Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THIS IS A THREAD ABOUT WEATHER. ALLLLLL THE WEATHER. WEATHER WEATHER WEATHER

• Registered Users Posts: 14,421 ✭✭✭✭cson

I for one welcome our new monsoon overlords.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Its fork lightening, I'm sitting at my window in the attic tempting fate!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

**** you thunder, you're just gods farts.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

It's picking up here in north Dublin city. Less than a minute apart. Some cool lighting electrifying the night sky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Oh f*ck this. I know some of you live near me...get your asses over here, get in my bed and cuddle me until the scary nature stuff goes away.

This is not a drill.

I was downstairs alone playing Xbox, but got a bit freaked with the lightening and whatnot. So snuck into bed with the wife (half asleep), under the pretence that she needed me there 'in case you got scared'. Alpha male, eh?

She's gone straight back asleep btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

NoQuarter wrote: »
    Its fork lightening, I'm sitting at my window in the attic tempting fate!

Same.. and about 4k worth of electronics plugged into a board with no surge protector :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

This is great is'nt it? us huddling together away from the big bad lightning what you say we give each other a ****?

• Administrators Posts: 53,506 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's like 10 seconds between the lightning and the thunder max I reckon, which makes it pretty damn close.

apollo8 wrote: »
    This is great is'nt it? us huddling together away from the big bad lightning what you say we give each other a ****?

'I would do anything for Apollo8, but I won't do that'

Oh f*ck this. I know some of you live near me...get your asses over here, get in my bed and cuddle me until the scary nature stuff goes away.

This is not a drill.

Effort! Just put in a pair of ear plugs ya will be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,316 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Brought the dog up to bed. You know... for her... not me of course :o:D

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭paulieeye

My gaff just got hit...huge bang house alarm goes off...car alarm going off all around...it's chaos out here!

Fork lightening, in Ireland? WTF!

Lads, if anyone needs to drive the N11 toward/from wexford tonight please just stay where you are. I drive in any conditions not a bother, but I have never ever seen anything like that. I would be very surprised (and happy) if there are no fatalities on that road tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

This is not a drill.

your username is a lie!!!!!!!!! :(:(:(:(:(:(:(

Effort! Just put in a pair of ear plugs ya will be grand.

Might stick some porn on..take my mind off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

My Swedish friend just messaged me from Gothenburg. They have terrible fork lightning there too, but no thunder.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Damn why can't we have lightning. I love lightning. I remember years ago I must have been about 6, so 1990 roughly, we had spectacular fork lightning at 8 or 9 o'clock in the morning. Does any one remeber it. I lived in Dublin at the time. But it was the best lightning I ever witnessed went on for ages, not just one flash break but loads going off at the same time. Does anyone remmebr it?

your username is a lie!!!!!!!!! :(:(:(:(:(:(:(

This is an exceptional circumstance!!!! touch me otherwise and I'll crease you.

I just sneezed and now shoulder is sore :(

Fork lightening, in Ireland? WTF!

Lads, if anyone needs to drive the N11 toward/from wexford tonight please just stay where you are. I drive in any conditions not a bother, but I have never ever seen anything like that. I would be very surprised (and happy) if there are no fatalities on that road tonight.

Is it lighting or very heavy rain out that way?

Lightening, very very very heavy rain, the entire road is flooded with parts of it deadly, thick fog. Can't see past the front of your own car at times. Mental stuff.

I'm glad I'm home, I was genuinely terrified, and I don't scare easy when it comes to driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

This is not a drill.

Ah don't be scared. It can actually be really relaxing. Turn everything off and leave your blinds open and you'll see a cool flash and count how far away it is.

I remember maybe 5 years ago driving in Donegal with similar fork lightning which was striking the road. That was crazy to see, even in daylight.

What am I voting for now in this poll?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Huge alien creatures now emerging from the mist here in Dublin

Anyone for a jog?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Morag

Been out dancing in it, in the front garden.
    So cool and refreshing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

• Registered Users Posts: 7,519 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Anyone for a jog?

Was thinking a spot of golf.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Skip to 46 seconds.

Managed to get this about an hour ago.

Nice romantic music there SR, very calming.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Better than the audio of me screaming like a little girl.

Rain and thunder heading for Louth at the moment.