Security operation's for funerals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭dubaicentral

Originally Posted by awec View Post
    Can't the family ask his "mates" for a funeral without any sort of paramilitary trappings then?
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    The family had already said before they knew the Gardai were coming that they didnt want a Paramilitary Funeral.

The man knew he was going to die some day. Your reputation whether you are dead or alive is defined by your own actions. Obviously when he was building that bomb he wasn't thinking about his own family and how they might have to suffer because of his wrongdoings i.e the man was selfish.

If you do something wrong in life it has a knock on effect for other people. Of course this should be a deterrent to do bad stuff but some people obviously don't think ahead.

I am fairly certain that as a result of the choices I have made in life there won't be a need for an entourage of gaurds at my funeral if I died in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

Collie D wrote: »
    Well it's quite possible he will get a "Military" funeral with a gun salute and nobody should be allowed walk the streets with a balaclava and an illegal firearm. Maybe a Garda presence will deter that carry-on
    I believe the Israelis call this "collective community punishment".
    Sending goons in riot squads to intimidate those with a different political opinion is the stuff of Zimbabwe.
    Even during the Tan War, the Brits refrained from this despicable behaviour
    Do you ever see Republicans threatening the funerals of their enemies.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

The man knew he was going to die some day. Your reputation whether you are dead or alive is defined by your own actions. Obviously when he was building that bomb he wasn't thinking about his own family and how they might have to suffer because of his wrongdoings i.e the man was selfish.

If you do something wrong in life it has a knock on effect for other people. Hench this should be a deterrent to do bad stuff but some people obviously don't think ahead.

I am fairly certain that as a result of the choices I have made in life there won't be a need for an entourage of gaurds at my funeral if I died in the morning.

Yeah I agree with you there. But this guy was clearly a bad character and did bad things. Why can't others rise above the whole tit-for-tat thing and just give the family some respect that he didn't give to others? It wasn't their wrongdoing, it was his.

Jester252 wrote: »
    Ever wonder that it could be there in order to keep the peace?
    Republican funerals are always peaceful, and have only been violent when attacked by State forces.
    During recent funerals of Dolores Price and Brendan Hughes, the PSNI stayed away, there was no "breach of peace".
    What a ridiculous claim to suggest that Republicans are incapable of burying their family members in peace and need riot squad to prevent violence.

• Administrators Posts: 56,574 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Sending goons in riot squads to intimidate those with a different political opinion is the stuff of Zimbabwe.

What about building a 1200lb bomb because people hold a different political opinion.

Where does that rank on your scale of outrage?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

... if he wasn't guilty of Omagh (big if) he was planning worse when caught!:mad:
    "Ah shure, the dogs in the street knew", "It was common knowledge", "Shure he had to guilty of something", "No smoke without fire" and so on ad nauseum. All the usual auld nonsense and pious platitudes trotted out just like the Daily Wail and suchlike rags.

The man was found guilty of a crime. It doesn't follow he was guilty of all related crimes.

mathepac wrote: »
    "Ah shure, the dogs in the street knew", "It was common knowledge", "Shure he had to guilty of something", "No smoke without fire" and so on ad nauseum. All the usual auld nonsense and pious platitudes trotted out just like the Daily Wail and suchlike rags.

The man was found guilty of a crime. It doesn't follow he was guilty of all related crimes.

You reckon he was building that bomb to put in his garden as an ornament?

awec wrote: »
    What about building a 1200lb bomb because people hold a different political opinion.

Where does that rank on your scale of outrage?
    Thats irrelevent to the topic to be honest.
    Either you respect the right to a peaceful funeral or you don't.
    Would you support Republican protestors turning up at British Army or Loyalist funerals?

Yeah I agree with you there. But this guy was clearly a bad character and did bad things. Why can't others rise above the whole tit-for-tat thing and just give the family some respect that he didn't give to others? It wasn't their wrongdoing, it was his.

And I agree with you to a certain extent, that being that the family should be allowed to grieve privately and not have the media hound them etc(which I don't think is happening)

A mother will love her child and so will family no matter what they do to a certain extent and they do deserve the right to privacy. But if there is a risk of trouble at that funeral even if the family have requested otherwise it is the guards job to keep the peace, otherwise if there was trouble we would have a thread giving out about the guards not being there at a known dissidents funeral.

Thats irrelevent to the topic to be honest.
    Either you respect the right to a peaceful funeral or you don't.
    Would you support Republican protestors turning up at British Army or Loyalist funerals?

What protestors turned up?

Gardai where there to ensure there was no repeat of the disgraceful scenes at the Ryan funeral.

Gardai should be present at all funerals where they feel there is a risk the law will be broken, such as visits from masked men firing guns over a coffin. These people cannot be allowed to flout it when they see fit, they are illegal organisations and should be treated as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I have heard of the garda approaching the family of a well known criminal that died and requesting there not being a funeral as it would cause too much trouble.

".

Can you honestly put your hand on your heart and say that you think he was never involved in any other crime and just one day decided to build a bomb, and I am not suggesting he is guilty of the Omagh bombing just that he may have been involved in crime in general

Okay technically he was innocent and has only been convicted of one crime, but how many crimes were committed and not uncovered.

Like I said he didn't just wake one day and build a bomb compulsively.

What protestors turned up?

Gardai where there to ensure there was no repeat of the disgraceful scenes at the Ryan funeral.

Gardai should be present at all funerals where they feel there is a risk the law will be broken, such as visits from masked men firing guns over a coffin. These people cannot be allowed to flout it when they see fit, they are illegal organisations and should be treated as such.
    The big flaw in your argument is that Gardai were at Ryans funeral in the hours and days BEFORE the volley of shots.
    They were harassing mourners, laughing and joking, and trying their best to put people off from attending.
    They then arrested up to 100 people simply for attending the funeral.
    They also left the murder victim's Mother in deep trauma when armed Gardai bodily searched her during the Wake.
    Thats political intimidation coming from high office.
    Nothing else.

Did you see similar police operations at the funerals of major Drug dealers or Crimelords? Of course not.

Can you honestly put your hand on your heart and say that you think he was never involved in any other crime and just one day decided to build a bomb, and I am not suggesting he is guilty of the Omagh bombing just that he may have been involved in crime in general

Okay technically he was innocent and has only been convicted of one crime, but how many crimes were committed and not uncovered.

He was an unrepentant Republican.
    He was a teenager in South Armagh when the Troubles began.
    I doubt he'd want anyone making excuses for his actions, and he certainly would not have described his activities as "criminal".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

Regardless of how anyone lived their life, be they a paramilitary, drug dealer, waster who never worked or someone who lived a good life and worked hard, the one thing in common is that the grief of their family an friends when they die is all just as real.

Therefore their funerals should be respected and not subjected to provocative actions by anyone, gardai included

They also left the murder victim's Mother in deep trauma when armed Gardai bodily searched her during the Wake.

In fairness that is pretty good thinking from the guards, albeit not pleasant or something that should not happen.

The Guards have to be one step ahead and obviously there was a pre planned gun salute.

From the guards position and the thugs who taught it would be a good idea to have a gun salute the mother was the least likely to be searched or have a gun so I am guessing the guards thought she might have been smuggling it. Would not put it past some of them to burden her with that.

Henlars67 wrote: »
    Regardless of how anyone lived their life, be they a paramilitary, drug dealer, waster who never worked or someone who lived a good life and worked hard, the one thing in common is that the grief of their family an friends when they die is all just as real.

Therefore their funerals should be respected and not subjected to provocative actions by anyone, gardai included
    If someone finds Gardai presence at a paramilitary funeral provocative then that says more about them than it does the Gardai.

I fail to see why anyone would have issue with the Gardai preventing paramilitary displays in public.

You reckon he was building that bomb to put in his garden as an ornament?
    Where did I say I "reckoned" any of that?. Can you not see my post clearly? Are you reading it through eejit-coloured glasses? Is your question stupidly rhetorical or rhetorically stupid?

In fairness that is pretty good thinking from the guards, albeit not pleasant or something that should happen.

The Guards have to be one step ahead and obviously there was a pre planned gun salute.

From the guards position and the thugs who taught it would be a good idea to have a gun salute the mother was the least likely to be searched or have a gun so I am guessing the guards thought she might have been smuggling it. Would not put it past some of them to burden her with that.
    Sure why not launch an air raid on the whole family home like the Israelis do.
    Just to be sure.
    She's the Mother of a murder victim who's son died days previously.
    And you think it's a good idea to send Special Branch in to harass her.
    Any wonder Republicans see the GFA as a sham peace deal.

Where did I say I "reckoned" any of that?. Can you not see my post clearly? Are you reading it through eejit-coloured glasses? Is your question stupidly rhetorical or rhetorically stupid?

Why do you think he was building a 1200 lb bomb?

If someone finds Gardai presence at a paramilitary funeral provocative then that says more about them than it does the Gardai.

I fail to see why anyone would have issue with the Gardai preventing paramilitary displays in public.

Did you support the RUC intimidation of Republican funerals as well?
    They used the same excuse.
    Suppose you're too young to remember those images.
    Why aren't the riot squad visible at criminals and drug dealers funerals?

Why did the Gardai give a motorcade escort to Loyalist paramilitaries during the Queen visit?
    Why did Kenny and Shatter invite Loyalist paramilitaries to share a platform with them during the Royal visit?

The actions and deeds of the State against Republicans have changed no a jot since the Treaty.
    Business as usual.

Sure why not launch an air raid on the whole family home like the Israelis do.
    Just to be sure.
    She's the Mother of a murder victim who's son died days previously.
    And you think it's a good idea to send Special Branch in to harass her.
    Any wonder Republicans see the GFA as a sham peace deal.

You are going a bit over board now. Launching an air raid is a big jump from getting searched or having a garda presence at a funeral.

Also the fact that you bring up Isreal bombing Palestinians is so out of touch with what we are talking about makes me fell that have a hidden agenda and just spurt out any old nonsense and hope it will work.

I honestly can't say because I have no evidence one way or the other. I hate this "technically" bit. If used at all use it both ways. In one case he was found technically guilty, in another he was found technically not guilty because gathering, presenting and evaluating evidence is a technical process.

Why do you think he was building a 1200 lb bomb?
    Because he had no metric scales. Stupid questions etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The big flaw in your argument is that Gardai were at Ryans funeral in the hours and days BEFORE the volley of shots.
    They were harassing mourners, laughing and joking, and trying their best to put people off from attending.
    They then arrested up to 100 people simply for attending the funeral.
    Thats political intimidation coming from high office.
    Nothing else.

Did you see similar police operations at the funerals of major Drug dealers or Crimelords? Of course not.

Nothing to do with the fact that

a) If ye haven't noticed, the Loyalists are a bit frothy at the mouth, they could have attacked, planted a bomb, fúck knows what else,
    2) Maybe some of those arrests were due to outstanding warrents?
    D) Something else?

Fúcking sectarian bolixology. Sick to the fúcking teeth of this, both sides. Yer not fighting for "freedom" or ""The Cause" or whatever banner you're flying. You're up to no good, because there's money to be made, and fúck everyone else.

You are going a bit over board now. Launching an air raid is a big jump from getting searched or having a garda presence at a funeral.

Also the fact that you bring up Isreal bombing Palestinians is so out of touch with what we are talking about makes me fell that have a hidden agenda and just spurt out any old nonsense and hope it will work.
    I'm making the point that you justified searching and harassing the Mother of a murder victim (before the body was even buried) based on the fact that "she was his Mother".
    There is a clear political agenda behind all this action.
    We saw the riot squad at Ruari O Bradaigh's funeral too (an 82 year old retired politician).
    Do you think the riot squad will be at Gerry Adams funeral?
    Of course not.
    There's no political vested interest or gain to be had from it.
    This is a form of collective punishment being meted out to the families and friends of dead Republicans.
    It's an attempt to break the morale and spirit of the families using intimidation and threats.
    Nothing else.

I honestly can't say because I have no evidence one way or the other. I hate this "technically" bit. If used at all use it both ways. In one case he was found technically guilty, in another he was found technically not guilty because gathering, presenting and evaluating evidence is a technical process.

Well you my friend are living a very closed mind existence if you think that he just turned up one day at a farm and started to build a bomb for the craic without any other involvement in crime previously. Building bombs is not exactly a gateway crime.

I get the impression that you are set in your ways so i will bow out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

Its not the presence, its the unwarranted intrusive presence such as what happened at Mr O'Bradaighs funeral where they crowded around the open grave and wouldnt let people near it, until thy were pushed back.

Nothing to do with the fact that

a) If ye haven't noticed, the Loyalists are a bit frothy at the mouth, they could have attacked, planted a bomb, fúck knows what else,
    2) Maybe some of those arrests were due to outstanding warrents?
    D) Something else?

Fúcking sectarian bolixology. Sick to the fúcking teeth of this, both sides. Yer not fighting for "freedom" or ""The Cause" or whatever banner you're flying. You're up to no good, because there's money to be made, and fúck everyone else.
    Money to be made???
    Well, there goes that argument.
    Maybe why Seamus Mc Kenna died working as a labourer on a school roof, as he approached his 60's.
    And no. None of those arrested had outstanding warrants.

Its not the presence, its the unwarranted intrusive presence such as what happened at Mr O'Bradaighs funeral where they crowded around the open grave and wouldnt let people near it, until thy were pushed back.
    Suppose we should be grateful they didn't pour a metre of concrete down the grave and over the coffin like they did at Frank Stagg's funeral in Mayo