Forging a new Union with the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Yes to forging new social/economic links and working in co-operation as equals and friendly neighbours but this is our republic and past generations died so we could say exactly that.... should never even be considered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    given that most or at least a lot of people agree that we have sort of made a bags of the whole independence thing,

Ireland is a very young country so I'm not sure what you're basis the above on. Our economy is in trouble but that too shall pass. The IMF were in England in the 1970s, the Germans have gone bankrupt twice in the last 100 years, etc

You have offered no grounds upon which it would be beneficial opining that the requirement should be for reasons not to do so, a rather illogical viewpoint. Nonetheless I will offer some reasons.

In no particular order:

1. I have no desire to be a subject of an unelected head of state. I have no desire to have 26 unelected Church of England members in the House of Lords with the power to make laws for Ireland.
    2. Our corporation tax would doubtlessly be harmonised in short order, resulting in a huge loss of jobs.
    3. England's annual expenditure continuously grows at a larger rate than the other countries. Scotland is the only country to ever discover oil and get poorer.
    4. It would be a terrible reflection on us. Ah things have got tough, let's give up. I would hate to dishonour those who died fighting for a free Ireland, a free Republic by giving up what we finally (albeit partially) achieved.
    5. I have no wish for members of the Irish Army to be off fighting in Afghanistan and Iraq.

These are just a few of many reasons. Given that it will never happen though, no reasons are actually necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

Since the foundation of the state part our sole foreign policy thinking from an economic standpoint, which is what drives foreign policy , has been to break the link with Britain and look toward Europe. If you look back over the major foreign policy decisions we have taken since independence this becomes transparently obvious. To believe Ireland would enter into any kind of "mutual" union with Britain be that geographical or monetry goes against 80 odd years of us attempting too, and moving past , the perception we had of being an island behind island on the western periphery of Europe. It will never happen. I like being independent yes we have been battered over the past number of years and it will take a while to recover but we will bounce back, we always have and we always will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Where is Britain the mainland for?

Northern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

op obviously doesn't know much about history at all. there are a lot of hero's and great leaders in our history and if we did such a thing as form a union with the uk i feel we might as well be p#ssing on there graves. it really annoys me how so many irish people know little about Irish history. im really proud of our history
    just look up north they have a union with the uk and its all fine and dandy up there lol

Is the basis of your Irish pride completely routed in animousity towards the UK? I find it that way with a depressingly large amount of people here -

What does it mean to be Irish?
    It's means we're not fecking English, that's what it means apparently...

Can we not find something else about our identity to identify with? Musical talent, sporting prowess, the Irish Language, Irish humour? Surely these are more important things than the fact that we're seperate from our closest neighbour? And it's not like we'd be sacrificing any of those things if we rethought the Union...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

maybe scotland and all of ireland should create a kingdom some day, surely it would go down well with northern ireland people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Is the basis of your Irish pride completely routed in animousity towards the UK? I find it that way with a depressingly large amount of people here -

Can we not find something else about our identity to identify with? Musical talent, sporting prowess, the Irish Language, Irish humour? Surely these are more important things than the fact that we're seperate from our closest neighbour? And it's not like we'd be sacrificing any of those things if we rethought the Union...[/QUOT

here is a hypothetical situation for you. imagine Germany approached England about forming a union between the two country's. do you think England would accept. England would just forget and just sweep everything under the carpet lol. I really don't think so somehow.what does it mean to be english ? were not feckin german lol
    i don't hate English people by the way i actually quite like them. however i do hold some animosity towards England as a country.
    op maybe you are quite naive and don't realize what damage England has done to this country. the affects are still being felt today. just turn on yr tv and watch the news.

Can we not find something else about our identity to identify with? Musical talent, sporting prowess, the Irish Language, Irish humour? Surely these are more important things than the fact that we're seperate from our closest neighbour? And it's not like we'd be sacrificing any of those things if we rethought the Union...[/QUOT

here is a hypothetical situation for you. imagine Germany approached England about forming a union between the two country's. do you think England would accept. England would just forget and just sweep everything under the carpet lol. I really don't think so somehow.what does it mean to be english ? were not feckin german lol
    i don't hate English people by the way i actually quite like them. however i do hold some animosity towards England as a country.
    op maybe you are quite naive and don't realize what damage England has done to this country. the affects are still being felt today. just turn on yr tv and watch the news.

Last I checked it was Irish bankers and politicians that primarily fecked up the country.

I just don't get the need for further animousity - the englishmen who mistreated Ireland in the past are dead, their decendents have largely done nothing to our detriment.

The Germany and England comparison doesn't hold water. Ireland and the UK share a language, a locality, much of the same customs, much of the same heritage, populations have historically moved between Islands frequently. Can't say the same about the UK and Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Can't say the same about the UK and GermanyQUOTE]

Except for their royal family;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

It would be great if Ireland were in a Union again with the UK, with rights to live, work, trade, vote......oh right I see now how stupid that sounds because we already are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭FreshTendrils

maybe scotland and all of ireland should create a kingdom some day, surely it would go down well with northern ireland people

Give me the English over the Scots any day.I can't stand those tartan miniskirt wearing yokels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,687 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Give me the English over the Scots any day.I can't stand those tartan miniskirt wearing yokels.

Did your girlfriend go with one of them when they were over for the Rugby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The only Union Ireland needs with the UK is a place to live and work (and have an abortion). Oh and watch better tv for free.

Last I checked it was Irish bankers and politicians that primarily fecked up the country.

I just don't get the need for further animousity - the englishmen who mistreated Ireland in the past are dead, their decendents have largely done nothing to our detriment.

The Germany and England comparison doesn't hold water. Ireland and the UK share a language, a locality, much of the same customs, much of the same heritage, populations have historically moved between Islands frequently. Can't say the same about the UK and Germany.

this is the main reason we share a language

Elizabethan officials viewed the use of Irish unfavorably, as being a threat to all things English in Ireland. Its decline began under English rule in the seventeenth century. The latter part of the nineteenth century saw a dramatic decrease in the number of speakers, beginning after the Great Famine of 1845–1852 (where Ireland lost 20–25% of its population either to emigration or death). Irish-speaking areas were hit especially hard. By the end of British rule, the language was spoken by less than 15% of the national population.

the people of that time are all dead too but unfortunately history does impact the Ireland of today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Mr_Maestro

The reason Ireland and the UK have so much in common is because they tried so god damned hard to destroy Irish culture and it's people.

Did people just stop speaking Irish for the sake of it ? No, it's because they were killed for speaking the language. Irish was outlawed for years. Also many Irish stopped speaking Irish as it was often linked with poverty. Poverty, for the most part, caused by the United Kingdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Ambient Occlusion

Our neutrality is our most important asset and giving that up would be our biggest mistake since Linda Martin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

Let me get this straight, because of the first sign of trouble and just because we are in an economic crisis (as a result of the ineptitude of FF/FG/Labour) just like everyone else, the UK included, you and other people think we should just call it quits and join the UK where,for example, we will be dictated by an undemocratic and sectarian political establishment, (House of Lords?) where the Prime Minister and unelected head of state (Monarch) cannot be Catholics when the majority of people in Ireland are Catholics? Not to mention become embroiled in foreign wars that do not concern us?

Jog the f**K on and take the rest of the people who voted yes with you.

this is the main reason we share a language

Elizabethan officials viewed the use of Irish unfavorably, as being a threat to all things English in Ireland. Its decline began under English rule in the seventeenth century. The latter part of the nineteenth century saw a dramatic decrease in the number of speakers, beginning after the Great Famine of 1845–1852 (where Ireland lost 20–25% of its population either to emigration or death). Irish-speaking areas were hit especially hard. By the end of British rule, the language was spoken by less than 15% of the national population.

the people of that time are all dead too but unfortunately history does impact the Ireland of today.

The fact that we speak English is nothing to bemoan to be honest - we speak an international lingua franca as a first language, what could be wrong with that?

The benefits of that are bloody huge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Some English want nothing more than US citizenship, while certain sophisticated Yanks want to be French, I've heard of a Frenchman who opted for Russian citizenship & some Russians who more than anything else wanted to be British citizens... of course, some Yanks want to be seen as Irish & some Irish long to be Yanks... so I suppose the idea that an Irish person would desire Britishness is not that bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 LuciusPax

OP you seem to be making the assumption that just because an Irish person doesn't want to 'rejoin' the UK that they are immediately a backward Anglophobe who seems to endlessly dwell on how nasty the English are, and how awful their '800 years of tyranny' was. That simply is not the case. The idea of the Irish turning to the English government and saying 'sorry lads we made a mess of our independence, will you take us back? pretty please' is a bizzare one. As many have mentioned Ireland, in terms of it's own independence, is a relatively young nation and so assuming that we have an inherent inability to govern ourselves because of the current economic debacle is a little extreme, and a tad myopic. .

AngeGal mentioned just some of the reasons why reunification with Britain would be a less than stellar move for Ireland. But there are many more.
    AngeGal wrote: »

In no particular order:

1. I have no desire to be a subject of an unelected head of state. I have no desire to have 26 unelected Church of England members in the House of Lords with the power to make laws for Ireland.
    2. Our corporation tax would doubtlessly be harmonised in short order, resulting in a huge loss of jobs.
    3. England's annual expenditure continuously grows at a larger rate than the other countries. Scotland is the only country to ever discover oil and get poorer.
    4. It would be a terrible reflection on us. Ah things have got tough, let's give up. I would hate to dishonour those who died fighting for a free Ireland, a free Republic by giving up what we finally (albeit partially) achieved.
    5. I have no wish for members of the Irish Army to be off fighting in Afghanistan and Iraq.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

Every nation remembers invasions. And starvations.
    The Irish were as capable of screwing their fellow Irishmen as well as the English, and have been doing an even better job of it since 1922.
    As to the OP, we have so much in common re. culture, language, economy-a huge number of Irish live there, and many in the UK have Irish ancestry.
    We do huge trade with Britain, and air travel between both countries dwarfs that from here to others. An economic union would be great, and working together would counter the increasing interference of Eurocrats in our everyday lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

mike65 wrote: »
    The only Union Ireland needs with the UK is a place to live and work (and have an abortion). Oh and watch better tv for free.

Sure move over there so if you don't like living in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

lkionm wrote: »

We are their biggest exporter/importer and vice versa.

Nowhere near it according to this list

http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/datablog/2010/feb/24/uk-trade-exports-imports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

So the solution to any economic or political difficulties is a merger with another country.

Portugal & Spain are both in economic trouble, I think a merger is inevitable there.
    Same with Greece & Italy.
    The Brits & France both have immigration integration issues so may consider merging, possibly throwing in Sweden too given the recent riots there.

Japan & China too might merge, in order to combat the slowdown in GDP growth. At a stroke the economy will be fixed, and all island/territorial disputes will become moot points. They've both matured as nations too, so no need to worry about any previous genocides carried out.

Israel, Palestine and Syria are all greatly affected by war, surely a merger is the way forward there too.....Sysraeltine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

OCorcrainn wrote: »
    the Prime Minister... cannot be Catholic

That's not actually true, but don't let it get in the way of a good rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Our neutrality is our most important asset and giving that up would be our biggest mistake since Linda Martin.

What neutrality? The pretend one Ireland uses for not spending anywhere near enough on its defence forces?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

OCorcrainn wrote: »
    Let me get this straight, because of the first sign of trouble and just because we are in an economic crisis (as a result of the ineptitude of FF/FG/Labour you think we should) just like everyone else, the UK included, you and other people think we should just call it quits and join the UK where,for example, we will be dictated by an undemocratic and sectarian political establishment, (House of Lords?) where the Prime Minister and unelected head of state (Monarch) cannot be Catholics when the majority of people in Ireland are Catholics? Not to mention become embroiled in foreign wars that do not concern us?

Jog the f**K on and take the rest of the people who voted yes with you.

What foreign wars are the UK involved in that Ireland aren't?

The fact that we speak English is nothing to bemoan to be honest - we speak an international lingua franca as a first language, what could be wrong with that?

The benefits of that are bloody huge

nothing wrong with speaking English its just the manner in which our language was lost to a foreign invaders settling in this country. its the same in africa where the french invaded country's such as Algeria and morocco even the congo parts of each of those country's speak french.
    I

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Sure move over there so if you don't like living in Ireland.

A lot of Irish have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

LuciusPax wrote: »
    OP you seem to be making the assumption that just because an Irish person doesn't want to 'rejoin' the UK that they are immediately a backward Anglophobe who seems to endlessly dwell on how nasty the English are, and how awful their '800 years of tyranny' was. That simply is not the case. The idea of the Irish turning to the English government and saying 'sorry lads we made a mess of our independence, will you take us back? pretty please' is a bizzare one. As many have mentioned Ireland, in terms of it's own independence, is a relatively young nation and so assuming that we have an inherent inability to govern ourselves because of the current economic debacle is a little extreme, and a tad myopic..

But it's NOT just the current crisis is it? Every government we've had has been one disaster after another, filled with local gombeen teachers, publicans and lawyers PLAYING statesmen - the stakes are just a lot higher these days, as it's not just our economy we're wrecking, we put the EU at risk too - hence being forced into the bailout. Let's not forget the corruption, nepotism, outright theft that goes on by ALL parties and members too. In fact, I challenge you to name ONE Irish government leader in modern times we can be proud of.

It's not just government either. Take Anglo as a prime example, or in fact ANY Irish-owned/run company you've ever had to deal with. everything is run on the "ah shure it'll be grand approach" when in reality things are FAR from "grand" with the service/value offered by them.

Then you have the Irish people.. obsessed in the "good times" with keeping up with their neighbours new BMWs and holidays, now they sit behind the curtains peering out and wondering what those neighbours might be "getting away with" that they're not. We only object to such things because deep down we wish we had the balls/neck to do so ourselves - our admiration of the "cute hoor" is well known, as is our "ah shure they have little to be doing" attitude to anyone we know being held to account on fraud/strokes etc.

Let's not forget that the first thing we did with our hard-won Independence was trade "the Brits" for the Church - a institution which abused and robbed generations of Irish people and held the social development of the country back for decades.

Then when that influence finally started to diminish, what did we do? We sold our newly rediscovered "freedom" to the EU.. and we know how well that's worked out in the last few years don't we!

The facts are that the Irish seem to have an inherent need to be told what to do as we're incapable of doing things in the interest of the greater good or even just competently in many cases. Maybe that's because of the relative "youth" of the Irish nation, maybe it's because we HAVE spent so many hundreds of years being told what to do.. but either way, it's very obvious that when we ARE let at the controls, chaos and disaster follows!

As for the rejoining the UK argument. I'm in favour of exploring our options yes. I think we have a lot more in common with our immediate neighbours than the rest of the EU and I think we'd get a better deal than we currently are and that we might see some real changes and improvements.

The poll results are no surprise of course, but they do seem to show that thankfully the knee-jerk nationalism is starting to wane and that there are an increasing number of Irish people out there willing to look at ALL of our options with a mature and open mind anyway.