were people really that guillable in the 80's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Maybe we were but it's hard to know because the majority of people were busy with the moving statues and didn't have time to be taken in by hocus pocus :D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZjM83wZmWw

Thanks for that, It's so funny, whilst there is still a small band of believers, I bet the vast majority feel really stupid now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

nino1 wrote: »
    fair enough, I'll give a summary as its 15 minutes long!

Basically these two cowboys, come on the late late with Gaybo, say they can cure any illness with a technique called bio-energy where they just wave there hands around the person without touching them for 4 hours.

There are still at it today and charge €100 per hour! And you may not be cured the first time so will have to come back again for a few more visits!!

Gay does not even question it for a second and thats it as gospel!
    Really talks it up and says how amazing it is!

Unbelievable stuff!

Lol. Crap cowboys imo.

Not a stetson, horse nor a set of spurs to be seen :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Get Real wrote: »
    I agree that its crazy, but in fairness to Gaybo, he says in part two: "the late show and Gay Byrne are not saying that these are miracle workers,

Grand, I stopped watching half through and watched the moving statue instead, now that's funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭mjsmyth

No more gullible than folks these days... Might I remind you of the recent phenomenon, the Power Balance bracelet??

Many gob****es world wide bought into their crap.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Balance

MJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Thankfully was never seriously ill and hopefully will remain so but if/when the day comes when I am it will be off to the doc and not some fella waving his hands around me head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

nothing a good shag wouldn't cure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

That first audience member who claimed he'd broken his femur. Why did he have a hand brace? The femur is a leg bone.

No wonder the surgery didnt work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

biko wrote: »
    I can't be arsed clicking that link, what's this about?

Yeah I can't be arsed clicking the link either but replying to the thread is no bother at all to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Mock ahead, but some people are fecking weird - I know a woman who if you are hurt(i.e took a knock at martial arts/football), can place her hands about 5cm above the spot and the heat generated is unbelievable - it's like a physical force and you stop hurting pretty quickly. When she does it the muscles under her hands(yours) start twitching like your getting electric shocks as well. Some people are just "odd" when it comes to stuff like that - good oddies to know when you're in pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Yeah I can't be arsed clicking the link either but replying to the thread is no bother at all to me.

I did. It's typical late late cringe. It's about Michael O'Doherty and his 'energy healing' bollixogy.

He's still in business. A great loss to the prison service...

http://www.plexusbio-energy.com/#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

There is a name for alternative medicine that has been proven to work

.....Medicine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Some people are just "odd" when it comes to stuff like that

I know, like the people who actually believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Exploiter

M5 wrote: »
    There is a name for alternative medicine that has been proven to work

.....Medicine!

Tim Minchin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Nothing to do with the 80's. Plenty of morons still believe in it. Just drop into the spirituality stupidity forum and be depressed at the numbers who believe in Reiki.
    FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

nino1 wrote: »
    no, because from the show everybody seemed to buy it hook line and sinker without questioning. There will always be gullable people out there but this wouldn't get taken like gospel today on the late late!

You would need more stats than that. It was around then, it is around today. Was it - or other alternative medicines - more popular then or now.

I'd imagine now. But I don't have the data.

mjsmyth wrote: »
    No more gullible than folks these days... Might I remind you of the recent phenomenon, the Power Balance bracelet??

Many gob****es world wide bought into their crap.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Balance

MJ

There's a link to start a thread in 2030.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

It was acceptable in the 80's!

It was acceptable at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

biko wrote: »
    Chinese medicine and acupuncture has been around thousands of years whereas modern medicine has been around a couple hundred years.
    I wouldn't be so quick to disapprove of treatments as old as time itself.

Modern treatments, such as pills or radiation, has many side effects and often you have to take one pill to counter side effects of another pill. That doesn't seem like great medicine to me.

Bio energy healing may be hocus pocus but if it helps the affected person, that's all I care about.

And what if it does absolutely nothing, but may in fact be harmful by allowing a dangerous condition take hold that could have been treated by more conventional means?

Even if it does no harm, it is still fraud.

Grayson wrote: »
    I like to think it means "I can't back up my prejudices and irrational believes so I'll try to justify it by claiming it's always been done this way"

Why would that apply to alternative medicine based on hippy California type ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

In the last year or two Tubridy had some woman on TLLS who communes with angels or something. He just nicely interviewed her too and didn't ask her any hard questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

iguana wrote: »
    In the last year or two Tubridy had some woman on TLLS who communes with angels or something. He just nicely interviewed her too and didn't ask her any hard questions.

...indeed. Apparently the prices of the 'retreats' deserved a rigorous interrogation on their own. Can't remember the name of the chancer though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Not this "Gay Byrne invented sex" crap again.
    Czarcasm wrote: »
    There are many more examples of Gay Byrne actually defying conservative attitudes in Ireland like when he had John Cleese on when "Life of Brian" was banned in Ireland, and when he ripped Cardinal Cathal Daly a new one live on national tv. He also debated issues like homosexuality and abortion on the show when most Irish media wouldn't touch such subjects with a forty foot barge pole.n.

Hosting a chat show which occasionally covered (then) controversial topic hardly precludes one from holding conservative views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Not this "Gay Byrne invented sex" crap again.

Hosting a chat show which occasionally covered (then) controversial topic hardly precludes one from holding conservtive views.

I never said Gay Byrne invented sex (though yes, I will admit it was something that I often heard said about the show back then), but to consider a person conservative based on one off the cuff remark in a 35 year career is just as nonsensical when you consider he provided a platform for the views of the RCC at the time to be held up to public scrutiny.

I'm not a fan of labels myself, but what I do know is that there were some great discussions and debates on the LLS, hosted by Gay Byrne, that if you watched them, he often asked the uncomfortable questions that were on people's minds but they were afraid to ask.

As Annie Murphy herself said- he really did have his finger on the pulse of the nation and got a great interview from his guests because of it.

Contrast Gay Byrne's tenure at the helm of the LLS with that of Pat Kenny and Ryan Tubridy - arse kissing vacuous "celebrities" and sniffing politicians nether regions for fluffy nicey nicey nonsense interviews trying to emulate American chat show hosts. That's why nobody watches that shìte any more. It's mind numbing conservative drivel at it's finest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Czarcasm wrote: »

Contrast Gay Byrne's tenure at the helm of the LLS with that of Pat Kenny and Ryan Tubridy - arse kissing vacuous "celebrities" and sniffing politicians nether regions for fluffy nicey nicey nonsense interviews trying to emulate American chat show hosts. That's why nobody watches that shìte any more. It's mind numbing conservative drivel at it's finest.

You'll find that the last decade or so of Byrnes tenure was much the same. The nature of such shows greatly changed, and all sorts were far more PR conscious than hitherto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

iguana wrote: »

That lanky stream of piss. He acted really disrespectfully to Tony Blair and Richard Dawkins, asking what he thought were hard questions but really just interrupting them and talking over them, then this loony bin angel lady comes on he's all 'Oh you can see angels around people's head? That must be lovely.'.

I am embarrassed to be in the same species as that plank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Not embedding the youtube clip?
    THAT'S A PADDLIN'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Nodin wrote: »
    You'll find that the last decade or so of Byrnes tenure was much the same. The nature of such shows greatly changed, and all sorts were far more PR conscious than hitherto.

I would've watched the show through the 80's and 90's when Gay Byrne presented it and Pat Kenny played second fiddle to the LLS on Saturday nights with his Kenny Live effort, but it was during the 90's that Gay Byrne tackled a lot of social and political issues, not just domestic issues but also international issues. I think Kenny took over the LLS around the '00's and that's when the viewing figures dropped dramatically.

I will say what Gay Byrne's done since though in the last 15 years or so has been drenched in piss poor standard PR fluff.

Not embedding the youtube clip?
    THAT'S A PADDLIN'.

It's hard to find them, but I've been looking over clips the last few days, and apart from the cringe inducing boyzone clip, there are classics like these -

Angry Caller:

Padraig Flynn dropping himself in it:

And, "No sex please, we're Irish", "Down with this sort of thing", and it wasn't acceptable in the 80's:

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    That lanky stream of piss. He acted really disrespectfully to Tony Blair and Richard Dawkins, asking what he thought were hard questions but really just interrupting them and talking over them, then this loony bin angel lady comes on he's all 'Oh you can see angels around people's head? That must be lovely.'.

I am embarrassed to be in the same species as that plank

It's pointless asking tough questions of a certain level of intelligence, it just comes across as bullying. Dawkins and Blair could take it - and frankly the latter needs to be asked tough questions.