Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

CianRyan wrote: »
    Do you work across the road from a Superquinn?

No ? Why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

What time :o

Around 2ish, yours is 02-D yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

No ? Why ?

Thought I saw your car by a tyre place across from a Superquinn.
    Cleats that up though. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Thought I saw your car by a tyre place across from a Superquinn.
    Cleats that up though. :p

Well i was out and about doing a few runs for the garage in my own yoke today, where was it exactly ?

Walkinstown perchance?
    Big black 2.0T S80 outside a tyre shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Around 2ish, yours is 02-D yeah?

I was coming home from work at about half 12? but i did get a clear run so i was bootin up alright, 02 D yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Was driving home from Castlebar this morning around 8am after zero sleep the night before, almost nodded off afew times, not a nice feeling.

Pulled over got a coffee come airwaves gum and dropped down afew gears, wasn't long waking up.

I was coming home from work at about half 12? but i did get a clear run so i was bootin up alright, 02 D yeah

Sorry, you're right it was around 12, had my hours mixed up. You were first at the lights, some acceleration off it.

Walkinstown perchance?
    Big black 2.0T S80 outside a tyre shop.

nope, haven't been near there at all !

easy to spot my one, 04MH boouuuuyy !

Sorry, you're right it was around 12, had my hours mixed up. You were first at the lights, some acceleration off it.

Well the lights at Bull Mccabes were green so i booted up the outside lane, were you in the Yaris?

Nah I was in the truck, big red HB one with PRL branding. It was at the Travel Lodge that I saw you.

ah that was definitely me so :D
    you shouldve beeped ya bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Was driving home from Castlebar this morning around 8am after zero sleep the night before, almost nodded off afew times, not a nice feeling.

Pulled over got a coffee come airwaves gum and dropped down afew gears, wasn't long waking up.

Fair play, I was doing the same last week on the way home from Westport to Dundalk. Slapped meself in the face and that was the end of it!

Funny actually, was just leaving Westport on a long straight N road and this oncoming car was flashing everyone from about 200 metres away. He got closer and closer and was still flashing every 2-3 seconds. Everyone slowed down, thought there was something up ahead.

Anyways, had us scratching our heads as there was no cameras etc. Only today my next door neighbour said it was him, he saw me was off in the distance with the angel eyes! 250 bloody miles away and he passes me on the same road! :D

ah that was definitely me so :D
    you shouldve beeped ya bollocks

We were just after stopping at the lights coming down Frankfield so it would have looked liked we were just beeping for no reason. The fella that drives the truck mentioned how pointless it was burning your tires, I found it ironic with the way he drives the truck :pac:

pffft, if he thinks the tyres burn fast he should see the fuel bills :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Katunga wrote: »
    :eek: DGT are you feeling ok?

Yep I'm feeling grand..... I'm in the process of planning another engine revamp, forged rods, a working wax stat, uprated stem seals/hg etc so no I haven't lost my marbles yet.... I'm aiming for 200+ bhp with that setup ;) need to research the limits of the K14-2 though, currently running 24psi boost on full boot :)

For the moment I'm enjoying the transition warp when the turbo comes on around 3k rpm, it's something else; the engine sounds completely different, no warning and power :cool:

Far from perfect but I absolutely love it, never fails to put a silly grin on my face :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Pulled over got a coffee, come, airwaves gum and dropped down afew gears, wasn't long waking up.

You know you could have got free coffee today thanks to the campaign between RSA and Applegreen?
    http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2013/60-Of-Drivers-Try-Useless-Tactics-to-Stop-Nodding-Off-At-the-Wheel-/

Best and most useful RSA campaign to date IMO, got a lot of people talking about getting tired at the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Well that was an interesting day! Got to experience savage, and I mean savage power from something that has no right to move that fast, it's ridiculous, and I loved it! :D

And oil change and coolant flush were done to my own yoke too thanks to our very own Corsa Fanboi...:v

Finally I got to work on something that relates to my own username, a V6 Alfa 166! The interior is in need of a serious overhaul, every inch of it needs to be scrubbed clean and the leather needs major reconditioning. Made a start on it today and boy did it make a difference, all for the price of €3.99. I have some pics I'll try put 'em up later!

There's no car cleaning like bargain car cleaning...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

166man wrote: »
    Well that was an interesting day! Got to experience savage, and I mean savage power from something that has no right to move that fast, it's ridiculous, and I loved it! :D

And oil change and coolant flush were done to my own yoke too thanks to our very own Corsa Fanboi...:v

Finally I got to work on something that relates to my own username, a V6 Alfa 166! The interior is in need of a serious overhaul, every inch of it needs to be scrubbed clean and the leather needs major reconditioning. Made a start on it today and boy did it make a difference, all for the price of €3.99. I have some pics I'll try put 'em up later!

There's no car cleaning like bargain car cleaning...:D

I see you were at the madhouse :pac:

He even got to try out the Lucas-Hartridge anti pikey tools and all :pac:

I ain't happy with my gear linkage, nearly an expensive boo boo when what I thought was 5th was 3rd :eek: needs sorting asap!!!!

dgt wrote: »
    He even got to try out the Lucas-Hartridge anti pikey tools and all :pac:

I ain't happy with my gear linkage, nearly an expensive boo boo when what I thought was 5th was 3rd :eek: needs sorting asap!!!!

Oh very nice :pac:

I'm in a bit of a predicament too as you probably seen :o my bodywork skills will be put to the test -rocky music- :pac:

I'll be up during the week if thats grand?

Oh very nice :pac:

I'm in a bit of a predicament too as you probably seen :o my bodywork skills will be put to the test -rocky music- :pac:

I'll be up during the week if thats grand?

Nope been playing soldier for the week so mobile internet whenever I got a chance, which was feck all! :p

Sure head on up sometime next week, might get CityRover fanboi out on the same day and have a mini meet :D:p

Nope been playing soldier for the week so mobile internet whenever I got a chance, which was feck all! :p

Sure head on up sometime next week, might get CityRover fanboi out on the same day and have a mini meet :D:p
    Oh thats always fun playing soldier :pac:

Got me a new bumper :D stripped it and there was a section damaged and been filled, went out to it today and it was cracked open :o Not very experienced with filler so it's gona be fun!

Yeah sure I'll let you know when I'm up that way, might be taking lady pickles karting :D So I might drop over afterwards or something

Oh thats always fun playing soldier :pac:

Got me a new bumper :D stripped it and there was a section damaged and been filled, went out to it today and it was cracked open :o Not very experienced with filler so it's gona be fun!

Yeah sure I'll let you know when I'm up that way, might be taking lady pickles karting :D So I might drop over afterwards or something

It was a brilliant week, a tiring one but had some wicked fun! :cool:

Cracky bumper? Not a problem, I can show you one well pikeyed together and looks like new :)

The zone I takes?

It was a brilliant week, a tiring one but had some wicked fun! :cool:

Cracky bumper? Not a problem, I can show you one well pikeyed together and looks like new :)

The zone I takes?

Yep the zone :D Yeah sure I'll stick it on, or take a few pictures and show you, it's more a case of figuring out the method of doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Feck, Mazda failed nct this morning. On emisions... Did not see the list myself ( misses did nct ), but it had to be 30% and it was 38%...
    I had issue with Coilpack and it might had blown cat... I am not looking forward to this now :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Cat ordered - 150eu with delivery. Should be here next week.
    Drop links ordered too - few quid. I **** you not, when we checked them before NCT those were fine and when we checked now one was busted... ah well.

Now lets play the waiting game.

Gonna do the work yourself?
    If it's anything like mine, they don't seen hard to work on at all.

Also, I want a pressure washer/snow foam lance.
    Can anyone reccomend the best value one around? Super clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Gonna do the work yourself?
    If it's anything like mine, they don't seen hard to work on at all.

Also, I want a pressure washer/snow foam lance.
    Can anyone reccomend the best value one around? Super clueless.

DID are doing a nilfisk c120 for €79.99 ATM.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    DID are doing a nilfisk c120 for €79.99 ATM.

Fuggin sweet!
    Gotta check this out.