If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Muckit wrote: »
    It's wife's car. It's 07 and had none of what u mentioned. Bog standard.

Paddy spec as they call it on the motors forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Paddy spec as they call it on the motors forum.

Also known as poverty spec.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Was feeding some of the weaners last night and noticed a 10 month old heifer very stiff when walking .

Got her into the crush and found she was rotten with mastitis :mad:.

If the calves are getting it , i can only imagine what state the cows would be in without drycow tubes .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

the pour on dosing mainly has nothing in it against flies:eek: how did you treat her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

I really need to get back doing some farming, i've spent the last three weeks every morning before work and every evening working at the house getting sewers dug, electric cables dug, trenches backfilled, shifting loads of stones, dig drains and general donkey work. Went to weight lambs this morning and drafted 30 over 23kg and another 20 or so at 21kg and have to wait to monday before i can sell them, also found a lamb with maggots despite having dipped them, theres three fields of second cut that need a good spray for docks, a field that i've a final 100m of fencing to finish before i can turn stock into it and the grass is nearly getting too strong for grazing but i can't cut it for baling as there's be the odd stone in it and a million other jobs to be do. I was taking a half day off work yesterday morning to collect scaffolding, but this turned into a full day off to cart away from the digger driver and was late into work this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I really need to get back doing some farming, i've spent the last three weeks every morning before work and every evening working at the house getting sewers dug, electric cables dug, trenches backfilled, shifting loads of stones, dig drains and general donkey work. Went to weight lambs this morning and drafted 30 over 23kg and another 20 or so at 21kg and have to wait to monday before i can sell them, also found a lamb with maggots despite having dipped them, theres three fields of second cut that need a good spray for docks, a field that i've a final 100m of fencing to finish before i can turn stock into it and the grass is nearly getting too strong for grazing but i can't cut it for baling as there's be the odd stone in it and a million other jobs to be do. I was taking a half day off work yesterday morning to collect scaffolding, but this turned into a full day off to cart away from the digger driver and was late into work this morning.

When are you starting the second house?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I have a cow for bulling this evening , would any of ye know of a simmental that dovea has that would suit a black limox ? I never used simmental so havent a clue , whats good or bad

on the radio there it said biggest baby ever born was 23lbs 10 ounces:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    on the radio there it said biggest baby ever born was 23lbs 10 ounces:eek::eek::eek:

Jesus. She has reason to walk like John Wayne anyway:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

got some winter clothing today
    0ea8.jpg
    aaqu.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

John Grennans son dropped dead this morning, very sad, lovely family,
    28 yrs of age (Grennans of rath)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

stanflt wrote: »
    got some winter clothing today
    0ea8.jpg
    aaqu.jpg

Neighbour does embroidery,some of the stuff he does for the motorbike clubs is amazing.
    Think he gave nearly €100k for one machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Stan,
    did they not have a picture of a holstein to use on the jacket, long legs, narrow back, big bag and bad feet?:D

Stan,
    did they not have a picture of a holstein to use on the jacket, long legs, narrow back, big bag and bad feet?:D

They used a pic of one of my average ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

you will never forget who you are anymore, wearing that outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

you will never forget who you are anymore, wearing that outfit.

Probably has his name on the front ;-)

reminds of me of a local guy who got his first truck, got his name sign written all over it and even put International haulage after it , then appeared with jackets and the works again all sign written, even gave jackets to the lads. his second name was O'Toole and after that he became known just as complete tool. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Snazzy new look;
    http://www.icbf.com/

pakalasa wrote: »
    Snazzy new look;
    http://www.icbf.com/
    do you see the picture of the man laughing beside the sexed semen topic, he probably saying " they said what success rate":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

do you see the picture of the man laughing beside the sexed semen topic, he probably saying " they said what success rate":D
    That pic was on the journal a while back.

i like page 2

pakalasa wrote: »
    That pic was on the journal a while back.
    ye, remember it and remember commenting on it when i saw it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭huey1975

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Yes, it has to be blooded in your herd after you buy in. Another penpusher money racket:mad:

No it doesn't. That rule was changed in January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

huey1975 wrote: »
    No it doesn't. That rule was changed in January

Ok, maybe I'm wrong, last time I was selling I had to blood it in my herd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Ok, maybe I'm wrong, last time I was selling I had to blood it in my herd!

Say you buy a cow that the person you bought it off tested you can sell that cow again aslong as the cow is within the 60 days blood, that rule and heifers got extended up to 24 months before being needed to be blooded changed in january

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

any of ye going to tullamore
    http://tullamoreshow.com/

brother is going with his family taking a few days break then after.
    that means iam in charge untill he get back
    god help us all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Late out last night at a wedding, god it's great crack when the beers are flowing, less so thismorning.
    And it's feckin raining here too, just adds to the hurty head :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Another farm trajedy in Co. Meath, a good friend and very hard worker....a farm accident.
    Why are farmers not more careful in what they're doing

rancher wrote: »
    Another farm trajedy in Co. Meath, a good friend and very hard worker....a farm accident.
    Why are farmers not more careful in what they're doing

because jobs have to be done and under time and weather constraints, many farmers are working ridiculous hours and not thinking about what the consequences maybe and couple this with the fact there is little or no money being made its easy see where the problem is. This is the reality unfortunately

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Let the stalking begin:D.....................

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.