Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Muckit wrote: »
    Jaysus Redz your the stanfit of hay!! Great machinery there and not a haybob in sight!!

I think the tedder is in a different league to the haybob to be honest muckit, Spreads it way more even and fluffy and it will pick up the sops stuck to the ground that a haybob wont. The rake will definatley pick up those sops too and you dont really want them inside in the middle of a bale of hay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ya haybobs are a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

thats very green redzer, dont go moving them bales for awhile

there wont be any problem with them cause of the weather we got- i baled some second cut silage as hay- pure leaf and put into the shed 3hours after baling- no heating and a lovely smell in the yard

xvd1.jpg

great hay redzer-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

its been a very busy week-silage for the uncle at the start of week, scanning, made some more hay which i got baled this morning- this time last year there was a foot of water on the same ground
    mhko.jpg
    68mi.jpg

blanket spread 30 units nutri- booster as hadnt spread fert in 21days due to weather
    a86e.jpg

and finally got the nursery finished this week-life changer on the way shortly

zyuf.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

just do it wrote: »
    You happy with your parts leg wax? (I know you've posted about them previously but I wasn't tuned into them at the time).

I've been looking through the icbf herdplus mag that came in the post yesterday and noticed in the table on breed averages for terminal and maternal/replacement index parts score well on both traits (on page 80 for anyone that got it). I'd have a concern veering away from the well known breeds as you mightn't have as many buyers from them at the ringside.
    yes i am happy with the calves, as with any stock bull ,he crossed great with some cows and bad with others, if the bad shaped calves were all heifers i would be very happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

stanflt wrote: »
    its been a very busy week-silage for the uncle at the start of week, scanning, made some more hay which i got baled this morning- this time last year there was a foot of water on the same ground
    mhko.jpg
    68mi.jpg

blanket spread 30 units nutri- booster as hadnt spread fert in 21days due to weather
    a86e.jpg

and finally got the nursery finished this week-life changer on the way shortly

zyuf.jpg

Stan you could be sleeping in there before the baby is,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Best of luck stan, it's a great life changer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

stanflt wrote: »
    there wont be any problem with them cause of the weather we got- i baled some second cut silage as hay- pure leaf and put into the shed 3hours after baling- no heating and a lovely smell in the yard

xvd1.jpg

great hay redzer-

grand putting them in that way with air having access all around them, Anytime I have shifted bales of hay from meadows they have being stacked 5 high on ends as I dont have time/space to be restacking or handling etc. Stack fresh green hay and you might as well notify the fire brigade. 12 to 14 days after hay getting stacked inside is the danger period

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Best of luck with the new arrival. Hope all goes well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

DSC_0001_zps944f1df9.jpg

Seriously productive dry spell. Rushes licked about 3 weeks ago, slurry out on top on friday and mole ploughing done yesterday. It's a bit rough. I brough up sod in places. I think I was driving too fast. Lesson learned.

DSC_0005_zps4d04c34b.jpg

This was the weapon. R & M's finest!

DSC_0006_zps69ca8989.jpg

The leg and mole.

Happy camper. It should make some difference to the land when the wet weather comes again.

DSC_0002_zps6a33ef52.jpg

One of my bulls. Feeding him for slaughter rather than breeding.

DSC_0003_zpse8e30fa7.jpg

DSC_0004_zpsf47261d3.jpg

Heifer off a black limousin cow and Millbrook Tanko. She's in calf to THZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭renandstimpy

reilig wrote: »
    DSC_0001_zps944f1df9.jpg

Seriously productive dry spell. Rushes licked about 3 weeks ago, slurry out on top on friday and mole ploughing done yesterday. It's a bit rough. I brough up sod in places. I think I was driving too fast. Lesson learned.

DSC_0005_zps4d04c34b.jpg

This was the weapon. R & M's finest!

DSC_0006_zps69ca8989.jpg

The leg and mole.

Happy camper. It should make some difference to the land when the wet weather comes again.

Hey reilig what you use to pull the mole plough and roughly what depth were you at

15 inches pulled by 97 HP New Holland

Anyone spot anything strange, photo take a little bit ago, before the sun came out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Anyone spot anything strange, photo take a little bit ago, before the sun came out

Time to build up our zombie cow protection?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

It's that odd that I'm a little afraid to post it! Are we both looking at the LHS of the pic? Maybe i'm seeing things:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

The MF and the wagon was the weapon of choice yesterday. and the other pic is the results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Was the wagon able to back up with it?? or how did you buck up?

Muckit wrote: »
    Was the wagon able to back up with it?? or how did you buck up?

I filled it from the back with our own loader, a 1987 MF50ex.The back wall is 8ft high and the landing area is off the top of this. And my dad rolled it with the tractor as it was coming in. We always pack wagon stuff with an extra tractor. The contractors MF is some animal, 220hp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I filled it from the back with our own loader, a 1987 MF50ex.The back wall is 8ft high and the landing area is off the top of this. And my dad rolled it with the tractor as it was coming in. We always pack wagon stuff with an extra tractor. The contractors MF is some animal, 220hp.
    I was just about to ask if he was looking for a good driver :D I'd say there's some purr off it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

8 if them are grazing

I was just about to ask if he was looking for a good driver :D I'd say there's some purr off it!

He drives it himself if the self propelled unit isn't out. There's some gurgle off her with a full load on, she'd be under no pressure at all. My fiancé (who is a townie) doesn't get the fascination I have for this sort gear.

Odelay wrote: »
    It's that odd that I'm a little afraid to post it! Are we both looking at the LHS of the pic? Maybe i'm seeing things:P
    You were exactly like myself when I took that photo. I saw nothing.
    delaval wrote: »
    8 if them are grazing

your nearly right with the number. Picture was taken about 2 to 3 days before I noticed something was up that bunch as they were inhibited with IBR infection. I have often fought IBR in the past but nothing like this time and especially given the temperatures. I lost 6 so far of that bunch of 30 and will loose another 1 if not 2 from the bunch. Around 70% of my cattle would be vaccinate for IBR but usually the young ones outside I dont do. Costly cost saving as it turns out. There is no better way to learn a lesson than being hit in the pocket:). Just goes to show how potent IBR can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

You were exactly like myself when I took that photo. I saw nothing.

your nearly right with the number. Picture was taken about 2 to 3 days before I noticed something was up that bunch as they were inhibited with IBR infection. I have often fought IBR in the past but nothing like this time and especially given the temperatures. I lost 6 so far of that bunch of 30 and will loose another 1 if not 2 from the bunch. Around 70% of my cattle would be vaccinate for IBR but usually the young ones outside I dont do. Costly cost saving as it turns out. There is no better way to learn a lesson than being hit in the pocket:). Just goes to show how potent IBR can be.

Did you treat the intransally?

reilig wrote: »

Great work there reilig. That land looks familiar i.e poached wet land! Seems like you got a great kill with the licker and perfect weather for the mole plough. You have a nice slope down to a trench?

What's the management plan with it now? Roll with ring roller when it softens a bit again, fertiliser etc?

Rush licker coming to me this week, just sorry I didn't get him a few weeks ago although I was plenty busy with other jobs to be done. Rome wasn't built in a day!

delaval wrote: »
    Did you treat the intransally?

came so quick that we split up what looked perfect and what looked in trouble. so had 20 okay and 10 showing signs of dullness etc. all that died were from the 10 group, vaccination was going to be too late so just started treating and soon stopped as we were at nothing. Lead time. 2 im treating at the moment were vaccinated 3 weeks ago after initial outbreak

Grass;)

Bob

Have now read the subsequent posts. IBR - do you think it's an issue for you because you buy in stock? I've never given a respiratory vaccine as it's practically a closed herd, low stocking rate and open sided slatted shed has good ventilation.

just do it wrote: »
    Bob

Have now read the subsequent posts. IBR - do you think it's an issue for you because you buy in stock? I've never given a respiratory vaccine as it's practically a closed herd, low stocking rate and open sided slatted shed has good ventilation.

Its usually easy to pinpoint where a problem come from, but this was a strange one as most of those animals were on farm around 2 months with a few later. all stayed in the one bunch and thankfully problems were confined to that bunch. when cattle are out in a field they would be lowly stocked compared to a shed and max ventilation. Imagine if this happened indoors how many would have gone. Im assuming that there was some animal within that bunch that was a latent infection and shedding a huge load of IBR and maybe not showing sickness herself. Closed herd should minimize the risk but then paddy next door could cause you problems. For the cost of the vaccine I think its madness not to do them, it was just laziness on my behalf and the "its never being a problem before" attitude.

Any chance a BVD animal started it all off i.e. had it under control and then mucosal disease started to develop -> massive jump in IBR virus production -> outbreak? I suppose it possible, but you'll never know the exact cause.

All things being equal in a closed herd is vaccination necessary? Yes if you want to hedge your bets but what about if you're willing to take the hit when a particular virus enters your farm for the first time. Sure you'll have an outbreak and losses but over time herd immunity will build up and hopefully you've a herd with a subsequent better immunity?