If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Just seen in the journal 10 acres on Kerry making 260,000 mother of jaysus must be top class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Just seen in the journal 10 acres on Kerry making 260,000 mother of jaysus must be top class?

Suitable for development in the future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

nashmach wrote: »
    Suitable for development in the future?

Ill be dead before that happens so in about 50 years maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

if you buy in an animal that was blooded a few days before you bought it, do you have to re blood it in your herd to sell it at mart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

whelan1 wrote: »
    if you buy in an animal that was blooded a few days before you bought it, do you have to re blood it in your herd to sell it at mart?

Did I see a post here a few days ago where new rules say an animal cant be resold for 72 days in the the mart. If that's the case yes to your question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

Bloods last for 60 days. So I found out as we tested and I sold after the test but never delivered the cattle until payment was received which was 62 days and had to retest the blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

dzer2 wrote: »
    Was working down the yard with the lads this morning God they were driving me mad so i told them to go off and play Eldest twin fell and bumped the back of his head in hospital now with concussion F**K it :mad::mad::mad:

Hows the patient?

td5man wrote: »
    Hows the patient?

Slept well, woke a few times during the night but is bright eyed this morning. I dozed on the chair, in bits this morning. Catering staff got some shock this morning bowl of cereal, fry and a load of toast then he asked what time is dinner as he was still hungry.:D Mammy is in there now so he will be pampered for the day. Doc saying they will let him out at lunch time I think they cant afford to keep him any longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Always a great sign when the apetite is back ;)

At least he's eating someone else out of house and home for a change :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

does goats milk go of quicker than cows milk??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

our local village has a witty character who spends a lot of his time chatting to locals & passers by

was having a few words with him when a 131 rental car with tourists pulled up and the lady passenger asks " where does this road go to " pointing straight ahead

your man says "be Jaysus missus I' ve seen a fellow to go to Australia that way "

I made a hasty escape and left him to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Yes, it has to be blooded in your herd after you buy in. Another penpusher money racket:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

naughto wrote: »
    does goats milk go of quicker than cows milk??

Is it bought milk or from your own goat?
    Our young lady drinks goats milk as she has allergy to cows milk. We buy it by the litre and it usually has a 10 day best before date.

Phucking radio went mad in the tractor last night while I was cutting verges with the hedge cutter. Stuck on diddily-i at near full volume. Had to unplug the thing. Tried to reset it but all the keys seem stuck. It's a blaupunkt. I thought that they were one of the best makes out there. Looked it up on internet and it's a common fault with this model. Went to scrap yard this morning and picked up a replacement for 20 euro. They even tested it in front of me. It's hard to be without in tractor entertainment when you are used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »
    Phucking radio went mad in the tractor last night while I was cutting verges with the hedge cutter. Stuck on diddily-i at near full volume. Had to unplug the thing. Tried to reset it but all the keys seem stuck. It's a blaupunkt. I thought that they were one of the best makes out there. Looked it up on internet and it's a common fault with this model. Went to scrap yard this morning and picked up a replacement for 20 euro. They even tested it in front of me. It's hard to be without in tractor entertainment when you are used to it.

my tractor blaupunkt went as well, they are poor enough i think

Its the speakers that are the real deal

That was your chance to upgrade the yoke. I've any amount of old CD headunits I'd have given you here for free, but why bother?? For €100 (incl postage) on ebay I've a sony headunit that has bluetooth handfree calling, will play music off my phone through bluetooth, will even (I sh*t you not) read out my feckin text messages (once phone is set on 'driving mode'). Also No CD player, which isn't practical anyway in a tractor, but has a USB slot so can put a load of my fav albums on a stick and bring it with me. It would suit you down to the ground when your bringing in all those bales (all 500 of them....+ the neighbours!!) or drawing slurry!!!!! It even came with a remote! Get with the times Reilig, your New Holland deserves no less!!!! :p:p

I loved it so much I put one in the wife's auris (bought the adaptor surround and wire harness). oh my God you'd want to feel the weight of the double din headunit that I ripped out of it, I'd say it'I save her a tenner a week on petrol (now I'm exaggerating:pac:) Also put one in my own yoke.... and it had a blaukpunt as standard. Basic heap of crap, never liked it.

Now road legal and never miss a call or a text again ;) What would €300 get me if I had a crash?? It'd just about cover the excess!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Muckit wrote: »
    That was your chance to upgrade the yoke. I've any amount of old CD headunits I'd have given you here for free, but why bother?? For €100 (incl postage) on ebay I've a sony headunit that has bluetooth handfree calling, will play music off my phone through bluetooth, will even (I sh*t you not) read out my feckin text messages (once phone is set on 'driving mode'). Also No CD player, which isn't practical anyway in a tractor, but has a USB slot so can put a load of my fav albums on a stick and bring it with me. It would suit you down to the ground when your bringing in all those bales (all 500 of them....+ the neighbours!!) or drawing slurry!!!!! It even came with a remote! Get with the times Reilig, your New Holland deserves no less!!!! :p:p

I loved it so much I put one in the wife's auris (bought the adaptor surround and wire harness). oh my God you'd want to feel the weight of the double din headunit that I ripped out of it, I'd say it'I save her a tenner a week on petrol (now I'm exaggerating:pac:) Also put one in my own yoke.... and it had a blaukpunt as standard. Basic heap of crap, never liked it.

Now road legal and never miss a call or a text again ;) What would €300 get me if I had a crash?? It'd just about cover the excess!

Flip out dvd player in the landcruiser Muckit :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Stuck on diddily-i at near full volume.

Hah, where the problem? :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

Is it bought milk or from your own goat?
    Our young lady drinks goats milk as she has allergy to cows milk. We buy it by the litre and it usually has a 10 day best before date.
    bought milk cant hack the cows milk the last yr or two,it just seems to go off a lof quicker

Flip out dvd player in the landcruiser Muckit :P
    Ha! God only knows the kind of smut yerself and the missus'd watching on there:pac:! Do the seats recline!??! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Interesting story. You wouldn't see it in the Journal. I mooted this during a CAP debate on here. I said that the amount per HA should be capped instead of capping the total amount. I nearly had my head bitten off. See how the big wig farm organisations are against that because a lot of their high up men are getting more than €400 per HA. Why would someone need more than €400 per HA? Why would someone deserve more than €400 per HA?

http://www.independent.ie/incoming/debate-rages-over-capping-entitlement-values-at-400ha-29476123.html

The lads writing for the journal don't seem to buy the farming indo or read the farming sites at all, blissfully unawares I'd say. looking forward to the long winded pieces next week on how the high sfp earners saved the country through agri food jobs, bless their cotton socks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

bought milk cant hack the cows milk the last yr or two,it just seems to go off a lof quicker
    That's one of the problems with Holsteins alright:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

After all that a link would be helpful :D:D

Would that not be a little OTT?

As I said in the other thread, if you have the right set up, you'll take the hardship out of stacking bales - you'll have it right when you can stack 100 bales an hour.

Bluetooth in a tractor stereo???

Has your NH not got bluetooth built in through that computer panel under the steering wheel??? ;)

Would that not be a little OTT?

Has your NH not got bluetooth built in through that computer panel under the steering wheel??? ;)

OTT? I was thinking that about having the weather forecast in your pocket (smart phone), but I came round. Sure it will be 'old hat' in 5 years the way things are going! JUst thing of it as an investment... you'I have no problems getting that nephew of yours for the slurry when he knows he can bring his tunes with him!

No 'pluter panel in my yoke, I went for the less complicated 'fiat dressed in blue' NH model! :pac: My stereo is now the most complicated bit of electrics in it and I can sort that myself if it goes pete tong

OTT? I was thinking that about having the weather forecast in your pocket (smart phone), but I came round. Sure it will be 'old hat' in 5 years the way things are going! JUst thing of it as an investment... you'I have no problems getting that nephew of yours for the slurry when he knows he can bring his tunes with him!

No 'pluter panel in my yoke, I went for the less complicated 'fiat dressed in blue' NH model! :pac: My stereo is now the most complicated bit of electrics in it and I can sort that myself if it goes pete tong

I was just taking the proverbial :D

I turn off my phone when farming. It's the only bit of peace i get. No need for bluetooth, mp3 or ipod connectivity - just a bit of music that won't do me head in :P

Don't know if you go north for shopping, but we go to Enniskillen about once a month. Goat's milk can be bought at half the price of Glenisk Goat's milk here.
    Our lady drinks almost 1 litre a day so I suppose it doesn't really get a chance to go off with us. But we often stock up and find that the dates are good for 10 to 12 days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

does your auris not have a usb port in glove box and built in phone

stanflt wrote: »
    does your auris not have a usb port in glove box and built in phone

It's wife's car. It's 07 and had none of what u mentioned. Bog standard.