Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

jerdee wrote: »
    Moving the fence wire last night and nearly stepped on this little lad .moved it to the headland hopefully mammy will take it from there.AFE7C30E-73A9-4A86-82E3-4F6D1A030F5F-1137-000001DCA13E995F.jpg

You can pull a hair/hare out of your arse but you cant pull a rabbit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

You can pull a hair/hare out of your arse but you cant pull a rabbit :D

Marmalade and jam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

quadboy wrote: »
    Marmalade and jam

now that you will have to explain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

hugo29 wrote: »
    now that you will have to explain

Not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

jerdee wrote: »
    Moving the fence wire last night and nearly stepped on this little lad .moved it to the headland hopefully mammy will take it from there.AFE7C30E-73A9-4A86-82E3-4F6D1A030F5F-1137-000001DCA13E995F.jpg
    send it to http://www.broadsheet.ie/ they love this kinda stuff
    its a dublin based website its quite good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

just do it wrote: »
    Familiar story here. I'd a close call a few years ago and that Autumn culled 4 cows purely based on poor docility. Otherwise they were great sucklers, but they're not much use to you if your 6ft under. Important to walk through them as much as you can and lay a hand on them when you can. It all helps.

LOL again, didn't see that one coming tagged on at the end as it is.

yeah same here, culled a few dangerous BB's a few years ago. always wary when we are injecting teh new borns and sraying the navel, even the quitest cow could pin ya after calving. have had a few close escapes so try to seprate them when ever possible. have a gate in the calving pen that we use to get eh cow int the skulling gate if need be, also handy when i want her to keep her distance.

we walk them a couple of times a day and they are well used to people (and the dogs). same with the bull try to make sure i know excatly where he is as if wanted to he could make mincemeat of me very quickly. makes a huge difference if your cattle are used to you, have been to places where the catle are only herded from time to time and only looked at from the gate (or car) and then the go nuts when they brought into the yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

!cid_cidImage_P__A36F.jpg
    kyr taking a stretch in the sun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

leg wax wrote: »
    !cid_cidImage_P__A36F.jpg
    kyr taking a stretch in the sun

How would you rate KYR compared to STQ? I used STQ myself this year and found him a far better bull than FHZ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Tis a grand sight, regrowth has jumped out of the ground since being cut last Thursday.

photo_zps1cc76696.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

pakalasa wrote: »
    How would you rate KYR compared to STQ? I used STQ myself this year and found him a far better bull than FHZ.
    i wont be using him again , had some big bulls and lost 1 got stuck at the hips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

maize pic taken same date one year ago
    gw8e.jpg
    kov5.jpg

yesterday same field
    9llv.jpg
    0lmi.jpg
    fkrd.jpg
    1qft.jpg

some home blending
    ctd8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

quadboy wrote: »
    Marmalade and jam

It's a good one, gave me a laugh when I remembered it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

stanflt wrote: »
    maize pic taken same date one year ago
    gw8e.jpg

are you sure thats not a picture from 25th of June last year??

some home blending
    ctd8.jpg

great to see there is more than one messer than myself blending fert in such a way:). I better not mention the day I decided to blend some lumpy stuff in the diet feeder :mad:

are you sure thats not a picture from 25th of June last year??

I wish it was bob

With the wet year and it took a serious hammering from spraying in early June that it stayed yellow for 8 weeks- most of it was under water for 3 weeks

Yielded 5 tonne acre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I wish it was bob

With the wet year and it took a serious hammering from spraying in early June that it stayed yellow for 8 weeks most of it was under water for 3 weeks

Yielded 5 tonne acre

Owch, thats one of the worst yeilds I've heard, but I bet you're glad you stuck with it this year, I know lads who swore never again after last year, and now kicking themselves. The neighbour reckons his will yeild 22ton/acre, what are you hoping for?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Owch, thats one of the worst yeilds I've heard, but I bet you're glad you stuck with it this year, I know lads who swore never again after last year, and now kicking themselves. The neighbour reckons his will yeild 22ton/acre, what are you hoping for?

Our best yield was 22 tonne and maybe just maybe we will hammer it this year

I wish it was bob

With the wet year and it took a serious hammering from spraying in early June that it stayed yellow for 8 weeks- most of it was under water for 3 weeks

Yielded 5 tonne acre

Plenty of maize yields 5 ton per acre but you wont win a willy waving contest saying as such. Best crop I ever had done around 11t ac cut the 5 of Dec 10. Dm around 50%, taught we would never get it cut

just shows different locations as when I saw your pic from last year and looked back on my own and had a picture from the 25th of June looking better than your crop. We had a good average crop here last year and I dont see this years crop being that much better. I dont have land for maize next year so wont have any probably

look at what last years harvest has done to one of the headlands in one of the fields of maize. All well and good hitting massive yields in the middle of the field but if you have a large headland missing in smallish fields it will drag down the yield very quickly. I could look at the second picture as it portrays a lot better looking situation:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

You could see a frog's willy there. Headlands cost the same per acre to sow as the best part of the field.

thats for sure, pic is of an 8ac field, probably an acre on the missing list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Some size of rat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Some size of rat

Jaysus!

Some size of rat

Thats a horse of a Rat, what was he feeding on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

Thats a horse of a Rat, what was he feeding on

must be my feckin calf krunch

limo_100 wrote: »
    must be my feckin calf krunch

You could sell that fellow as a runner in the back end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

You could sell that fellow as a runner in the back end

i think hes over fed for the factory hes done himself out of a good grade. Then again he heavier and prob has more meet then jersey bulls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

hes the leinster house rat. the fatcats were to lazy to chase him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Some size of rat

I haven't seen a rat that size since the lads stopped using Angel Dust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Some size of rat

Saw them that size on my travels through The Gambia in Africa. They have an indigenous giant rat. They hunt and eat them. I couldn't bring myself to partake in that particular feast. They say it lives off plants only and does not scavenge but I am not believing that as I saw no grass to speak of and I travelled both sides of the river.