Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

just do it wrote: »
    7oh9.jpg

I'm a bit disappointed that there is still water logging so close to the new tile drain. It was placed in the wettest spot so it was poached which is obvious from the photo. I hope it is just the poaching that is causing the water retention and that when I've this sorted the drain will perform as it should.

Give it time for the compaction and the water table to drop. This time next year that ground will be bone dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Figerty wrote: »
    Give it time for the compaction and the water table to drop. This time next year that ground will be bone dry.

Or maybe you might do as del boy said and "This time nest year we will be millionares" Jdi and then you wont give a **** whether the water drains or not..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

7oh9.jpg

I'm a bit disappointed that there is still water logging so close to the new tile drain. It was placed in the wettest spot so it was poached which is obvious from the photo. I hope it is just the poaching that is causing the water retention and that when I've this sorted the drain will perform as it should.

A great article in the journal this week on a west clare farmer draining peat land. He put in connaught agripipes a few years ago in a separate paddock with bottomless peat and I've heard they're working well. The mole plough perpendicular to the drain above seems to be the advice. Treat this drain as a collector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

A great article in the journal this week on a west clare farmer draining peat land. He put in connaught agripipes a few years ago in a separate paddock with bottomless peat and I've heard they're working well. The mole plough perpendicular to the drain above seems to be the advice. Treat this drain as a collector.
    Reilig has been saying this all along, in fairness.
    The connaught agri pipes are not proven over time though. New enough idea. Will they end up getting blocked?

pakalasa wrote: »
    Reilig has been saying this all along, in fairness.
    The connaught agri pipes are not proven over time though. New enough idea. Will they end up getting blocked?
    I really shouldn't have mentioned the connaught agri-pipes in my post as that's not the drainage type featured in the journal. The article is about a shallow drainage system using collector drains 15m apart feeding into an open trench. Then mole drains perpendicular to the collectors are the key. The soil profile is 8-12" of peat on top of clay, like the photos of mine I've posted here over the last few months.

The connaught agri-pipes were installed in a seperate bog field 3 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rfhtyz800vli5tb/2013-06-19%2019.41.04.jpg?m

I hope this link works with Dropbox.

Here's the current Landlord, around 2 yrs old, by Alcazar out of a Sylvain cow. Needs every bit of length he has, but is very thick and easy calved, bringing calves like himself thick, with nice quality. Happy with him, except...........We have his full brother from this spring (who I put up a Pic of a while back) who is a smasher, and it's likely we'll replace this chap next spring with the young pretender.
    For the record we had talked about using a crossbred bull (Ai Lim X BA/CH cow) but he got lame and we moved him on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

2 calves off Stock Bull. It's our second year of calves off him and we are really impressed. Easy calving, but great ends and muscle appearing after 3 to 4 weeks. He's a 5 star bull off a french embryo. Star figures didn't lie in this instance! Calf on left is 8 weeks old, calf on right is 5 weeks.

DSC_0059_zps42693202.jpg

February Bull calf off CH Stock Bull and a Limousin Heifer alongside a 2 week old BB bull calf off a CH cow and SFL.

DSC_0060_zps4e248ee6.jpg?t=1372013287

18 month old pedigree heifer off Milbrook Dartangan and a Neuf Cow - just gone to the bull (THZ - Towthorpe Dubai)

DSC_0061_zps39f5e9b6.jpg?t=1372013260

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Reilig you will be a happy man after selling that white bb bull he is a smasher . They are all great looking cattle fair play

moy83 wrote: »
    Reilig you will be a happy man after selling that white bb bull he is a smasher . They are all great looking cattle fair play

The white calf in the first pic is actually a ch off our stock bull. He's off a LIMxCH cow. Probably more valuable than a BB the same size. Calves seem to be doing well this year - a combination of lots of grass and cows in pretty good shape despite being fairly restricted on straw over the winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

reilig wrote: »
    The white calf in the first pic is actually a ch off our stock bull. He's off a LIMxCH cow. Probably more valuable than a BB the same size. Calves seem to be doing well this year - a combination of lots of grass and cows in pretty good shape despite being fairly restricted on straw over the winter.

When you are selling the two of them will you tell us who got the best price and if there was much in the difference ?
    Are you using much of Millbrook ? I reckon he is one of the best limo bulls on the go at the minute

moy83 wrote: »
    When you are selling the two of them will you tell us who got the best price and if there was much in the difference ?
    Are you using much of Millbrook ? I reckon he is one of the best limo bulls on the go at the minute

Not using Milbrook at all these days - they are too hard calved. People don't want pedigree bulls off them either because calving % has gone up quite a bit in the last 2 years. Can't fault Milbrook as I never had a problem with him, but you have to try to breed to what the market demands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Well, be Jayzus Reilig, there's hope for us all. Great stock there, without doubt, and some great rushes as well:P Proves you don't need to be in the Golden Vale to produce quality stock.
    Bet, Bob Charles and co, will say that grass is useless, blah, blah, blah.
    But, look at the stock coming off it, and being reared on it:cool:
    Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The white calf in the first pic is actually a ch off our stock bull. He's off a LIMxCH cow. Probably more valuable than a BB the same size.

A good charolais is hard bet as you well know. Will be plenty of hands waving when he goes into the ring. Hardly a need for you to go into the box, he'I sell himself!! ;)

My own situation is in total contrast. Have a Dec born bull that looks more like your few week old heifer! He'I be fattened for the factory, at least I won't be halter training this back end!

Well, be Jayzus Reilig, there's hope for us all. Great stock there, without doubt, and some great rushes as well:P Proves you don't need to be in the Golden Vale to produce quality stock.
    Bet, Bob Charles and co, will say that grass is useless, blah, blah, blah.
    But, look at the stock coming off it, and being reared on it:cool:
    Well done!

Plenty of grass on it. It's reclaimed bog that was done in October 2011. It hasn't been dry enough to go back in there with the digger to finish it up since then. I seeded it with the bucket and in March I spread a couple of bags of fertilizer with the bucket. It's only 5 acres, but 10 cows, 10 calves and 2 heifers have been on it for the last 10 days. Hope to get out on it with the licker in the next few days and keep those rushes under control.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 43 orchardfarmer

Before_zps2a4faece.jpg
    After2_zps05cbfe60.jpg

After1_zps90fbaa75.jpg

my before and after had to pull the tractor out of it this time last year

God the bit of drainage and the disc made a rousing job of it altogether;)

Muckit wrote: »
    God the bit of drainage and the disc made a rousing job of it altogether;)
    yea shes in good order, the wet weather meant it was pure hardship getting the drains backfilled, but it was well worth it now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

what breeding is your bull Reilig,seems to be breeding super stuff,AI standard

Orchardfarmer.
    No doubt great to see the improvement after all the work. What kind of soil structure was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

50ACC6E7_zpsff2e794c.jpg

There's one for the IFJ calendar! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

Putting the finishing touches to the new bale pad/roadway. Will store silage bales on this for the winter and then use as a road for exiting the meadow field above in the spring when spreading slurry.

Base layer of rough gravel and daub, blinded off with fine sand.
    Not solid enough to drive much on now but this time next year it will be like concrete.
    Only cost was our own time and diesel as the materials were all river spoil
    left behind after the OPW cleaned the river 50 years ago :-)

tsud.jpg
    vlgq.jpg

Orchardfarmer.
    No doubt great to see the improvement after all the work. What kind of soil structure was it?
    soil structure is completely different at either side of the field. the near side had a nice coarse well draining sub soil, solved the drainage problem fairly handy. it was the very far side of the field (as you look at the photo) that was the main problem. soil structure very poor, thin layer of topsoil on top of blue gley and then a layer of pure rock. the rock meant i could not put in deep drains to lower the water table, had to work with shallow shores instead. i have me own digger so i also stripped the top soil off, increased the fall into the drain and then put the topsoil back over. i had some spare topsoil from another job so i also put it on top. its a bit soft yet but im guessing it will take a few months to tighten up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

yea shes in good order, the wet weather meant it was pure hardship getting the drains backfilled, but it was well worth it now!!
    did you spread a bit of seed after the disc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

Bodacious wrote: »
    50ACC6E7_zpsff2e794c.jpg

picture postcard stuff.... make a nice framed pic imo

did you spread a bit of seed after the disc?
    not yet - as i said i put new topsoil on half it, some of which was a 5 year old dung heap which had rotted down nice but would still be full of weed seeds! sitting tight now waiting for the weeds to sprout and then going to hit them with roundup and then sew some seed. takes a bit of patience but ive been working at it 14 months now, another 2 weeks wont make much difference!

Milton09 wrote: »
    Putting the finishing touches to the new bale pad/roadway. Will store silage bales on this for the winter and then use as a road for exiting the meadow field above in the spring when spreading slurry.

Not solid enough to drive much on now but this time next year it will be like concrete.

tsud.jpg
    vlgq.jpg

Smashing looking job. Ye took ye're time deciding what to doo with the spoil! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

Smashing looking job. Ye took ye're time deciding what to doo with the spoil! :D

Cheers, we were never known to rush into things :)

Ah no, this is on a few acres that I bought about 3 years ago, left neglected for years I'm still trying to get on top of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Set up a few paddocks in a 20 acre field today, going to turn 20 cows and calves into it in the morning. First time ever grazing paddocks here so will be interesting to see how it works. Grass is getting a bit strong so will probably cut half of it in a few weeks time. Left the paddocks about an acre in size.

photo_zpsf24fe2c1.jpg

A few nice bits of ass from the highland show :D

photo_zps7c67d1dc.jpg

photo_zps7234807e.jpg

photo_zps8b1051c5.jpg

photo_zpsdd34f5cd.jpg

photo_zpsdc541cfa.jpg

Milton09 wrote: »

tsud.jpg
    vlgq.jpg

Could you not just have used the road to the left?! :confused::pac: