Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,576 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, there's two possible scenarios here.
    We did not see what happened before, so it could be that there was a traffic stop and this guy nearly ran down an officer (or genuinely didn't see him)
    OR
    There where some Gards sitting in their squad car and they're after finishing their breakfast roll, lucozade, yorkie bar and ice cream. Now they're bored, maybe they watched Lethal Weapon last night and they want a bit of action.
    Votes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Well, there's two possible scenarios here.
    We did not see what happened before, so it could be that there was a traffic stop and this guy nearly ran down an officer (or genuinely didn't see him)
    OR
    There where some Gards sitting in their squad car and they're after finishing their breakfast roll, lucozade, yorkie bar and ice cream. Now they're bored, maybe they watched Lethal Weapon last night and they want a bit of action.
    Votes?
    Either way I think this was way OTT - I wouldn't like that to happen to me and they wouldn't do it to a robbed car/serious criminal because they know they would have been rammed off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

double GG wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=347075742087783

Anyone see this yet?

This isn't me, I simply seen it on Facebook and thought I'd post it up.

Just me or does he sound like he has had a few?

MugMugs wrote: »
    Just me or does he sound like he has had a few?

Could have but I think it sounds like nerves to me - I know I'd be shaken and nervous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭flazio

dickwod1 wrote: »
    Could have but I think it sounds like nerves to me - I know I'd be shaken and nervous.
    I think Mugs meant the Guard :rolleyes:
    Anyway, I do think the guards should have at least indicated the driver to stop before that brake slam move was imposed.

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    I think Mugs meant the Guard :rolleyes:
    Anyway, I do think the guards should have at least indicated the driver to stop before that brake slam move was imposed.

No, I meant the Bora Driver.

He slurred his words and became quite pronounced a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Anyone else cop the white smoke from the nearside rear tire of the squad car ? Very overkill if you ask me, and if the lads comments on facebook are true I do hope he follows it up with the Ombudsman.

Anyone else cop the white smoke from the nearside rear tire of the squad car ?

Yep half-assed attempt at a hand braker from this overzealous wannabe joyrider Garda ... you can almost see him rolling over the bonnet like in T.J. Hooker style cop shows on TV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Yep half-assed attempt at a hand braker from this overzealous wannabe joyrider Garda ... you can almost see him rolling over the bonnet like in T.J. Hooker style cop shows on TV

If they were trying to end a pursuit then I wouldn't see any problem with such a maneuver, though not very wise as any joyrider would of just drove right into them, but that lad was clearly not leading them on a chase or trying to get away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

rameire wrote: »
    id like to see the whole two minutes before the Gardai pulled him.

To prove the two of them being arsholes. Probably a good idea cause I can only see one arsehole in that video.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

If you follow the white road line marking on the right of my bonnet before it/on the roundabout/after it you will see that I gave the cyclist a wide berth - Its hard to tell with the You tube stabilization but I did slow down too (if you look at the brown section of road where the cyclist is you will see it)
    So I actually had my foot on the brake and was prepared to stop just incase he done anything even more stupid and also I gave him a little beep when I seen he wasnt going up onto the island to let him know my position on the road

Read my posts again, I'm on your side of the argument :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

josip wrote: »
    Sorry if it wasn't obvious that my post was tongue in cheek.
    I'll try to put in some signage the next time to make it more obvious.

You'd be surprised at how many people aren't tongue-in-cheek about their claims that 'cyclists don't pay tax'.
    HurtLocker wrote: »
    Put simple if cars had no reg plates I'd be scared for everyone's safety. If they didnt have regs at light traffic times they are one of the reasons that stop people crashing lights. If cars had basically complete anonymity like cyclists have the alot of ROTR would go straight out the window for some drivers like cyclist currently do. I've never seen a car break lights at roundabout guess who I have witnessed? I don't think cyclist should have registrations but heavy on the spot fines for disregarding rules.

I don't think anyone is suggesting that cars should complete anonymity. However, any suggestion that the current registration system stops car drivers from breaking lights is laughable. Just stand at any junction in any city and watch the 1-3 drivers that scoot through after the green has changed to red.
    Means they could be stopped by Gardaí and given fines for breaking red lights. It's easier for a guard to issue a fine than go to court. If a cyclist knows they are liable for a fine, it may make them think before the break lights etc.

Gardai can fine cyclists today for breaking lights. A colleague was fined €80 last year for this. If we believe that cyclists breaking lights are a major problem that needs to be fixed, this can be fixed today, with no changes in legislation and no extra bureacracy. Gardai just need to take action. Even the act of causing such cyclists a 5-10 minute delay will have a significant impact on this.

TherapyBoy wrote: »
    Read my posts again, I'm on your side of the argument :)

I know no probs, I was just clarifying the situation :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Cops probably had a checkpoint for a reason. If you don't stop at a checkpoint when told to, what do you expect! (I would bet my left ball he was told to stop, as I couldn't see cops going to that much effort for no reason whatsoever.)

Checkpoint could have been set up to catch lads who just robbed a place, kidnapped someone, shot someone. Who knows. They were told to stop once which caused the cops to react like this. You expect them to ask politely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Hardly any need for the hard stop was there?

BX 19 wrote: »
    Hardly any need for the hard stop was there?

Who knows? We can't see the full extent of the footage which instantly makes me suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Who knows? We can't see the full extent of the footage which instantly makes me suspect.

Your right! He has the footage, but will only post a picture of the checkpoint, not the actual video!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭rat catcher

Anyone else cop the white smoke from the nearside rear tire of the squad car ? Very overkill if you ask me, and if the lads comments on facebook are true I do hope he follows it up with the Ombudsman.

yea been looking at it myself, think the handbrake was used just before it stopped :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Yea true. Does look like he was slowing down. Would like to see the entire vid before making any conclusions though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

He says in one post, a passenger had let off an Air horn, and an unmarked Garda car was behind him pulling him over, he does appear to be slowing down, but doesn't look to be making a move to stop,without knowing the full story no one can make judgement, maybe he'd been reported for something, or a similar car was tied to a crime.

Sometimes a hard stop is required, the circumstances may have necessitated it.

It appears our injured party's story is weakening somewhat.

He has committed to uploading the full clip this evening.

Here's the part Shane_ef has referred to
    i will be honest the passenger let off a small air horn going beside but thats no way to stop someone plus the the unmarked mondeo was pulling me over first so i was starting to slow down nice and easy getting ready to stop when ZOOM SKID OH **** SLAMMING THE BRAKE PEDAL and da fuq lol

In other news, this young lad is making use of a GoPro as a Dash cam. I jested about this earlier into this thread but didn't think anybody would! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭scoobydoobie

If there was a need for that kind of maneuver, i dont think the second guard would have put his hands in his pockets and nearly fallen asleep on his way over to the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

It's up to the Gardai to behave in a professional manner at all times, pulling handbrakers isn't being professional :mad:

Here's the link to the GSOC http://www.gardaombudsman.ie/complaints.htm

IF all the video is available then a complaint should be made about both the 'signal to stop' :confused: and the handbraker :mad: , no matter whatever else transpired before.

I was told once that it was 'an offence to ignore a Garda' - no such offence exists :rolleyes: There is an offence of 'failing to obey the instruction of a Garda' but he had not said that to me. I had it on video and included it in my complaint to the GSOC ;)

( Once you complain to the GSOC that complaint stays on the Garda's personnel file for the rest of his career ! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Yet another "maybe this green become greener?" driver. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,039 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

joujoujou wrote: »
    Yet another "maybe this green become greener?" driver. ;)

If you tried hard, you would make it as well behind him :D
    Anyway - they should introduce "conditional left turn green arrows" like on the continent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

CiniO wrote: »
    If you tried hard, you would make it as well behind him ;)
    Nope. :p
    CiniO wrote: »
    Anyway - they should introduce "conditional left turn arrows" like on the continent.
    That would not work, as something well beyond understanding level for many. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Any comments on the dogs driving skillz? :D

Dingatron wrote: »

I thought you were going mental ... till the end - even had the window side sunburnt arm/pawh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

I thought you were going mental ... till the end - even had the window side sunburnt arm/pawh :D

I thought the same :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Dingatron wrote: »
    Since both "hands" were out the window what was he steering with? :eek: