Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Championship Thread 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 McGeough123

Did anyone spot this miss from Eugene Keating from the Cavan game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭scatman carruthers

Y are Dublin evens to win on ladbrokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Did anyone spot this miss from Eugene Keating from the Cavan game.
    Worst miss ever, and it's not even close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,650 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Well he hit the target in a manner of speaking :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Of all the drivel i've seen in this thread lately this tops the list. Absurd.

One of the best high fielders i've seen and his ability to kick long range points is something you don't see much anymore. Granted he had a tendency for a dirty blow here and there.

Also, his goal vs Armagh in 2002. Go youtube it.
    Daragh O'Sé, Dermot Earley, John Galvin, Seán Cavanagh, Anthony Tohill and Kevin Hughes. All better than Whelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

BNMC wrote: »
    Daragh O'Sé, Dermot Earley, John Galvin, Seán Cavanagh, Anthony Tohill and Kevin Hughes. All better than Whelan.

I think Whelan was a mixer, a top level midfielder but not one of the all-time greats.

I actually like Whelan a lot more as a pundit than I ever did as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I never said he was great. Just simply that he was not mediocre.

You could add Kevin Walsh and Michael Donnelan to that list in all honesty.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Yeah I wouldn't have Whelan on a level with the top midfielders of the era at all to be honest.
    Whelan was easily as good a player as Darragh O'Se. The difference was he was playing on a much poorer team.

O'Se played with probably the most gifted group of players to ever play the game.

Kerry's main rivals were Tyrone. They were well beaten by them three times. They were beaten by Meath by 15 points and let the final against Armagh slip in the last 15 minutes from a winning position. I never saw people questioning O'Se's abilities as a result.

The other player of real class on that Lyons/Caffrey Dublin team was Alan Brogan. For years people aimed the same cheap shots at Brogan as they are at Whelan here, that he was a flat track bully and wasn't real top class.

What was the difference? Age. Whelan was a few years older. Brogan was lucky in that he was still around in 2011 when Dublin had hugely improved as a team and he got to show his class on the biggest stage. Now he's classed as one of the really great forwards of the last decade. Whelan wasn't so lucky. Greatness is as much determined by those around you as by yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Syferus wrote: »
    I think Whelan was a mixer, a top level midfielder but not one of the all-time greats.

I actually like Whelan a lot more as a pundit than I ever did as a player.
    Yes I think he is quite good as a pundit.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yes I think he is quite good as a pundit.

Have to agree, didn't like him as a player, a bit of sly dog with a few off the ball incidents, but he is as good a pundit as they have now on RTE without flowering it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Whelan was easily as good a player as Darragh O'Se. The difference was he was playing on a much poorer team.

O'Se played with probably the most gifted group of players to ever play the game.

Kerry's main rivals were Tyrone. They were well beaten by them three times. They were beaten by Meath by 15 points and let the final against Armagh slip in the last 15 minutes from a winning position. I never saw people questioning O'Se's abilities as a result.

The other player of real class on that Lyons/Caffrey Dublin team was Alan Brogan. For years people aimed the same cheap shots at Brogan as they are at Whelan here, that he was a flat track bully and wasn't real top class.

What was the difference? Age. Whelan was a few years older. Brogan was lucky in that he was still around in 2011 when Dublin had hugely improved as a team and he got to show his class on the biggest stage. Now he's classed as one of the really great forwards of the last decade. Whelan wasn't so lucky. Greatness is as much determined by those around you as by yourself.

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Whelan was a very good player but he wasn't in the same league as Ó Sé who will go down as one of the all time greats. Whelan had all the talent to be a really great midfielder and there were many games that he dominated but he went missing too often when Dublin really needed him and he would lose the head when there was really no need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

It was a square ball anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Lemlin wrote: »
    It was a square ball anyway!
    No such thing as square ball from open play anymore.

Dreadful miss, he had so much time to tap it in but it looked like he panicked. Even Seanie would've stuck that in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Ciaran Whelan was a very fine midfielder in a Dublin team that should possibly have achieved more considering the number of Leinster titles they won.He was well able to give a dig but I do not think he could compare to the finest midfielder of his generation Dara o Se.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

seligehgit wrote: »
    Ciaran Whelan was a very fine midfielder in a Dublin team that should possibly have achieved more considering the number of Leinster titles they won.He was well able to give a dig but I do not think he could compare to the finest midfielder of his generation Dara o Se.

Oh you can compare him alright .. but even as a Dub I say he comes up short of O'Sé. But as others said .. greatness in some respects is attributable to those that you have around you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭elefant

Dreadful miss, he had so much time to tap it in but it looked like he panicked. Even Seanie would've stuck that in.

Wish people would stop saying this, it's not true.

The rule was just changed so that you can nowenter the square after the ball is played, and no longer only after the ball has entered the square first.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

There is. Can't be in the square when the ball is kicked.
    Hilarious miss though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Just reading through this thread. I'm astounded with some of the Donegal boys' comments in relation to McHugh. How in the blue hell could any of you think it was intentional. 2 boys went for a ball, full tilt. One came out worse than the other. Cop on lads.

As for McGuinness' comments over the weekend. Well I really doubt anyone was surprised by that. He's not really right in the head is he? That fella sees what he wants to see. And i tell you one thing else, he was no shrinking violet when he played. Double standards and all that. Donegal are the most cynical team in the land by a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Was the Donegal/Laois match as bad as is being reported ?, there was a throwaway comment on tv @ Saturdays match that Donegal were reverting to type with 14 men behind the ball - I'd hate to think that Donegal are regressing to the 2011 football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Justin10

Whelan made a good point about the black cards next year, if you have them in the last five minutes it could ruin the game.

As for that clown McGuinness, I already stated what I think of him and the powers in Donegal for the bite incident that wasn't.
    He is extremely clever in his comments, he knows his team is not firing and is looking to get extra protection for his players.

His comments on the radio where laughable, stating he doesn't comment on referees but him and Gallagher have no problem running on to the pitch to complain or mouthing to the linesman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭airneal

Slattsy wrote: »
    Just reading through this thread. I'm astounded with some of the Donegal boys' comments in relation to McHugh. How in the blue hell could any of you think it was intentional. 2 boys went for a ball, full tilt. One came out worse than the other. Cop on lads.

As for McGuinness' comments over the weekend. Well I really doubt anyone was surprised by that. He's not really right in the head is he? That fella sees what he wants to see. And i tell you one thing else, he was no shrinking violet when he played. Double standards and all that. Donegal are the most cynical team in the land by a long way.

Your talking complete s*+te!! Your probably from Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Dessie Farrell had a worse miss against Kerry in Thurles in 2001.

airneal wrote: »

Mayo or Dublin make your mind up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

If someone disagrees they're from Dublin.

Great logic. :confused:

The chip on the shoulder some people have for us really baffles me.

Another 1!!!:eek:
    Rochey18 wrote: »
    Mayo or Dublin make your mind up

The only lads that slates Donegal are from Dublin. Same old principles, everyone from the west are culchies, and we the dubs are the best thing since sliced bread! Time yee boys gave your own team an honest evaluation in terms of principles on the field!!! Making silly loose comments about management or cynical teams!
    Moneymaker wrote: »
    If someone disagrees they're from Dublin.

Great logic. :confused:

The chip on the shoulder some people have for us really baffles me.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Dessie Farrell had a worse miss against Kerry in Thurles in 2001.

Dreadful miss (and so was Colin Moran's a minute later) but not as bad as Keating's. No way.

I have nothing against the Dubs what so ever btw! Yee will probably go on and win Sam this year, but some of the posters on here, think they have a god given right to slag or put Donegal down including players or management...if ye give it boys...yee will have to take it...

The only lads that slates Donegal are from Dublin. Same old principles, everyone from the west are culchies, and we the dubs are the best thing since sliced bread! Time yee boys gave your own team an honest evaluation in terms of principles on the field!!! Making silly loose comments about management or cynical teams!

Did you watch the Dublin Donegal semi final. Did their management come on to the field of play?
    Do Donegals management constantly try to intimidate linesman and referees?
    Did they handle the McBrearty case well?

They are facts, no one is imaging them.