Travellers have just moved in up the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

old hippy wrote: »
    Treat people like muck, marginalise them - well, it's hardly surprising some of them will act up, isn't it? A vicious circle, sadly.

It suits them to be marginalised and operate outside the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

I remember a time when some of our nomadic brethren sneaked into and parked up their caravans in a popular local wooded area that was a very popular walking area. They made sh*t of it. It had to be specially cleaned when they finally got rid of them and the public wouldn't go near the place for ages.

Throwing your excrement, dirty nappies and general refuse all around an area is a disgrace. Clothes went missing from washing lines, property was stolen left right and centre and there were a lot of missing animals too as I recall. If loathing people who behave in a scummy and sub-human manner makes me a bigot then so be it.

A knac*er is a knac*er and I mean that word in the sense of it being someone who is fit for nothing and no use to society. There are many valid reasons why people don't like or trust them and there aren't many settled people who'd want them in their immediate vicinity.

But that's their culture, and thus sacrosanct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭jonon9

Personally I call them the human equivalent of rats! Anywhere they go they make a mess of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Squaredude

March right into the middle of they're camp and find the biggest one of them and knock him out,then ride his woman.You'll gain so much respect that you'll be instantly given the title "king of the travellers". Problem solved!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Rabies wrote: »
    I agree. So we can give sh!t to the ones that illegally occupy the land, perfect.

Are there many Travellers occupying your land in Auckland? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,360 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Slurry sprayer needed.

Squaredude wrote: »
    March right into the middle of they're camp and find the biggest one of them and knock him out,then ride his woman.You'll gain so much respect that you'll be instantly given the title "king of the travellers". Problem solved!

That's the solution, is it? Violence and rape?

Wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

You are literally tarring a group of people with the same brush? How exactly are you to not be taken as a bigot? The term tinker is a derogatory bigoted term and your entire post stinks of prejudice.

I really hope that pun was intended, but you´re way to high up on that horse for puns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

That's the solution, is it? Violence and rape?

Wonderful.

I think that was a joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭WrigleysExtra

I have come across a number if travellers over the years and I think they're all a bunch of thugs. They don't think normal everyday rules apply to them. Yes I'm sure there are nice and respectful travellers out there but I have yet to meet one. As far as them setting up close to your house I would say lock your doors, get a guard dog for when you are not there and prepare to clean up all of the rubbish and crap they leave behind.

briantwin wrote: »
    Old hippy,

How many itinerant groups have setup camp within a stones throw of your house? People generalising about a topic like this is not going to stop because you point it out.

Why not develop a counter argument based on your own experiences?
    Even better, actively seek out members of the travelling community and invite them into your home for a nice cup of bovril and an ould natter. Once that's out of the way , why not ask them to move into your front garden for 2 weeks....feck why not make it 3 weeks.

People have garnered their attitudes about the itinerants from personal experience and from experiences of friends and family. This is opposed to sitting around sending out positive vibes into the universe and expecting everyone else to do the same.

I've had dealings with Travellers, official and unofficial. I've been to Pavee Point functions in the past and I've interviewed spokespersons. I felt no need to invite them into my home for bovril or a natter but that's not what this is about, is it? :confused:

And I don't know what this positive vibes business is, either? Perhaps you could enlighten me how that works?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

ebbsy wrote: »
    Slurry sprayer needed.

Ok this, whilst a funny image, is a tad overboard.

I wouldn't approach them whatsoever OP, be it with good intentions or bad. Let the authorities deal with them. As someone else said, no matter what you do or say, you'd be afraid of retribution from a gang of travellers. Unfortunately I've seen the damage a 'visit' can do when some are stood up to.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I think that was a joke...

We've regressed a bit since the likes of Swift, in that case. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

jonon9 wrote: »
    Personally I call them the human equivalent of rats! Anywhere they go they make a mess of things.

thats not very nice.... I had pet rats before, they are actually really nice pets :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Treat people like muck, marginalise them - well, it's hardly surprising some of them will act up, isn't it? A vicious circle, sadly.

Ah here, you really think travellers act like they do because it's expected of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭fathead82

We had a similar problem a few years ago,around 8 caravans,dogs,horses,a few goats all moved in up the road from us. They were the bad type who were always wondering into our yard looking for drums of water or my personal favourite was "howya boss,have ya seen a brown goat?".
    We all got sick of them so the neighbours spread slurry in the field beside where they were parked,sending a fair bit of it over the hedge,they were all gone within 2 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

the term settled community annoys me

I agree. I prefer the term Stayeller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

Quite a lot of ignorant posters in this thread. Lived in the rathnew/wicklow town area for approximately 20 years of my life, anybody that lives in this location will be able to verify that we've had our fair share of experiences with travellers. I'm an open-minded guy and give everyone a chance but it is certainly not the minority giving the majority a bad name here, all but one group of travellers had a largely negative impact on the locality, one family were a joy to have and contributed greatly to the local GAA club and helped with the tidy towns thing.

The other groups (10 + at this stage) brought a wave of crime, dirt and a fear that is hard to convey in words. There was a particularly nasty group over from England about 3/4 years ago that committed horrendous crimes and were eventually dealt with by the ERU, anyone from the area will be ale to verify this. Landlords around the area have been hit with bills of thousands and thousands in court costs and clean up bills and it's not fair. Having to resort to pay someone 3k in cash to move of the property you worked hard to buy and then having to deal with the state its left in is ridiculous. IMO, residing like this on someone elses property should warrant a jail sentence and I say this from seeing the mental states of some landlords whos properties have been destroyed whilst pleading with the council and gardai to help them.

krudler wrote: »
    Ah here, you really think travellers act like they do because it's expected of them?

I belive that if you treat people like ****, constantly put them down, shun them, marginalise them, advocate all sorts of violence and mayhem to them - it's hardly surprising that some will behave badly.

I'm not making excuses, as I've said before - I've had good and bad experiences with the Travelling Community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

I belive that if you treat people like ****, constantly put them down, shun them, marginalise them, advocate all sorts of violence and mayhem to them - it's hardly surprising that some will behave badly.

I'm not making excuses, as I've said before - I've had good and bad experiences with the Travelling Community.

All those joints at Woodstock ruined you man. You need to balance out by taking testosterone.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

krudler wrote: »
    Well to be fair there is an element to what OH is saying. Marginalisation feeds itself on both sides. It can be both an advantage and disadvantage to the marginalised group. The disadvantages are obvious, the advantages less so, but present. EG accusations of racism/culturalism etc to deflect from the real on the ground issues surrounding the marginalised group. While the "burn them with fire" types are to be abhorred, all too often pointing out the real issues within the culture are lumped in with that.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Anyone who defends travellers moving into land like this should be forced to sell their current home and move into a house near by the illegal haulting site.

It wont be long before they have the same opinion as the rest of the country.

I have had zero good experiences with the travelling community.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

some people have a ridicules idea of travellers and how they live and operate , the fact is that the vast majority of members of the traveling community are involved in some degree of criminality that's just a fact. its a part of their culture, and always will be , there is a minority who aren't involved in criminality , it seems any one who points that obvious and easily provable fact( randomly pick ten travellers and check to see if they have a criminal record verse ten non travellers) is immediately a racist. which is rubbish.
    as to the ops problem heard tell of a problem like that solution was a local farmer and a slurry spreader full of nice moist cow sh!t . worked a treat, also if they are English over for their holidays they wont be there long, and for those who will label me racist I do know many travellers and have daily contact with both those and other minority groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Every single family bar one. At this stage, I've met only 4 travellers out of well over 60, through work and through personal life, and those 4 were the only ones that worked. The rest are criminals, illegally parking at the Louisa Bridge carpark, on the side of the road near the Leixlip to Celbridge interchange, and leaving the CC to spend thousands fixing up the sites that they leave behind.

It seems that they are allowed to trespass and litter with little fear of persecution, so IMO, their caravans should be crushed if illegally camping, and they should be either sent back to where they have listed as their "home address", or put into whatever place the council puts them (anywhere in the country) I'm sick of hearing of half empty halting sites, as X is in a feud with Y, so decide to illegally camp rather than settle their differences???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I've had a few encounters with the lovely travelling community.

I feel for you OP. I hope your situation is quickly and promptly resolved.

Where I work, The car park is located next to a travelling community of some description... nothing but trouble..

In fact, I've had to fork out recently on a new windscreen on my car.. Good luck in trying to get compensation from them!

tin79 wrote: »
    All those joints at Woodstock ruined you man. You need to balance out by taking testosterone.

An excellent contribution to the discussion, thank you.

Anyone who defends travellers moving into land like this should be forced to sell their current home and move into a house near by the illegal haulting site.

It wont be long before they have the same opinion as the rest of the country.

I have had zero good experiences with the travelling community.

Well, then. That negates your suggestion, then, doesn't it? And for the record, I'm not advocating an illegal take over of someone's land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

That can't be the entire reason though.

It can't be normal to have to avoid certain bars as the "travellers bar" for fear of getting the **** kicked out of you.
    If i'm walking down the street and i pass by a group of travellers, is it normal to have them roar abuse in your face for fun and jollies?
    I've yet to see a single "temporary halting site" aka trespass, left in a decent state when they leave. It's always a mountain of trash, rubble heaps, gutted dishwashers.
    And then there's the inevitable wave of crime that follows them around, and i refuse to believe that people other than travellers are following them around exploiting this belief.
    Then there's the horseandcart road racing, where they race down dual carriageways (down the wrong side of the road, search youtube).

I have yet to meet one who acted with any degree of normality and respect for the people, property, locality. Why do you think they deserve respect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Now lets watch Ballykissangel for a solution OP. It'll make things easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The general consensus on Dale Farm around AH was that it was OK to evict 80 families who had been living there for 10+ years and sending their kids to a local school.

The general consensus seems to be it is a Bad Thing for familes to have moved onto this site and that various intimidations should be used to get them to move.

So, they should not stay in one place nor should they move.

Slow hand clap.