Do you support the Dublin Bus workers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

devnull wrote: »
    I agree they are not desirable conditions - but you are not forced to work there, and not all non unionsed places are like that.

Ah so it is ok because no one is using a cattle prod to force them to work there.

Agreed not all non unionised places are like that but no unionised place is like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,162 ✭✭✭✭unkel

cdebru wrote: »
    getting from your bus to the canteen
    Queuing for your dinner eating it and getting back to your pick up point

So the tax payer is also paying for you to have a canteen, cook you a meal (that you can buy heavily subsidised by the tax payer) and cleaning up after you, and you still give out?

Get real. This isn't 2007 anymore.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭nino1

lmao try it see how easy it is, trust me I seen some of the joe soaps that tried it they didn't make it.

I'm not saying its easy. Whether it is easy or not is irrelevant.

The point is you need no qualifications to drive a bus in the same way as you need no qualifications to work as a supermarket checkout cashier and both should be paid similarly.

Skills and qualifications needed or a limited pool of applicants is the only thing that puts wages up in the real world. Oh wait....... Public sector doesn't abide by real world rules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Workers voluntarily coming together, to exercise the liberty to withhold their 'product'/labour - Free Markets at work lads; problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yes gross pay before tax, prsi, usc etc etc

Its more than the rate a tradesman gets after 4 years training. How much taining is required to drive a bus?

nino1 wrote: »
    Bus drivers should be on the minimum wage.
    It's a job that requires nothing more than a bus driving license.
    No skills or qualifications.
    Therefore they should be on the same wage as supermarket
    checkout worker.
    If it was a private enterprise they would certainly be on minimum
    wage or just very slightly higher.

And a CPC, and private companies here we have them and they don't pay minimum wage.

lmao, I never knew the lives of 100 people and pedestrians and other road users were in the hands of the average supermarket worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

No I don't support them. Everyone has to take cuts, we all have no choice in this. They will cost people their jobs from this action. If they don't like their jobs, leave, and let others unemployed take over. Life is tough.
    Saw news report of them...they don't look like they're a short of 3 square meals.
    Fire them, disband the unions, disband Bus Eireann and let em all come into the real world.

According to the person who posted it, it may be the Socialist Party, or at least it's supporters who are involved.

I can imagine they would like nothing more than a general strike.
    Hopefully the luas has a plough attachment.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 124 ✭✭Dark sun

RayM wrote: »
    I support them in principle, but I think an all-out strike is a huge mistake. Instead, they should agree to drive the buses, but refuse to take fares from passengers. That way, they win the PR war. It would be up to the company to decide whether to suspend services and cause huge inconvenience to the public.

I see your point and in principle it sounds good but what could happen the drivers refusing to take fares could possibly be suspended for breach of contract, and also that's only the drivers putting there own jobs on the line, what about maintenance and clerical workers what could they do, not really fair on he drivers to take all the slack. I think it's all out or nothing,

The company are losing close to €500,000 daily because of the strike, would it not make sense to have the staff back at work, the company are shooting them selfs in the foot. We all know times are hard but there are plenty of other areas that could be looked at.

Don't forget that staff are losing out too, I'm sure they would prefer to be working, they have also lost some of there conditions, where will it end, the more you give the more they will take, i say fair play to them for sticking by there guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

mikemac1 wrote: »
    It's true BA

The defence forces also managed rubbish collections when the corpo workers had a dispute

Yeah, I remember this, it all went t*ts up though when some people were shot for putting ordinary rubbish in their green bins,and a lad from Tallaght was court-martialled and executed for not paying his full fare, so it had its bad points too.

I'm not saying its easy. Whether it is easy or not is irrelevant.

The point is you need no qualifications to drive a bus in the same way as you need no qualifications to work as a supermarket checkout cashier and both should be paid similarly.

Skills and qualifications needed or a limited pool of applicants is the only thing that puts wages up in the real world. Oh wait....... Public sector doesn't abide by real world rules

DB is not public sector,

it requires a driving license which is not that easy to get and a CPC, it also requires considerable skill to drive a 10 ton large vehicle around this city with up to 100 people on board, none of whom have any seat belts and some going up and down a set of stairs.

If you think that is easy you are not in the real world.

lmao, I never knew the lives of 100 people and pedestrians and other road users were in the hands of the average supermarket worker.

So the reason that they should be paid more that a supermarket worker is because they could crash and kill people???
    The supermarket workers have to drive to work too, maybe they should bring that point up with their bosses to see if they get a pay rise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Bus drivers should be on the minimum wage.
    It's a job that requires nothing more than a bus driving license.
    No skills or qualifications.
    Therefore they should be on the same wage as supermarket
    checkout worker.
    If it was a private enterprise they would certainly be on minimum
    wage or just very slightly higher.

And what right do you have?
    Like ok, one can argue about this strike. Are they getting greedy / are they fighting for their rights ... whatever to that. But who are you to look down at bus drivers?

So you are better than a bus driver or checkout staff? what right?

and 40,000 is below the average industrial wage in Irelandd

Since when? Was the average industrial wage here not 32k pre recession?

Its more than the rate a tradesman gets after 4 years training. How much taining is required to drive a bus?

Is it what tradesman?

Workers voluntarily coming together, to exercise the liberty to withhold their 'product'/labour - Free Markets at work lads; problem?

Nope. No problem . But the company should be freely available to not offer them any more work and hire other people to do it.

So the reason that they should be paid more that a supermarket worker is because they could crash and kill people???
    The supermarket workers have to drive to work too, maybe they should bring that point up with their bosses to see if they get a pay rise

Are they driving buses to the supermarket?

Yes they should be paid more for the responsibility they take on, you put peas on the beans shelf no one dies.

Is it what tradesman?

All of them. If you go to the fas site itll give the rates. Phase 6 rate is sub 600. Qualified rate is a bit above it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,162 ✭✭✭✭unkel

40,000 is below the average industrial wage in Irelandd

LOL, even at the top of the boom, the average industrial wage in Ireland was never anywhere near 40,000

Goes to show how some public sector workers are completely out of touch with reality in Ireland...

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

And what right do you have?
    Like ok, one can argue about this strike. Are they getting greedy / are they fighting for their rights ... whatever to that. But who are you to look down at bus drivers?

So you are better than a bus driver or checkout staff? what right?

I don't look down on them at all.
    I'm saying they should be minimum wage because they can be easily replaced by a large group of people who can also do the same work with no qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,779 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The harsh economic reality, is that certain routes in the network, could be contracted out to the private sector, and Dublin Bus, in a much smaller, less costly form, could continue providing the same service to non-profitable routes.
    rubbish, they need the proffitable routes to help subsidise the loss making routes along with government subsidy, take them away and give them to the private sector and we'l have to pay double or tripple the subsidy to keep these routes going
    People who gain from this - every taxpayer in the country.
    they will lose.
    People who lose from this - current public bus drivers.
    and the tax payer

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Cdebru are you a db bus driver

Since when? Was the average industrial wage here not 32k pre recession?

http://news.ie.msn.com/ireland/average-industrial-wage-rises-to-%E2%82%AC82888-per-week

Are they driving buses to the supermarket?

Yes they should be paid more for the responsibility they take on, you put peas on the beans shelf no one dies.

That's why I said minimum wage "or slightly higher"
    I'm sure plenty of people on the dole would cope with the trauma of such a responsibility for slightly more than minimum wage.

Sack them and hire new drivers.
    no, only the current lot of drivers can have the jobs, sacking them and replacing them would mean up-evil for me as i'm used to the fantastic drivers currently working on the routes i use
    There are plenty of people out there looking for work.
    who wouldn't be good enough to drive a bus or have the relevant qualifications, also many of them looked down their noses at bus drivers during the good times so don't deserve the job now

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I don't look down on them at all.
    I'm saying they should be minimum wage because they can be easily replaced by a large group of people who can also do the same work with no qualifications.

Mate, you're looking down at them!! :pac:
    But stop me if I am wrong on this one ... you got a good job right? You also feel how can someone go through life not becoming "successful" ... "successful" like yourself, right?

Or perhaps I am talking to a person on the dole :pac: I dunno. It's the internet after all :pac:

unkel wrote: »
    LOL, even at the top of the boom, the average industrial wage in Ireland was never anywhere near 40,000

Goes to show how some public sector workers are completely out of touch with reality in Ireland...
    http://news.ie.msn.com/ireland/average-industrial-wage-rises-to-%E2%82%AC82888-per-week

really I'm out of touch you better tell msn then,and the CSO because in february this year they said it is 43,101 euro.

oh I'm embarrassed now, oh wait no that's you that is out of touch, ooops try google before you post in future saves you looking foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

no, only the current lot of drivers can have the jobs, sacking them and replacing them would mean up-evil for me as i'm used to the fantastic drivers currently working on the routes i use

who wouldn't be good enough to drive a bus or have the relevant qualifications, also many of them looked down their noses at bus drivers during the good times so don't deserve the job now

What relevant qualifications,

A driving licence and training that anybody can do ,

Its a bus not a fecking space shuttle

Does anyone else find it ironic, if true that staff who claim they cannot afford to live if they take the cuts, still are able to afford to go out to a pub during a strike?
    ah shur its only an oul drink, we all love an oul drink now and again

Gatling wrote: »
    What relevant qualifications,

A driving licence and training that anybody can do ,

Its a bus not a fecking space shuttle

Do you have the license and training ?