Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security operation's for funerals

• 17-07-2013 11:51am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭

In Dundalk today, Seamus McKenna is getting laid to rest after dying in an accident after he fell from scaffolding while repairing a roof at a school in the town.

He was acquitted of all charges in relation to Omagh.

Armed checkpoints have been set up all around the area, Vans full of Riot police were lined up outside Dundalk barracks this morning and the mounted unit are on standby.
    Even a Gardai helicopter is monitoring the funeral FFS

Can they not just let the mans family rest him in peace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Ever wonder that it could be there in order to keep the peace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

In Dundalk today, Seamus McKenna is getting laid to rest after dying in an accident after he fell from scaffolding while repairing a roof at a school in the town.

Armed checkpoints have been set up all around the area, Vans full of Riot police were lined up outside Dundalk barracks this morning and the mounted unit are on standby.

Well it's quite possible he will get a "Military" funeral with a gun salute and nobody should be allowed walk the streets with a balaclava and an illegal firearm. Maybe a Garda presence will deter that carry-on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Intelligence gathering exercise by The State

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Jester252 wrote: »
    Ever wonder that it could be there in order to keep the peace?

Many times traveler funerals in Dundalk end up in fights, pubs smashed up in a certain area of the town.

Should all these funerals get the same treatment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

I am sure that once the mans family and friends keep the peace the Gardai will leave them in peace.
    By the way you forgot to mention the fact that In 2003, McKenna was found by gardai making a 1,200lb bomb at a remote farm in Co Louth. He was sentenced to six years in Portlaoise prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Clearly a preventative measure, the last time someone like that died, there was a shootout at the graveyard on the Newry road.
    Helicopter did wake me though, the bastard. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Show him the same respect that he showed to his fellow human beings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

MonstaMash wrote: »
    Intelligence gathering exercise by The State

Agree. Just let them get on with their job. Its what they're paid to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,654 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I agree. Murderous scum should have the same rights as everyone else. But to be fair, the gardai are, as someone pointed out, officers of the peace. They are there to insure it is peaceful. I doubt they'll be hanging arounf behind the mourners screaming orders at each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Many times traveler funerals in Dundalk end up in fights, pubs smashed up in a certain area of the town.

Many travelers aren't assoicated with a know terror group.

Well done , you just attempted to derail your own thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The assumption in the OP is that the Garda presence is to hassle the man's family.

Looks like the old 'RA attitude of us -v- them never dies, does it?

seamus wrote: »
    The assumption in the OP is that the Garda presence is to hassle the man's family.

Its not an assumption, The pictures of the guards standing beside the priest and all around the actual grave while the burial was taken place is sickening

Not as sickening as the thought of the huge bomb he was assembling when he was caught going off, if he wasn't guilty of Omagh (big if) he was planning worse when caught!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I am sure that once the mans family and friends keep the peace the Gardai will leave them in peace.

Like they did for Ruari O Bradaigh's funeral? This will be another bully boy exercise by the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bambi wrote: »
    Like they did for Ruari O Bradaigh's funeral? This will be another bully boy exercise by the state.

Rory Brady?

Bully away there, state!

Looks pretty peaceful to me:
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BPYAQ2gCAAA6RP1.jpg:large

They're not standing beside the priest and around the grave, you can clearly see the mourners filing past Gardai towards the grave. Gardai for their part appear to be standing quietly and respectfully.

Unless you have other pictures?

I doubt if the state will detonate a 1,200 lb bomb in the middle of them, like McKenna was planning when he was caught!
    For my money the state can bully the hell out of the likes of him to their hearts content.

Looks pretty peaceful to me:
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BPYAQ2gCAAA6RP1.jpg:large

They're not standing beside the priest and around the grave, you can clearly see the mourners filing past Gardai towards the grave. Gardai for their part appear to be standing quietly and respectfully.

Unless you have other pictures?

http://www.thejournal.ie/funeral-ruairi-o-bradaigh-gardai-942709-Jun2013/#slide-slideshow4

Job done

Years ago I attended the funeral of a guy who in a paramilitary. The gardai did everything they could to disrupt and antagonize the mourners. Stopped cars leaving the church to break up the cortege, had a chopper hover right over of the grave so the priest couldn't be heard, had a gangload of gardai behind the mourners sniggering and joking the whole time. I was told the local super actually apologized to the family a while later and said the operation was organised at a higher level.

http://www.thejournal.ie/funeral-ruairi-o-bradaigh-gardai-942709-Jun2013/#slide-slideshow4

Job done

Years ago I attended the funeral of a guy who in a paramilitary. The gardai did everything they could to disrupt and antagonize the mourners. Stopped cars leaving the church to break up the cortege, had a chopper hover right over of the grave so the priest couldn't be heard, had a gangload of gardai behind the mourners sniggering and joking the whole time. I was told the local super actually apologized to the family a while later and said the operation was organised at a higher level.

Good stuff.

The disruption that is. Not the apology.

I doubt if the state will detonate a 1,200 lb bomb in the middle of them, like McKenna was planning when he was caught!
    For my money the state can bully the hell out of the likes of him to their hearts content.

I that meant to be a counter point? Jesus wept

endacl wrote: »
    Good stuff.

The disruption that is. Not the apology.

My word, we have an internet hardmen. A rare breed indeed.

How did you get 'hardman' from that? Smartarse certainly. Another common breed, I'll admit. You need to work on your taxonomy.

? Don't see the issue.

Gardai appear to be keeping their distance from the actual graveside during the burial, the conflicts between them and the attendees possibly indicate that their presence was a good thing.

Jesus wept

If he did it wasn't for the likes of McKenna, more likely his victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Would you prefer them to have been dressed up as "soldiers" wearing army surplus gear and balaclavas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,654 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Not as hard as a bloke who builds a fcukoff huge bomb. Those guys are really tough.

personally, I'd prefer someone who says stuff on the net to someone who kills or plans to kill children. People like McKenna are utter scum and the world is better off without them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

His family could have had a private funeral if they wanted peace and quiet, did you think there would be no garda presence at his funeral?
    Lets make a hero out of him now, send him off in the usual blaze of glory.

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Would you prefer them to have been dressed up as "soldiers" wearing army surplus gear and balaclavas?

Nonononono!

Standard uniform for republican funerals is black slacks (slightly too short), tightly belted under beerbelly, and white shirt, tightly stretched over beerbelly.

Beret and petrol station sunglasses optional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,173 ✭✭✭✭listermint

OP knows full well it was to prevent people shooting illegal automatic weapons in the air.

This was the sole purpose of the operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,413 ✭✭✭markpb

listermint wrote: »
    OP knows full well it was to prevent people shooting illegal automatic weapons in the air. This was the sole purpose of the operation.

It screams of "we were planning on breaking the law by pretending (barely) to be a real army but the spoilsport Gardai turned up and ruined our fun. Boo Hoo.

The family had already said before they knew the Gardai were coming that they didnt want a Paramilitary Funeral.

Anyone on facebook can view photos here https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=541290359239665&set=a.199693743399330.41026.100000761178810&type=1&theater

Now anyone who says they are not standing beside the Priest or the Grave? What have you to say now?

What have you to say now?

I'd have to say 'I don't care'. Paramilitaries had no respect for others in life. They deserve no dignity in death.

Do their family's not deserve dignity at burying a son/father/brother/uncle/cousin?

They do. This is something he did to them. He knew the consequences.

The family had already said before they knew the Gardai were coming that they didnt want a Paramilitary Funeral.

Anyone on facebook can view photos here https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=541290359239665&set=a.199693743399330.41026.100000761178810&type=1&theater

Now anyone who says they are not standing beside the Priest or the Grave? What have you to say now?

Page is not available, even Facebook have some sense, who knew!
    I say fair play to the Gardai, they have obviously learned lessons from that other scumbag Alan Ryans funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

C'mon da town! Up da RA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,203 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

My exact sentiments.
    These people, while they live, show little or no respect for the state, the will, desires or even lives of their fellow citizens, yet the state and their fellow citizens owe them some type of respect in death.
    Bullsh**.
    If this man was somehow responsible for Omagh he deserves to rot in hell, if there is a hell.

Is it some Irish thing where we have to respect the dead even if they were scum during their lives ?
    And I am also thinking of some politicans when I say that last remark.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

Unfortunately, in some cases that is exactly why the Garda are there. At Ruairi O'Bradaighs funeral, a former TD, IRA chief of Staff, SF leader, they (in riot gear) crowded around the open grave preventing the priest or family or mourners from getting near it, they tried to prevent any blessings, prayers or orations. There is no need for that, the police can and should maintain a respectful distance, which still means the graveyard is secure and no shots or anything can happen. At Ruairi's funeral they were shoved back away from the grave.

Older people will remember that the Gardai have a worse record even than the RUC when it comes to funerals, they stole Frank Staggs body and started numerous fights at funerals over the years with unnecessary heavy handed tactics during the heavy gang era

I don't know much about the guy or funeral the OP is talking about but what happened at O'Bradaighs was an utter disgrace, there is no need to crowd around the graveside, they can stand back an keep an eye on things

? Don't see the issue.

Gardai appear to be keeping their distance from the actual graveside during the burial, the conflicts between them and the attendees possibly indicate that their presence was a good thing.

They were shoved back from around the graveside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

They probably shouldn't be by the grave, but.... boo hoo, poor murdering terrorist. My heart bleeds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Play To Kill

They were shoved back from around the graveside

Pity they weren't shoved into the grave and buried with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

The apostrophe is killing me.

Pity they weren't shoved into the grave and buried with him.
    The gardai? They were the ones shoved back

Prodigious wrote: »
    The apostrophe is killing me.

Why? Security operations are for funerals! Unless the deceased wasn't a scumbag.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

To put this in context bad things have happened at funerals.

The probability is low, but the consequences can be serious.

Michael Stone killed three people at a funeral and another two were then killed at one of the their funerals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

Unfortunately, in some cases that is exactly why the Garda are there. At Ruairi O'Bradaighs funeral, a former TD, IRA chief of Staff, SF leader, they (in riot gear) crowded around the open grave preventing the priest or family or mourners from getting near it, they tried to prevent any blessings, prayers or orations. There is no need for that, the police can and should maintain a respectful distance, which still means the graveyard is secure and no shots or anything can happen. At Ruairi's funeral they were shoved back away from the grave.

Older people will remember that the Gardai have a worse record even than the RUC when it comes to funerals, they stole Frank Staggs body and started numerous fights at funerals over the years with unnecessary heavy handed tactics during the heavy gang era

I don't know much about the guy or funeral the OP is talking about but what happened at O'Bradaighs was an utter disgrace, there is no need to crowd around the graveside, they can stand back an keep an eye on things

wasn't stagg buried according to the wishs of his family and disinterred by his RA buddies who did the stealing .

its very clear that the baby killers wanted a pass for the funeral of their boy so that the could shoot some propaganda videos and hold meeting in the pub afterwards , get down off your self live by the sword die by it.
    next thing you ll be wanting the rest of the drug gang scumbags who get poped to be allowed to fire their glocks into the air too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭theSHU

I hope they just throw him into a slurry pit.

wasn't stagg buried according to the wishs of his family and disinterred by his RA buddies who did the stealing .

its very clear that the baby killers wanted a pass for the funeral of their boy so that the could shoot some propaganda videos and hold meeting in the pub afterwards , get down off your self live by the sword die by it.
    next thing you ll be wanting the rest of the drug gang scumbags who get poped to be allowed to fire their glocks into the air too
    No. His bother in particular, and the govt put pressure on some of his family and the plane was diverted to shannon and he was buried under heavy armed guard, while his comrades and most of his family waited at Dublin airport - his own expressed wish was to be buried in the republican plot, which he duely was after they Garda gave up around the clock guarding of his concrete covered grave.

One of the mos disgusting things the southern government did

No. His bother in particular, and the govt put pressure on some of his family and the plane was diverted to shannon and he was buried under heavy armed guard, while his comrades and most of his family waited at Dublin airport - his own expressed wish was to be buried in the republican plot, which he duely was after they Garda gave up around the clock guarding of his concrete covered grave.

One of the mos disgusting things the southern government did

Cork had its own government!:eek: