If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Pints yum yum yum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Quick question.

As a young lad myself and the brothers would be out the fields stacking square bales.

The hands would be worn raw by the end of the day :pac:

We are always told the the knots of the square bale twine must be on the outside and on the bottom.

But I never found out the reason why. Why were we told this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

Got badly caught this morning with a spreader full of CAN, left the setting the same as for 18-6-12, bloddy CAN pi**ed through it - well if Nitrogen is any good that field will definately grow grass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Quick question.

As a young lad myself and the brothers would be out the fields stacking square bales.

We are always told the the knots of the square bale twine must be on the outside and on the bottom.

The idea is if it rains the water will run down the twine to the bottom unhindered until it hits the knot otherwise it would stop at the top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Knots out and down when stooking the bales. If you look at a small square bale you'll see the way it came out of the chamber,it's packed from one direction, towards the knots. Any rain that would fall on them would run off them in that direction. So it's to allow the rain run off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Quick question.

The rain flows off the bale better. I think it has to do with how the bale if made. As the bale is forced out the back of the baler, there is like a flap on top of the bale that forceds the bale through a smaller opening. This means that the hay on top of the bale (as it lies flat on the baler)is slightly forced more than the bottom. So the hay is like combed back that bit more. This matches up with the knots on the bale. A bit like a thatched roof. If that makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

So there was a reason, thanks a lot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Bizzum wrote: »
    Knots out and down when stooking the bales. If you look at a small square bale you'll see the way it came out of the chamber,it's packed from one direction, towards the knots. Any rain that would fall on them would run off them in that direction. So it's to allow the rain run off them.

Dont forget the cut side down if stacking on there side. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Well there is the word farm in it, so it must be admissable in this thread -;)

The teacher asked the class to use the word 'fascinate' in a sentence.

Molly put up her hand and said, "My family went to my granddad's farm, andWe all saw his pet sheep. It was fascinating.'

The teacher said,'That was good, but I wanted you to use the wordfascinate, not fascinating.

Sally raised her hand. She said, 'My family went to see Rock City and I wasfascinated.' The teacher said, 'Well, that was good Sally,But I wanted you to use the word fascinate.'

Little Johnny raised his hand. The teacher hesitated because sheHad been burned by Little Johnny before.

She finally decided there was no way he could damage the word fascinate,So she called on him.

Johnny said, 'My aunt Gina has a sweater with ten buttons, but herT*ts are so big she can only fasten eight.'

The teacher sat down and cried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

was powerwashing the slatted shed there, hate washing the corners, got ****e in my eye... 2 washes of optrex and i can still feel it there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

whelan1 wrote: »
    was powerwashing the slatted shed there, hate washing the corners, got ****e in my eye... 2 washes of optrex and i can still feel it there

Wheres your safety glasses

I wasnt great on the PPE until the lads started to help out and look to use a load of the tools went out and bought safety glasses and head visor gloves and overalls.
    New pto shafts covers and chains. Locks for the the chemical shed and a key safe for the tractor keys.

Every time they go to do something new I add an item to the safety list

anyone know what company this is? https://www.facebook.com/TheFarmingIndependent?ref=stream&hc_location=stream
    the shed scam and what the story is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Lovely day here. Decided to take the day off and go golfing. Good game and good company. U need to take a few days off every now and then. Otherwise ud get fed up and wonder why ure at it at all. Anyway may go check the sheep now. Hopefully nothing up that will spoil my nice day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

C0N0R wrote: »
    Yea sounds like something FIL would have alright, did you get the name of it? Would you recommend it? Must keep an eye out for it now. Do you just spray it on the udder or what?

Its not from FIL. I thought it was as it wa the FIL agent who gave it to me to try. It's called Udder Comfort and from Canada, there wasn't any email address on the two sample packs I have. I read and you spray and masage into udder. If I recall correctly it's used extensivly among the show cow people where cows would be stocked up with milk to relieve tenderness.

According to Joe Brolly, Sean Kavanagh has been taking a few lessons from the kiwis then to!!
    =

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

delaval wrote: »
    =

Now your making sense at last.... :-)

got stung by a bee while pulling a few ragworth this morning:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

I am thinking about picking up a new welder. Have a mix of jobs to do; Some heavy steel to be welded for sheds etc. some welding to be done on machinery and also some light tacks are needed on small stuff. Have any of you a good all-round machine to recommend or even one you find handy for some jobs but not applicable to the others. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Suckler wrote: »
    I am thinking about picking up a new welder. Have a mix of jobs to do; Some heavy steel to be welded for sheds etc. some welding to be done on machinery and also some light tacks are needed on small stuff. Have any of you a good all-round machine to recommend or even one you find handy for some jobs but not applicable to the others. Thanks.

Get an inverter welder. I can't think of the manufacturer of our one but delighted with it two years in and no problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Interesting story. You wouldn't see it in the Journal. I mooted this during a CAP debate on here. I said that the amount per HA should be capped instead of capping the total amount. I nearly had my head bitten off. See how the big wig farm organisations are against that because a lot of their high up men are getting more than €400 per HA. Why would someone need more than €400 per HA? Why would someone deserve more than €400 per HA?

http://www.independent.ie/incoming/debate-rages-over-capping-entitlement-values-at-400ha-29476123.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

This should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

reilig wrote: »
    Interesting story. You wouldn't see it in the Journal. I mooted this during a CAP debate on here. I said that the amount per HA should be capped instead of capping the total amount. I nearly had my head bitten off. See how the big wig farm organisations are against that because a lot of their high up men are getting more than €400 per HA. Why would someone need more than €400 per HA? Why would someone deserve more than €400 per HA?

http://www.independent.ie/incoming/debate-rages-over-capping-entitlement-values-at-400ha-29476123.html

I bought the paper and read that today. I found it interesting that the IFA had nothing to say. The ICMSA were against it.
    IFA telling lies to the public about those with higher payments had higher production, they had more subsidised livestock units.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

reilig wrote: »

This is about where mine will finish in 2019 and it is adequate, won't be defending anything else....on here any way
    alas we agree on something.

Here's a post of mine from nov 2011, in case you think I'm bull****ting you

''Firstly I receive way above the average payment per ha, and even I can see the inequity that's out there, in that one farmer gets maybe 700 per ha. and the same land next door receives 200, I think greed is muddying peoples sense of fair play.
    Secondly, so what if john is getting a once off subsidy of 40000 to buy 40000 gals, a well set up pat is probably receiving that every year, any way didn't dairy farmers get free quota of millions of gals in 1983,
    Single farm payment in its present form does not encourage efficient farming, older farmers hanging on because of its guarantee of income, younger farmers unable to compete around the ring against sfp subsidised buyers, the sooner there's a level playing field the better''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    got stung by a bee while pulling a few ragworth this morning:mad:

Feckin ragworth.. is there no end to their evils :P

Had a great weekend over the west... First time out with our caravan so it was great crack all round..

Had a heifer with coccidosis when I was going... she's much better now but two others are showing black backends :mad:
    They'll be getting Vecoxin later..

Never had it in stock out before... We're trying to run a sort of leader follower grazing with bigger following smaller stock.. And eating out fields more than before.. Would this be why were seeing it at grazing??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

bbam wrote: »
    Had a great weekend over the west... First time out with our caravan so it was great crack all round..
    I couldnt chance going on holidays in a caravan. the abuse id get from the lads round home saying id finally found my calling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

At an agri show yesterday, first one I was at all year. Cattle numbers seemed to be down a bit I thought. Anyone else noticed that at shows this year or was it just the one I was at?

Tried my hand at guess the weight of 2 heifers. I was 12kg out :mad:
    I guessed 895kg and they were 907kg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    At an agri show yesterday, first one I was at all year. Cattle numbers seemed to be down a bit I thought. Anyone else noticed that at shows this year or was it just the one I was at?

Tried my hand at guess the weight of 2 heifers. I was 12kg out :mad:
    I guessed 895kg and they were 907kg!

A bucket or two of water and you'd have been dead on! Was that bonniconlon? I think it's gas all the roadsigns in Ballina ..... and they are all spell it differently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Muckit wrote: »
    A bucket or two of water and you'd have been dead on! Was that bonniconlon? I think it's gas all the roadsigns in Ballina ..... and they are all spell it differently!

This was at 5pm so I'm going to say I would have been correct if they were weighed at the end of the day rather than the start :P

No, it was the local one near me, I had no animals in it but won a good bit in the marquee side of things. I noticed that about the Bonniconlon signs last year though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

good news today got results from a positive bvd calf, tested negative on retest, good start to the week

1chippy wrote: »
    I couldnt chance going on holidays in a caravan. the abuse id get from the lads round home saying id finally found my calling.

Yea.. got all that..
    Thick skin helps..

As herself says.. with the bikes on the back we look less like we're off selling gates for the weekend.... TAX and NCT make us different too :P