Travellers have just moved in up the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

OP in all honesty I can think of far worse types to have living beside you....child abusers, gang members, drug dealers etc.

Of course some travellers are criminals, just as some settled people are but you can not and should not generalise based on one bad experience.

If this family are genuinely causing you trouble then I would suggest you call the council and the Gardai.

If not just live and let live.

Don't waste time panicing about things that haven't yet and may not ever happen.

*posted from my parents house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

OP in all honesty I can think of far worse types to have living beside you....child abusers, gang members, drug dealers etc.

Of course some travellers are criminals, just as some settled people are but you can not and should not generalise based on one bad experience.

If this family are genuinely causing you trouble then I would suggest you call the council and the Gardai.

Don't waste time panicing about things that haven't yet and may not ever happen.

Drug dealers that are members of a criminal organisation with a high instance of child abuse and incest, that thankfully doesn't sound like any group of people relevant to this thread *phew*
    In fairness to the OP if he'd said he was upset because a former sex offender moved in next door you could still rattle off the same worn platitudes about generalising and preconceptions. If we were all honest, the travelling community due to a small number of people have garnered a bad reputation for antisocial behaviour, theft and general filth. Its with this in mind that you can't help but see that the OP through similar past experiences is trepidatious about his new neighbours. Anyone saying he is complaining without cause really has never experienced the torture caused by trouble making travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Im sure everyone having a go at the OP would be the first people going over to welcome their new neighbours and offering them to come over for a cup of tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I remember a time when some of our nomadic brethren sneaked into and parked up their caravans in a popular local wooded area that was a very popular walking area. They made sh*t of it. It had to be specially cleaned when they finally got rid of them and the public wouldn't go near the place for ages.

Throwing your excrement, dirty nappies and general refuse all around an area is a disgrace. Clothes went missing from washing lines, property was stolen left right and centre and there were a lot of missing animals too as I recall. If loathing people who behave in a scummy and sub-human manner makes me a bigot then so be it.

A knac*er is a knac*er and I mean that word in the sense of it being someone who is fit for nothing and no use to society. There are many valid reasons why people don't like or trust them and there aren't many settled people who'd want them in their immediate vicinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

The devaluation of their house has just occurred for starters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

You are literally tarring a group of people with the same brush? How exactly are you to not be taken as a bigot? The term tinker is a derogatory bigoted term and your entire post stinks of prejudice.

I'll happily agree with you...when I meet one who proves me wrong in my biggoted opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Calling the Gardai is the worst thing you can do, and these people know it. At the very least their dog will end up poisoned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Jason Todd wrote: »
    What's wrong with 'tinker'? I thought the 'k' word was the bad one. Someone told me that tinker came from the tinkerman, people who would pass through places buying and selling tin and other metals? :confused:
    There's probably people that think If I Were A Carpenter by Tim Hardin is more offensive than any NWA album.
    If I were a carpenter
    And you were a lady,
    Would you marry me anyway?
    Would you have my baby?

If a tinker were my trade
    would you still find me,
    Carrying the pots I made,
    Following behind me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

FTA69 wrote: »
    Use that term in front of Travellers and you won't be long being corrected.
    What do they call themselves?
    AgileMyth wrote: »
    I'd imagine you're better off living close to them.

Even a dog knows not to shit where it eats.
    But the "bad" travellers don't know this...
    The travellers will quickly get the message.
    They'll move, and come back later at night. Retribution is something you have to be wary of if your house doesn't have wheels...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I smell a big fat wedding on your cards OP !!!!

We can say we knew you before you had your own show on Channel 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

the_syco wrote: »
    What do they call themselves?

Travellers. They also refer to themselves as Pavee i.e. "is he Pavee?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Yep and i would maybe keep any valuables at a friends house for the time being. And keep your dogs safe. Not joking.

Good luck to you if you can find a Garda to go into a halting site looking for your property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

You are literally tarring a group of people with the same brush? How exactly are you to not be taken as a bigot? The term tinker is a derogatory bigoted term and your entire post stinks of prejudice.

Fvck them. They want to illegally occupy land. I'll call them whatever I want.

How does Nomadic Scum sound?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

OP get onto the local politicians, I'd recommend SF as they wont be too chicken to actually talk to the travellers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Good luck to you if you can find a Garda to go into a halting site looking for your property.
    They will depending on the area and the Gardai involved, but often avoid it in my experience. Can be a tremendous waste of time for them as either nobody knows anything or things get heated, or accusations of police intimidation are thrown about. Plus even if they get evidence it can be hard to make it stick.

EG a year or two ago a neighbour of a good mate of mine had his dog stolen by Travelers(Firhouse in Dublin). He went to the site and demanded the dog back and got it back(fair play). However a couple of nights later a shotgun blast tore into his door for his trouble. This is a guy with a wife and kids in the house. The Guards showed up and took evidence, but basically the inference was "shure what can you do". This was reported in a couple of papers and I do have a link in the sprawl of links on my PC(leave it with me).

Dog napping is a very large problem in Ireland and many hundreds of dogs get stolen each year and little is done about it. Often ransoms are asked for. 20 dogs a day by one gang in Co' Kildare. You may note no clear mention of the members of the community involved for fear of accusations of bigotry but plain to read between the lines. The usual thing of we don't treat property crime harshly enough, though I don't see my dog as property and if anyone tried to take him from me I would genuinely swing for the bastards.

The plain fact is while Travelers are not a cartoonish homegenous group there is a disproportional amount of criminality, antisocial behavior and detachment from the wider society in their community and in many aspects of their culture. There are many elements to their culture that are at odds with wider society and not in any sort of good way. EG at the height of the "boom" 75% of adult male travelers were unemployed and in receipt of state benefits. Eh WT everliving F. Something is queer wrong with that. To deny these things is taking liberal thinking beyond daftness, just as suggesting all Travelers are criminals is taking right wing thinking beyond daftness. Either way I personally would not be happy with an illegal(as they almost always are) encampment showing up in my neighbourhood for a multitude of very good reasons borne out by experience and reality on the ground.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rabies wrote: »
    This pretty much. IF you have a community that openly rejects the mores and laws of the community at large then respect from the community at large is hardly likely to be forthcoming.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

The Op has every right to complain,its not one camper as he mentioned,and f knows how many more will come if action isnt taken.those arent people who work fair days work,they are scum from generation to next-minority my a$$ these people live of society that pays taxes rent bills and work to support themselves.While these knuckleheads dont pay any taxes collect any scrap they can and move around like pests.
    So as someone suggested if you are up for them, go ahead join their group and invite them to stay in your back garden.
    It doesn't take much to understand what crowd these people are,look at council houses in every town that were built for them,its like walking trough demolition site with trash and crap all over the place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Rabies wrote: »

How does Nomadic Scum sound?

We're all nomads, to a degree. Look at your own location, for starters.

You can wager that any of the bleeding heart PC brigade are just contrary argumentative keyboard warriors with nothing else to do and no experience with the criminal elements in the travelling community..

And you'd lose that wager. Far too many generalisations on this thread.

old hippy wrote: »
    We're all nomads, to a degree. Look at your own location, for starters.

I've been settled for 7yrs and pay my taxes here :D
    Haven't left a broken fridge by the side of the road yet.

Use a fishing line, put a €50 on the hook, leave it outside your driveway and when a traveller spots it, reel it in to around the back of your house. Hey presto, he's on your property, acting aggressive (?), so you are well within your rights to blow the f*cker away :D. Might be a bit tricky to get away with if you live in a semi-d.

Another classic low for AH. Up there with the "sterilise skangers" thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Another classic low for AH. Up there with the "sterilise skangers" thread.

Have you an opinion yourself on this topic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Wibbs wrote: »
    The plain fact is while Travelers are not a cartoonish homegenous group there is a disproportional amount of criminality, antisocial behavior and detachment from the wider society in their community and in many aspects of their culture. There are many elements to their culture that are at odds with wider society and not in any sort of good way.

They could work on their PR, big time. Certain press releases from the likes of Pavee Point and recent youtube stunts with sulkys seem to consistently rub the settled culture the wrong way up.

To be fair to PP in a radio interview lately, they do condenm and disassociate themselves from any criminal behaviour, but I don't think wayward travellers would pay much attention to any such pious exhortations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the term settled community annoys me

omahaid wrote: »
    Have you an opinion yourself on this topic?

Yes, I do. It's been well documented on many other similar threads on the Travelling community. I abhor the hatreds and generalisations that are constantly regurgitated on these "conversations". I think that people have a right to protect their land without demonising all Travellers. And I've had good and bad experiences with Travellers. Like any other section of the community.

Do you have an opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I heard that pavee point spokesman on newstalk a few months back. His basic spiel was that negative attitudes towards the travelling community were entirely a product of the settled community's persecution and marginalisation of travellers. He acknowledged virtually no culpability on the part of travellers as architects of their own reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Bertser

the term settled community annoys me

Agreed, settled traveller is the most annoying oxymoron out there.

I heard that pavee point spokesman on newstalk a few months back. His basic spiel was that negative attitudes towards the travelling community were entirely a product of the settled community's persecution and marginalisation of travellers. He acknowledged virtually no culpability on the part of travellers as architects of their own reputation.

Treat people like muck, marginalise them - well, it's hardly surprising some of them will act up, isn't it? A vicious circle, sadly.

Yes, I do. It's been well documented on many other similar threads on the Travelling community. I abhor the hatreds and generalisations that are constantly regurgitated on these "conversations". I think that people have a right to protect their land without demonising all Travellers. And I've had good and bad experiences with Travellers. Like any other section of the community.

Do you have an opinion?

I agree. So we can give sh!t to the ones that illegally occupy the land, perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Old hippy,

How many itinerant groups have setup camp within a stones throw of your house? People generalising about a topic like this is not going to stop because you point it out.

Why not develop a counter argument based on your own experiences?
    Even better, actively seek out members of the travelling community and invite them into your home for a nice cup of bovril and an ould natter. Once that's out of the way , why not ask them to move into your front garden for 2 weeks....feck why not make it 3 weeks.

People have garnered their attitudes about the itinerants from personal experience and from experiences of friends and family. This is opposed to sitting around sending out positive vibes into the universe and expecting everyone else to do the same.