Sex Assault on Special Needs Girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I've never heard of alleged rapists ever being put under surveillance as they patiently await arrest.
    Never.

They obviously have a reason for doing so.
    I would safely say they are itching to arrest him for such a cowardly and despicable act. They obviously have their reasons for waiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It doesn't matter what country he's from or why he is here.
    We should know who is entering the country..

We do know who is entering the country, so what that has to do with this thread......
    Do you object to visa applicants being told to produce their police records and blood results?.

We should keep with whatever the EU standard is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Nodin wrote: »

What if the EU Standard isn't good enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

...and that means it doesn't happen, of course. They just thought of doing it this one time to see how it goes.
    It's a risky strategy and may well backfire.
    The public cannot be put at risk.
    Believe me it's not impossible to escape Garda surveillance.

What if the EU Standard isn't good enough?

....then we'd have to improve on it, logically.....

We do know who is entering the country, so what that has to do with this thread......

What do we know of the people entering the country if their police record in not a pre-requisite?
    Are you being deliberately obtuse or just feigning ignorance?
    A guy could have a police record the length of their arm and we wouldn't know.
    An entire Triad network was able to enter Ireland un-noticed ffs and set up their own drug cartel.

In the race to look hip, P.C and trendy we are running the country into the gutter.
    What is your beef with a simple act of being asked to provide a police record before being welcomed to a host nation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Still not arrested.
    Under "surveillance" apparently.
    What a banana republic.
    We need more background checks on people entering the country.

I applied for a 6 months visa to a extreme leftist Latin American country and had to show bank statements, police records and convictions etc, take a test for AIDS, T.B and other diseases, supply fingerprints and pay all the administration fees.
    And that was for a 6 month visa.

I'd absolutely no problem with this, but would be called Right-Wing to call for it in Ireland. Even though it's policy in most leftist States (Cuba, Venezuala, Ecuador, China etc)

Yet anybody from anywhere with anything and checked for nothing can walk off a plane here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

It doesn't matter what country he's from or why he is here.
    We should know who is entering the country.
    Do you object to visa applicants being told to produce their police records and blood results?
    I had no ojection, nor play the racist card when asked to do so for a poxy 6 months visa in Bolivarian America.
    I thought it was a spiffing idea.
    And thats a leftist country.

Nodin would be at the airport washing the feet of illegal immigrants entering ireland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

woodoo wrote: »
    Nodin would be at the airport washing the feet of illegal immigrants entering ireland :D

You're trolling, right?

Let's stick to the argument: what evidence do you have that middle eastern men carry out a higher proportion of rapes compare to others?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

You're trolling, right?

Let's stick to the argument: what evidence do you have that middle eastern men carry out a higher proportion of rapes compare to others?

Google it i'm watching the golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

biko wrote: »
    I heard "Law & Order: Special Needs Unit" is on the case.
    mikom wrote: »
    CSI:Potato

Mod.

Seriously lads?

Is a serious sexual attack on a vulnerable woman something to be joked about.

Please don't post on this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Google it i'm watching the golf

Google tells me that you're bull****ting and that no such evidence exists, but I pretty much suspected that already.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

He wouldn't be long turning off the golf if another foreign national came to Garda attention.

Seriously woodoo, one (apparently) Pakistani guy is suspected of sexual assault, and suddenly a 'disproportionate' amount of foreign nationals commit rape here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 y0pperz

Just kinda off topic but related - can people with certain mental disabilities actually consent to sex? Like talking about adults, does depend on the severity of the condition, eg. Autism, down syndrome, cerebral palsy, and if so then is every sexual interaction with them considered rape in the eyes of the law?

He wouldn't be long turning off the golf if another foreign national came to Garda attention.

Seriously woodoo, one (apparently) Pakistani guy is suspected of sexual assault, and suddenly a 'disproportionate' amount of foreign nationals commit rape here?

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=096_1267472543

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fEhy0H3fsM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

y0pperz wrote: »
    Just kinda off topic but related - can people with certain mental disabilities actually consent to sex? Like talking about adults, does depend on the severity of the condition, eg. Autism, down syndrome, cerebral palsy, and if so then is every sexual interaction with them considered rape in the eyes of the law?

As the law currently stands in Ireland, the answer is no - mentally impaired or intellectually disabled people cannot give consent to sex:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1993/en/act/pub/0020/sec0005.html#zza20y1993s5

http://www.nda.ie/cntmgmtnew.nsf/0/200FC923F86AE299802577A4003355CF/$File/NDA_CPA_PWIDCrisisPregnancy07.html

I know it was being discussed in the Dail last year, I'll see can I find a link...

All we know is the Prime Suspect has clear and unfettered access to the crime scene whilst the Gardai are sitting outside eating Donuts.
    No doubt he's busily scrubbing and bleaching bedsheets and clothes as we speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Czarcasm wrote: »
    As the law currently stands in Ireland, the answer is no - mentally impaired or intellectually disabled people cannot give consent to sex:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1993/en/act/pub/0020/sec0005.html#zza20y1993s5

http://www.nda.ie/cntmgmtnew.nsf/0/200FC923F86AE299802577A4003355CF/$File/NDA_CPA_PWIDCrisisPregnancy07.html

I know it was being discussed in the Dail last year, I'll see can I find a link...

I remember being at a meeting lately about this. It was argued that this bill should be changed as to who are we to dictate who can and can't have a sexual relationship. I don't deal much with intellectual disabilities, but most will have the urges but maybe not the mind to know the dangers/ understand the implications. It's a tricky one but both sides out up interesting arguments that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

All we know is the Prime Suspect has clear and unfettered access to the crime scene whilst the Gardai are sitting outside eating Donuts.

You know exactly what we know i.e. very little except what we read in newspapers or see on the News.
    Just let them do their job. I'm sure they want to catch this man but if they have to wait for test results then they have to wait.
    There is obviously a reason why they are waiting.

That's been debunked numerous times.
    All we know is the Prime Suspect has clear and unfettered access to the crime
    scene whilst the Gardai are sitting outside eating Donuts.
    No doubt he's
    busily scrubbing and bleaching bedsheets and clothes as we speak.

Hysterical shite, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

y0pperz wrote: »

Very few prosecutions are taken because the law is out of date in this area

There was a case in 2010 or 2011 that was thrown out of court. I cant find the full details on it.

The laws on capacity to make decisions are part of the 1871 lunacy act.

Since 2008 government has promised to bring in new laws

http://www.inclusionireland.ie/content/media/22/inclusion-ireland-welcomes-t-naiste-statement-capacity-legislation-will-be

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

That's Sweden.

You said it looks like we are going down the same road.

From one example. Maybe even a handful examples of all the rapes that are committed here.

Do you understand how stupid that is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I'm struggling with this. What is the greatest wrong: being Pakistani; being Muslim; being in Ireland; or being suspected of a sexual assault?

The former 3, it would appear.

An arrest has been made.
    Let's hope it is the right suspect and if so that he receives the appropriate sentence if convicted in court.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0617/457030-south-circular-road-attack/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

I work a few hundred yards from where this horrible attack happened and it instantly reminded me that about 6 months ago a Garda came to my workplace to warn female staff to be extra careful as there had been a number of reported sexual assaults on the Harrington St / Lennox St area. I wonder if this is the same man and if it is, I truly hope there will be enough evidence to find him guilty of all the reported attacks.

Poor girl (and the other woman who were attacked last year), nobody deserves that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

Pakistanis scrubbing and bleaching?
    i dont think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I live nearby and its certainly a horrible thing to happen, especially shocking when its happens so close by.

Good to see an arrest has been made, and I hope the full force of the law is applied if the person arrested is found guilty.

space_man wrote: »
    Pakistanis scrubbing and bleaching?
    i dont think so.

I don't understand.

Then again, do I want to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

wes wrote: »
    I live nearby and its certainly a horrible thing to happen, especially shocking when its happens so close by.

Good to see an arrest has been made, and I hope the full force of the law is applied if the person arrested is found guilty.

prison for a nonce like that will not be a pleasant experience.:D