Does Irish soccer have a problem with hooliganism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭LowOdour

I always like to have a wight tear up with some faacking caannntts outside Terryland park, and give the 2 fingers to the Old Bill.

The reality is I onced dropped some litter by accident,and the guard asked me to pick it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

dan1895 wrote: »
    Great contribution.

Touch a nerve there did I?
    League of Ireland is sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Not all casuals are hooligans, not all ultras are hooligans, not all hooligans are casuals or ultras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

That's total bs, if you know anything about football hooligans its they only fight each other, usually the groups are called casuals because back in the day they wore casual clothes to disguise from the police, kind of blend into normal crowds as opposed to wearing jerseys and scarfs. But they never just pick a fight with normal fans who just want to watch the match.

Some of the gear they wear is stone island Armani etc, costs 100s just for a top or jeans, bohs and rovers have these groups, a simple google will show pics etc.

I'm fully aware of where the term casual came from. You think at football hooligans only fight each other. Really?

That's what all the hooligan books spew out. We never attacked scarfers, only other firms etc etc. Whilst I agree that firms do fight each other there are also plenty of attacks on random opposing fans.

Are you saying for example that Liverpool fans in heysel were charging juve hooligans? What about rangers celtic games. Lots of violence around that game and lots of innocent scarfers as victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

oldyouth wrote: »
    There were 10 LOI matches played this weekend throughout the country. There will have been more violence outside chippers in any rural town last night than at the football

There will also have been about 50 times as many people eating chips last night as went to LOI games.

LowOdour wrote: »
    I always like to have a wight tear up with some faacking caannntts outside Terryland park, and give the 2 fingers to the Old Bill.

The reality is I onced dropped some litter by accident,and the guard asked me to pick it up

Hello Danny dyer. Lol. His programs on hoolies and hard men should be listed under comedy gold. What a geezer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

That has nothing to do with what's being discussed and is just not true as there is plenty of talent and excitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

timthumbni wrote: »
    Hello Danny dyer. Lol. His programs on hoolies and hard men should be listed under comedy gold. What a geezer.

Considering he's such a soft twit aswell.

You should watch Keith lemons gameshow when he had Danny on it. Took the p out of him completely. Very funny but to be fair to dyer I think he realises he's just an act.

The fact that its him doing the shows on hooligans probably shows up the sort of mentality football hoolies have.

You don't get this sort of carry on at the rugby. Lol

Yes. And it manifests itself on boards.ie too.

See: reasons for restricted access to the Soccer forum

vs.

Reasons for unrestricted access for every other sport's forum pages.

Tht documentary centres itself on Bebo argie bargie which will tell you that A) It's about 7 years old and B) It's absolute muppets giving it the big one online.

I attend a lot of LOI games and I have to say the security arrangements have improved beyond belief compared to when that 'documentary' was made. Stewards travel to away games to keep known trouble makers out and I think the Garda do a decent job too. If you want to avoid hassle, it's easily done. Not an endemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

It's way more of a problem in the premier league, you just don't hear about it anymore as the EPL or Sky don't want the bad publicity.

I feel any trouble in the LOI would be insignificant in comparison to what goes on in England or indeed between the old firm in Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Only thing missing is excitement and talent.

ah that's not fair. There are a few good looking wags at it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Only thing missing is excitement and talent.

Whatever about talent, you clearly know nothing if you think there's no excitement.

There's a small element of trouble at LOI games. Easy to avoid if you're not looking for trouble. Compared to the trouble in England which is generally ignored by the media, we're grand.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

lots of "compared to England, its grand". Who gives a crap about England. Its like saying compared to Baltimore we don't have a gang problem. So effing what, it doesn't mean the problem isn't there.

There is a problem regarding peoples behaviour at and around football games in Ireland. I've been going to games 15 years or so. There are big social problems within the supporters of some teams.

Its very similar to the problem our beaches face with undesirables on Sunny days. But sure its not as bad as the beaches in Rio so its grand

lots of "compared to England, its grand". Who gives a crap about England. Its like saying compared to Baltimore we don't have a gang problem. So effing what, it doesn't mean the problem isn't there.

There is a problem regarding peoples behaviour at and around football games in Ireland. I've been going to games 15 years or so. There are big social problems within the supporters of some teams.

Its very similar to the problem our beaches face with undesirables on Sunny days. But sure its not as bad as the beaches in Rio so its grand

Never had a problem on a Rio beach except finding an unoccupied piece of sand to sit on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

And so is your contribution to this thread. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Because like it or not, the only experience that the majority of people here have of club football is English football. It's a cultural yardstick that offers an easy shorthand comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Because like it or not, the only experience that the majority of people here have of club football is English football on television

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭BOHtox

BQQ wrote: »
    Methinks the lads protest too much. ;)
    The problem is small in comparison to most countries, but it does exist.

LouthDrog, I seem to recall the Bohs team bus being attacked in Drogheda a couple of years ago. Did you miss that game?

And BOHtox! No trouble at bohs in 10 years? LOL
    Long history of trouble between Bohs and Rovers. Give us a break.

I wouldn't be a big LOI fan, but in the say 50 games I've been to I've witnessed trouble at several grounds.

Well 20 lads hiding behind the gardai pretending to be held back while shouting "we all hate bohs/hoops scum" is hardly trouble but it'd probably be the worst I've seen. If you wait around half an hour after the match and meet in an idle location you'll find a fight but you could do the same in Temple Bar or after a night out or on holiday etc.

Most trouble is one or two fúcking twats and not "organised hooliganism" as tv3 would call it. And you can not legislate for these people
    If there is no likelihood of trouble, why do clubs have such lists?

Okay, you may argue that banning certain supporters is the solution, and that trouble has been reduced or eliminated because of it. But the lists would never have been created if there never was a history of trouble.

People misbehave. I can't help that, you can't help that. It's a problem with society.

lots of "compared to England, its grand". Who gives a crap about England. d

Everyone does. As a nation we're obsessed with the English game. It's a fair point to bring up. 95% off football fans salivate over the EPL so why not scrutinise the less glamorous side of if too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

Never any trouble at Salthill Devon I tell ya. The 5 of them are always well behaved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Because like it or not, the only experience that the majority of people here have of club football is English football. It's a cultural yardstick that offers an easy shorthand comparison.

Perhaps it should be compared to another Irish league. The All Ireland rugby league attracts the same size of crowds, yet definitely doesn't see the same problems. One has to wonder why...

Does it have similar crowds at games? I was at a Lansdowne game a couple of years ago and there was no more than 200 people there. Its only one example so I would be interested to see what kind of crowds rugby clubs are getting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Football attracts young working class men, they bring the issues young working class men bring to everything. Its the same in every country.

You might as well be asking why theres more issues at football than at the local ballroom dancing championship. Nonsense question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Because, as I'm sure you know, most people who are saying the LOI has a a hooligan issue will support English teams and don't know about the hooligans over there because they're rarely, if ever, at matches.

Given the nature of football supporters in Ireland I would say it's a valid comparison.

In response to the OP. No. There isn't a problem with hooliganism in Ireland. I've been bringing my little brother to Shamrock Rovers games for years and never once felt unsafe or like he was in a dangerous environment. There will always be a handful of idiots at every club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

drumswan wrote: »
    Football attracts young working class men, they bring the issues young working class men bring to everything. Its the same in every country.

You might as well be asking why theres more issues at football than at the local ballroom dancing championship. Nonsense question.

Are you saying the working class are more disposed to violence than the rest of society?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Are you saying the working class are more disposed to violence than the rest of society?

Crime rates are higher and social issues are more prevalent in economically depressed areas. Has this never occurred to you?