Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

awec wrote: »
    Anyone any idea Halfords would charge me to replace a headlight bulb?

It's 7.99 afaik. That's what it said on the sign last time I was in there anyway.

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

MY ARMS!!!

Also big thanks to YbFocus for giving me that filler :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Bpmull wrote: »
    It's 7.99 afaik. That's what it said on the sign last time I was in there anyway.

Make 'em change on on a MkII Megane for 7.99

It's money well spent there.

Getting a bulb into the old Scenic involved removed the headlight - it couldn't be done by hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

MY ARMS!!!

Also big thanks to YbFocus for giving me that filler :)

No hassle man, glad to help out. Your only half way because you have to sans the fibre glass now :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    No hassle man, glad to help out. Your only half way because you have to sans the fibre glass now :)

Slowly but surely and all that haha thanks again though!

With the amount of times I told you I was going to be late I don't deserve a thanks. ha ha!

Ah no, If you were an hour late, no thanks for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I be lost :pac:

What were ye filling!

A new bumper :D

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

What were ye filling!

TPs new front bumper. No pics though. Bad form

Oh just you wait my friends ;) just you wait ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Oh just you wait my friends ;) just you wait ;)

Got the oul self tappers out, have we? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

What happens if a learner driver crashes on a motorway? Does their insurance cover it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Autosport wrote: »
    What happens if a learner driver crashes on a motorway? Does their insurance cover it?

Cover third party loss only.

No way they're not supposed to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I think they would cover you unless stated in their T&C's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

YbFocus wrote: »
    No way they're not supposed to be there.

Not supposed to perhaps. But it's not hard to take a wrong turn off a roundabout. Or for that matter, get caught out when a dual carriageway turns into a motorway and the first warning of it happening comes right after you've passed your last chance to turn off

When I was learning, I stumbled onto the M3.... on only my second time behind the wheel. That was fun.

Wrong turns happen. Oftentimes it's better to just carry on and get off when you, than stop and switch drivers on the hard shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Just off a 24 hr excersise, just wow :cool:

One more vehicle to add to the coo list: the Merc trucks the army use :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

dgt wrote: »
    Just off a 24 hr excersise, just wow :cool:

One more vehicle to add to the coo list: the Merc trucks the army use :pac:

I tried ringin ya! No answer so assumed you were knee deep in some horrific army training course! :D

CianRyan wrote: »
    Got the oul self tappers out, have we? :pac:

Not yet but it's a work in progress ;)

I'll stick up a few pics later of what I done yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Folks, any suggestions on the best place to get an iPod link for a Toyota TNS700 head unit?

Just one more day and back to diesel pumps for me :pac:

Sure I'll ask again: felt backbox, yay or nay?

Watch out Dundalk were on our way to paint the town green in a tide of vomit :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

dgt wrote: »
    Just one more day and back to diesel pumps for me :pac:

Sure I'll ask again: felt backbox, yay or nay?

Watch out Dundalk were on our way to paint the town green in a tide of vomit :p

Go for a 3" side tilt, just to confuse people.

Shotgun twinner man with an upswept finish. About 2 inch bore :D

So I guess the felt box is a runner for the mo! :P

Also on the lookout for mr voodoomelon..... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Bought a Grand Cherokee today. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Bought a Grand Cherokee today. :)

Nothing Grand about those yokes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Painted my M calipers blue as red was so last year. Also have blue (as supplied) dust boots on the new Bilstein B12 shock/spring setup Ive just installed. And Yellow shock tubes. And EBC Yellowstuff pads.

The BMW E31 is all about tastelessness and decadence, which is why its awesome. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Risked Halfraud's for a bulb change today. Thing is, the grille has to come off (3 screws plus clips) then the whole Xenon unit needs to come out (3 more screws, back panels etc) all to change a single sidelight/positioning list which cost £2.99 plus same again for fitting. 3 guys refused before 1 agreed to do it; he said I was lucky they had a qualified mechanic - he got a tip for his efforts. I won't be shy in changing it myself the next time.