Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Yeah thrilled for Monaghan - feck the begrudgers - two best games of ball this year were played in Ulster - Derry/Down and last night in Celtic Park and Monaghan today winning shows just how competitive it is.

Would be great to see Cavan and Monaghan strong at the same time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

We're 1/25 to reach the quarter finals on Paddy Power!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Taffy Kat

Sorry but Joe Brolly is an awful twit. Was there really a need to take the p*** out of London with those comments?

Taffy Kat wrote: »
    Sorry but Joe Brolly is an awful twit. Was there really a need to take the p*** out of London with those comments?

Brolly is Brolly and twit is one of the mildest words I'd use :) - what did he say about McQuillen? - couldn't quite catch it even when I rewound it :confused:

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Brolly is Brolly and twit is one of the mildest words I'd use :) - what did he say about McQuillen? - couldn't quite catch it even when I rewound it :confused:

My brain switched off from listening to him after his insinuation that London should have just gone out, taken their beating and enjoyed the drink afterwards. London is never going to be the mecca of gaelic football just like Derry is never going to be the holy grail of association football, but athletes putting in time and effort deserve more respect than that kind of crassness.

The guy is a muppet. Really cringed with his comments about Cavan fans being great and sitting with them - after he called Cavan the black death :rolleyes:.

Any word on a location yet folks? I'm in work so would appreciate if someone could post it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

At least Brolly admitted that the best team won. But Cavans best players on the day were Martin Reilly and Killian Clarke IMO. Mackey wasnt himself, although he looked like the 20 min rest done him the world of good when he came on in ET. Clarke put in a great display, and at 19 years of age he can only get better. He got lucky with the pen decision. Thought it was stone wall when at the match, but not as claer a pen as I thought when I seen The Sunday Game last night. Probably was a foul though. But the free that almost won it for Derry was never a foul. Reilly kicked some magnificent scores, and ran all day, even caught a kick out or 2.

No matter what happens for the rest of the year, the County is proud again, for the first time in a long time. An Cabhán Abú

Lemlin wrote: »
    Any word on a location yet folks? I'm in work so would appreciate if someone could post it here.

Still nothing announced - I'm guessing it will be lunchtime at earliest before we hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Lemlin wrote: »

Navan and Casement were "the word on the street" over the w/e from anyone I heard talking about it, but nothing official yet. Croker makes sense especially with London having to fly in, but cant see them putting 3 games on together on Saturday. Parnell Park may also be a "sensible" option, although Gardai/traffic may be the big issues there

Casement Park would appear sensible too. Not far from Cavan, and surely London could fly into Belfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

there was a tripple header for the Hurling qualifiers last year in Semple stadium so its not unprecendented to have 3senior games with possible extra time back to back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Croke Park at 3pm on this Saturday 27th July

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

First senior championship game in the new Croke Park? Good to get some experience of it.

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    great value day out, so long as you are well supplied with sambos by mammy!

stand tickets are available here @25Euro a pop or a fiver for under16s in the lower Cusack:
    http://tickets.ie/event.aspx/gaa-football-all-ireland-qualifiers-rd-4-cav-v-lond-cork-v-gal--mea-v-tyr-croke-park-dublin-27-July-2013/BU5SS

Delighted for London and great for Cavan to get their first run-out in the new Croke Park in Championship football.

Will a lot travel from Cavan for this or will they wait till the next week?

Delighted that we are getting to Croker and only fair to London too. If we beat London the experience of playing in Croker will stand to us - would expect 10,000 Cavan fans to travel..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Finally in Croker, can't believe it 16 years sine that great day.

Hopefully we'll make it 2 times in the one year since 1989? (league semi final and final?????)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Really looking forward to it myself, just a pity the Hill isn't open. It would really add to the atmosphere.

Delighted for London and great for Cavan to get their first run-out in the new Croke Park in Championship football.

Will a lot travel from Cavan for this or will they wait till the next week?

I'd say alot will travel. I've my six tickets booked for the Cusack already.

I'd be interested in going only for the fact that all my Cavan connections are older people who are unlikely to go so I'd be going by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭willabur

First of all I have to saw wow! This cavan team have answered any doubts I had about them in spades. I thought Celtic Park might be too much for them and I was wrong, as close as they were to a narrow defeat they just would not take that as a possible end to their summer and turned it around with the minimum of time to spare.

I was listening to the game on the radio as I am living abroad at the moment. My friends thought I was mental, shouting at my phone, at michael tynan to tell me whether the ball had gone over the bar or not! Unreal feeling.

London next - we should win. Its not arrogant to say so, the bookies have us at an unbackable 1/25. It allows us a run in croke park, allows the lads to get used to match day - I believe so much nervous energy is expended purely in the excitement of playing at headquarters that players feel almost empty when they walk out on the pitch. It is lucky for us london are in the same boat, fair dues to those boys it will be an epic occasion for them all. London playing in Croke Park!! For Cavan we need to just get out with a win and then look to a quarter final where we can concentrate on the game alone and not have the novelty factor of championship football in Croke Park sapping at the legs. Its an ideal scenario.

Such good times, what the summer is meant to be. Hot sun in the sky and the boys in blue kicking football in the months of July and August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,370 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I had a good feeling about the Derry match and felt that Cavan would match them for effort and skill. I just wondered if they had enough belief in themselves and boy did they answer that question.

Great to see and delighted for the whole county and my Cavan friends who have been waiting patiently for so long.

Well deserved and a bit more to go too.
    No team will get it easy against this young squad of players. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Big Congrats to all involved on saturday

brilliant game in a brilliant atmosphere , a last minute decision to go was a wise one ,

croke park here we come

who would have dreamed of it at the start of the year

this batch of lads dont know when they are beaten and that makes me very proud and i hope they get their just reward of and all ireland quarter spot
    we are a far superior outfit to london but they deserve respect or they could be a potential banana skin

i'd like another shot at our noisy neighbours should we reach the quarters

just a heads up to those who cant make it next Sunday, especially in UK and Europe about possible TV coverage for the London v Cavan match.

Premier Sports in the UK has the rights and so far no word yet about whether it will be shown.
    They did show the Leitrim replay live when no Irish network was showing the game so that the GAA community in Britain could follow the game, so it would be far from surprising if the next London game is also shown by them. Theres only a replay of an Australian Rugby game scheduled in that slot so its not clashing with anything.

The channel is available to anyone with a UK sky box (i.e. sky card) and also online streaming. Subscription is 9.99stg per month with a rolling 1 month notice on the contract
    A FAAAAAAAAAAR better deal than the crazy 20US dollar per GAME that its sister company setanta wanted before.

The lads over on the Meath thread are putting a huge emphasis on the fact that they kept with Dublin for 50 or so minutes.

Well, going by that logic, we tested Monaghan until the last kick of the game and they then beat the All Ireland champions so we should be ready for anyone!

In fairness though, going to Derry and getting a result can't be underestimated. We also started the game without our best man marker McLoughlin, our first choice keeper Gilsenen and Niall McDermott who has been a workhorse all year.

The bench was emptied and young lads like McVitty and Argue came on and were fantastic. That's where the better teams excel. Their benches.

We appear to have a serious panel which gives us strength in depth that other teams lack.

16 years of waiting for Croke Park and now we have the chance of it two weeks in a row!

The monaghan captain himself on newstalk earlier said they "got lucky" against cavan in that the ref should have given cavan a free kick to level the game when their goalie overcarried. Thats all water under the bridge - no doubt the lads will use monaghans exploits as a positive going forward rather than mulling over what might have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,370 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

willabur wrote: »
    The monaghan captain himself on newstalk earlier said they "got lucky" against cavan in that the ref should have given cavan a free kick to level the game when their goalie overcarried. Thats all water under the bridge - no doubt the lads will use monaghans exploits as a positive going forward rather than mulling over what might have been.

Cavan would have beaten Monaghan in extra-time that day too I feel.
    Hard done by but have come back very strong and it will stand to them.

I feel cavan learnt a valuable lesson that day, Monaghan played with a serious intensity which I feel rattled our boys into a second half slump which ultimately cost us the game. Their two corner backs were immense that day while mcmanus up top was superb also