John Dundon found guilty of murdering Shane Geoghegan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭lovelyhurler

Great news. Hope he never sees the light of day again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

while i think he probably was guilty the evidence in court was flakey.

The state witnesses were fellow criminals with an axe to grind against dundon while others were given immunity for their involvement.

I'd have a hard job being convinced by the ex-gf of his brother (april collins)who now has no problem going out with a convicted rapist.

That said I reckon he did do it and the verdict is fair but how low will we stoop in our justice system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

tbf from april o'neill's testimonial in court, big JD sounded like one of those bad guys from a slapstick comedy.

He brought a stranger in to kill a man he couldn't even be arsed to point out or to obtain a photograph. And then calls up someone to gloat about it afterwards.

Not exactly a criminal mastermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Would you?

Yes. TBH i reckon the only reason she acted as a witness in this trial was so she could get police protection. She had recieved death threats from the dundons due to the fact she broke up with ger dundon and started seeing gang rapist Thomas O'Neil.

Anyway, i'm just glad John was convicted, i hope he rots in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Gally05

having lived in limerick for many years and seen the terror these people caused he got what he deserves

Do I think the evidence was sufficient - possibly not [but I didn't get the full in/outs of it all . I tried follow as best I could]

Do I think he was guilty - Without a shadow of a doubt he was behind it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

yoloc wrote: »
    What im saying is that this man was already tried in the media and everyone already had him guilty. You know what the guards are like in this country, they can frame anyone if they want. Listen, im not saying this man is a saint, all im saying is that if the guards/government are out to get you, then your fcuked because they will do everything in their power and also tamper with evidence, get witness's to lie just to put you away. You have to agree, this is a massive case for the guards and one they werent going to let go against them.

So you've no evidence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Leftist wrote: »
    tbf from april o'neill's testimonial in court, big JD sounded like one of those bad guys from a slapstick comedy.

He brought a stranger in to kill a man he couldn't even be arsed to point out or to obtain a photograph. And then calls up someone to gloat about it afterwards.

Not exactly a criminal mastermind.

Which is probably why he's spent more time in jail then has as a free man, he's an illiterate thug, not Moriarity. Thank god for stupid criminals that make it so much easier to keep them off street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Enjoy the showers you scumbag. . Who you jumping into bed with, is it bubba?

Is Bubba still in jail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Because "an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind"

Then there will be one man left with one eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭eire_lad

Great result. But you would have to question the whole legal system again. Dont think they had sufficient evidence and think he knew this aswell. Wouldnt be surprised if there was a long drawn out appeal process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

coleria wrote: »
    How the F**K was he allowed listen to music in a court while they gave their verdict??:eek::mad:

I don't know. But the reason, I imagine, is that he couldn't hear the verdict and flinch - this gets kudos with the other "hard cases". These Dundons are direct descendants of Black and Tans. I hope some of the old brigade inside are clued up on that history and kick fuck out of this greedy pig. Daily.

But this situation was allowed to develop. The Limerick politicians, the Limerick Gardaí, the judges and finally the man on the street were all complicit here. Fear is like a tsunami. But it should be sorted out before it becomes that. Some of the "smart" legal people that represent these thugs should do a bit of soul searching less they too be branded as low-lifers.

Would it not be a good thing if say after two years some of these fellows apologized to the affected families, to their own families and to the public at large in a contrite manner and then get some time off for that?

Longfellow ................ RETRIBUTION:

Though the mills of God grind slowly;
    Yet they grind exceeding small;
    Though with patience he stands waiting,
    With exactness grinds he all.

conorhal wrote: »
    Which is probably why he's spent more time in jail then has as a free man, he's an illiterate thug, not Moriarity. Thank god for stupid criminals that make it so much easier to keep them off street.

true in a way but also stupid criminals have limited to no imagination of consequences and are therefore more inclined to cause mayhem.

These lads are bit like the westies in ny. Ruthless, violent yet disorganised, thoughtless and ultimately doomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭hermano

lkionm wrote: »
    Limerick needs some sort of batmanesque person.

But he shouldn't be the person we deserve, I think Willie O Dea would be that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

dilallio wrote: »
    Today, I would have no issue if Shell or any other company delivered a sh1tload of free booze to the gardai, proscecutors, and 3 judges.

Limerick is a lot safer today than yesterday.

Even though he's locked up, I'm sure there's a similarly wonderful human being lined up to take his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Leftist wrote: »
    true in a way but also stupid criminals have limited to no imagination of consequences and are therefore more inclined to cause mayhem.

These lads are bit like the westies in ny. Ruthless, violent yet disorganised, thoughtless and ultimately doomed.

Very true, they tend to rely on their ruthless reputation for extreme violence to ensure their liberty through the silence of their victims rather then any master plan, which is why, God forgive me, the old school shinner kneebreakers of inner city Dublin during the 80's had their uses, they tended to keep these types in their place before they became untouchable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

MugMugs wrote: »
    Well change the system so he doesn't. How's taking his life away ultimate? He won't be around to suffer the loss. It's an easy way out for him. I'd rather be dead than be locked up for life.

If you changed the system to have him suffer during his prison term and sentence to be life and not 10 years then that might be reasonable punishment.
    However, this is not the case and will never be the case. I can assure you he'd rather be alive with his buddies in prison rather than dead.
    I usually think of it from the victims and their families point of view. If I was in their family I'd prefer him gone, finished with, rather than knowing he's still around and likely to get out one day.
    Same with victims of rape, instead of the victim being assured that they'll never see the scumbag ever again, they always have that thought in the back of their heads that someday they might run in to their attacker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

John Dundon, you'll be in cell 45, bunking with Simon Adebisi.
    Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

yoloc wrote: »
    What was the evidence that actully put him away. When big cases l;ike this happen i always smell a fish, i think behind the scenes someone would tamper with evidence just to send him down because theres so much media attention with cases like this.

Smell a fish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Enjoy the showers you scumbag. Hey John I'm going on holidays next week with my family for the week, what you getting up to yourself? Lol. Think I may cycle my bike in the park later and then stop in for a pint and a bite to eat before I get home and jump into bed with the wife. Who you jumping into bed with, is it bubba?

He isn't being imprisoned in Mississippi for christ sake. I'm also fairly sure he will be near the top of the food chain in there.

conorhal wrote: »
    Very true, they tend to rely on their ruthless reputation for extreme violence to ensure their liberty through the silence of their victims rather then any master plan, which is why, God forgive me, the old school shinner kneebreakers of inner city Dublin during the 80's had their uses, they tended to keep these types in their place before they became untouchable.

While debatable, I don’t buy that argument. To have an active paramilitary organization, which is what it would take to have enough power to control these places, you have to sacrifice violence in return.

No vigilante group would grow that big and the innocent victims of the provos far outweighed that of the Dublin and limerick gangs currently operating.

The victims may have been some place else but they still existed.

Poorly organized criminal organisations operate where poorly organized and funded police organisations operate. And you can’t stop a cross-generation al conveyor belt of criminals even with an efficient, well funded police force.
    It’s takes more than grassroots work too. This is the result of decades of neglected, high levels of unemployment and low educated communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Emotive silliness. We don't grant human rights. They are innate.

Even filthbags human beings like Dundon has human rights.

According to whom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Gumbi wrote: »
    According to whom?

If human rights exist, and most people think they do, then the criteria for having these human rights is to be a human. Dundon is a human, therefore he has human rights.

They are arbitrary, though. You are correct that by definition, everyone has human rights. But they aren't innate. And only exist as long as people wish it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

A good news morning at last.

Until he gets 6 yrs reduced to 3 for good behaviour/backdating etc etc.

They are arbitrary, though. You are correct that by definition, everyone has human rights. But they aren't innate. And only exist as long as people wish it so.

I'm not sure. For example, women always had the human right to vote and black people always had the right not to be slaves. Those rights were innate in them because they were human beings. Unfortunetly those human rights were not defended and affirmed by governments and trampled on by other human beings.......but they always had those human rights.

Likewise, both Shane Geoghan and Dundon had/have human rights. Shane Geoghan's rights were grossly and disgustingly trampled on by Dundon and his colleagues. That doesn't mean we should do the same to Dundon.

I hope he serves a long and unhappy time in prison - but he has certain human rights that everyone deserves to have affirmed.

I'm not sure. For example, women always had the human right to vote and black people always had the right not to be slaves. Those rights were innate in them because they were human beings. Unfortunetly those human rights were not defended and affirmed by governments and trampled on by other human beings.......but they always had those human rights.

Likewise, both Shane Geoghan and Dundon had/have human rights. Shane Geoghan's rights were grossly and disgustingly trampled on by Dundon and his colleagues. That doesn't mean we should do the same to Dundon.

I hope he serves a long and unhappy time in prison - but he has certain human rights that everyone deserves to have affirmed.

How have you determined these rights - as you describe them - exist? Blacks had some kind of... universal right not to be slaves? Again, according to whom?

Rights only exist insofar as we grant them.

How have you determined these rights - as you describe them - exist? Blacks had some kind of... universal right not to be slaves? Again, according to whom?

Rights only exist insofar as we grant them.

Fair enough. I see what you mean. Society agrees on what we deem to be rights. Is that moral relativism then?? Are there no innate rights??

What I'll take from this thread, Gumbi, is your desire for our black neighbours to be our slaves. ;)

[Joke btw!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm not so sure. I don't know what he is, but I'm glad he'll be in jail for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭bonzos

Another pikey scumbag off the streets...Plenty more large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Life sentence without parole would sound so much better