If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Marcusm wrote: »
    Landed is not really an issue for me as I still live in London abeit with at least 25% of time in Dublin. That being said I am seriously considering breaking my 12 cyl virginity with the car below. Not sure if it'd be too clinical; seem to recall you see the v8 as the sweetspot.

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201305317040866/sort/default/usedcars/fuel-type/petrol/engine-size-cars/5lplus/model/phaeton/make/volkswagen/onesearchad/used/onesearchad/nearlynew/onesearchad/new/radius/1500/page/1/postcode/se14tx?logcode=p

Well, the W12 is always going to be the "daddy" of the Phaetons, but the V8 delivers a more involved drive. Does that make sense or a difference in a 2.2ton+ luxo-car? Possibly not!

On the 740i, since you are in the UK, you can buy it and export it, with the VRT Rebate/Export scheme this car is eligible for EUR1417 back from Revenue (Stat code: 40585219)... They also suggest its worth EUR5500. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭rocky

Can you not advertise it in the UK for 2k sterling + you get the rebate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

rocky wrote: »
    Can you not advertise it in the UK for 2k sterling + you get the rebate?
    Sure I could, but "de inglish" dont like travelling outside their town to buy cars, getting on a ferry (or even driving to the port).. you might as well tell them they need to dig a tunnel to Australia.

The same goes for every car for sale here btw, the VRT Export scheme is nothing specific to this car.
    http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/export-repayment-scheme/index.html

If it was £10k plus and hardish to get in the UK, it would become a decent option IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Ok this is my advert, but I really should start selling off some cars these days and this is the thread for it, so..
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-7-series-740i-nctd/5216949
    VIN and Factory Spec list in PDF format, click here.

I think its priced well, its a top-notch example of a fantastic car.

If you don't sell by xmas, let me know, because I'd be interested!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

MATT!

I want that car. ffs. y u emigrating so soon.

fml and **** my lack of cash.

glws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

No personal ads in this thread just like bangernomics.
    Please use adverts.ie and or many of the other sites out there.
    You can put a small link in your too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

biko wrote: »
    No personal ads in this thread just like bangernomics.
    Please use adverts.ie and or many of the other sites out there.
    You can put a small link in your too.

To be fair personal ads have been okayed in BM before once they fit the criteria. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    To be fair personal ads have been okayed in BM before once they fit the criteria. ;)

Yeah I linked to my own ads openly a couple of times and it was ok'd too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hmm ok, let me check on it. I've undeleted the posts.

View2-19233447.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/jaguar-xjs-4-0/4904107

Not the ultimate V12 XJS, but still, what a machine!

€3,450

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Lovely car to look at and drive, but even one without major problems'll cost you the same amount again per annum on running costs/tax/insurance. At a conservative estimate.

On the plus side, it'll do 18mpg compared to 14mpg or 15mpg for the V12. ;)

Not the prettiest luxobarge

View2-20678277.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-ls430/5182583

But it's tested, and you can't go wrong with a Lexus, huh?

Classic Luxobarge, very rare in Ireland at this stage. The BMW E32!

View2-20579779.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-7-series-735i-auto-/5162582

No idea if it's got any test, but this car is so awesome, I'd love to get it myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Sobanek wrote: »
    Classic Luxobarge, very rare in Ireland at this stage. The BMW E32!

Even the E38 is becoming a rare sight on our roads these days. :(

Bumpy bump, yet another E32.

View2-20926685.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-750/5231207

€1,250, no mention of nct though :(

View2-21424458.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/aud-a8/5329634

Clean looking A8 with a V6 engine. No NCT, but the €2,200 price makes this interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Great thread, before I'm done with this world, I'm determined to buy myself something huge and expensive and drive everywhere (with a clean windscreen as regards tax and test) until they take it off me...what a finale for decades of driving (over 40 years now and counting (down)

View2-21742678.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-xj8-4-0-v8-tested/5392575

V8 Jaaaaag with fresh NCT. All yours for €1,100. Bargain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭serious3

ha! i was looking at that ad yesterday and wondering if i can justify it....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

corktina wrote: »
    Great thread, before I'm done with this world, I'm determined to buy myself something huge and expensive and drive everywhere (with a clean windscreen as regards tax and test) until they take it off me...what a finale for decades of driving (over 40 years now and counting (down)

Fair play to ye Corktina. I like your style.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

I don't. A barge is a privilege, if you can't afford the tax then you shouldn't buy one; if you can and don't pay it then you're tax dodging scum, just like the rest of them. No offense.

I had a barge, and taxed it at full rate every day I owned it -- over full rate, in fact, because I had to tax it quarterly. When I couldn't afford it any more, I downgraded to something smaller. And that's just my tough*.

* Although really it isn't. Power, torque and luxuries almost identical, albeit in a different format. I LOVE the replacement.

rovoagho wrote: »
    I don't. A barge is a privilege, if you can't afford the tax then you shouldn't buy one; if you can and don't pay it then you're tax dodging scum, just like the rest of them. No offense.

I had a barge, and taxed it at full rate every day I owned it -- over full rate, in fact, because I had to tax it quarterly. When I couldn't afford it any more, I downgraded to something smaller. And that's just my tough*.

* Although really it isn't. Power, torque and luxuries almost identical, albeit in a different format. I LOVE the replacement.

well I do have a 2.5 V6 currently on a SORD and always taxed when it's on the roadand a taxed 2 litre that operates the rest of the time not to mention a camper that's also taxed.... but when my time is up, I'm going out in style....

Well, still done for the former, but you'll get no respect from me for the latter. If you want to go out in style, have yourself buried in it.

i think you take things too seriously...nd literally

So you were just talking out your arse then?

well strictly speaking (ironic) I wasn't speaking at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

You two should get a room......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Tax dodging scum? And he's talking out of his arse?

Get a grip. The tax is 1800 a year. That's absolutely off the wall, and you get nothing in return for it.

So march on off on your high horse and stop insulting our Ford Fanboi...

If you have a problem with a law, the solution is to lobby and/or vote for a correction, not break it. I don't like ANY taxes, but I can't just not pay them. It's the law, and it pays for other services. If you're not willing to help fix the law, emigrate to a country with lower taxes. Bye bye now.

You have to wonder how much lower our annual budget "corrections" would be if all of those on-off knackers had actually paid their motor tax.

that's been addressed...and rightly so.

OF COURSE I was talking out me arse, it's what car fans do, á lá Clarkson and co.
    I wasn't really serious, it's just a "driving into the sunset" thing...sorry for any trouble caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Sobanek wrote: »
    View2-21742678.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-xj8-4-0-v8-tested/5392575

V8 Jaaaaag with fresh NCT. All yours for €1,100. Bargain!
    serious3 wrote: »
    ha! i was looking at that ad yesterday and wondering if i can justify it....

My 9yo has decided that he must own that Jag!!!!
    Explaining that much and all as he likes to treat me like a chauffeur, I am fúcked if I'm gonna be paying €1800 a year in motor tax on top of the Insurance and maintenance costs aswell to give him the opportunity to make me wear a cap while he sits in the back....
    Just isn't happening!!!
    He is off to check his piggy bank as I type! haha