Ladies your opinions on men using brothels and prostitutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭MaxWig

Dean0088 wrote: »
    The kind of desparate search for cash you're alluding to by saying "it's money at the end of the day" is why women in places like Thailand and African cities literally spend 16 hours a day getting rodded for a tuppence. This is Ireland. There is nobody that close to desolation.

There is nothing admirable about straight up prostitution. Nothing about on any level evokes any worthiness in any sense. At least a pest controller is out working hard and providing a service that is actually needed by households and businesses.

The only form of escorting that I can respect is services for disabled people. At least they're making someone who otherwise would never experience sex happy.

It's not sex though. I seriously doubt escorts derive any pleasure from it when their job is to ensure the client is pleasured in any way he/she wants. I imagine sex, two or three times a day, five days a week would get real old real fast. Particularly as Ireland isn't know for Channing Tatum lookalikes. :rolleyes:

Sounds like you're ascribing your own feelings towards sex on to all prostitutes.

You may or may not be accurate, but the moral argument falls down as a result.

I hate to use the friend/sister/daughter example, but here goes.

Would you rather your F/S/D scrubbed ****e from public toilet bowls for minimum wage, or made €800,000/year as a high class escort?

If you'd rather the ****ty toilet scrubbing option, you're seriously hung up on sex.

If you'd rather the escort option - well, you're morally bankrupt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

The kind of desparate search for cash you're alluding to by saying "it's money at the end of the day" is why women in places like Thailand and African cities literally spend 16 hours a day getting rodded for a tuppence. This is Ireland. There is nobody that close to desolation.

There is nothing admirable about straight up prostitution. Nothing about on any level evokes any worthiness in any sense. At least a pest controller is out working hard and providing a service that is actually needed by households and businesses.

The only form of escorting that I can respect is services for disabled people. At least they're making someone who otherwise would never experience sex happy.

It's not sex though. I seriously doubt escorts derive any pleasure from it when their job is to ensure the client is pleasured in any way he/she wants. I imagine sex, two or three times a day, five days a week would get real old real fast. Particularly as Ireland isn't know for Channing Tatum lookalikes. :rolleyes:

Sounds like we are polar opposites when it comes to sex, sex is natural puts most of us in good form why deny people of getting their rocks off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

MaxWig wrote: »
    Sounds like you're ascribing your own feelings towards sex on to all prostitutes.

You may or may not be accurate, but the moral argument falls down as a result.

Would you rather your F/S/D scrubbed ****e from public toilet bowls for minimum wage, or made €800,000/year as a high class escort?

If you'd rather the ****ty toilet scrubbing option, you're seriously hung up on sex.

I have no moral qualms at all with escorting. Laws or a 2000 year old religion don't guide my opinions. I have more respect for an international cocaine smuggler because at least they're making money in a job that's tough and requires intelligence.

Would I prefer my sister scrubbing toilets (which was part of a job I once worked btw) or having the glamorous job of sucking off 50 y/o blokes?

Toilets.

It's not the sex or industry that's a hang up for me. It people on here proliferating it as something 'glamorous, 'high class' or hard work. There's nothing special about escorting. Been done for hundreds of years as an easy route to cash.

gcgirl wrote: »
    Sounds like we are polar opposites when it comes to sex, sex is natural puts most of us in good form why deny people of getting their rocks off

That's basically my opinion of sex. Although I don't hold it up as some pillar to the functioning of society. It's just sex ffs.

There's nothing special, respectful or noteworthy about providing sex for cash. It's not disrespectful either. But I refuse to deliver automatic respect on the grounds of being called sexist or accused of having odd, repressed views when it comes to sex.

It's escorting. Not curing cancer.

I have no moral qualms at all with escorting. Laws or a 2000 year old religion don't guide my opinions. I have more respect for an international cocaine smuggler because at least they're making money in a job that's tough and requires intelligence.

Would I prefer my sister scrubbing toilets (which was part of a job I once worked btw) or having the glamorous job of sucking off 50 y/o blokes?

Toilets.

It's not the sex or industry that's a hang up for me. It people on here proliferating it as something 'glamorous, 'high class' or hard work. There's nothing special about escorting. Been done for hundreds of years as an easy route to cash.

There's nothing glamorous about scrubbing sh1t from toilet bowls either.

So you would rather see a someone you know make minimum wage than nearly a million a year.

And this has nothing to do with your own personal view of sex?

There's nothing glamorous about scrubbing sh1t from toilet bowls either.

So you would rather see a someone you know make minimum wage than nearly a million a year.

And this has nothing to do with your own personal view of sex?

A million? Who the client here? :pac:

Scrubbing toilets is respectful. When I see someone working a **** job (of which I've had a fair few) I respect them for doing it and not slinging crack or sitting on the dole as an easy way out. Going the difficult route stands to a person. Any self made millionaire will attest to that. Not the 'millionaire escorts' you're suggesting exist.

I'd rather see someone I know do something they enjoy and genuinely can be proud of. A fat pay check or not. Escorts don't enjoy the work regardless of what they say on their profiles on Escort Ireland. They enjoy the money but who wouldn't? I'm not saying they hate being an escort but I refuse to believe they look forward to oral sex on a 150 pound middle aged fat bloke.

Seeing someone take an easy way out and cash in is not worthy of respect or admiration. And the fact that everyone just gives it the thumbs up is a nice black mirror for the Buy now Pay later society we live in.

To reply to your last sentence there: I was accused of having a double standard and being against women having sex lives. ( :confused: ).

The fallacious dilemma to end all fallacious dilemmas.

A million? Who the client here? :pac:

Scrubbing toilets is respectful. When I see someone working a **** job (of which I've had a fair few) I respect them for doing it and not slinging crack or sitting on the dole as an easy way out. Going the difficult route stands to a person. Any self made millionaire will attest to that. Not the 'millionaire escorts' you're suggesting exist.

I'd rather see someone I know do something they enjoy and genuinely can be proud of. A fat pay check or not. Escorts don't enjoy the work regardless of what they say on their profiles on Escort Ireland. They enjoy the money but who wouldn't? I'm not saying they hate being an escort but I refuse to believe they look forward to oral sex on a 150 pound middle aged fat bloke.

Seeing someone take an easy way out and cash in is not worthy of respect or admiration. And the fact that everyone just gives it the thumbs up is a nice black mirror for the Buy now Pay later society we live in.

To reply to your last sentence there: I was accused of having a double standard and being against women having sex lives. ( :confused: ).

Of course the money, or amount is an exaggeration, but the point remains that it is 'your' opinion of sex, or the values you place on it, that is guiding your opinion. That's absolutely fair enough, but I just wanted to point that out.

Scrubbing toilets is respectful, but you don't believe prostitution is? - again, your own moral code. Nothing objective about it.

Going the difficult route?
    So you 'refuse to believe' they enjoy it, yet you believe it to be the easy route?

Sex freaks some people out, maybe all people

Of course the money, or amount is an exaggeration, but the point remains that it is 'your' opinion of sex, or the values you place on it, that is guiding your opinion. That's absolutely fair enough, but I just wanted to point that out.

Scrubbing toilets is respectful, but you don't believe prostitution is? - again, your own moral code. Nothing objective about it.

So you 'refuse to believe' they enjoy it, yet you believe it to be the easy route?

You're repeatedly suggesting I have some hangup about people having sex. I really don't.

The fact that a woman has sex for money is fine by me. I'm a liberal and think people should be allowed to do whatever they wish so long as it's harming nobody.

I just don't think it's anything special, high class or glamorous about it. I also can't respect it purely because I see nothing worth respecting. It's getting paid to allow some bloke to shoot his bolt in you.

And no I don't think they enjoy it. Take a look at the menus on Escort Ireland. How a 21 y/o Irish student can relish at the thought of giving an aul fella a rim job is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I wouldn't want my daughter to become prostitute, I wouldn't want her to be a WAG or a society girl. It has nothing to do with sex (except the safety issue) and a lot with what our society classes as an achievement. Spreading your legs is not.

meeeeh wrote: »
    I wouldn't want my daughter to become prostitute, I wouldn't want her to be a WAG or a society girl. It has nothing to do with sex (except the safety issue) and a lot with what our society classes as an achievement. Spreading your legs is not.

Hey, sex is an art.

I've been with girls who thought it started and ended with 'Spreading your legs'. We were incompatible! :)

This is pretty much my opinion.

I respect people for their achievements or work ethic.

Not for taking an easy route and cashing in on their bodies either through the media or otherwise. They should be allowed to do so as it's 100% their own choice - but there's nothing respectful.

It's a sad reflection on society when doing as much is an achievement.

This is pretty much my opinion.

I respect people for their achievements or work ethic.

Not for taking an easy route and cashing in on their bodies either through the media or otherwise. They should be allowed to do so as it's 100% their own choice - but there's nothing respectful.

It's a sad reflection on society when doing as much is an achievement.

I guess that's where we differ.

I respect people for their approach and treatment of others, not because they choose to work 14 hours a day in an office. I don't see it as an achievement.

Sure, if your goal is to own a thatched cottage by the sea and you work long hours to get it, fair play. But you may well still be a c**t!!

I'm sure there are a thousand prostitutes in town that I'd rather have a pint with than my local bank manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I guess that's where we differ.

I respect people for their approach and treatment of others, not because they choose to work 14 hours a day in an office. I don't see it as an achievement.

Sure, if your goal is to own a thatched cottage by the sea and you work long hours to get it, fair play. But you may well still be a c**t!!

I'm sure there are a thousand prostitutes in town that I'd rather have a pint with than my local bank manager.
    Why did you mention cleaning toilets as an alternative to prostitution? Why not middle managment position in a bank as alternative?

You are as aware as everybody else that prostitution is not work with high social standing.

Why did you mention cleaning toilets as an alternative to prostitution? Why not middle managment position in a bank as alternative?

You are as aware as everybody else that prostitution is not work with high social standing.

For precisely that reason.

I think the real issue is that people look down there nose at those who work as prostitutes, and those who use their services.

I imagine most people would be reasonably content with the idea of their mother/sister/daughter working as middle management in a bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

So if a friend of yours dropped a " oh by the way I'm an escort now" you wouldn't bat en eyelid?

Come off it.

It's nothing like saying "oh I got a job in SPAR"...

I might not be "much of a friend" because of it but I'd more than likely offer to help them out financially as best I could than saying "Ohhh! Good for you!"

A friend of mine dropped that on me once.

He was already making plenty of money in his day job but liked the idea of extra tax free cash, claimed that he liked women, he reckoned he was good at pleasing women sexually so decided to give escorting a go. Im not sure how long he did it for but I dont remember anyone thinking any the less of him - in fact he was seen as a bit of a jammy fecker by some of the lads in the group because not only was he having a good time with the ladies but he was getting paid for it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 fockewulf

augusta24 wrote: »
    Yes. Do you think your kids would be happy/proud of you? Not having enough money is just an excuse. The only thing you should be doing is separating from your wife.

I can only think that the air is so lacking in oxygen given your altitude on the high moral ground which has resulted in your judgement of me - Why should I separate from my wife amd ergo my kids because my wife won't have sex and I have to seek warmth and companionship elsewhere? Am I so unusual?

So is that the solution? A married woman goes off sex and automatically the husband has to leave the house and his kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭augusta24

fockewulf wrote: »
    I can only think that the air is so lacking in oxygen given your altitude on the high moral ground which has resulted in your judgement of me - Why should I separate from my wife amd ergo my kids because my wife won't have sex and I have to seek warmth and companionship elsewhere? Am I so unusual?

So is that the solution? A married woman goes off sex and automatically the husband has to leave the house and his kids?

Do you genuinely think that what your doing is right? Do you honestly think your kids would be okay with it when old enough to understand? If there is no love in your marriage then of course you should separate .... To carry on living a lie is no good for anyone least of all your kids!! If you think your kids would respect you for it then go ahead carry on... Each to their own. But I highly doubt that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Do you genuinely think that what your doing is right? Do you honestly think your kids would be okay with it when old enough to understand? If there is no love in your marriage then of course you should separate .... To carry on living a lie is no good for anyone least of all your kids!! If you think your kids would respect you for it then go ahead carry on... Each to their own. But I highly doubt that.

How is what he's doing wrong when his wife consented? What's his alternative? To give up his home to his wife? To only see his kids on the weekend, if he's lucky?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 Gone Anon

Some men have trouble getting women and you shouldn't as such look down on them for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I would disagree. The wife has consented to an open marriage. You could also argue that if she refuses to fulfil what is a universally understood basic expectation in a marriage, ie. sex, then SHE should be the one to leave.

He is not living a lie. His wife was very clear to him that sex was off the table, and to find it elsewhere. Exactly what his wife suggested. And their sex life is none of their childrens concern.

I dont agree personally with prostitution however the poster you replied to can get a shag any night of the week in certain nightclubs in town. The difference is, I imagine, that having a heap of one night stands it is only a matter of time that it gets back to the posters wife and that is breaking part 2 of their agreement, which is him being discreet.

She told him to look elsewhere, its not cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 BelleFemme

I hear a lot about female students become escorts and say it's to fund tuition? If you're Irish then you can get a grant. If it's to the point where you are being an escort then I'm sure you'll fall into the bracket of at the very least getting your fees paid.

Also, isn't it dangerous as fcuk? I mean, you can 'vet' all you want but ...

A friend of mine who now lives in London told me about one of her colleagues working as an escort on top of her normal office job. People in the office somehow found her on an escort site and it's getting around. She doesn't know half the office knows she's an escort but eventually it's going to come back and haunt her. Does this not worry you? Ireland is a small country. Even in Dublin most people actually know each other as a friend of a friend. When you get your degree whose to say you won't get a job alongside the friend of an ex-punter. You add your new colleague on Facebook and the ex-punter sees it on his friends profile. Tells your colleague you were/are an escort and there goes your professional career. A management position would be untenable after a revelation like that and you'd likely be asked to resign.

While I have no moral highhorse opinions on escorts, I'd likely look at a friend differently if I found out he/she was an escort.

Like I said I've nothing against escorts or the sex industry... it just perplexes me why someone sees it as a better option than working in a job like SPAR or Tesco like most students, myself included btw.

I am not eligible to get a grant, and I'm slightly taken aback by your comment of "if it's to the point where you are being an escort". I am not escorting through sheer desperation, I must highlight what I said in my initial post - I enjoy being an escort. As well as enjoying it, it also allows me to pay for rent, tuition fees etc. whilst having flexibility to work around my lectures and assignment deadlines. I know people working part-time in shops to help pay towards college, and they struggle juggling work because of the hours being rather restrictive at times.

There is an excitement and an adrenaline rush like no other involved with my work too, and I have NEVER been in a dangerous situation because of how careful I am when it comes to vetting a client, nor have I ever had a "bad" client. I can assure you that all the people I have met have been wonderful.

I do not believe that if what I did to fund my studies came to light that it would affect my job prospects; it would be unfair discrimination as being an escort is not illegal. I am not breaking the law in any way, shape, or form. I would never deny or try to hide the fact that I was an escort either, I am not ashamed of working in the industry, it is just unfortunate that you have to keep what you do to yourself as so many people will judge you, as the opinions expressed in this thread have proven.

It's a shame that you would look at a friend differently if you found out that they were an escort, and I find this very judgemental. Would you look at them differently if they were having one night stands with god knows who getting god knows what kind of STI? Probably not. My health is the most important thing to me, and as I've said before, I am extremely careful and get regular testing in addition to this.
    mariaalice wrote: »
    Why do you call what you do sex work and not prostitution? do you need to distance yourself form what you do.

How come lots of students take jobs that are hard dirty poorly paid end up having to can make 5 euro last a week in order to go to college instead of becoming prostitutes if it so safe easy and full of lovely men, just wondering like?

What do your family think especially your parents think? and if you haven't told them why not?

Sorry, but I was trying to differentiate to everyone the difference between street prostitution (where most girls have no choice but to do what they do as they are funding a drug/alcohol addiction, and they will accept anyone as a client), and escorting (where the majority of us choose to be an escort, do not have any habits or addictions to fund, and we are extremely careful about who we choose to see).

Being an escort obviously isn't for everyone, you need to be confident when meeting new people, take pride in your appearance etc. I would also like to add that as an escort, we are being paid for our time and companionship. Anything else that does happen is between two consenting adults, therefore if we do not wish to do something then we don't have to.

If my parents found out, I would not deny anything as I am not ashamed or embarrassed. I would take the time to explain to them what being an escort entails, and hope that they would realise that it's not what most people think it is. It's unfortunate that people jump to the wrong conclusions about the industry, as this thread is continuing to prove.
    I just cant fathom how someone would think having sex with any middle-aged fat bloke (I seriously doubt punters are the best looking specimens and are likely on the wrong side of 40) beats a four hour shift in a shop.
    This assumption is COMPLETELY incorrect. Clients can be of all ages, relationship status, occupation etc., with varying reasons for choosing to see an escort.
    panda100 wrote: »
    I wouldn't hold your breath waiting for a response from 'belle Femme', I highly doubt he/she is really a working prostitute. These one off posts come up every now and again to try and make prostitution sound more desirable to women. One check on the Escort Ireland website, and there's a teeny tiny number of Irish nationals, under 50, working in this trade. The vast majority are from impoverished nations, as you have to be pretty desperate for money to work as a sex worker in Ireland.

Back on topic, my opinion on men who use prostitutes is very low. You have to have a pretty poor attitude towards women to use one
    I can assure you that I am a real human being and a working escort. I'd like to say yet again, that I do enjoy what I do. I'd also like to add that all the clients I have had have been extremely respectful towards me, and most certainly do not have a low opinion of women.
    I'd like to rephrase your first sentence to "it's not all about the sex though" :) I enjoy escorting, and you know what? I do get a lot of pleasure from what I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Hi BelleFemme,

There's a thread you might find interesting reading here-

Exclusion of sex workers from Justice Committee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

BelleFemme, thank you for your account, it's interesting if nothing else to hear how it is from 'the other side' so to speak. I would imagine myself that if one can take away the moral judgments argument, such a career, if that's the right word to use, can be quite enjoyable and certainly well remunerated for the right person. If society does not condemn a woman for several one night stands, I fail to see how they can similarly denigrate a lady who chooses of her own doing to get into the escort business.

I am curious about one thing however. When you mention how you are being paid for your time, is there not nevertheless an implicit or implied agreement that the time spent will end up with you having sex? I mean, you say that both of you are consenting adults, so nothing will happen should either party not be comfortable, but surely you must have met one or two clients, whom, while they may not have been rude or threatening, just really did not float your boat. This could be through looks, bad hygiene, or simply a complete lack of chemistry. Obviously chemistry may not be exactly appropriate in this context, but I'm sure everyone here has met someone who for whatever reason, just rubbed them up the wrong way from the beginning. You are probably able to emotionally detatch yourself from what you do, hence you will have a less judgmental opinion on the men you choose to spend time with, but I would be interested in how you would handle a situation where you, for whatever reason, just could not face going the whole way with a client. Which is what he would certainly expect in my opinion.

OnTheCouch wrote: »
    Otherwise, when discussing prostitution, taking away the questions of its moral value or whether it should be legalised or not, I believe if it helps men control their urges, then it does serve a purpose. Let us not forget, male sexual desire is an extremely powerful force and can lead to violence, rape and unreasonable behaviour if it is not being satisfied on a regular basis. Of course people can put forward the argument that there is someone out there for everyone or that men should be able to control these impulses better, but it is not as simple as that. Many men, either through crippling shyness, awkwardness, lack of previous success, or handicaps, find it extremely hard to meet women through the normal outlets. I certainly think if sexual violence and/or rape can be prevented by prostitutes providing a service (again leaving out the issue over whether they are forced/coerced into it), then the industry ultimately provides a very useful service to society.

WTF?

Where do these suggestions come from?

Rape has f*** all to do with not getting your end away in a while.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

OnTheCouch wrote: »
    Let us not forget, male sexual desire is an extremely powerful force and can lead to violence, rape and unreasonable behaviour if it is not being satisfied on a regular basis.

Seriously, where do people come up with this utter toss?

Jesus wept.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

OnTheCouch, please do not post in this thread again if you are going to make apologies for rape or other sexual violence against women. Sex is not a right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

Twee. wrote: »
    OnTheCouch, please do not post in this thread again if you are going to make apologies for rape or other sexual violence against women. Sex is not a right.

Sincere apologies.

The last thing I intended to imply was that rape was justified, or indeed, trivalise the subject in any way.

I normally check my posts before submitting, I did not on this occasion and yes, reading back over the offending section, it was extremely badly worded and I can see why many would take great issue with it. Again, I would not want to insinuate that what is an extremely serious matter should be justified for any reason.

I shall remove this part of my post.

OTC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Emme

You're repeatedly suggesting I have some hangup about people having sex. I really don't.

The fact that a woman has sex for money is fine by me. I'm a liberal and think people should be allowed to do whatever they wish so long as it's harming nobody.

I just don't think it's anything special, high class or glamorous about it. I also can't respect it purely because I see nothing worth respecting. It's getting paid to allow some bloke to shoot his bolt in you.

And no I don't think they enjoy it. Take a look at the menus on Escort Ireland. How a 21 y/o Irish student can relish at the thought of giving an aul fella a rim job is beyond me.

Ugh! The thoughts of that makes cleaning toilets seem glamorous. At least you have the cleaning materials between you and the c**p while in the other case...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Emme

fockewulf wrote: »
    Can't believe this is my first post but here goes.

UK mature prostitutes visiting Galway have definitely saved my marriage (definitely not pimped or traffiked). I don't visit anyone else.

Wife won't have sex. I have kids. I can't afford to leave.

Background - We both have good jobs - detached house in Salthill.

Wife said, get it elsewhere as long as she doesn't know about it.

So, am I a bad person to want sex with a woman when my wife is so cold?

No. If you and your wife have agreed to an open marriage that's your business. Even so, why do you have to have sex with prostitutes when there are many other options available? Is paying for sex not somewhat dehumanising both to you and the prostitute? In a way it's akin to popping 20 cents into the slot of a public toilet, going in, doing your business and going out when you're finished.

You could take a mistress.

You could go online - there are plenty of websites where you can find willing like minded people for NSA encounters.

Go to another city for a weekend and take your chances in clubs and bars. If you are reasonably attractive your are pretty much guaranteed to score.

I'm sure you use protection already but it is imperative to use protection in your situation.