Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Championship Thread 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Really interesting day of football today... lots to mull over.

London put up a good fight against Cavan for long periods, missing that goal just before the Cavan goal really killed them. Cavan probably would have won anyway, but the margin probably should have been less. Bit of a blip for Cavan? They've been very impressive this year, expect them to raise their game against Kerry.

Cork were lucky against Galway... I dunno about them. In fairness to Galway, had a lot of doubts about them but they seemed to actually perform in the last 2 games. Can't see Cork going much further, they have some hugely talented players but they seem very disjointed.

Donegal-Laois didn't sound like a great game.... Donegal did enough though. Probably need to raise their game a lot for the next day.

I thought Tyrone-Meath was very enjoyable, and Tyrone deserved their win in the end. Maybe got a few soft frees...but Sean Cavanagh was absolutely immense, he really is pure class. Thought the likes of O'Neill and McCurry were good when they got on the ball, and Harte was pretty influential too.
    Wallace and Newman were effective for Meath, but they just couldn't get the same scores from play. Cavanagh's foul at the end was very very cynical but.....it's one that anyone's team would be glad to have made tbqh.

As for the quarters...some interesting ties. Can't see Cork having enough to match Dublin, they're just not playing well enough currently. Similarly, Cavan will fight very hard but I expect Kerry to edge it.

The other two are interesting, Monaghan were very impressive against Donegal, can they play like that again? If so, they won't fear anyone....but Tyrone won't be scared of them either. Very hard to call, I think Monaghan might do it. And unless Donegal improve massively (which they might well do), I think Mayo will beat them. Probably better for Mayo to play them now, before they can build up more momentum.....Donegal this year seem a bit like Dublin last year, not really hit the heights last year, when they met a top team, they were out. Donegal have had a bit more time to adjust, we'll see if they can revive last years levels of intensity,

Cavan looked extremely nervous and made alot of unforced errors. A few of them also looked to be struggling with their fitness after the toll of 90 minutes last week.

We're already in bonus territory but hopefully they'll improve for next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Must say, I'm loving the look of the football championship draw. Looking forward to those matches almost as much as I would Champions League quarter finals :)
    Its the best set of matchups ever Cavan Kerry nostalgia Dublin Cork top 5 collision Mayo Donegal Hollywood Monaghan Tyrone fairytale continues hopefully hence big interest in that All hard games to call Interesting point raised re physical aspect and Donegal It is main reason I think Mayo can take them Raw pace and fitness all over the pitch Mayo are completely fresh and are getting their scores from a wide range of players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Barring upsets only Mayo-Donegal really excites. Can't see a plan-less Cork coming close to Dublin or Cavan challenging Kerry and while Monaghan playing Tyrone is a winnable game for both sides but it's not about to set many hearts fluttering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i am amazed at how many people are dismissing Cork. they can give Dublin a right game, and they will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

i am amazed at how many people are dismissing Cork. they can give Dublin a right game, and they will.

Have to agree with this,Its the last eight of the championship and anything can happen, Dublin will be the media,s favourite and the usuall (media) hype be rampant, No one gave Monahan a chance last week against Donegal,Nothing stopping Cork coming out and doing the same, even though I hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

realies wrote: »
    Have to agree with this,Its the last eight of the championship and anything can happen, Dublin will be the media,s favourite and the usuall (media) hype be rampant, No one gave Monahan a chance last week against Donegal,Nothing stopping Cork coming out and doing the same, even though I hope not.

I do think though that the main reason Monaghan won was team spirit and belief in each other and most importantly the management. Counihan doesnt inspire confidence in his team, the fans are not behind him either and just about defeated a very poor Galway team who, while played out of their skin, only beat an armagh team, who only were rated as they annihilated two very poor teams themselves. Belief and team spirit along with a great supporter following is the main assets of our Monaghan team and was the main reason of our victories to date. Cork do not have this and cant, in my opinion challenge this Dublin team, with so much talent they can barely agree to a panel, never mind a starting 15. I cannot imagine a huge cork following in Croker, as opposed to Monaghan who will grab every ticket on offer, despite only having a third of Corks population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

I do think Cork are being underrated by many, and the battle against Galway and the manner in which they won will do them the world of good.

But I just think Dublin will be too much for them, they look top class this year. I would have fancied Cork against Mayo or Monaghan, I just feel the Dubs will be too good for them on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Cork would have been chopped up by Mayo. Whatever chance they have against Dublin their style suits Cork far better than Mayo's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

McGuinness talkin thru his hoop this morning on today fm about mchughs injury. It was a 50/50 ball after which both players had to go off. You'd swear mchugh was assaulted with a baseball bat the way mcguinness was goin on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

royaler83 wrote: »
    McGuinness talkin thru his hoop this morning on today fm about mchughs injury. It was a 50/50 ball after which both players had to go off. You'd swear mchugh was assaulted with a baseball bat the way mcguinness was goin on

Typical.

Doesn't like his players being weaker than the opponent. They said McHugh went off with an ankle injury but don't see how he injured his ankle in it.

The Monaghan fella had to go off too remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Typical.

Doesn't like his players being weaker than the opponent. They said McHugh went off with an ankle injury but don't see how he injured his ankle in it.

The Monaghan fella had to go off too remember.

Think it was concussion as well as some sort of a leg injury. I'd imagine you could easily injure your ankle. Doesn't have to be stood on to be injured. Could have twisted it or landed on his leg hard from what it looked like. Who knows. He spent a few days in hospital anyway I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Despite what people said at the start of the championship about Kerry or Tyrone falling out of the top six we're down to the last 8 and both are still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Beagslife

Concussion, perforated eardrum, 5 cm gash in his leg. Two nights in hospital and a week off work. An amateur sportsman. He cares about his players. Nothing wrong with that.

http://player.todayfm.com/player/home/Championship_Sunday/Championship_Sunday/2204/jim_mcguinness

Actually I recall reading somewhere his injuries were consistent with a car crash so it was more than your everyday tackle.

Neeson wrote: »
    Actually I recall reading somewhere his injuries were consistent with a car crash so it was more than your everyday tackle.

Yes but if u drive into a wall it doesn't mean the wall was at fault.

Two lads going full tilt, 1 came off worse than the other, the other players eye was completely closed up but ya don't hear any1 blaming mchugh

????

I can roll into a wall at 5mph and could have injuries consistent with a car crash.

A professional rugby scrum has the same impact of a car crash.

Beagslife wrote: »
    Concussion, perforated eardrum, 5 cm gash in his leg. Two nights in hospital and a week off work. An amateur sportsman. He cares about his players. Nothing wrong with that.

http://player.todayfm.com/player/home/Championship_Sunday/Championship_Sunday/2204/jim_mcguinness

I don't see why the 2 days off work was mentioned. These players have great benefits regarding work.

True. I dunno. I suppose this is amateur sport though. Anyway all I heard was that it was fairly bad an injury. It's one thing hurting your ankle but something else to get those kind of head injuries all the same.

Beagslife wrote: »

There's no1 here denying it was a serious injury.

My gripe is that mcguinness was more or less saying it was a dangerous tackle that caused these injuries, which it wasnt!!

Did he say it was dangerous? I'll have to have a listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

royaler83 wrote: »
    There's no1 here denying it was a serious injury.

My gripe is that mcguinness was more or less saying it was a dangerous tackle that caused these injuries, which it wasnt!!
    Did he say it was dangerous? I'll have to have a listen.

I dont think he actually says it was a bad challenge, but it makes ye wonder what he is complaining about alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Well I assume RTE will be taking the obvious one.

Then TV3 would take maybe Dublin v Cork for viewing figures so the can roll out all their adverts.

Tv3 would love the Sunday double header but I assume RTEs first pick will put end to that.

FWIW RTE picked Laois v Dublin on the Saturday evening last year as their first choice, even though it was theoretically the least attractive tie, possibly for commercial reasons (to prevent TV3 getting the Dublin audience??).

Last years statement.
    RTE have explained why they will not be showing either of the All-Ireland football quarter-finals this Sunday. Cork v Kildare, Croke Park, 2pm & Donegal v Kerry, Croke Park, 4pm

In what is believed to be a first in – certainly in a number of years – the state broadcaster has released a statement in relation to this weekend’s bumper schedule of GAA action, adding that figures in RTE chose the Dublin and Laois fixture as the pick of the weekend’s games.

According to the Irish Examiner, figures within both TV3 and Croke Park were surprised when RTE decided to select the Dub’s clash with neighbours Laois on Saturday evening over the Donegal and Kerry game on the Sunday, which has been labelled by many as the most enticing of the four quarter-finals.

As per their contractual agreement with the GAA, RTE have the first three choices from the six All-Ireland football and hurling quarter-finals, with TV3 given the fouth and fifth picks respectively.

However, having opted to broadcast both of the All-Ireland quarter-finals in Thurles last Sunday, RTE were then entitled to select what they perceived to be the best of the four football games, of which they deemed the Saturday evening fixture to be so.

Naturally, TV3 were surprised yet elated at the decision, with the fellow broadcaster choosing to show both the Donegal v Kerry and Cork v Kildare games, leaving RTE with no option but to choose the final quarter-final pairing between Mayo and Down to complete their agreement.

“As per the broadcasting rights contract with the GAA, a number of quarter-final fixture choices are available to television broadcasters at this stage of the Championships,” the statement from RTE read.

“Following the draw on Saturday night, RTE along with other broadcasters exercised the options available to them under the contract. RTE chose the options which permit us to broadcast Dublin v Laois and Mayo v Down games this coming weekend.”

“These matches will both take place on Saturday and so while there will be no live games on RTE Television this Sunday, The Sunday Game night time programme will continue to be broadcast on RTE Two, featuring highlights and analysis of all the weekend’s GAA action,” it added.

I remember that now. Pissed a lot of people off. Hope the cop themselves on this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Cork were hungrier than Kilkenny in the hurling today. First to the ball, lots of blocks and throwing bodies into tackles.
    Hunger is a vital ingredient to success. In hoping it will get mayo over the line against donegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Lemlin wrote: »
    Despite what people said at the start of the championship about Kerry or Tyrone falling out of the top six we're down to the last 8 and both are still there.
    Who on earth were saying that Kerry were out of the top 6? They've never been out of the top 4 in the bookies odds for the Sam Maguire all year. There still is an argument that Tyrone are not top 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Timmyctc wrote: »
    I dont think he actually says it was a bad challenge, but it makes ye wonder what he is complaining about alright.
    The Monaghan player jumped into the challenge when replays show posession was almost or just about in McHughs hands You are not allowed jump into a challenge like that I thought it was reckless but the player getting injured made it less controversial The fair play there was to stay on his feet and challenge McHugh in posession, there was no way that ball was contestable In his challenge he collides with hip and head Once he decides to jump in, hes being reckless

McHugh was not in control of it. Can't blame the Monaghan player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Woah, slow down there buddy. I haven't seen the challenge on TV but it looked awful there on the day alright, we were outraged at the time ourselves, hadn't heard anyone go on about it till now so I figured the tackle was fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Lemlin wrote: »

You'd have to have a fairly bizarre top six to not have had Kerry in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭oneillMan999

All i ask is we (Monaghan) don't get that little whistle happy runt Marty Duffy as the ref, if we do we have no chance and it will be a horrible game to watch as a neutral.