Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is actually wrong with incest?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Incest also covers parent-child sexual relationships, and clearly that should not be allowed under any circumstance.

As regards brother sister, its still pretty disturbing for the majority of people, but if anyone ever brought a constitutional case on the point they might be able to challenge it. Of course, the fact that no one ever has shows just how unlikely such a scenario is in reality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

Thats quite enough tinternet for this week, later you sick ****ers, see yous next week!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

My sister is ugly.

Mine on the other is HOT with a sweet sweet ass. Sucks to be you Mr. C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Barrel

What is actually wrong with incest? ... your ma! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

Lams wrote: »
    So basically your argument boils down to "it feels wrong". To plenty of people homosexuality "feels wrong". That clearly isn't good enough justification.

By your rationale and belief system its not, by mine it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Billy Bob agrees with you, OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

That's absolutely vile. Nothing would get rid of a ladyboner as quick as the thoughts of my brother with no clothes on, vile, jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Axe Rake

Anyone else feeling wincesty?

• Site Banned Posts: 59 ✭✭Lams

WumBuster wrote: »
    By your rationale and belief system its not, by mine it is.

Ok so if enough people find homosexuality disgusting does that make it wrong?

returnNull wrote: »

Why weren't they both put on the sex offenders list?

Edit: She was 17 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I'm dragging this from memory but only universally incest taboo is between son and mother. Older women are less likely to be able to have children and it threatens the survival of the species. Incest is not wrong because its jucky but because it threatens survival of the future generations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

thats the measure of society, whatever the masses find unacceptable is by definition wrong, but society is an ever changing paradyme thankfully. what wrong today is ok next year and vice versa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

The taboo against incest is probably innate. Some people feel the same about homosexual acts when they first hear about them. However disregarding your inate feelings and disregarding the fact that most people won't do this what is the rationale for opposing two siblings who - say - didn't grow up together but met in adulthood getting married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

returnNull wrote: »

I suspect it's more common among readers of "The Sun" than it is in the general population.

Eugh!

Zen65 wrote: »
    I suspect it's more common among readers of "The Sun" than it is in the general population.

Eugh!

Incest is traditionally upper class.

Ah lads seriously, what the actual fcuk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

my sis is a ride but i wouldn't ride her,i've thought about it a lot,had a few peddles about doing her but i defo defo wouldn't ride her.......i think.

Anyway op is a sicko......actually op is a total troll.

Sick Cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CuriousG

This PC world has gone crazy...

For the last time we are not talking about homosexuality we are talking about incest. why do you keep bringing it up. I cant really make comparisons on two things that are entirely different from each other. It dosent reinforce your argument at all.

Ack this debate is moronic. It's not a debate. Its people saying WTF. Or ugh.

It also shows that liberalism and reason are just bywords for mostly received ideas. We are no more liberal than 1972 or 1634. We just spout the new belief systems, which are liberal(but we are not), without understanding them.

The present belief system is supposed to be libertarian on sexual mores - it's not the states job to police 2 or more people's couplings, however disgusting some people or traditional religion sees their activity.

So - why are people opposed to two sisters who meet later in life getting it on?

(I've used females siblings because nobody can argue the genetic issue, and "later in life" because people brought up together aren't attracted and otherwise there could be a fear of pedophillia, particularly if one was older. )

In this case what do people think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Is the OP from Rathkeale by any chance?

Sorry, couldn't resist ;)

WumBuster wrote: »
    For the last time we are not talking about homosexuality we are talking about incest. why do you keep bringing it up. I cant really make comparisons on two things that are entirely different from each other. It dosent reinforce your argument at all.

Of course it does. It's 2 people having sex in either case. You need to explain - given society has forbidden both - why only one should remain forbidden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭lightspeed

ok thats it, that will do it.

This is gonna be the last time in a long time im visiting after hours.

There a serious debate to be had here OP but best not in AH. Try politics or philosophy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

CuriousG wrote: »
    This PC world has gone crazy...

Buy a mac.

• Site Banned Posts: 59 ✭✭Lams

meeeeh wrote: »
    I'm dragging this from memory but only universally incest taboo is between son and mother. Older women are less likely to be able to have children and it threatens the survival of the species. Incest is not wrong because its jucky but because it threatens survival of the future generations.

Does homosexuality threaten the survival of future generations?

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Why is incest bad? Just because the media etc portray it as taboo, does not mean it's bad.

The only reason I would condone incestual relationships is if the the relatives choose to have a child, this is unfair as it is likely the baby may develop deformities. Only in this scenario is it a crime. Just like rape, murder etc are all crimes because they impose a negative cost to society and the individuals involved. Otherwise, I really don't mind if a brother and sister decide to have sex.

Take a step back and think about it for a second, you only think it's wrong because you're told it's wrong. Incest was practiced for hundreds of years in the royal family. Many indigenous tribes still practice it, because they aren't exposed to media etc telling them what's right or wrong. They act on human nature, and frankly, incest is a desire most humans share. Hence, the abundance of incest themed porn produced. Even freud himself said young boys fall in love with their mothers, and young girls fall in love with their fathers. It's human nature, so why condemn it. It's not harming anybody.

I really don't understand why consensual incestual relations are illegal either.

Just look at the genetic makeup of some of our ethnic minority natives! First cousing marrying first cousins, then their children marrying, and so on. Not incest in the strictest sense, but it gives you an idea of what I mean. Others have mentioned dilution of the dna. It leads to many health problems. When breeding with animals, you would NOT use such a close relative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Why is incest bad? Just because the media etc portray it as taboo, does not mean it's bad.

The media's portrayal in this case is simply a reflection of the view held by the vast majority of the human race. Everybody rejects non-consensual sexual relations, whether incest or not, for good reason which I'm assuming we all agree with.

I think the arguments against consensual incest need to be seen as having several strands, whereas the argument for consensual incest really only comes down to one.

Against:

As many contributors have pointed out, the anthropomorphic rationale behind having sex is to reproduce, and reproducing within a family line increases the chances of genetic disorders. Through evolution then, we are conditioned to find people who overly-closely resemble our own physical traits to be unattractive. This evolutionary taste arises because the genetic characteristic of preferring dissimilar traits in mates has lead to more successful breeding among those who share that preference.

So why do we still find sexual relations between family members unacceptable even if there will be no offspring (e.g. sterilising the man or woman does not make the act more palatable)? Well for a start, our evolutionary conditioning still applies, and so we tend to instinctively reject any characteristic which does not promote successful breeding. This might be why we may sometimes have instinctual tendencies to reject homosexuality, disability, or ugliness. The instinctive biases against homosexuality were given inappropriate weight through the development of Religions, with associated "laws" that are allegedly God-given, but are in fact simply a regurgitation of the instinctive views of right & wrong that existed for thousands of years.

However, whereas the instinctive (and/or Theistic) rejection of homosexuality can be overcome by rational thinking (along the lines of "where's the harm?") and experience (homosexual people do not exhibit any greater level of anti-social behaviour than heterosexuals, so there is no evidence to support the idea that it is "a wrong committed by wrong people"), the same is not usually true of persons practising incest. People in a society are expected to be able to interface appropriately with peers, and develop normal relationships with them, but people practising incest are likely to have poor relationship abilities outside the family (and often, even inside the family). People in incest relationships will not therefore be able to demonstrate that they are as normal as anyone else; they will have behavioural traits that are considered unsociable.

Sociable people engage with wider circles of friends and choose suitable mate from that wide pool of genetic material, whereas an incest relationship is chosen from a small circle of contacts and does not (usually) involve the development of wider social skills. Since we find unsociable people less attractive, we equate their activities with their traits. In summary then, we consider incest to be bad even in "safe" cases because the people who practise it have predominantly unsociable personalities.

For:

For a consensual incest relationship to initiate, both parties need to find their own traits attractive above other traits. So the argument in support of the relationship is "we find each other to be attractive, and in our situation nobody is being hurt by it".

Society does not accept this as a logical, justifiable argument. That it may be harmless in certain situations (e.g. legal age adults with no prospect of having children) is not a sufficiently strong argument to allow us to condone the relationship. The argument is flawed on many levels, so we are unlikely to ever accept it as being reasonable.

So Op, in short, leave your sister alone.

Z

Of course it does. It's 2 people having sex in either case. You need to explain - given society has forbidden both - why only one should remain forbidden.

First and foremost its ****ing disgusting to most people. Does that make it completely wrong? who knows.. but If it wasnt wrong, everybody would be doing it.There would be no need to go down the pub chasing tail you could just shack up with your sister/mother and reproduce. There are people who tried it in the past but how did that work out? Homosexuality dosent threaten the human race as the people who practice it are in the minority.