Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 162: Silva vs Weidman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I did think this was sort of bound to happen.

Kind of shocked that he knocked out Anderson, I thought he might submit him. The reason Anderson was taunting him like that is that he's a counter striker and needs the opponent to swing first and then can cut an angle but you could see Weidman was getting closer to him and believed he could knock him out.

Silva was a great champion but all credit to Weidman, a fight with Vitor, assuming Silva doesn't want a rematch, would be very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,403 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Was a very strange fight. Silva looked like he could have taken Weidman in the 2nd round no prob. Great to see him get KO'd for acting the bollix though.

Apparently, someone bet 1 million dollars on Weidman in Vegas and authorities are investigating. Also, Vitor and Bisping got straight onto Dana for a title shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Also, Vitor and Bisping got straight onto Dana for a title shot.

Of Course they did. Now that Silva is dethroned the division is again wide open. Would love to see bisping get thrown to silva for his return match though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,403 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Of Course they did. Now that Silva is dethroned the division is again wide open. Would love to see bisping get thrown to silva for his return match though

HAHAHA Yeah, hey Mike, you can't go straight into a title shot, look, just fight Anderson first and then Weidman is aaaaallll yours mkaaayy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

welkin wrote: »
    lol!
    ireland maybe but the whole of Europe you say after one fight in the UFC, lmao.

Right, after a bit of thought, THE #1 european prospect in the last 2-3 years could be argued (Gunnar Nelson, for example) but he's certainly top 5, probably top 3.

And I've seen him before his UFC fight, he's terrifyingly good and has a record of battering guys who have been touted as the ones he'd fall to.
    McGregor is the real deal and with his vicious style and overwhelming personality, there's no way the UFC can sit on him if he keeps his winning streak going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

McGregor is the greatest prospect to come out of Europe in recent years, he's on a long winning streak and is finishing guys quickly and in killer fashion.

He's not going to drop down the pecking order based on a few tweets responding to fans.

Let's not get hyperbolic about the guy just because we're from the same country as him. He hasn't beaten anyone notable to make him immune from any backlash and most of the world outside of Ireland don't know he exists yet.

He's on a one fight streak in the UFC, which is really all that's relevant to him right now. One fight on a prelim.

Dana likes him so he's been given a fight on a big card, because he's Irish and the Irish have a lot of goodwill in the US (notably Boston, if you don't believe that's the reason and he's there on talent and merit alone). He can either take that break and get opportunities quickly, or alienate fans and have to go the hard route (which could mean being forced to take riskier fights lower down the card). If he continues to mouth off to fans and lose any goodwill he might have because he's Irish...which way do you think he'll go? If you're Dana, what way would you use the loudmouth talent who alienates your fanbase and hasn't done anything particularly impressive yet? Especially when there's another talented Irish prospect in the exact same division...

And if you think just 'a few tweets' don't matter, Dana offers bonuses for good social media work. It's a big deal to the UFC for keeping fans engaged. Using your social media presence to lose fans, when the only saleable asset you have is your likeability, isn't a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

weidman took silva down easily in the first and only gave up top position to go for a submission , he stuck to his game plan and let anderson act the idiot until he let his guard down and BOOM , goodnight
    would like to see a rematch with belfort v munoz for a number 1 contender spot on the same bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

sheehy83 wrote: »
    HAHAHA Yeah, hey Mike, you can't go straight into a title shot, look, just fight Anderson first and then Weidman is aaaaallll yours mkaaayy
    Alright Mike here's what we'll do, We'll take your title shot and hype you up as number one contender against silva
    tumblr_mh1yybp16y1rlo1q2o1_500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Wow managed to avoid all spoilers until I'd seen the fight this morning, what a surprise I got :D

Anyone else think there was an air of ..... relief maybe? to silva after the fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

calex71 wrote: »
    Wow managed to avoid all spoilers until I'd seen the fight this morning, what a surprise I got :D

Anyone else think there was an air of ..... relief maybe? to silva after the fight?

I can't help but think that Silva had it in his mind to lose the belt on sat. he seemed relieved after as if a weight was lifted off his shoulders.
    machida didn't pick a winner for the bout and that's Andersons training partner.

I also listen to the showdown Joe weekly podcast where silva was interviewed a few days ago . When asked what the perfect finish to the fight, he stated it was him losing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Gilbert Grape

Check out this interview before the fight,listen to what he say's round the 5 min mark,think he is tired with the ufc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 mwin80

I can't help but think that Silva had it in his mind to lose the belt on sat. he seemed relieved after as if a weight was lifted off his shoulders.

totally agree. the fans will never really know the full extent of what's going on behind the scenes and what the current mindset of a fighter is. I think, as a fan, you have to look at the whole picture and then read between the lines to fill in the gaps for yourself and, for me anyway, looking at things he said in interviews before the fight, body language, how he was during the weigh-ins and after the fight etc, I can't help but think that he was ready to lose the belt that night. I'm not saying he went out and threw the fight or anything like that but i get the impression that he was fed up and tired and was ready to lose, if the fight went that way, and ready to move on to his next challenge or project - whatever that might be. I don't think we saw a fully focused/motivated Anderson Silva on Saturday night - maybe that's not even the right way to put it but there was definitely something different about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,440 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The more I think about it, the more I find it so so weird that Anderson Silva isn't MW Champion anymore.

He's been Champ since Rich Franklin for God Sake! I mean, he was Champ when Liddell fought Ortiz for the second time. The same card which had Andrei Arlovski v Pé de Pano! THAT'S how long he's been champ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

leggo wrote: »
    Let's not get hyperbolic about the guy just because we're from the same country as him. He hasn't beaten anyone notable to make him immune from any backlash and most of the world outside of Ireland don't know he exists yet.

He's on a one fight streak in the UFC, which is really all that's relevant to him right now. One fight on a prelim.

Dana likes him so he's been given a fight on a big card, because he's Irish and the Irish have a lot of goodwill in the US (notably Boston, if you don't believe that's the reason and he's there on talent and merit alone). He can either take that break and get opportunities quickly, or alienate fans and have to go the hard route (which could mean being forced to take riskier fights lower down the card). If he continues to mouth off to fans and lose any goodwill he might have because he's Irish...which way do you think he'll go? If you're Dana, what way would you use the loudmouth talent who alienates your fanbase and hasn't done anything particularly impressive yet? Especially when there's another talented Irish prospect in the exact same division...

And if you think just 'a few tweets' don't matter, Dana offers bonuses for good social media work. It's a big deal to the UFC for keeping fans engaged. Using your social media presence to lose fans, when the only saleable asset you have is your likeability, isn't a good idea.
    Every bit of that post was horse shhitt He's easily one of the top EU prospects if not no.1.
    He has a lot of fans in USA as well I've been reading a lot of other forums from EU and USA and a lot of people are talking. He's a big rep already from only having one fight.
    He hadn't done anything impressive?
    Haha are u having a laugh he KO,d a guy 3-0 in the UFC in just over a minute.
    And get ur facts right cos the other so called prospect your referring to is LW and Judging by his fight Saturday Conor would put him to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

...Sigh. I wasn't bashing McGregor, I'm saying that we shouldn't get hyperbolic about a guy just because he's from our country and happens to be good.

On a UFC scale, he's yet to do much except show he's - as you said - a good 'prospect'. Compared to you or I? Yes what he's achieved is impressive. But so far he's won one prelim (albeit in style). That's a fact. The rest is predictions and optimism until he shows otherwise (which he could very well do, I'm not saying he can't/won't...just that he can make life harder for himself by alienating fans over issues that have nothing to do with him. Especially when he looks like a bit of whinger because people are rightfully laughing at his idol for making a ho-lee show of himself on pay-per view. At the very least he's showing the public, not to mention his bosses, that he's sulky, immature and perhaps not ready for the limelight).

Yes Parke competes at LW, but you missed the point I was making: that Parke can fight at FW if Dana really wanted an Irish guy in that division, i.e. McGregor isn't irreplaceable based on his current 1-0 UFC record.

So step back and look at the actual facts before you get drunk on patriotism and start making over-the-top statements about a guy who has potential but has only, in the real world, won one UFC fight thus far. If you want to get locked and go screaming from the rooftops about a guy from the same country you come from, by the way, you may want to have a look at cycling. There's a bandwagon filling up there after Dan Martin won a Tour De France stage yesterday. Meanwhile I'm going to stay here in reality and not overrate guys on the basis of one win, just because they happen to live on the same island that I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭bret69

But anyway...

I've been wondering how much of an impact Weidman's reach advantage had on the outcome. Silva not only doesn't usually give up a reach advantage but actually tends to have a considerable one on his opponents. If you look at his last five title defenses, he usually had a considerable reach advantage..Silva's 77.6 compared with

Sonnen (twice) - 74
    Yushin Okami - 72
    Vitor Belfort - 74
    Demian Maia - 72

Whereas Weidman has a 78 inch reach, certainly helped in landing that shot that ended an era!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,836 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Another possibility is that just before the KO, Weidman threw two right hands that missed; one hook and another half assed swinging punch while bringing his hand back, both of which Silva dodged with head movement before being hit with the left. Maybe the two right hands were something so unorthodox that even Silva didn't expect the follow up coming from the left?

Btw, I know sweet FA about the intricacies of striking, so I'm open for correction. Just an observation that I made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

bret69 wrote: »
    But anyway...

I've been wondering how much of an impact Weidman's reach advantage had on the outcome. Silva not only doesn't usually give up a reach advantage but actually tends to have a considerable one on his opponents. If you look at his last five title defenses, he usually had a considerable reach advantage..Silva's 77.6 compared with

Sonnen (twice) - 74
    Yushin Okami - 72
    Vitor Belfort - 74
    Demian Maia - 72

Whereas Weidman has a 78 inch reach, certainly helped in landing that shot that ended an era!

Very interesting observation, Silva is also able to utilise his reach like few others. I'd like to see Weidman fight again soon. Bisping is not someone I want to see fighting Weidman straight away, I'd like Silva to fight him first, and mangle him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,416 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Ush1 wrote: »
    The reason Anderson was taunting him like that is that he's a counter striker and needs the opponent to swing first and then can cut an angle...
    Thats horse****.
    He is a great counter striker, but its not his only offense, he doesn't need anything. He could of engaged without the taunting.
    Another possibility is that just before the KO, Weidman threw two right hands that missed; one hook and another half assed swinging punch while bringing his hand back, both of which Silva dodged with head movement before being hit with the left. Maybe the two right hands were something so unorthodox that even Silva didn't expect the follow up coming from the left?
    Two right hands isn't paticularly unorthodox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Mellor wrote: »
    Thats horse****.
    He is a great counter striker, but its not his only offense, he doesn't need anything. He could of engaged without the taunting.

How could he deflect from the fact he'd just got the head beat off him, this is what he does when he either doesn't want to engage or is hiding the fact he's just been bashed, deflection.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Thats horse****.

It's not horse****. It's the same in any of his fights where the opponent won't engage. He makes them swing and miss. The reason the Maia fight was a joke was because Maia was waiting for Anderson and Anderson for him. Exact same in the Griffin fight and Bonnar but he goaded them into coming at him. Silva actually works himself up trying to get them to go first getting more and more animated.

His only actual initiation against Weidman was some kicks from the outside.

interesting that weidman has since said that silva was saying to him 'dont wrestle , we need to keep this standing ' in the octagon . he got his wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Jizzear

One thing people arent mentioning is that anderson going forward and initiating an attack exponentially increases chances of him being taken down....im pretty sure after the 2 min weidman was on top with the couple of decent strikes and sub attempts that silva didnt want to be there no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,416 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

cowzerp wrote: »
    How could he deflect from the fact he'd just got the head beat off him, this is what he does when he either doesn't want to engage or is hiding the fact he's just been bashed, deflection.

I fully agree that's what he was doing. The heel hook was pretty close and he took a few big shots. He need time to recoup. And acts as if it was nothing.
    Ush1 wrote: »
    It's not horse****. It's the same in any of his fights where the opponent won't engage. He makes them swing and miss. The reason the Maia fight was a joke was because Maia was waiting for Anderson and Anderson for him. Exact same in the Griffin fight and Bonnar but he goaded them into coming at him. Silva actually works himself up trying to get them to go first getting more and more animated.

His only actual initiation against Weidman was some kicks from the outside.

He didnt want to engage with Weidman as Weidman is a high level grappler. I don't disagree with that.
    I was disagree with the fact that he can only counter strike. He was good enough to outstrike Weidman without counter striking and without showboating.

Tbh, I thought the initial showboating that got Weidman to try an strike was genius, or woukd if been uf ge left it there. But he took it far too far. Fine line between genius and insanity, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

I cant take MMA quite as seriously as before after watching the Silva fight particularly on a betting medium*. Still good, anything can happen i suppose. His performance in that fight took something away from it and im not even a big Silva drooler.

*Especially on a betting medium when Jon Jones broke his toe, imagine if that was between rounds and was spotted, Chael would have won. Nah just going to watch it for the craic from now on hard to bet seriously with stuff like this than can happen and wondering whos on PED's or not or how much or not.

I fully agree that's what he was doing. The heel hook was pretty close and he took a few big shots. He need time to recoup. And acts as if it was nothing.

He didnt want to engage with Weidman as Weidman is a high level grappler. I don't disagree with that.
    I was disagree with the fact that he can only counter strike. He was good enough to outstrike Weidman without counter striking and without showboating.

Tbh, I thought the initial showboating that got Weidman to try an strike was genius, or woukd if been uf ge left it there. But he took it far too far. Fine line between genius and insanity, etc

I never said he can only counter strike, I'm saying that's what he wanted to do. He wanted to counter strike with the high level grappler, similar to the Maia fight.

Weidman also said he landed a shot on the ground and saw his eyes roll back in his head. Weidman believed he could knock him out and so did his corner by the sounds of things.

ufc162_11_weidman_vs_silva_025.jpg
    great shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Locomotion

Am I the only one who doesn't want a rematch to happen? At least not immediately anyway?

What happens if Anderson wins the rematch? The middleweight division will be closed again since Anderson has beaten all contenders. And anyone who he hasn't fought (e.g. Bisping, Rockhold) can't seem to win that crucial No.1 Contenders match so it would be difficult justifying a title shot for them.

If Silva won, the only solution would be a trilogy fight with Weidmann again surely?

Wasn't anyone else happy at the prospect of Anderson not fighting for the belt anymore and thus re-opening up the MW division to Belfort getting another shot? Maybe Bisping finally getting a shot? Jacare? Rockhold?

I'd like to see Anderson fight Weidmann again some day but while we have a chance for him now to fight a few special attraction matches (e.g. Diaz, Evans, Jones, GSP) without the burden of holding up the MW division, wouldn't it be more interesting to hold off on the rematch for the time being?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,836 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Whatever about an eventual rematch, Silva doesn't deserve an immediate rematch. It wasn't a close decision. It wasn't a controversial stoppage. He got knocked the F out

A match between Weidman and Jacare would be awesome