder is an Atchison stitcher so no cultivation. Seed rate 14 kgs per acre followed by 2x10-10-20.
    Weed spray at 3 leaf stage and graze from 6 weeks after sowing. We seeded a field on the 28/July and should be gracing with the cows in 2 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 davemrocks

Thinking of getting an ursus c-385, anyone has/had one have any problems with them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Mad craic in tralee last nyt, we'll have to try make it off tuesday again but numbers are low, feckin everyone leaving the country its a struggle to round up a few to go out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

delaval wrote: »
    We spray 5 litres Roundup per acre.

I thought 2L/ac was the rate?! Better get some more!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

davemrocks wrote: »
    Thinking of getting an ursus c-385, anyone has/had one have any problems with them ?

Is that the smaller brother of the Ursus 450?

just do it wrote: »
    I thought 2L/ac was the rate?! Better get some more!!
    It's one of the cheaper elements of reseeding and I want to take out hardy yokes like nettle and docks. I would be trying with post emergence not to need to spray for weeds 'till next seeding in 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Bizzum wrote: »
    Is that the smaller brother of the Ursus 450?

No it is similar as a Zetor Crystal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

It's one of the cheaper elements of reseeding and I want to take out hardy yokes like nettle and docks. I would be trying with post emergence not to need to spray for weeds 'till next seeding in 10 years

I think you have being getting lucky going with such high rates. I have seen a DD job fecked up using such high levels of Glyphosate. Nowadays most I would go to at a max would be 3l per acre. 5l ac is asking for trouble that would be serious germination problems. Have a search on the net and you will see plenty about glyphosate levels and DD

Was self perscribing will re adjust. Glad I mentioned it;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Was self perscribing will re adjust. Glad I mentioned it;);)

Is it 5lt per acre or hectare

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Is it 5lt per acre or hectare
    I was working per acre. Every day is a school day:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

I was working per acre. Every day is a school day:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just wondering cos I put 5lts per ha on other day. Was getting worried for a minute

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Just wondering cos I put 5lts per ha on other day. Was getting worried for a minute
    i'm getting confused now, I'll go for the cows and mull it over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

If the senior game is half as good as the minor game it'll be a good one. The hooking and blocking was excellent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Pull the feeders in the parlour 110mls Zanil on top and no dry copw will refuse;);)
    well tried it and my cow refused... waste of zanil, had to crush her and catch her... tried it this morning

She mustn't have fluke

i am not taking any chances, 2 pulls of nuts and 110ml of zanil mixed in to it:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

She mustn't have fluke

I bet ya this is how pisrogs started years ago ! :-)

moy83 wrote: »
    I bet ya this is how pisrogs started years ago ! :-)

whats a pisrog?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whats a pisrog?

Around here it's a false story!

whats a pisrog?

Old wives tale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

come on the Banner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Up the Banner!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Hon the banner yeeoooowwwwwww :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

come on the Banner

was it much of a game lads? busy so didnt get a chance to watch it thankfully:D, wasnt expecting much anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

was it much of a game lads? busy so didnt get a chance to watch it thankfully:D, wasnt expecting much anyway

Only one team in unfortunately. I think the occasion / media hype got to too many key limerick players.

Round Up Biactive 5L/ha ;)

bwbg.jpg

Went spraying this evening and the arm of the sprayer broke :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Any of ye here read that Roundup is being attributed as a cause of Parkinsons?