Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

McManus was unplayable that day. Our shooting against Derry was immense. Some fine scores taken and at the right end of the year to be doing it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Re the Monaghan game - while we were only a point off them they should have had a penalty when toasty handled on the ground. But then again if we didn't gift them that goal early on we could have been well ahead - point is we will never know. But while I am delighted for Monaghan part of me wonders if that could have been us but hard to begrudge them an Ulster title.

Saturday will be a great day in Croker and it would really stand to us to get a run out in Croker for the quarter final if we beat London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

Well lads, as A Monaghan man I am delighted but we must look forward now to the quarters where I really hope we meet Cavan. Not because it would be on paper the "easier" draw (which i dispute) but the prospect of a Cavan v Monaghan in Croker would be incredible. The manner of your display against Derry would worry me if we did meet, the fact you were scoring such long ranged points would easily defeat the defending that won us Ulster Yesterday. If you saw the game yesterday we allowed donegal all the space in the world up until the 35 metre line. Cavan can, and did, score from well before that so, especially in a big ground such as Croker would be a different prospect than donegal who were very bad at hitting long range kicks. I never thought I would be saying this but I hoe youse get through London and let us meet again. There is a great camaraderie between Ulster Counites these days in the All Ireland series and would love to see Monaghan or Cavan in the Semis

Podgerz wrote: »
    Well lads, as A Monaghan man I am delighted but we must look forward now to the quarters where I really hope we meet Cavan. Not because it would be on paper the "easier" draw (which i dispute) but the prospect of a Cavan v Monaghan in Croker would be incredible. The manner of your display against Derry would worry me if we did meet, the fact you were scoring such long ranged points would easily defeat the defending that won us Ulster Yesterday. If you saw the game yesterday we allowed donegal all the space in the world up until the 35 metre line. Cavan can, and did, score from well before that so, especially in a big ground such as Croker would be a different prospect than donegal who were very bad at hitting long range kicks. I never thought I would be saying this but I hoe youse get through London and let us meet again. There is a great camaraderie between Ulster Counites these days in the All Ireland series and would love to see Monaghan or Cavan in the Semis

Jaysus two Ulster titles on a Sunday and ye get the internet on a Monday :eek:.

Seriously though would love a Cavan Monaghan quarter in Croker - would be a very special day for both counties and would be some match.

Enjoy the celebrations - a long time coming for Monaghan football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭willabur

aye, both counties would love that draw. Lets see how it works out. Lets put london to bed first.

Oh and congratulations to Monaghan, for getting the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

willabur wrote: »
    aye, both counties would love that draw. Lets see how it works out. Lets put london to bed first.

Oh and congratulations to Monaghan, for getting the internet

Thanks Lads, sorry im expecting a phone call so I need to plug out the internet again. Chat soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Congrats on yday....a charity to see Donegal beat,they are over cocky....London will give ye a chance to try out a few things for bigger test ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

Tickets done and dusted,now to sort out the transportation and all systems are go.
    Delighted for the Monaghan folk yesterday, Finlay,Freeman,Mone,Clerkin,Corey,Lennon,Gollogly and co got their just rewards for all the terrific service they have given to Monaghan football over the last decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭celt262

Anyone know where to get decent tickets all online seems to be in corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

celt262 wrote: »
    Anyone know where to get decent tickets all online seems to be in corners.
    ticketmaster.ie is a little better than tickets.ie with blocks more on the 20m line than the actual corner and you can choose your seats too so sit a little more back than what I saw tickets.ie offering. Just be careful as the last 5 rows are very far back and the view is impeded by the roof of the premium level (which is why theres tvs there above those seats so could be useful either!)

They rape you on the ticket fees though, but better than paying a fiver less for a possibly useless ticket.

EDIT: theres also tickets available at Croke park which are much better than the ones available online if anyone happens to be down that part of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Kid Nothing

Lads any ideas what block most Cavan fans will be in?

the county board has no allocation so the fans will be all spread out to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Citycap

Cavan versus London in Croke Park. Nice recognition for London.

To facilitate the Cavan supporters charity shops and Poundsaver shops in the North City are bring in additional staff to cope with the extra demand..

Citycap wrote: »
    Cavan versus London in Croke Park. Nice recognition for London.

To facilitate the Cavan supporters charity shops and Poundsaver shops in the North City are bring in additional staff to cope with the extra demand..

Never mind that they lit up the Niagara falls in blue last night to celebrate Cavan getting to Croker - its madness!!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭celt262

the county board has no allocation so the fans will be all spread out to be honest

They do have tickets, the last time i got some there they were ****e though.

celt262 wrote: »
    They do have tickets, the last time i got some there they were ****e though.
    they will have some tickets but they arent acting as the middle man like often happens. At least my home club isnt sourcing any tickets from the county board.

Your right about the last batch.
    I have my ticket actually from the U21 final which was got from the Cavan county board, and for an abysmal view (section 315, row E - corner of cusack and canal down low) it was full price as if it was centre line Hogan.
    I couldnt believe how bad the view was.
    (worse still, I could have gotten a ticket for the middle of the Hogan for free but I opted to go with my parents instead)

like that, you don't mind a shíte ticket if you know in advance that its useless and it costs a pittance.
    But to pay full price is just a disgrace - especially when the shaggin stadium was nowhere near full anyhow.

Lads is there a better option for buying tickets than GAA Website or Ticketmaster? Both have one section in the corner of the Hogan and Cusack but nothing else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,158 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Lads is there a better option for buying tickets than GAA Website or Ticketmaster? Both have one section in the corner of the Hogan and Cusack but nothing else?

You will get better tickets on the day at Croke Park.
    These ticket agents are a rip-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I got section 308 in the Cusack off Tickets.ie and am happy enough with it.

The place won't be near sold out so it'll be easy to move seats anyway.

I was told to move by a steward at the recent Leinster semi (that 50k or something attended) when an obnoxious idiot was scaring one of the kids with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭willabur

Independent today speculating that Seanie is looking to get himself home to the Gaels. Interesting that he has barely showed up to his club this year. Have mixed feelings about this, on one hand we are a small county and cannot afford to be discarding such obvious talents but on the other hand the lads have excelled without him so leave him where he is. I don't think it will be that simple though, if he is there kicking multiple scores for the gaels and the county team somehow hits a rough spot it will be the easiest stick for someone to pick up and beat the setup with.

As always it'll be interesting

Independent today speculating that Seanie is looking to get himself home to the Gaels. Interesting that he has barely showed up to his club this year. Have mixed feelings about this, on one hand we are a small county and cannot afford to be discarding such obvious talents but on the other hand the lads have excelled without him so leave him where he is. I don't think it will be that simple though, if he is there kicking multiple scores for the gaels and the county team somehow hits a rough spot it will be the easiest stick for someone to pick up and beat the setup with.

Is that online at all?

After last year's display, I think he'd be a mad man to come back. He'd get some treatment in club games.

I don't think there's any chance of him playing while Terry is manager and I think that'll be a good few years yet.

Open secret at this stage that Seanie hasn't and will not play for Kevin's in the Kildare Championship - Gaels people expect Seanie to play in the county championship this year. Dunnie was courting him after Armagh game - if you follow any of the Gaels lads on twitter you will quickly see that they want him back. I've heard the Celt are running something this week too.

Expect another media driven saga on this.

Would take a lot for some people to swallow to see Seanie back in a Cavan jersey - I haven't made up my mind tbh but imagine this Cavan team with Mulvey and Gearoid McKiernan in!! Would we want/need Seanie??

Lemlin wrote: »
    Is that online at all?

After last year's display, I think he'd be a mad man to come back. He'd get some treatment in club games.

I don't think there's any chance of him playing while Terry is manager and I think that'll be a good few years yet.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mcgeeney-awaits-his-fate-as-johnston-eyes-cavan-return-29440127.html

Lemlin wrote: »
    I got section 308 in the Cusack off Tickets.ie and am happy enough with it.

The place won't be near sold out so it'll be easy to move seats anyway.

I was told to move by a steward at the recent Leinster semi (that 50k or something attended) when an obnoxious idiot was scaring one of the kids with us.

When was that Lemlin? The best they have now is 310.. I don't know whether to buy the ones from Ticketmaster now (they aren't that awful) or hold out and try get good ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

What is injury situation with Cavan anyone know?

I'm starting to think Cavan - London is going to be one to tune in for as it might be another possible London shock.
    - Mayo 16 scores 5 -11 v London 0 - 10. (Mayo are utterly comfortable in McHale park and have a better squad than Cavan. The venue suits London underdogs taking the favourites to an unfamiliar ground.)
    - London have had good first halfs this championship. I could see a good first half by London creating some panic
    - Cavan defend in numbers but London have some big physical men who can break tackles and win frees
    - London having a 5th Championship game. The upward curve from that should be significant.

I'll go for a big call. Cavan will fail to dig this one out of the fire due to the efforts against Derry and some non-refereeing of Londons physical approach. London 1 - 12 - Cavan 0 -14

When was that Lemlin? The best they have now is 310.. I don't know whether to buy the ones from Ticketmaster now (they aren't that awful) or hold out and try get good ones.

My wife booked them yesterday round 11 or 12. 310 isn't that bad. I was there for the Leinster final.

As I said, you'll be able to move seats anyway. Cork and Galway won't bring many and I can't see the Meath Tyrone people coming in that early to sit 4 hours waiting for their match.

What is injury situation with Cavan anyone know?

I'm starting to think Cavan - London is going to be one to tune in for as it might be another possible London shock.
    - Mayo 16 scores 5 -11 v London 0 - 10. (Mayo are utterly comfortable in McHale park and have a better squad than Cavan. The venue suits London underdogs taking the favourites to an unfamiliar ground.)
    - London have had good first halfs this championship. I could see a good first half by London creating some panic
    - Cavan defend in numbers but London have some big physical men who can break tackles and win frees
    - London having a 5th Championship game. The upward curve from that should be significant.

I'll go for a big call. Cavan will fail to dig this one out of the fire due to the efforts against Derry and some non-refereeing of Londons physical approach. London 1 - 12 - Cavan 0 -14

The injury situation is fairly bad. Mackey, Alan Clarke, McDermott, Givney, Martin Dunne, Jason McLoughlin and Gilsenan are all carrying knocks. And that's only the lads I'm aware of.

That said, Cavan have a strong panel with a number of subs, McVitty and Argue, performing just as we'll as the starters.

I think London will give us a tough game but you'd have to expect we'll have enough to win it, even if players are missing.

My hope would be to get a good enough lead in the first half that a few can be rested second half.

Cavan once just had to beat Waterford in Breffni to get Division 3 promotion. Waterford hasn't won in the entire league campaign. Cavan lost.

I'm sure Terry will remind the lads of that this week.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Open secret at this stage that Seanie hasn't and will not play for Kevin's in the Kildare Championship - Gaels people expect Seanie to play in the county championship this year. Dunnie was courting him after Armagh game - if you follow any of the Gaels lads on twitter you will quickly see that they want him back. I've heard the Celt are running something this week too.

Would take a lot for some people to swallow to see Seanie back in a Cavan jersey - I haven't made up my mind tbh but imagine a Cavan team with Mulvey and Gearoid McKiernan in!! Would we want/need Seanie??

Do all the Gaels people want him back though? I heard he had split the club and had as many critics as supporters.

I don't think Mulvey would make the Cavan team. He wasn't good enough a few years back so I can't see him being good enough now.

Tom Joad wrote: »

Would take a lot for some people to swallow to see Seanie back in a Cavan jersey - I haven't made up my mind tbh but imagine a Cavan team with Mulvey and Gearoid McKiernan in!! Would we want/need Seanie??

Do all the Gaels people want him back though? I heard he had split the club and had as many critics as supporters.

I don't think Mulvey would make the Cavan team. He wasn't good enough a few years back so I can't see him being good enough now.

Yeah that Waterford game will feature a lot in team talks before the match - hadn't we beat them by 25 odd points down there the year before as well??

Hopefully injuries will clear up - not sure if Terry will be tempted to make a few changes. Would hope he would start with best 15 available as London will make it tough especially early on - its hard to know what shape London will be in after losing Connaught final 6 days previous.